Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 09:51:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 [421] 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3006495 times)
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 04:04:39 PM
 #8401

of course they have it
but is not for public
is secret miner

1510955470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510955470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510955470
Reply with quote  #2

1510955470
Report to moderator
1510955470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510955470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510955470
Reply with quote  #2

1510955470
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510955470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510955470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510955470
Reply with quote  #2

1510955470
Report to moderator
1510955470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510955470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510955470
Reply with quote  #2

1510955470
Report to moderator
1510955470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510955470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510955470
Reply with quote  #2

1510955470
Report to moderator
baloo_kiev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 04:06:33 PM
 #8402

of course they have it
but is not for public
is secret miner

Sure, like BFL miners which had been 'secret' for 9 months until they first showed it Cheesy

PGP: 6EC48BA7
Welcome to my p2pool: BTC
samo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 04:46:25 PM
 #8403

Phoenix, Orama, What do you guys think about knc doing something similar to Asicminer and sell shares with dividends once the asic miner bullrush has subsided a bit?
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 04:51:12 PM
 #8404

If I'm not mistaken, Cointerra is a US-based company as well. If that were the case, one upside is faster delivery and less cost for shipping/possible customs.

The Cointerra unit is also 4 chip like KNC's, but higher density and a higher thermal dissipation requirement. I like their liquid cooling platform.

Let's not forget that first-gen products are always higher cost, to recoup R&D. Or in BFL's case, to keep kicking the horse down the trail.

Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 04:58:18 PM
 #8405

Phoenix, Orama, What do you guys think about knc doing something similar to Asicminer and sell shares with dividends once the asic miner bullrush has subsided a bit?
I hope not. I'm surely "Two thumbs down" on any group-buy/shares.
Simply put... they try to centralize a tentatively de-centralized operation, while taking advantage of people who are not too number-savvy imho.


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:01:57 PM
 #8406

Phoenix, Orama, What do you guys think about knc doing something similar to Asicminer and sell shares with dividends once the asic miner bullrush has subsided a bit?

Anythings possible if the community want it, but they promised to not mine with more than 5% of what they sell, and the priority is to get these boxes and thus the network distributed far and wide, both physically and in terms of ownership. In essense the hosting is a similar model as they are kept together location wise just the shares are somewhat more expensive.

Still they listen, if you guys want it, ask. I believe once we pass the point in the future in which hashrate does inevitably become difficult to compete against with respect to electricity supply in people's houses (at least a year away and in another gen) it will evenetually go that way on the retail side as at least in the US they (you?) are kinda stuck with 110v. Here in Europe, we have a bit more flexibility time wise, with respect to supplying electricity ourselves. For sure hosting will be the way ahead without question once a cryptocurrency's network becomes so large and secure...

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:07:31 PM
 #8407

actually O'rama, we (Americans) have both 110 & 220 installed in most households. Just the 220 is usually used for large appliances, like ovens & driers, also come with a plug end(pigtail) the size of a small fist....lol (But it's also @ 60 hz, instead of 50)


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Hell?


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:08:38 PM
 #8408

+1

220 comes into the home, then is split into 110 volt for appliances. big stuff like dryers and stoves, hot water heater etc use 220.
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:12:16 PM
 #8409

of course they have it
but is not for public
is secret miner



You've made some silly comments before, and now you are well and truly in Eve's territory. Do you honestly not thing you wouldn't notice the effect of their secret 28nm private mine.

Trust me you will know when they have their chips, the network will have a huge jump and then a levelling, which is why the Genesis block is so inaccurate; we already know KnC's shipping plan: A three week jump, not an exponential double, double, double.

Genesis Block's calc prediction will never happen the way people read it, never.

It will be a big spike and a level, a step up to 28nm.

Think about it, and likewise their super secret mine you are claiming would be very noticable, and not so secret!

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:14:11 PM
 #8410

actually O'rama, we (Americans) have both 110 & 220 installed in most households. Just the 220 is usually used for large appliances, like ovens & driers, also come with a plug end(pigtail) the size of a small fist....lol

I never knew. That said though our (EU) voltage (especially Germany) is a lot more flexible, you can step a lot higher, but I doubt people will want to turn their houses into datacentres in the long run. If you do you could prob host other peoples kit, which would be a business in itself...

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:18:00 PM
 #8411

actually O'rama, we (Americans) have both 110 & 220 installed in most households. Just the 220 is usually used for large appliances, like ovens & driers, also come with a plug end(pigtail) the size of a small fist....lol

I never knew. That said though our (EU) voltage (especially Germany) is a lot more flexible, you can step a lot higher, but I doubt people will want to turn their houses into datacentres in the long run. If you do you could prob host other peoples kit, which would be a business in itself...
I could be mistaken, but I'm thinking 60hz could step higher than 50?
But of course we have 3 phase vs. ?  Not that this matters any....


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
noodle73
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:21:46 PM
 #8412

We'll all be sending our miners to data centres in Russia at this rate - Russia 2.4 to 9.58 c/kw according to Wikipedia
oper128
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:26:33 PM
 #8413

actually O'rama, we (Americans) have both 110 & 220 installed in most households. Just the 220 is usually used for large appliances, like ovens & driers, also come with a plug end(pigtail) the size of a small fist....lol

I never knew. That said though our (EU) voltage (especially Germany) is a lot more flexible, you can step a lot higher, but I doubt people will want to turn their houses into datacentres in the long run. If you do you could prob host other peoples kit, which would be a business in itself...
I could be mistaken, but I'm thinking 60hz could step higher than 50?
But of course we have 3 phase vs. ?  Not that this matters any....
Frequency is irrelevant here.
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:35:32 PM
 #8414


northcape
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:35:39 PM
 #8415

actually O'rama, we (Americans) have both 110 & 220 installed in most households. Just the 220 is usually used for large appliances, like ovens & driers, also come with a plug end(pigtail) the size of a small fist....lol

I never knew. That said though our (EU) voltage (especially Germany) is a lot more flexible, you can step a lot higher, but I doubt people will want to turn their houses into datacentres in the long run. If you do you could prob host other peoples kit, which would be a business in itself...
I could be mistaken, but I'm thinking 60hz could step higher than 50?
But of course we have 3 phase vs. ?  Not that this matters any....

The point of single phase 120V versus single phase 230V is that requires twice the current to transfer the same amount of power. Frequencies have nothing at all to do with this.

The high voltage connections you are talking about are three-phase (commonly 120*sqrt3 = 200V in US, 230*sqrt3 = 400V in EU).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mains_electricity

Europes electricity standards are far more advanced than the US from todays standpoint.
oper128
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:43:48 PM
 #8416

actually O'rama, we (Americans) have both 110 & 220 installed in most households. Just the 220 is usually used for large appliances, like ovens & driers, also come with a plug end(pigtail) the size of a small fist....lol

I never knew. That said though our (EU) voltage (especially Germany) is a lot more flexible, you can step a lot higher, but I doubt people will want to turn their houses into datacentres in the long run. If you do you could prob host other peoples kit, which would be a business in itself...
I could be mistaken, but I'm thinking 60hz could step higher than 50?
But of course we have 3 phase vs. ?  Not that this matters any....
Frequency is irrelevant here.
Oh, so if you open your faucet by another 20%, nothing extra comes out? In our(Pete & I) business, (alt. energy studies) frequency drive is Quite relevant.
P=UI*cos(fi) as far as I remember. Maybe cos(fi) for the same device (like PSU) will be a little different when powered with different frequency, but I don't expect it to be much different. 220V vs 110V gives you half of the current with the same power, and less current means thinner cables etc

Edit: northcape explained it earlier Smiley
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:48:59 PM
 #8417

You pay VAT on things you PURCHASE, not on things you create. Not all things you purchase attract VAT either, gold and currency for example don't among many other items.
VAT is a way for government to collect tax from the consumer by using businesses to do this. VAT is also 20% not 23% here. If you can claim the VAT back, you can more than likely claim the computer equipment as a capital business expense and get some of the cost back from the tax man too.

Hi Timmers, sounds like you might be in the UK (sorry if I've made a gross assumption here). I've been wondering this for a while and you (or others) may have an accountancy background and may be able to advise. My understanding is that if you're a VAT registered business in the UK then you can buy items for the business without VAT (or claim it back in your quarterly VAT return), but you are then obliged to collect VAT at 20% for any goods or services that you provide to your customers (unless they are also a VAT registered businesses) and fill in a quarterly VAT return for HMRC where all of this is calculated.

I presume that if you are buying mining hardware for your business and your business does not use this to provide a VATable service to a customer then you presumably don't need to pay any VAT (which I think is what you're saying above). You would just need to pay tax on the income that the miner generates for the business. The only danger with this setup might be that if the business is not charging anybody VAT (so not providing any other goods or services) then HMRC might revoke the business' VAT-registered status. If you were to buy a miner without VAT and then sell it to a customer then it's clear that you would need to charge the customer VAT on the price of the miner. Here's the difficult one - if your business buys a miner and then sells shares in that miner (or shares in what it produces depending on your outlook) to customers then do you need to collect VAT on top of the price of the shares that you sell? If the miner technically remains the property of the business, but shares are sold that return a proportion of the miner's output (perhaps with some hosting fee applied by the business) then what part of that transaction is VAT applicable to (is the hosting fee the service)? Any thoughts anybody?

(By the way, when I say "you" above I'm talking about a hypothetical business by the way, not you or anybody else personally)

VAT is a minefield, that's why many businesses in the UK stay under the threshold to avoid the hassle. I think the mining business could be one where it is simple enough and beneficial to be registered though.

My mate is a freelance programmer, he is also his own limited company. He is VAT registered as his turnover is above the threshold.
This makes him more expensive to pay by 20% but as he works for large companies they claim that back...this is what is a the pest, the paperwork for nothing. What is cool though is that all his equipment and allowable expenses are fed to the tax man, and any VAT he pays he can recover. He is a small business and pays an accountant but doesn't need to really.
I asked him about this and was thinking of getting him to pay for my rig, then he could claim back that VAT and some tax relief too. His accountant said no problem. Even with the purpose of this bit of computer equipment being to mine coins..he said the same thing I thought...how would anyone know that? It's office equipment to them and they won't have a scooby doo what a bitcoin is, and even if they did...what amount would they tax you on? He said that the tax man would probably come into it when you made a capital gain selling BTC. Either way they can't check what you have. lol

AFAIK there's no VAT on shares in a company..I've never paid any. If the business was well set up I'd bet that only services provided to customers would attract VAT. I'd definitely consult a decent VAT accountant though. One thing about the VAT man, he's got some really kickass powers and can make a mess of you if you get it wrong.

You can also mitigate that power cost if you're a company. I think a lot of people with big mining setups could do well registering a company for less than 100 quid and registering for VAT and just making a loss ...getting all the perks on what they buy and what power is used. I used to claim 1/4 of my home lecky bill when I was working from there, that's very normal. Wink

Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:56:10 PM
 #8418

You may also want to check about associated equipment and rent of a room in your house, or discount in your rent (if renting) as if you run your kit from where you live, there's a ew bits you can claim back. For sure VAT on elec bills as well as an associated business cost. Anything theat brings elec., down and pays you back for using your premeisis to hosty your equip is def a good thing.

Again my thinking is you get penalised as and when you convert coins to fiat currently as it's cap. gains.

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
Ytterbium
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile WWW
September 04, 2013, 06:06:47 PM
 #8419

of course they have it
but is not for public
is secret miner



You've made some silly comments before, and now you are well and truly in Eve's territory. Do you honestly not thing you wouldn't notice the effect of their secret 28nm private mine.

Trust me you will know when they have their chips, the network will have a huge jump and then a levelling, which is why the Genesis block is so inaccurate; we already know KnC's shipping plan: A three week jump, not an exponential double, double, double.

Genesis Block's calc prediction will never happen the way people read it, never.

It will be a big spike and a level, a step up to 28nm.

Think about it, and likewise their super secret mine you are claiming would be very noticable, and not so secret!

People will notice, but we'll have no way of knowing it was them.  Could be Cointerra, HashFast, Alydian, BTCGarden or any of the other companies springing out of nowhere to crank out ASIC products.

rizzman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 06:07:23 PM
 #8420

We'll all be sending our miners to data centres in Russia at this rate - Russia 2.4 to 9.58 c/kw according to Wikipedia

I was able to find space mainland USA with 2c offpeak & 3.5 cent peak rates, which is where the miners are going...
Yes, it means I have to fly there initially.

Where were you able to find it so low? Please tell... Been looking myself and the lowest i've found is @ .08/kwh..
Pages: « 1 ... 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 [421] 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!