Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2019, 05:17:40 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 [107]
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 153357 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
koolone4u
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2019, 08:00:40 PM
 #2121

Let me do a newbie question, please sorry if it's a too dumb question.

Would it be possible to change the firmware ( or something else ) of the 2Pac GekkoScience to mine with a different algorithm? Like Scrypt?

For firmware, not likely, the 2pac is an ASIC. Meaning its designed specifically for a single algorithm and this is hard coded into the hardware during manufacturing. They could release another version of the 2pac with different a algorithm but the one you already have will remain as is.

No. That is not how firmware works and there is nothing else you can change on the 2PAC to change its algorithm.

Yes and yes.  These Bitcoin ASICs are application specific to Bitcoins.   

Long answer:

Logically bitcoin hashing involves a double SHA256: SHA(SHA(x)).


Dear All,
i have got some odd issue with gekko Science U10 SHA256,
i have got three of these are connected on USB power HUH. but Cgminer is only detecting on USB miner
can anyone please help on it
thanks
bye

But most application specific one does a: SHA(m [+ s] + MODIFIEDSHA(w + n)) and checks for leading zero then returns n.
  m=pool created midstate,
  s=driver created partial sha (chip specific),
  w=driver created leaftover from x,
  n=chip created nonce

Which results in logically a SHA(SHA(x)) at the pool.

Short answer:

They are hard wired and not programmable in any way.


1550812660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550812660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550812660
Reply with quote  #2

1550812660
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550812660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550812660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550812660
Reply with quote  #2

1550812660
Report to moderator
1550812660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550812660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550812660
Reply with quote  #2

1550812660
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1331

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 07, 2019, 08:17:55 PM
 #2122

First off - huh? Please fix your formatting if you have something to say.

Second - U10?

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
didi1966
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2019, 06:31:10 AM
 #2123

Maybe somebody can help....   my 2PAC stick is running on a USB Hub (120W power) very fine....   but always when a put a second 2PAC stick in the same USB Hub, the first 2PAC stick dies....  if I add a 3rd one.. same game... always the last one survives, all other die... the USB Hub has 120W power.. should be enough for 2 sticks...  
System is running on Ubuntu..   Has someone any ideas??

best regards
Dietmar
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 88

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2019, 11:41:56 AM
 #2124

Your hub doesn't have enough amp per port to run multiples i suspect. Can you post specs or a link to the product your using?

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
didi1966
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2019, 12:26:16 PM
 #2125

Here the specs of the HUB...  it should have enough power...

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07F7F5WV2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

regards
Dietmar
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1331

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 08, 2019, 01:48:59 PM
 #2126

If it's an issue of plugging them in in sequence, try plugging them all in and then kicking on power.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
didi1966
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2019, 10:51:51 PM
 #2127

Thanks....  was a good idea... seems to work :-)
regards
Dietmar
cekolaw
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 11


View Profile
January 16, 2019, 06:28:24 AM
 #2128

Guys for the life of me i cannot get cgminer to activate the GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Stickminer.
Using Ubuntu 16.04, I compiled properly with the --enable-gekko switch.

lsusb lists the device properly:
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light

cgminer -n displays:
 [2017-05-26 13:52:43.003] USB all: found 5 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 2 Device 4 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'GekkoScience'
  Product: '2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner'
 [2017-05-26 13:52:43.003] 1 known USB devices

but when i run ./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://sha256.eu.nicehash.com:3334/#xnsub -u XXXXXXXXXXX
it states no devices detected.
when i press U and then L i get this:
Bus 2 Device 4 ID: 10c4:ea60 GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner inactive
1 total known USB device

No clue how to enable this device. would love an expert to chime in. im lost, and new.

Hi, did anyone respond and did you manage to resolve this issue?

Any advise appreciated, thanks.  Smiley

I am facing this in my new Raspberry Pi...  Sad
zac123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2019, 10:02:28 AM
 #2129

hi everyone,

i currently have two of my USBs with a solid white light. Should they just be chucked or is there some way to salvage something from them?

thanks
zac
Filax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 23, 2019, 07:10:15 PM
Merited by vh (5)
 #2130

Hi Smiley

I just have a question about those keys, i'm actually playing with them! And that fun Smiley But i'm asking something :

Is there a limit to the maximum Mhz value? Because i tryed 300 => 305 => 310 etc, and CG Miner seem work ?

Of course, sometime, my power block can't follow me in my tests... Cheesy Cheesy The raspberry cry!

Here is my actual small crappy miner Smiley I get 300 Mhz (around 62/64 Ghz seconds) on a raspberry (But i need to patch the usb cables to put more power, 3 amps per ports)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2ouWoFRMqw

You can't imagine the power needed when you want to quit the factory setup, 100 MHz.

I tryed many USB HUB... But most of them can't deliver more than 2 amps per slots...
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1331

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 23, 2019, 07:37:26 PM
 #2131


You can't imagine the power needed when you want to quit the factory setup, 100 MHz.


Actually you can, because there's a chart in the first post.

The fastest I've ever seen someone push a 2Pac was about 350MHz. I've never pushed one past 300MHz (hence why the chart cuts off there; it's my data). VH can tell you where the code stops supporting speeds, but it's probably upward of 500MHz (technically possible maybe with liquid immersion). That's a decent setup you have there, pretty sweet repurposed cooler.

If you ever feel like upgrading to NewPacs, they'll mount up exactly the same as the 2Pacs (screws in the same place and everything), but NewPacs overclock like a breeze. You can typically push them to three times the stock hashrate without adjusting voltage. Your setup could see upwards of 300GH, especially with ASICBoost enabled.

I don't know how feasible it'd be for you, but GekkoScience also makes a USB hub good for 3A per port. You'd be able to power both sticks and your Pi off it, using a single 12V brick to power the hub instead of multiple 5V adapters and alligator clips.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Filax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 23, 2019, 07:47:03 PM
 #2132

Hi

Thanks for the reply Smiley As you understand i try to make the most efficient VS the power needed Smiley

And you know? I just ordered 6 of the newpac keys! Can't wait to use them!

I ordered too a new special HUB (made for those kind of key like say the site) (i don"t know if i can put a link?)

Really interresting your HUB!? Any link?

About the chart : Yes i saw it! Smiley But the max value go to 300 max and i thinked that i can't push up, so if i resume :

More than i get power AMPS => And more i can cool down the chips => More i can get G-HASH/S?

If  YES, really good news! Really, i can't wait to play with the new one! when i see the technical specs Smiley

I can' imagine with a 10 amps power block and a mega passive cool down fan Smiley Smiley I'm enough crazy to test this...


You say : "multiple 5V adapters and alligator clips."

Yeah i know it's crappy Smiley Smiley But i'm actually making tests... The raspberry is really sensible with power stuff :/ But when done, i'll make a 3D printed nice box for it Smiley
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
January 23, 2019, 08:02:58 PM
 #2133

Frequency is capped at 500MHz in the code. 
I've only ever reached 325MHz due to heat concerns.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1845307.msg18647593#msg18647593

Success case running @ 350MHz
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg29114535#msg29114535

A rare attempt at 400Mhz.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg26468690#msg26468690


Filax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 23, 2019, 08:05:54 PM
 #2134

Thanks for the links, i'll take a look and i'm sure i can beat them! Smiley Smiley
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1331

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 23, 2019, 08:13:53 PM
 #2135

I'm pretty sure the main regulator on these sticks will handle 500MHz at the chips (with minimal tweaking out-of-spec of voltage adjustment parts to up around 1.8V from factory max 1.6V), if other parts don't start melting first. You'd be pushing at least 15W into each chip, which probably cannot be done with air cooling.

If you bought a hub said to be made for these sticks, it's likely the one I'm talking about and it should treat you well.

Thanks for them links, VH. I was not aware of a 400MHz attempt.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Filax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 24, 2019, 10:46:58 AM
Last edit: January 24, 2019, 03:11:47 PM by Filax
 #2136

HI

I just checked the name of my futur HUB and it's the gekkoscience Smiley Smiley

Gekkoscience 7 Port USB Hub 2.0

So with 3 amps per port, i think to have enough power to play a bit Smiley

Edit : I tested the actual config to 325/330 MHZ , it work... The rapsberry mewl a bit Smiley Bit it work.

avulsionist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 09, 2019, 09:46:30 PM
 #2137

I have had my 2pacs running at 225MHz nonstop for a long time no problems. Thanks to all the help in this forum it's now just a stable little farm.
After all this time, one of them stopped blinking. I figured it had bit the bucket but when finding it in the cgminer conosle it's still chugging along with no HW errors. Has anyone ever had the blinking stop on a 2pac? Should i worry?
I am a bit color blind but it looks to be a steady blue even though it's hashing.
Pages: « 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 [107]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!