Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2018, 04:29:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 [450] 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 ... 2139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3031296 times)
The Avenger
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 10, 2013, 02:23:04 PM
 #8981

anyone has a clue why there are 2 square holes at the back panel of the miner's case ?

*visible on the last 2 photos



for the bitcoin chutes silly!  they POUR out!

ah ok...thought it might be the entrance for the leprechauns doing maintenance on our miner while we sleep..
Don't trust Leprechaun's! You'll wake up the next morning to an empty wallet.dat. Also, your knc will be gone and they'll leave a bfl in it's place  Cry

"I am not The Avenger"
1AthxGvreWbkmtTXed6EQfjXMXXdSG7dD6
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531974572
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531974572

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531974572
Reply with quote  #2

1531974572
Report to moderator
1531974572
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531974572

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531974572
Reply with quote  #2

1531974572
Report to moderator
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 10, 2013, 02:41:28 PM
 #8982

Make sure to get an actual bridge with wired ports

I ordered this one since it pairs nicely with my current dual band router (you may be able to find cheaper ones no doubt)

http://www.netgear.com/home/products/wireless-range-extenders/WN2500RP.aspx#one


~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
the-skeptic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 03:17:36 PM
 #8983

its not a prototype, but yes it does not have the asic chips.

We know KNC holds their cards very close. If they are at the point where they are showing pcbs mounted in cases, I suspect that they are about 2-3 steps ahead of this. My gut tells me there's a pallet or two of pcbs on a plane leaving Taiwan today.
Xialla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


/dev/null


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 03:45:03 PM
 #8984

meanwhile on KNC board:

Carl, KnCMiner Staff:
As some have stated above, having a margin on the energy consumption does reduce the risk of over heating and increase the efficiency of the PSU (at an increased cost for purchase). But you can opt for two 600W PSUs instead of a 1200 PSU or some other combination. According to our engineers an 850W, 80+ Gold certified PSU should be enough for a Jupiter running at the expected speed of 500 GH/s.

thread:
http://forum.kncminer.com/forum/main-category/hardware/107-psu-recommendation-jupiter-the-largest-planet
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


LIR DEV


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:05:20 PM
 #8985




                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:07:45 PM
 #8986

OOooh, I like the colored ring on the fans... haha

ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Hell?


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:08:34 PM
 #8987

OOooh, I like the colored ring on the fans... haha

i think its that reflective hologram type stuff
Templer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 218
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:11:06 PM
 #8988

OOooh, I like the colored ring on the fans... haha

i think its that reflective hologram type stuff

lol  Grin

DISCIPLINA — The First Blockchain For HR & Education
From core developers of Cardano, PoS minting, unique Web Of Trust & Privacy algorithms. Be the first, join us!
  WEBSITE  TELEGRAM  ANN  BOUNTY  LINKEDIN  WHITEPAPER  Referral Program 5%
chrono030
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:24:36 PM
 #8989

Does anyone know why there is a 4 pin connector on the front PCB?  I assume that it is to power the on board Linux OrSOC device?
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


LIR DEV


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:26:26 PM
 #8990

Does anyone know why there is a 4 pin connector on the front PCB?  I assume that it is to power the on board Linux OrSOC device?
yes, the linux device is powered by the molex connector...


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
dropt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:35:35 PM
 #8991

I assume that it is to power the on board Linux OrSOC device?

It looks like a Beaglebone.   Further, the cut-out to the left  looks as though it might be for a rPi.
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


LIR DEV


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:40:36 PM
 #8992

hahaha, no....no Rpi... it has its own linux onboard, with GUI & ssl ...a pi would be useless..
but is does seem, the chips are in, and assembly & test has begun!!...!!..!!


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450
Merit: 250


Earn with impressio.io


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:45:03 PM
 #8993

hahaha, no....no Rpi... it has its own linux onboard, with GUI & ssl ...a pi would be useless..
but is does seem, the chips are in, and assembly & test has begun!!...!!..!!

I'm not sure how/why you believe a Pi would be useless..

I'm also not sure that chips are in, did they indicate otherwise?

EDIT: you do know that a Pi would offer onboard linux providing GUI, SSL, etc right?

.▄███     ██████     ███▄
██████   ███████   ██████
 ██████ ██████████ ██████
  ██████████████████████
   █████████  ████████
    ██████    ██████
    ███████    ██████
   █████████  █████████
  ██████████████████████
 ██████ ██████████ ██████
██████   ██████   ██████
 ▀███     ██████     ███▀
IMPRESSIO     ▄███████████████▄
     ██             ██
     ▀███████████████▀
           ██ ██
           ██ ██
       ▄▄█████████▄▄ ▄███▄
    ▄███▀▀       ▀▀████ ▀██▄
  ▄██▀   ▄▄█████▄▄   ▀██▄ ██
 ▄██  ▄███  █  █████▄  ██▄█▀
 ██  ███         █████  ██
██  ██████  ███   █████  ██
██  ██████  ▀▀▀  ▄█████  ██
██  ██████  ▄▄▄▄  █████  ██
██  ██████  ████   ████  ██
 ██  ███          ████  ██
 ▀██  ▀███  █  █████▀  ██▀
  ▀██▄   ▀▀█████▀▀   ▄██▀
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
rolling
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540
Merit: 532



View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:48:15 PM
 #8994

hahaha, no....no Rpi... it has its own linux onboard, with GUI & ssl ...a pi would be useless..
but is does seem, the chips are in, and assembly & test has begun!!...!!..!!

Source?
Miner538
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


Destined to be great


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 04:48:35 PM
 #8995

hahaha, no....no Rpi... it has its own linux onboard, with GUI & ssl ...a pi would be useless..
but is does seem, the chips are in, and assembly & test has begun!!...!!..!!

That would mean my bitbet bet is gonna pay off!!

1ANbJxTmuWoA7bm4yuUMA4MvPh2qhazMHu
In need of a BTC Miner ?
https://www.kncminer.com/?resellerid=607
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


LIR DEV


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:49:12 PM
 #8996

hahaha, no....no Rpi... it has its own linux onboard, with GUI & ssl ...a pi would be useless..
but is does seem, the chips are in, and assembly & test has begun!!...!!..!!

I'm not sure how/why you believe a Pi would be useless..

I'm also not sure that chips are in, did they indicate otherwise?
What could the pi do that an onboard linux couldn't? That's why useless....
The new.pics have the heatsinks mounted, which means the chips are under them. a 1/4 mounted alterra fpga would most likely damage the board if you tried to mount those heatsinks to them, so I'm saying, the real chips must be in, and in those pics.


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1005


Gerald Davis


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:51:30 PM
 #8997

So I guess the corsair is quite a good choice:
* dedicated single +12V rail with user-configurable virtual "single rail" and "multi-rail" software modes
* features a massive 71.6 Amp (859.2 Watt) single +12V rail
* can also be configured as a multi-rail device with individual PCI-E over-current protection (OCP) trip points
=> http://www.corsair.com/us/blog/ax860i_technical_details/

"Probably".  The big unknown on any single rail PSU is what safety overcurrent protection is set to.  Looking at the screenshot in the review the user adjustable OCP is up to 40A per PSU connector (not to be confused with the downstream PC connectors).  That likely means the default is 40A and obviously they would have designed their plugs, pins, and wires to handle that much current.  If you used just a pair of PSU connectors each with 1 PSU connector running to two PCIe connectors in series, then each PSU per connector "virtual rail" would have half the load of a Jupiter.  If we assume Jupiter is 790W that is 65A total or 32.5A per connector.  Looks good to me.  Not really going to know for sure until the first person plugs on in but I would be comfortable buying it (if I didn't have 10 spare Seasonic 1050W PSUs Smiley ).

Worst case scenario (for any PSU) I am sure someone like Cablez can sell a EPS12V to PCIE 8 pin connector.  The EPS12V connector (8 pins usually split as 4pin + 4pin) which connects to the motherboard is designed for >280W.  To any DIY who later finds this post by a search and acts without thinking the pinout for EPS12V and PCIe-8pin are different.  If you connect them 1:1 you will destroy your PSU and equipment.  It would require a custom cable to properly connect the 12V to 12V and ground to ground.

jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450
Merit: 250


Earn with impressio.io


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:54:51 PM
 #8998

hahaha, no....no Rpi... it has its own linux onboard, with GUI & ssl ...a pi would be useless..
but is does seem, the chips are in, and assembly & test has begun!!...!!..!!

I'm not sure how/why you believe a Pi would be useless..

I'm also not sure that chips are in, did they indicate otherwise?
What could the pi do that an onboard linux couldn't? That's why useless....
The new.pics have the heatsinks mounted, which means the chips are under them. a 1/4 mounted alterra fpga would most likely damage the board if you tried to mount those heatsinks to them, so I'm saying, the real chips must be in, and in those pics.

Maybe the "onboard linux" is an RPi? Also, the heatsinks could easily be mounted without the chips in place for product photography purposes.

You're jumping to conclusions - although I'd be very happy if you're right.  Grin

.▄███     ██████     ███▄
██████   ███████   ██████
 ██████ ██████████ ██████
  ██████████████████████
   █████████  ████████
    ██████    ██████
    ███████    ██████
   █████████  █████████
  ██████████████████████
 ██████ ██████████ ██████
██████   ██████   ██████
 ▀███     ██████     ███▀
IMPRESSIO     ▄███████████████▄
     ██             ██
     ▀███████████████▀
           ██ ██
           ██ ██
       ▄▄█████████▄▄ ▄███▄
    ▄███▀▀       ▀▀████ ▀██▄
  ▄██▀   ▄▄█████▄▄   ▀██▄ ██
 ▄██  ▄███  █  █████▄  ██▄█▀
 ██  ███         █████  ██
██  ██████  ███   █████  ██
██  ██████  ▀▀▀  ▄█████  ██
██  ██████  ▄▄▄▄  █████  ██
██  ██████  ████   ████  ██
 ██  ███          ████  ██
 ▀██  ▀███  █  █████▀  ██▀
  ▀██▄   ▀▀█████▀▀   ▄██▀
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1011


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:57:07 PM
 #8999

The new.pics have the heatsinks mounted, which means the chips are under them. a 1/4 mounted alterra fpga would most likely damage the board if you tried to mount those heatsinks to them, so I'm saying, the real chips must be in, and in those pics.

And what would happen if the heatsinks were mounted on board without any chips?

Buy & Hold
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1005


Gerald Davis


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 04:57:36 PM
 #9000

hahaha, no....no Rpi... it has its own linux onboard, with GUI & ssl ...a pi would be useless..
but is does seem, the chips are in, and assembly & test has begun!!...!!..!!

Pi can run a "webserver" with SSL with no problem. 
Pages: « 1 ... 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 [450] 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 ... 2139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!