Bitcoin Forum
February 18, 2019, 11:27:20 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 152944 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1325

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 12, 2018, 03:36:04 PM
 #1401

Anything that'll fit. I've got an old I think P0 that came from a $5 Wal-Mart set about 12 years ago on my bench for making adjustments. Maybe one of those glasses repair kit screwdrivers would work? Tip of a pocketknife blade? Grab it with tweezers? Shouldn't take long to find something that'll work.

But yeah, if the sticks are running unstable and drop out, I'd turn up the voltage just a little bit. Could also be they're running too cold - maybe your fan's too good. You don't want them running too hot to touch, but a bit of heat is actually a good thing.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
1550489240
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550489240

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550489240
Reply with quote  #2

1550489240
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550489240
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550489240

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550489240
Reply with quote  #2

1550489240
Report to moderator
1550489240
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550489240

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550489240
Reply with quote  #2

1550489240
Report to moderator
1550489240
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550489240

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550489240
Reply with quote  #2

1550489240
Report to moderator
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 12, 2018, 07:47:59 PM
 #1402

I turn up the voltage and have all 10 of mine running at 200mhz steadily with no issues, 24hrs now  Grin
powrslave
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2018, 06:44:15 AM
 #1403

Where are you guys pointing your miners?
marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 13, 2018, 06:54:11 AM
 #1404

ckpool for me. its a long shot, but I believe in luck
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 12:38:31 AM
 #1405

I have my miners pointed at ViaBTC mining BCH for now, I was mining DGB at theblocksfactory for a while.
klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1662
Merit: 1019

I thought we all equal -_-


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 02:17:15 PM
 #1406

"Turn up the voltage"? You mean the tiny, almost impossible to turn screw?

are you trolling? It is easy to turn that screw...with a small screwdriver obviously

ckpool for me. its a long shot, but I believe in luck

me too, ckpool all the way. its comin baby i can feel it!

EYE




██████████

████
████
█████████
███████
███████
█████
█████████
█████████
BOOT
   Online Mining Hardware Store   
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Industrial-Grade USB HubsBTC/LTC MinersPower SuppliesAdapter Cables

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Contact Us Now
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 10:57:09 PM
 #1407

I've got this little setup pointed at kano.is
https://imgur.com/a/sh5kd

Edit: Planning on adding about 350 GH/s tomorrow.  Smiley

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 11:11:39 PM
 #1408

I've got this little setup pointed at kano.is
https://imgur.com/a/sh5kd

Edit: Planning on adding about 350 GH/s tomorrow.  Smiley

Nice but the 3 at kano would be dust payments and not payed out, I think.
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 12:22:46 AM
 #1409

goose1072: Yeah, I know. Just a test run before I re-allocate my meager mining resources.

Note my status - I'm still making lots of mistakes. Occasionally, I learn.  Smiley

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 01:20:05 AM
 #1410

goose1072: Yeah, I know. Just a test run before I re-allocate my meager mining resources.

Note my status - I'm still making lots of mistakes. Occasionally, I learn.  Smiley

LOL... we all started somewhere.

I was on Kano last year, sounds long ago but not really. Had my bigger miners there.(Avalon's)
I liked Kano then but everything got harder for smaller pools so I moved on to viaBTC, gave me options that kano didn't.
Kano is still a great pool for some but not for the smaller stickminer.

Currently I mine different pools on the Gekko and different coins to see how they do, it's fun.
I like to play with the configs and figure out what works best.
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 01:30:12 AM
 #1411

goose1072: Yeah, I know. Just a test run before I re-allocate my meager mining resources.

Note my status - I'm still making lots of mistakes. Occasionally, I learn.  Smiley

Kano is still a great pool for some but not for the smaller stickminer.

Currently I mine different pools on the Gekko and different coins to see how they do, it's fun.
I like to play with the configs and figure out what works best.

I was on Kano about 2 minutes when I figured out the sticks weren't going anywhere. I've got other gear pointed elsewhere, including viaBTC. Pointing the micro-miners there after I reconfigure the others. Pulling out of a big BTC pool to dig for a couple of alts.

Unlike most, I DO NOT expect to "turn a profit" on mining. Not in the wallet, anyways.

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
vegascoinpool
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 06:15:13 AM
 #1412

Here's my 2Pac rig... Eyeboot plugged into a Raspberry Pi. Running cgminer. I didn't do the cgminer install, a friend did it for me.... but its worked ever since.

At 225 I'm getting about 280-300gh out of the right most days, 13 sticks. I have two that zombie out a lot, and they look like they got smoked out by the previous user, so they may be heat damaged. Overall, solid right. My weak point, at the moment, seems to be the Pi, which freezes up at least once a week.





goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 07:18:58 AM
 #1413

Here's my 2Pac rig... Eyeboot plugged into a Raspberry Pi. Running cgminer. I didn't do the cgminer install, a friend did it for me.... but its worked ever since.

At 225 I'm getting about 280-300gh out of the right most days, 13 sticks. I have two that zombie out a lot, and they look like they got smoked out by the previous user, so they may be heat damaged. Overall, solid right. My weak point, at the moment, seems to be the Pi, which freezes up at least once a week.







Nice rig!

I am not sure if you can do this on a raspberry but try opening a separate instance for the ones that zombie or up the voltage on them.
I was having similar problem so I decided to run each one individually and it has worked out great, also up the voltage on a few.

I have an exp Pi but have heard people having problems with freezing so I deceived to stay with the PC instead.   
vegascoinpool
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 07:25:06 AM
 #1414


Nice rig!

I am not sure if you can do this on a raspberry but try opening a separate instance for the ones that zombie or up the voltage on them.
I was having similar problem so I decided to run each one individually and it has worked out great, also up the voltage on a few.

I have an exp Pi but have heard people having problems with freezing so I deceived to stay with the PC instead.   

Thanks!

Using the advice on this thread I upped the voltage on a few that were giving more HW errors than the rest and seemed to not only improve my overall hash rate, but also the stability. The two I've got left have darkened backs that look like someone "cooked" em by overclocking and/or not cooling them enough. They got pushed to their limits and likely aren't stable any longer. I got ALL of these on eBay from various sellers and who knows what abuse they took before they got sold off.

I'm wondering how many more I can push on this Eyeboot.
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 02:14:32 PM
 #1415

Here's my 2Pac rig... Eyeboot plugged into a Raspberry Pi. Running cgminer. I didn't do the cgminer install, a friend did it for me.... but its worked ever since.



Cool, sir.   I need to do voltage adjustments, too. My seconds have been killing it, but I've got one I bought used that zombies two or three times a day.

I also have a box of Orbs I need to break out.

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 03:09:46 PM
Last edit: January 15, 2018, 03:23:30 PM by marousi
 #1416

I increased the voltage for all 2pacs and they run at 250 MHZ with 0 HW errors. That is good, but every so often 1 or 2 go into "zombie" mode. Does this mean I need to increase the voltage or maybe better cooling? I am tempted to push them to 300 MHZ but am afraid they might go kaput.
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2018, 04:19:37 PM
 #1417

My weak point, at the moment, seems to be the Pi, which freezes up at least once a week.
There ´s somethin you can do about it:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.msg5932931#msg5932931

I increased the voltage for all 2pacs and they run at 250 MHZ with 0 HW errors. That is good, but every so often 1 or 2 go into "zombie" mode. Does this mean I need to increase the voltage or maybe better cooling? I am tempted to push them to 300 MHZ but am afraid they might go kaput.
Yes, turn up the voltage a little bit more. You need to do that anyway if you want to turn up the frequency. I´m running at 350 MHz with a arctic breeze fan on each 2Pac. They´re getting pretty hot. Same as on factory setting at 100 MHz with no cooling. So I assume it´s fine.

...go kaput.
You´re from Germany, right? Cheesy

marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 05:36:58 PM
 #1418

Ok, all 6 2pacs are running at 275 mhz and no HW errors but 2 of them going into zombie mode quickly.
Cissou
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 05:51:26 PM
 #1419

Hello,

I have 3 2Pac, 2 are working greatly, but the third only have blue light constantly.

I tried to plug it in another computer without mining, and always blue light.

some advices?
marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 07:21:43 PM
 #1420

I don't know about the blue light, but they are temperamental devices. When 1 goes zombie I just change the port on the same hub and its ok again for awhile. two of the 2pacs keep going into zombie mode no matter what I do.
Pages: « 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!