Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 05:16:15 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 [77] 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 145371 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 05:48:44 PM
 #1521

Sounds like a question for VH.

1537506975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506975
Reply with quote  #2

1537506975
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537506975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506975
Reply with quote  #2

1537506975
Report to moderator
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
January 26, 2018, 06:07:25 PM
 #1522

I´m planning on rebuilding my "mining environment". I bought a rig for 3.5" hdds with two 80 mm fans and I´m planning on mounting the sticks into it.
Do I have to expect any heat probles from the backside of the stick? I want to lay them horizontally on a mounting plate and insulate them with any kind of non conducting material. The heatsink would be pointing up then so that the airflow goes horizontally through the cooling rips. But that means, that no air would reach the backside, or then downside, of the stick. Is that a problem?

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 06:51:39 PM
 #1523

That really depends on how hot you're running them.

marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 10:43:03 AM
 #1524

Just received 2 new 2pacs, put in 60watt anker hub, cooling fan on, but after a short while the 2pacs go "OFF". What is this?
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2018, 01:08:30 PM
 #1525

That really depends on how hot you're running them.
I don´t know already. With the new setup I try to keep them cooler as with the current arctic breeze fans. But I want to turn up the voltage and frequency as well until I´m at the limit of the 30 W hub on each stick. I have about 5 W spare on each hub. I´m running at 80 Gh/s now with both sticks. I hope I reach an even 100 Gh/s.

NoComply
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2018, 01:15:09 PM
 #1526

If it was running without cooling and you unplugged it while very hot, that can cause damage to the ASICs.
Just noticed this interesting tidbit.
I'm using fans to keep them at a 'warm' level, can you elaborate on why unplugging while hot can damage the ASICs? Is it due to the sudden mechanical movement or something related to removing the electrical charge & temperature?
Cheers
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 03:06:42 PM
 #1527

I would guess it's got to do with thermal expansion and contraction. All I know is, back in the Compac days we set up some test sticks running cranked up and they worked just fine for weeks (though quite warm), but after being pulled some of them never worked again. Never had the issue with sticks that weren't run hot so I assume that's what done it. 2Pacs are probably even more susceptible because they've got 2 chips under the same size heatsink, which means potentially twice as much heat trying to dissipate. For super high overclocks I'd recommend finding a more efficient heatsink to reduce the chances of a chip getting cooked.

lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 03:29:43 PM
 #1528

If it was running without cooling and you unplugged it while very hot, that can cause damage to the ASICs.
Just noticed this interesting tidbit.
I'm using fans to keep them at a 'warm' level, can you elaborate on why unplugging while hot can damage the ASICs? Is it due to the sudden mechanical movement or something related to removing the electrical charge & temperature?
Cheers

When I have to pulls sticks, I terminate the process running them, then let them sit in the hub for about 30 seconds with the fan still blowing.
This gives everything a chance to cool before you jostle and bump it.

Just received 2 new 2pacs, put in 60watt anker hub, cooling fan on, but after a short while the 2pacs go "OFF". What is this?

I just got 2Pacs in, as well. One zombies after a few hours, with no HW errors. Another throws >than 1 error/second. To make them work like the rest of the slaves, I have to tune them.
(The one that has the error issues? I'm using it as a test mule for hardware development later.)

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 03:40:39 PM
 #1529

I wouldn't have shipped anything that threw more than 2 errors per hour. What speed are you running it, that you're seeing multiple per second?

lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 04:01:22 PM
 #1530

I wouldn't have shipped anything that threw more than 2 errors per hour. What speed are you running it, that you're seeing multiple per second?

I've got everything running 206.25 MHz.
I also noticed the heat sink on this unit is about 1mm off center.

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 04:13:38 PM
 #1531

Ah yeah, that'll definitely require more voltage. Seconds, like everything else, are tested at 100MHz.

lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 04:21:10 PM
 #1532

Ah yeah, that'll definitely require more voltage. Seconds, like everything else, are tested at 100MHz.

206.25. That's why I'm not having a fit, sir. I know I'm way overclocked on that one. (I read the forum posts before I got into these.)
The other one I mentioned will get a voltage adjustment later.

BTW, I really appreciate your concern. Makes me pleased to do business with you.  Smiley

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 08:21:10 AM
 #1533

At 300 mhz, the 2pacs require much baby sitting
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2018, 02:42:19 PM
 #1534

Not if they´re set up correctly. Mine are running at 350 MHz for weeks now without any issues. And if you would read some of the answers you got, you would know how to set up them correctly.

marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 03:40:16 PM
 #1535

Ok. the 2 pacs are mounted on 60 watt anker usb hubs, the hubs are plugged into the PC ( not daisy chained), and fan cooled. Holding the 2pac with the usb port at the top, I assume max voltage is at 1-2 o clock. Is this correct or what have I done wrong? BTW how to attach photo.

crypto_curious
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 104


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 03:53:12 PM
 #1536

Not if they´re set up correctly. Mine are running at 350 MHz for weeks now without any issues. And if you would read some of the answers you got, you would know how to set up them correctly.

Can you share cgminer screenshot with them running at 350?

Ok. the 2 pacs are mounted on 60 watt anker usb hubs, the hubs are plugged into the PC ( not daisy chained), and fan cooled. Holding the 2pac with the usb port at the top, I assume max voltage is at 1-2 o clock. Is this correct or what have I done wrong? BTW how to attach photo.



Send your photos to https://imgur.com/ and share link here.

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 03:56:05 PM
 #1537

Also if you start referencing pot position with the USB jack at the bottom like has been mentioned several times, everything you read about pot positions will start making sense instead of being exactly wrong.

marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 04:06:07 PM
 #1538


der_wasi  - can you answer my post above, please?
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 04:08:49 PM
 #1539

Update on the one stick that had so many errors: just to get it running, I gave it 1/8 turn clockwise on the pot, dropped the freq to 193.75 MHz, and it's been running half an hour with no errors.  Smiley  (I know that luck is involved here)

Also, just for kicks, I ran 6 sticks on two Anker 10-port, 60W hubs (3 per hub) - chained.  They worked.
I've since returned the hubs to separate ports on my laptop.

As soon as I get my work vehicle fixed, I should have the time to work with each stick individually with a voltmeter. I'd like to have all of them play together at about 250 MHz with hw errors popping up a couple times per hour, per stick.

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2018, 04:53:09 PM
 #1540

Can you share cgminer screenshot with them running at 350?
Sure.
https://imgur.com/70pTepd

der_wasi  - can you answer my post above, please?
I don´t know what you´re doing wrong. I posted a discription a few posts ago. If you follow that you will be able to set them up or to see where the problem is. You need to do a little troubleshooting yourself.

Pages: « 1 ... 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 [77] 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!