Bitcoin Forum
November 14, 2018, 04:46:27 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 [98] 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 147885 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
pappaaa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 11, 2018, 10:40:53 PM
 #1941

Hello.
 Now i have played with 2pac sticks a while.3 still working and 3 are dead.
I have attached simple water blocks to sticks and connected to pc-s cooling.
they are running 225 Mhz and core 1,47 V and I get 24,67Gh/s.
Temp holding between 35 and 45 degrees Celsius,depending if i use PC for other purposes.
1542213987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542213987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542213987
Reply with quote  #2

1542213987
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Snemelc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2018, 12:19:05 AM
 #1942

I googled my as off but got not fixed my issue so i hope somebody can help me here.
I am running 6 2pac for a while at 200 MHz cooled with a fan. I have a USB hub that is able to provide 120 watts, 2 Amps at each of it's 10 ports. Controller is a Raspberry Pi 3 running cgminer.
Suddenly one of the sticks throws an error during startup that only 1 chip is detected and it wont mine.
Tried to run that stick alone, same result. Tried on a PC running win 10 with same result. Only one of the two chips is detected.
Any clue?
Thanks in advance.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 12, 2018, 12:20:05 AM
 #1943

Hardware issue, needs repair or replacement. Contact the seller.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
trader1a
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2018, 02:12:46 PM
 #1944

I am running one at 225 MHz from January with no problems.

Hub for raspberry is myria MY8022.
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2018, 03:51:06 PM
 #1945

Hello.
 Now i have played with 2pac sticks a while.3 still working and 3 are dead.
I have attached simple water blocks to sticks and connected to pc-s cooling.
they are running 225 Mhz and core 1,47 V and I get 24,67Gh/s.
Temp holding between 35 and 45 degrees Celsius,depending if i use PC for other purposes.

Are always the same working and the same dead? Usually it´s a power issue.

pappaaa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2018, 04:21:33 PM
 #1946

Hello.
 Now i have played with 2pac sticks a while.3 still working and 3 are dead.
I have attached simple water blocks to sticks and connected to pc-s cooling.
they are running 225 Mhz and core 1,47 V and I get 24,67Gh/s.
Temp holding between 35 and 45 degrees Celsius,depending if i use PC for other purposes.

Are always the same working and the same dead? Usually it´s a power issue.
light is green but they are not hashing and core voltage are 0.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 13, 2018, 01:32:42 PM
 #1947

Thanks for the nondescript acknowledgement that definitely wasn't spam, Mr High Schooler. Glad you figured out whatever the problem apparently was and got something back up and running.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1134


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
June 13, 2018, 01:34:55 PM
 #1948

They've been spamming all over the forum under different names resurrecting ancient threads and posting crap.
Maybe another Nigerian village school just got internet and they are practicing for their scams 101 test??

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2018, 03:14:59 PM
 #1949

Hello.
 Now i have played with 2pac sticks a while.3 still working and 3 are dead.
I have attached simple water blocks to sticks and connected to pc-s cooling.
they are running 225 Mhz and core 1,47 V and I get 24,67Gh/s.
Temp holding between 35 and 45 degrees Celsius,depending if i use PC for other purposes.

Are always the same working and the same dead? Usually it´s a power issue.
light is green but they are not hashing and core voltage are 0.
That wasn´t the quesition.

bitdigfun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 15, 2018, 09:39:39 AM
 #1950

so 300 mhz is the max to overclock? how long will it last on 300 without a fan?
and if it get too warm, will it burn or something like that? i running 1 on 150 mhz for about 2 months without a fan and works so anyone tried?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 15, 2018, 12:35:57 PM
 #1951

I haven't done the calculations, but - the chips inside an S9, with all that airflow, see 120C junction temperatures while dissipating roughly 6W per chip. At 300MHz your 2Pac will also be dissipating about 6W per chip, so without airflow it should be getting even hotter.

A good rule of thumb for anything electronic is avoid >125C junction temperatures.

It shouldn't catch on fire if you run it too hot, but it'll definitely stop working pretty soon. And before then it'll be a safety hazard to anyone who touches it without welding gloves. And if it fails it won't be covered by the warranty.
I don't recommend exceeding 100MHz for any length of time without some kind of fan.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 15, 2018, 03:42:04 PM
 #1952

so 300 mhz is the max to overclock? how long will it last on 300 without a fan?
Mine are running at 350 MHz with the arctic breeze fan. The´re getting pretty hot but are working for months now.

goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 15, 2018, 04:21:58 PM
 #1953

so 300 mhz is the max to overclock? how long will it last on 300 without a fan?
Mine are running at 350 MHz with the arctic breeze fan. The´re getting pretty hot but are working for months now.

What kind of hash rate you getting with 350? That's really high, i had some running at 225 mhz for a while with occasional restarts. Also used a fan in a controlled temp room.
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 15, 2018, 07:25:04 PM
 #1954

I´m running with about 35 GH/s per stick.

dobbstowncr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 15, 2018, 10:04:16 PM
 #1955

Hi,

I just received two 2pac's.  One runs great but the other, while recognized by cgminer, reports that it has 0 chips.  I have adjusted the little voltage screw, and tried a number of different hubs and configurations worked with the other one, but so far no luck.  Any suggestions or thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 16, 2018, 03:07:17 AM
 #1956

Zero chips typically means either the voltage is too low or there's a hardware issue. If you've adjusted the voltage but it's still failing it's probably a hardware issue.
The last batch of chips we got for these were pretty unspectacular. We rejected a lot of them outright and I've been replacing a lot of them on the bench, but a lot of them were functional enough to pass initial tests only to crap out during a burn-in. I hate to think how many passed burn-in but are crapping out for customers. But that's why we got a warranty. I'd say talk to the seller, see if he might have some advice for testing, and might hook you up with a replacement if it proves to be defunct.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
bitdigfun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 16, 2018, 03:30:33 AM
 #1957

I haven't done the calculations, but - the chips inside an S9, with all that airflow, see 120C junction temperatures while dissipating roughly 6W per chip.

A good rule of thumb for anything electronic is avoid >125C junction temperatures.


how do you set up cgminer to see what the temperature is?
like on bifury ubs stick, you can see the temperature.

125°C? is that too much since on bifury 87°C was the max and it shut automatically off when get too hot!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 16, 2018, 04:08:44 AM
 #1958

The 2Pac doesn't have a temp sensor. It runs until it breaks or until you turn it off.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
NRBITC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 16, 2018, 03:50:45 PM
 #1959

Hello everyone

I mine with my raspberry pi 3b + and 2 asic usb gekko 2pac or moonlander 2 powered by a usb hub

The gekko with CGminer and the moonlander with bfg miner.

it works pretty well with 1 key connected, but not when I have 2 on the hub ...

I would like to run the 2 miners at once but this causes:

cg mine mine correctly with the gekko but throws me usb init failed (du moonlander)
bfg miner hasrate hut quickly to get to 0 ...

Is it feasible to throw both minors at once without problems?

My problem is he has to manage who seeks to activate the moonlander? (how to disable the moonlander?) (or mine in dual?)

below my bat:

cd / home / pi / git / vthoang / cgminer
sudo ./cgminer -o stratum + tcp: // pool. -u -gekko-2pac-freq 100

./bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum + tcp: // pool -u -p 1, d = 128 -S / dev / USB0 --set MLD: clock = 600


Thank you for your answers
trader1a
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 17, 2018, 12:32:59 PM
 #1960

Hello everyone

I mine with my raspberry pi 3b + and 2 asic usb gekko 2pac or moonlander 2 powered by a usb hub

The gekko with CGminer and the moonlander with bfg miner.

it works pretty well with 1 key connected, but not when I have 2 on the hub ...

I would like to run the 2 miners at once but this causes:

cg mine mine correctly with the gekko but throws me usb init failed (du moonlander)
bfg miner hasrate hut quickly to get to 0 ...

Is it feasible to throw both minors at once without problems?

My problem is he has to manage who seeks to activate the moonlander? (how to disable the moonlander?) (or mine in dual?)

below my bat:

cd / home / pi / git / vthoang / cgminer
sudo ./cgminer -o stratum + tcp: // pool. -u -gekko-2pac-freq 100

./bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum + tcp: // pool -u -p 1, d = 128 -S / dev / USB0 --set MLD: clock = 600


Thank you for your answers

with cgminer to select one miner from two recognized miners:

first use -n argument
it will print something like dev 0: Bus 1 Device 10
dev 1....

then launch cgminer with --usb 1:10 to use the dev 0 miner
Pages: « 1 ... 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 [98] 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!