Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 10:09:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 1237 1238 1239 1240 1241 1242 1243 1244 1245 1246 1247 1248 1249 1250 1251 1252 1253 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 1261 1262 1263 1264 1265 1266 1267 1268 1269 1270 1271 1272 1273 1274 1275 1276 1277 1278 [1279] 1280 1281 1282 1283 1284 1285 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 1295 1296 1297 1298 1299 1300 1301 1302 1303 1304 1305 1306 1307 1308 1309 1310 1311 1312 1313 1314 1315 1316 1317 1318 1319 1320 1321 1322 1323 1324 1325 1326 1327 1328 1329 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3008549 times)
paul3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:59:29 PM
 #25561

Hey KNC I KNOW YOU ARE TOO DAMN BUSY COUNTING YOUR MILLIONS TO ACTUALLY RESPOND TO THIS THREAD OR YOUR KNOW OWN CUSTOMER SUPPORT FORUM BUT ......
HERE IS A COMPLETELY GRATIS BUSINESS TIP FOR YOU, PLEASE TEST THE FUCKING UNITS BEFORE SHIPPING THEM.

+1 for that!


My nov jupiter arrived yesterday. I opened the case because I heard some sounds like the fans are not in the place they should be. Fixed the two fans that felt off during transport & checked all cable connections. After that I try to start the miner, without any problems. It was running for 4-5 hours and I decided to go sleeping. This morning the miner was down, in total it was running for 7-8 hours.

First I thought the PSU is broken, but a quick check without the miner connected showed this is not the case.

I started bugfixing:

1. Only beagleboard connected to PSU -> working
2. tested beagleboard + each hashing board seperate -> 3 working, 1 won't start (complete miner didn't start)
3. beagleboard + 3 working boards -> running, but hashing rate only 330 GH/s
4. Different combinations of the 3 running boards -> found two that reach together 330 GH/s

So now the Jupiter is only hashing with 2 boards, waiting for a reply from KNC...
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511172565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511172565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511172565
Reply with quote  #2

1511172565
Report to moderator
1511172565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511172565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511172565
Reply with quote  #2

1511172565
Report to moderator
1511172565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511172565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511172565
Reply with quote  #2

1511172565
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:01:38 PM
 #25562

My unit has IP address of 192.168.0.190.

Going to http://192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
SSH to 192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
The unit never completes booting (red & green lights remain on).

Just a thought, have you tried portscanning the unit during bootup and after it's sat awhile, to see what ports are open? If it pulled an IP, that's what I'd try.

I get no response on any port.  Yeah I am a nerd enough to try that.  My guess is that when ASICs are connected something faulty in the control board is bricking the boot cycle before it ever connects to the network.  I don't know for sure as I don't have a working unit (going on 4 days now) BUT my understanding is that the lights on the rig go from off, to both red & green on, to either only red (fault) or only green (mining).   With rigs that have this issue the boot cycle never goes past both red & green on.  You can wait minutes or hours and it will remain right there.

Quote
Is there a jtag/serial connection somewhere to see output while it's booting?

It looks like the PCB has a JTAG pinout but it is unlabeled and has no connector.  I am not going to solder my under warranty unit and make it non under warranty.  I am pretty convinced at this point it isn't a software issue.  Since the BBB is just an off the shelf controller (and it works fine disconnected from the controller motherboard) my outsider (KNC should know more but they have been silent so far) view is the controller motherboard (the custom board which only KNC can replace) is defective on some units.  Of course even basic testing before shipping would have caught this.   My unit arrived with all mining configuration set to "X".
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:05:15 PM
 #25563

Have you tried reflashing the SD card with the default November image?
https://www.kncminer.com/pages/troubleshooting

Yes.  Tried both using the web GUI (with ASICs disconnected) and by doing the SD card flash procedure.  Before someone else asked it was the 0.99e Nov firmware not accidentally some incompatible Oct firmware.  Same exact outcome after flashing.   No errors in flashing but all the same symptoms
a) unresponsive to GUI
b) unresponsive to SSH
c) red & green lights of death on boot.
d) (with ASICS disconnected) all config settings lost after power cycle

Trust me I had a whole weekend with a unit that could (if it would just boot) produce 350 mBTC per day.  I took the whole damn thing apart.  Even disconnected the BBB from the controller and booted that separately to see if I could determine if the BBB was defective.  I can always replace the BBB and if an ASIC is bad I can run the rig with the remaining modules but if the custom KNC controller board is bad well there is nothing I can do other than wait days (or weeks) for an RMA to be completed.
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:06:23 PM
 #25564

All my machines from knc were unresponsive upon arrival...   every one.  
They were all fine, and just needed a bit of configuring...
If your miner seems unresponsive upon arrival....  
one or more of these tips may help:
check your proxy.
1.   no Http:// on stratum addresses.

2.   Check your pool sign on credentials.  
Make sure no space if you use the copy & paste...  an empty character field can be hard to catch.

3. Make sure you turn DHCP OFF the first time you get into the GUI,
and...... assign an address before restarting, or you will have to sniff all over again.

good luck



What part of unresponsive do you not understand.  I know you are trying to help but please try to read the problem first.

My unit has IP address of 192.168.0.190.

Going to http://192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
SSH to 192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
The unit never completes booting (red & green lights remain on).

So how exactly would I make sure the mining address is correct if the webpage is unresponsive, hence the report about unresponsive unit.

Now if I (and others with the red & green lights of death) disconnect all ASIC boards you can access the rig by IP address.  Of course it doesn't matter.
a) any settings entered are erased when you reboot (yes all mining config info is replaced with an "X" after reboot)
and
b) connecting any mining board (tried each of the 4 individually) returns to same red & green lights of death.

All my machines from knc were unresponsive upon arrival...   every one.  
They were all fine, and just needed a bit of configuring...
If your miner seems unresponsive upon arrival....  
one or more of these tips may help:
check your proxy.
1.   no Http:// on stratum addresses.

2.   Check your pool sign on credentials.  
Make sure no space if you use the copy & paste...  an empty character field can be hard to catch.

3. Make sure you turn DHCP OFF the first time you get into the GUI,
and...... assign an address before restarting, or you will have to sniff all over again.

good luck



What part of unresponsive do you not understand.  I know you are trying to help but please try to read the problem first.

My unit has IP address of 192.168.0.190.

Going to http://192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
SSH to 192.168.0.190 gets "connection refused".
The unit never completes booting (red & green lights remain on).

So how exactly would I make sure the mining address is correct if the webpage is unresponsive, hence the report about unresponsive unit.

Now if I (and others with the red & green lights of death) disconnect all ASIC boards you can access the rig by IP address.  Of course it doesn't matter.
a) any settings entered are erased when you reboot (yes all mining config info is replaced with an "X" after reboot)
and
b) connecting any mining board (tried each of the 4 individually) returns to same red & green lights of death.

Hence the word MAY help.
If you continue ridicule me, I will stop giving suggestions.
If you didn't want help or suggestions....  why come here?
With that said....

I had the same problem.
After a couple minutes, the miners do become unresponsive after a few poll attempts...
How I was able to get in, was to be quick about it....timing
When you get the address, waste no time accessing...
When I did it...Sniff & access must be done with a dash of speed, and sometimes repeatedly.  They all reacted the same way.
good luck

Remember it took me 18 hours to crack my first miner...   Edgar loves that....  lol
*It only takes one character in any field to mess things up.




                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:06:47 PM
 #25565

iam using sd card for hdd beagleboard for now works

later i will send for RMA

maybe when shutoff power corrupt filesystem flash
this will happened is better if we use sdcard with custom OS knc

looking job
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:08:28 PM
 #25566

iam using sd card for hdd beagleboard for now works

later i will send for RMA

maybe when shutoff power corrupt filesystem flash
this will happened is better if we use sdcard with custom OS knc

Can you provide exact steps?
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:12:03 PM
 #25567

win32diskimager

http://vector.xyxx.com/~myrond/backup-jupiter-0.95.img

looking job
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:13:24 PM
 #25568


So just write the image to the SD card, pop it in and power it on.  The unit just knows to boot off the card not internal memory automatically?
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:16:56 PM
 #25569

automatically go to sdcard

but sometimes go to mmc

if anyone know put direct always to sdcard will be good and not more RMA beagleboard

looking job
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:19:50 PM
 #25570


So just write the image to the SD card, pop it in and power it on.  The unit just knows to boot off the card not internal memory automatically?

wait this an october image, no?

D&T you do have a November jup, right?

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:21:09 PM
 #25571

this is for october batch

sorry

looking job
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:23:42 PM
 #25572

If you continue ridicule me, I will stop giving suggestions.
If you didn't want help or suggestions....  why come here?

Well, when he stops giving suggestions, don't worry D&T.. the rest of us will still try to help.

And keep it related to the problem at hand.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:25:38 PM
 #25573

Damn I just noticed the link is to an Oct image.  I would need an uncorrupted copy of Nov image to test it out.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:27:14 PM
 #25574


So just write the image to the SD card, pop it in and power it on.  The unit just knows to boot off the card not internal memory automatically?

wait this an october image, no?

D&T you do have a November jup, right?

Correct.  If the issue is that the BBB is corrupting the internal memory for some reason (which given that settings are all trashed on reboot kinda makes sense) then this might work if there was a Nov img file available.  It at least would be worth trying as I have nothing to lose at this point.
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:28:00 PM
 #25575

Someone just needs to make an image of their functional Jupiter, I'm sure someone can help with that. C'mon folks Smiley

CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:28:31 PM
 #25576

This might sound stupid and pointless, but seeing that your machine hashes with 0GH/s you might as well try it: unplug everything, unscrew everything, so the miner is completely disassembled.
Remove everything from the box: controller board, ASIC boards, heatsink. Then remove the heatsinks and if you want re-paste the chip. They assemble everthing back together.

Most probably it will not help, but what do you have to lose?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:35:10 PM
 #25577

understand yours feelings
yesterday i have same problem beagleboard have filesystem corrupt

looking job
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:40:13 PM
 #25578

If you continue ridicule me, I will stop giving suggestions.
If you didn't want help or suggestions....  why come here?

Well, when he stops giving suggestions, don't worry D&T.. the rest of us will still try to help.

And keep it related to the problem at hand.
I was referring to this...  "What part of unresponsive do you not understand."
So... guess I was waay off.. totally unrelated...
 since you are doing so well, you can help him...  
and I won't have to read this nonsense anymore.
Last straw.
Anyone who wants my help can PM me from now on.
I've got too much work to do to deal with smart-asses.
Good luck.


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:40:38 PM
 #25579

Makes me wonder if it's cheap sd cards which have condensation trapped inside the casing when folks are powering them up, since it's cold outside and they're just opening the boxes quickly and connecting power.

vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:42:26 PM
 #25580

If you continue ridicule me, I will stop giving suggestions.
If you didn't want help or suggestions....  why come here?

Well, when he stops giving suggestions, don't worry D&T.. the rest of us will still try to help.

And keep it related to the problem at hand.
I was referring to this...  "What part of unresponsive do you not understand."
So... guess I was waay off.. totally unrelated...
 since you are doing so well, you can help him...  
and I won't have to read this nonsense anymore.
Last straw.
Anyone who wants my help can PM me from now on.
I've got too much work to do to deal with smart-asses.
Good luck.


I mean, your post certainly didn't even seem in the ballpark when you were talking about stuff which he'd already ruled out. I suppose light-hearted banter is the straw on the camel's back.

If you wanted to be truly helpful, you could provide him with an image of the card, if you had one handy.

Pages: « 1 ... 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 1237 1238 1239 1240 1241 1242 1243 1244 1245 1246 1247 1248 1249 1250 1251 1252 1253 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 1261 1262 1263 1264 1265 1266 1267 1268 1269 1270 1271 1272 1273 1274 1275 1276 1277 1278 [1279] 1280 1281 1282 1283 1284 1285 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 1295 1296 1297 1298 1299 1300 1301 1302 1303 1304 1305 1306 1307 1308 1309 1310 1311 1312 1313 1314 1315 1316 1317 1318 1319 1320 1321 1322 1323 1324 1325 1326 1327 1328 1329 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!