Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 11:48:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 1228 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 1237 1238 1239 1240 1241 1242 1243 1244 1245 1246 1247 1248 1249 1250 1251 1252 1253 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 1261 1262 1263 1264 1265 1266 1267 1268 1269 1270 1271 1272 1273 1274 1275 1276 1277 [1278] 1279 1280 1281 1282 1283 1284 1285 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 1295 1296 1297 1298 1299 1300 1301 1302 1303 1304 1305 1306 1307 1308 1309 1310 1311 1312 1313 1314 1315 1316 1317 1318 1319 1320 1321 1322 1323 1324 1325 1326 1327 1328 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3006607 times)
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 01:35:32 PM
 #25541

i am using 2 hour ago
is stable
but i dont know seems i gain less

looking job
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510962495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510962495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510962495
Reply with quote  #2

1510962495
Report to moderator
1510962495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510962495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510962495
Reply with quote  #2

1510962495
Report to moderator
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 01:38:15 PM
 #25542


How is it?
Income as good as it should be?
How is luck recently?

all in all it seems fair, it's quite stable had only a few minor glitches during the last few days.
I didn't check pool luck lately.

pros:

- stable
- a lot of hash powers so rounds tend to be quick --> the flow of your mined btc is quite constant
- merge mining: nmc, ixc, dvc
- no fee (apart 0.001 fixed commission on each withdrawal)

cons:

- a lot of hash power, last time I've checked they had 28% of total...
- the coin you'll receive are not "newly generated coins", on the contrary eligius nine out of ten you'll get freshly mined coin.
- on the dashboard pool's luck is not reported
- https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=77000.msg3796675#msg3796675
- https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=77000.msg3796884#msg3796884

I switched to ghash.io after the last round of problems experienced by eligius a week or two ago. as soon as I've time I'll switch back to eligius.


edit: add another cons

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 01:58:44 PM
 #25543

ghash is perfect for stable  better than eligius
but not perfect for lucky

looking job
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:00:51 PM
 #25544

ghash is perfect for stable  better than eligius
but not perfect for lucky

u say that just after 3 hours? hope not...

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
The Avenger
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:21:01 PM
 #25545

Pages of problems problems problems. Good to see knc have their people on here, as well as their own official forum, offering advice and working so hard with their customers to solve these issues.

Oh wait a second, they aren't.

Why waste their time helping existing customers? What a silly thing to do, no money in that. Glad to see they aren't, which means they are being consistent with everything other shipment.

Something for you nep(un)tuned customers to look forward too in August 2014, but on a much bigger scale  Cheesy

"I am not The Avenger"
1AthxGvreWbkmtTXed6EQfjXMXXdSG7dD6
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:24:55 PM
 #25546

Pages of problems problems problems. Good to see knc have their people on here, as well as their own official forum, offering advice and working so hard with their customers to solve these issues.

Oh wait a second, they aren't. Why waste their time helping existing customers? What a silly thing to do, no money in that. Glad to see they aren't, so they are being consistent with everything other shipment.

I don't even own a jupiter, but seeing how there's an "apparent" increase in the number of issues with the 2nd batch, it makes me feel good about not trying to sell my firstborn to get a Neptune--which will be its own first batch.

Perhaps their new physical design will mitigate the die damage which seems to be occuring in shipping.

I still like the end product, but it sucks for those having issues..

ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Hell?


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:25:52 PM
 #25547

Pages of problems problems problems. Good to see knc have their people on here, as well as their own official forum, offering advice and working so hard with their customers to solve these issues.

Oh wait a second, they aren't. Why waste their time helping existing customers? What a silly thing to do, no money in that. Glad to see they aren't, which means they are being consistent with everything other shipment.

Something for you nepuntuned customers to look forward too, but on a much bigger scale  Cheesy

i can understand them not coming here to discuss stuff, but its a real piss off that you never see them on their OWN FORUM. What was the point of even making it if they are literally on it once ever 3 months....
The Avenger
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:39:46 PM
 #25548

Pages of problems problems problems. Good to see knc have their people on here, as well as their own official forum, offering advice and working so hard with their customers to solve these issues.

Oh wait a second, they aren't. Why waste their time helping existing customers? What a silly thing to do, no money in that. Glad to see they aren't, which means they are being consistent with everything other shipment.

Something for you nepuntuned customers to look forward too, but on a much bigger scale  Cheesy

i can understand them not coming here to discuss stuff, but its a real piss off that you never see them on their OWN FORUM. What was the point of even making it if they are literally on it once ever 3 months....
It's a joke isn't it? These guys have made MILLLIONNS. They could easily afford to employ some 10-15 euro/hour CS person to be on both forums daily fielding questions and helping existing customers. Just goes to show, once again, how tight and greedy knc are when they don't. They'd rather let customers have massive downtime and struggle with problems that might be easy enough to fix, just to save themselves a few bucks.

"I am not The Avenger"
1AthxGvreWbkmtTXed6EQfjXMXXdSG7dD6
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:40:16 PM
 #25549

some problems is from pools
knc works good ok have some troubles with ship and beagleboard, cores disables hw errors, high temps

looking job
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:21:55 PM
 #25550

This is exactly what mine does. I even booted it off a sd card and same issue when I plug a module in. You end up shipping your whole unit back?

Still waiting (4 days) on RMA at this point.  Figure another 6 days round trip (due to weekend) even if they authorize an RMA today I am down 2.5 to 3.0 BTC and counting.
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:29:01 PM
 #25551

something is wrong with my miner Sad

it's not mining
its not hot
I can't ssh into it

I've emailed knc and gotten nothing.

has anyone got a copy of the beaglebone img I can put on an sd card to test things out?

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
Minor Miner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


★ BitClave ICO: 08/11/17 ★


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:30:57 PM
 #25552

This is exactly what mine does. I even booted it off a sd card and same issue when I plug a module in. You end up shipping your whole unit back?
Still waiting (4 days) on RMA at this point.  Figure another 6 days round trip (due to weekend) even if they authorize an RMA today I am down 2.5 to 3.0 BTC and counting.
I have one dead unit also.   Just solid red light and solid green light.  Have tried their solutions (because of time difference each solution takes another whole day and of course lost whole weekend for first answer).   They have been responsive but have ignored RMA request while they suggest the SD card route that has failed.   Controller seems bad.   It is frustrating but they are trying at least.


                  ,'#██+:                 
              ,█████████████'             
            +██████████████████           
          ;██████████████████████         
         ███████:         .███████`       
        ██████               ;█████'      
      `█████                   #████#     
      ████+                     `████+    
     ████:                        ████,   
    ████:    .#              █     ████   
   ;███+     ██             ███     ████  
   ████     ███'            ███.    '███, 
  +███     #████           ,████     ████ 
  ████     █████ .+██████: █████+    `███.
 ,███     ███████████████████████     ████
 ████     ███████████████████████'    :███
 ███:    +████████████████████████     ███`
 ███     █████████████████████████`    ███+
,███     ██████████████████████████    #███
'███    '██████████████████████████    ;███
#███    ███████████████████████████    ,███
████    ███████████████████████████.   .███
████    ███████████████████████████'   .███
+███    ███████████████████████████+   :███
:███    ███████████████████████████'   +███
 ███    ███████████████████████████.   ███#
 ███.   #██████████████████████████    ███,
 ████    █████████████████████████+   `███
 '███    '████████████████████████    ████
  ███;    ███████████████████████     ███;
  ████     #████████████████████     ████ 
   ███#     .██████████████████     `███+ 
   ████`      ;██████████████       ████  
    ████         '███████#.        ████.  
    .████                         █████   
     '████                       █████    
      #████'                    █████     
       +█████`                ██████      
        ,██████:           `███████       
          ████████#;,..:+████████.        
           ,███████████████████+          
             .███████████████;            
                `+███████#,               
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:40:51 PM
 #25553

Starting to sound like there needs to be a dedicated KNC Problem thread, as there are many issues popping up.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:44:37 PM
 #25554

This is exactly what mine does. I even booted it off a sd card and same issue when I plug a module in. You end up shipping your whole unit back?
Still waiting (4 days) on RMA at this point.  Figure another 6 days round trip (due to weekend) even if they authorize an RMA today I am down 2.5 to 3.0 BTC and counting.
I have one dead unit also.   Just solid red light and solid green light.  Have tried their solutions (because of time difference each solution takes another whole day and of course lost whole weekend for first answer).   They have been responsive but have ignored RMA request while they suggest the SD card route that has failed.   Controller seems bad.   It is frustrating but they are trying at least.

The thing that really makes me mad is it is obvious they never tested the full units.  They may have tested individual ASIC boards but they weren't tested as fully assembled units (my unit arrived w/ mining config set to "X").  Had someone tried to even turn these units on it would not have gotten past QA.  Hell just paying some guy min wage to pull units off the line which have red & green lights on simultaneously would have avoided this.  They shipped a brick, it is a complete and utter brick.  It isn't a unit that randomly crashes under some weird conditions, it isn't a unit when under load after hours one ASIC dies, it isn't a unit with excessively high hardware failures, it isn't a unit with a VRM that overheats and fails after days of high temp, no this is like putting a 10 pound brick in a box and calling it a mining rig.  It does absolutely nothing so any testing no matter how basic would have caught this issue.

Power on = does absolutely nothing.   No login, no SSH, no ability to keep settings, hell even the red & green power lights don't go off (my understanding is if red & green both stay on = your fucked signal).   No possible way that got through any "testing".  So KNC inability to even perform basic testing has now cost me ~$2,500 and counting.  When you consider how front loaded lifetime revenue is there is no chance of ever recovering that.  Hell if prior RMA hell stories are accurate I will be lucky to break even.  Also just from this thread I have now seen four similar cases so my guess is this problem is certainly not an edge case.   At this point I am considering just doing a chargeback (no not ask for a refund so they can delay their response until the chargeback window closes, just doing a chargeback so they get hit with the chargeback fee).  If I was confident KNC could fix the problem in a timely manner (like shipping a new controller 4 days ago) it might be different but despite what the shills say the reality is with KNC if you get a fully functional unit you are fine but if you don't your fucked and it looks like by luck of the draw I ended up in the second camp.

Hey KNC I KNOW YOU ARE TOO DAMN BUSY COUNTING YOUR MILLIONS TO ACTUALLY RESPOND TO THIS THREAD OR YOUR KNOW OWN CUSTOMER SUPPORT FORUM BUT ......
HERE IS A COMPLETELY GRATIS BUSINESS TIP FOR YOU, PLEASE TEST THE FUCKING UNITS BEFORE SHIPPING THEM.
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:45:15 PM
 #25555

All my machines from knc were unresponsive upon arrival...   every one.  
They were all fine, and just needed a bit of configuring...
If your miner seems unresponsive upon arrival....  
one or more of these tips may help:
check your proxy.
1.   no Http:// on stratum addresses.

2.   Check your pool sign on credentials.  
Make sure no space if you use the copy & paste...  an empty character field can be hard to catch.

3. Make sure you turn DHCP OFF the first time you get into the GUI,
and...... assign an address before restarting, or you will have to sniff all over again


good luck



                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:48:47 PM
 #25556

All my machines from knc were unresponsive upon arrival...   every one.  
They were all fine, and just needed a bit of configuring...
If your miner seems unresponsive upon arrival....  
one or more of these tips may help:
check your proxy.
1.   no Http:// on stratum addresses.

2.   Check your pool sign on credentials.  
Make sure no space if you use the copy & paste...  an empty character field can be hard to catch.

3. Make sure you turn DHCP OFF the first time you get into the GUI,
and...... assign an address before restarting, or you will have to sniff all over again.

good luck



Some of these units aren't even polling DHCP, and you can't reach them via SSH, telnet or anything. Keep it simple for sure, but it's clear some of the control units are simply DOA.

I'm thinking maybe something wrong with the boot media? Hard to believe the hardware itself is bad. Folks need to try to pull the control units apart and then reconnect them--might be a wonky/loose conneciton.

Had a PCI riser die on me lastnight. Ended up just needing to be resoldered.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:52:39 PM
 #25557

All my machines from knc were unresponsive upon arrival...   every one.  
They were all fine, and just needed a bit of configuring...
If your miner seems unresponsive upon arrival....  
one or more of these tips may help:
check your proxy.
1.   no Http:// on stratum addresses.

2.   Check your pool sign on credentials.  
Make sure no space if you use the copy & paste...  an empty character field can be hard to catch.

3. Make sure you turn DHCP OFF the first time you get into the GUI,
and...... assign an address before restarting, or you will have to sniff all over again.

good luck



I know you are trying to help but please try to read the problem first.

None of that troubleshooting is any use.  When I (and others with the same problem) say non-responsive I mean non-responsive as in a completely bricked rig.  If you can get to the mining config or status page the rig isn't non-responsive.


As an example.  My unit has IP address of 192.168.0.190.

Going to http://192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
SSH to 192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
The unit never completes booting (red & green lights remain on).

So how exactly would I make sure the mining address is correct if the webpage is unresponsive?  In this case unresponsive isn't an exaguration.  The rig does ABSOLUTELY NOTHING as delivered.  It doesn't even finish booting (red or green light turn off).

Now if I (and others with the red & green lights of death) disconnect all ASIC boards, the rig can be accessed by the IP address (192.168.0.190 in this case).   So this isn't some user error not sure of what the IP address is.  Of course it doesn't matter.
a) any settings entered are erased when you reboot (yes all mining config info is replaced with an "X" after reboot)
and
b) connecting any mining board (tried each of the 4 individually) returns to same red & green lights of death.

Simple version:
ASIC boards connected = a complete brick, no GUI, no SSH, no completed boot cycle (red & green lights of death).
ASIC boards disconnected = GUI & SSH accessible, all settings lost when power cycled, connecting any ASIC board returns to the status above.

vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:54:32 PM
 #25558

My unit has IP address of 192.168.0.190.

Going to http://192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
SSH to 192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
The unit never completes booting (red & green lights remain on).

Just a thought, have you tried portscanning the unit during bootup and after it's sat awhile, to see what ports are open? If it pulled an IP, that's what I'd try.

Is there a jtag/serial connection somewhere to see output while it's booting?

vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:55:26 PM
 #25559

What part of unresponsive do you not understand.  I know you are trying to help but please try to read the problem first.


He doesn't have to fix these issues, KNC just sends him working equipment..

LOL..

kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:58:38 PM
 #25560

All my machines from knc were unresponsive upon arrival...   every one.  
They were all fine, and just needed a bit of configuring...
If your miner seems unresponsive upon arrival....  
one or more of these tips may help:
check your proxy.
1.   no Http:// on stratum addresses.

2.   Check your pool sign on credentials.  
Make sure no space if you use the copy & paste...  an empty character field can be hard to catch.

3. Make sure you turn DHCP OFF the first time you get into the GUI,
and...... assign an address before restarting, or you will have to sniff all over again.

good luck



I know you are trying to help but please try to read the problem first.

None of that troubleshooting is any use.  When I (and others with the same problem) say non-responsive I mean non-responsive as in a completely bricked rig.  If you can get to the mining config or status page the rig isn't non-responsive.


As an example.  My unit has IP address of 192.168.0.190.

Going to http://192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
SSH to 192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
The unit never completes booting (red & green lights remain on).

So how exactly would I make sure the mining address is correct if the webpage is unresponsive?  In this case unresponsive isn't an exaguration.  The rig does ABSOLUTELY NOTHING as delivered.  It doesn't even finish booting (red or green light turn off).

Now if I (and others with the red & green lights of death) disconnect all ASIC boards, the rig can be accessed by the IP address (192.168.0.190 in this case).   So this isn't some user error not sure of what the IP address is.  Of course it doesn't matter.
a) any settings entered are erased when you reboot (yes all mining config info is replaced with an "X" after reboot)
and
b) connecting any mining board (tried each of the 4 individually) returns to same red & green lights of death.

Simple version:
ASIC boards connected = a complete brick, no GUI, no SSH, no completed boot cycle (red & green lights of death).
ASIC boards disconnected = GUI & SSH accessible, all settings lost when power cycled, connecting any ASIC board returns to the status above.



Have you tried reflashing the SD card with the default November image?

https://www.kncminer.com/pages/troubleshooting
Pages: « 1 ... 1228 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 1237 1238 1239 1240 1241 1242 1243 1244 1245 1246 1247 1248 1249 1250 1251 1252 1253 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 1261 1262 1263 1264 1265 1266 1267 1268 1269 1270 1271 1272 1273 1274 1275 1276 1277 [1278] 1279 1280 1281 1282 1283 1284 1285 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 1295 1296 1297 1298 1299 1300 1301 1302 1303 1304 1305 1306 1307 1308 1309 1310 1311 1312 1313 1314 1315 1316 1317 1318 1319 1320 1321 1322 1323 1324 1325 1326 1327 1328 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!