Bitcoin Forum
February 18, 2019, 11:30:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 [80] 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 152944 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 08, 2018, 07:08:48 PM
 #1581

i've been running 2 2pacs per 60 watt hub at 300mhz. think I need to reduce to 250mhz or so
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550489411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550489411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550489411
Reply with quote  #2

1550489411
Report to moderator
1550489411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550489411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550489411
Reply with quote  #2

1550489411
Report to moderator
1550489411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550489411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550489411
Reply with quote  #2

1550489411
Report to moderator
nQuant
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 2


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 07:12:13 AM
 #1582

ck has released a new version of cgminer this week, does this build include the latest code or the version prior?

Yes, it includes all the latest updates from ck's repository.
Including some related to system libusb that has sent my windows build example back to the drawing board.  Sad
   
The entry page to my repository should say "This branch is N commits ahead of ckolivas:master. ".
If it's ever "commits behind" just let me know.




vh, I was wondering if these 2pac checks against difficulty ? Datasheet says 4 bytes from byte position 36 to 39 set as ticket mask for difficulty.
But gekko driver code seems only setting ticket_mask at 39th byte position. What extactly is this ticket_mask?

I tried setting Network difficulty as below and seemed it work but later found its not always returning true nonce for every sample worked example I was using.
I think these chips keep iterating from 0 to max nonce and return every nonce which result in hash with first 4 bytes with 0. Is that true ?

Code:
_data[36] = (byte)((difficulty >> 24) & 0xff);
_data[37] = (byte)((difficulty >> 16) & 0xff);
_data[38] = (byte)((difficulty >> 8) & 0xff);
_data[39] = (byte)(difficulty & 0xff);

Actually I have written small POC kind of app in c# to test and wondering how to control difficulty its checking against.
Also it seems you are not using Start nonce offset, in my test I found any value above 1 was not working.
How to set the SNO properly so that device only starts the work from particular nonce instead of 0.

Appreciate if you could help me here. Thanks !!!
nQuant
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 2


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 04:54:09 PM
 #1583

Recall all the advice that's been given to you already.

Sidehack, would you be able to help me with my question to vh above ?
Dossis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 11:30:56 AM
 #1584

Hello, how I can run multiple Gekko's on same PC? I do have external USB hub with external power, but when I do plug in both of em in it (in usb hub),  only one does start mining, other shows 0h/s..

https://cdn.pbrd.co/images/H6nJ7tw.png
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1325

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 01:19:39 PM
 #1585

Your hub sucks. Read the last 5 pages for at least one other person's this exact problem and solution.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 02:42:57 PM
 #1586


vh, I was wondering if these 2pac checks against difficulty ? Datasheet says 4 bytes from byte position 36 to 39 set as ticket mask for difficulty.
But gekko driver code seems only setting ticket_mask at 39th byte position. What extactly is this ticket_mask?

I tried setting Network difficulty as below and seemed it work but later found its not always returning true nonce for every sample worked example I was using.
I think these chips keep iterating from 0 to max nonce and return every nonce which result in hash with first 4 bytes with 0. Is that true ?

...

Appreciate if you could help me here. Thanks !!!

For a valid ticket mask, think of network mask and CIDR notation.   
When visualizing a CIDR in bit form, a mask with 0's scattered between 1's is not valid.

Starting at 4GHs, every time the hash rate double(s) its worth tacking a bit onto the mask.
If the 2Pac ever push past 1TH(s), then I'll add a todo to check if the other bytes do what they are suppose to.

--

The chip iterates 2^32 nonces instead of 0 to max nonce. 
To experiment with SNO you probably need to pair it with HCN.

vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 02:43:57 PM
Merited by hurricandave (50)
 #1587

New version of code is available.

As before, you don't need to update immediately if you are happy with your current setup.

windows build:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-4a3f595.7z

notes:

merged in upstream cgminer
- Fix to configuration saving
- some other stuff

add frequency validation:
- Attempts to match reported frequency with requested frequency.

improved terminus support:
- Terminus R808, yay.

corrected state meaning:
- OFF = Needs some physical attention.  Previously reported ZOMBIE state.
- ZOMBIE = USB Miner Unplugged.


installation:

rename folder -> checkout (see first post) -> autogen -> make
or
pull -> autogen -> make

* if you have trouble, move back to different version.


sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1325

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 02:45:47 PM
 #1588

Question. Are Terminus still listed as Compac-8?

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 02:50:23 PM
 #1589

Yes.
On startup it will report it as a Terminus:

 [2018-02-10 14:48:01.563] Loaded configuration file /home/pi/.cgminer/cgminer.conf
 [2018-02-10 14:48:01.805] GSD 0: 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10000961)
 [2018-02-10 14:48:01.879] GSD 1: 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10011754)
[2018-02-10 14:48:01.959] GSE 0: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10010025)
 [2018-02-10 14:48:02.033] GSC 0: Compac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10009179)
 [2018-02-10 14:48:02.104] GSC 1: Compac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10002354)


The top status screen:
 2: GSE 10010025: COMPAC-8 225.00MHz HW:0 | 161.2G / 98.64Gh/s WU:1081.5/m

ricknamer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 127
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 02:57:01 PM
 #1590

Yes.
On startup it will report it as a Terminus:

 [2018-02-10 14:48:01.563] Loaded configuration file /home/pi/.cgminer/cgminer.conf
 [2018-02-10 14:48:01.805] GSD 0: 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10000961)
 [2018-02-10 14:48:01.879] GSD 1: 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10011754)
[2018-02-10 14:48:01.959] GSE 0: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10010025)
 [2018-02-10 14:48:02.033] GSC 0: Compac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10009179)
 [2018-02-10 14:48:02.104] GSC 1: Compac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10002354)


The top status screen:
 2: GSE 10010025: COMPAC-8 225.00MHz HW:0 | 161.2G / 98.64Gh/s WU:1081.5/m


Very excited to see these.  Thanks guys!
nQuant
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 2


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 11:01:58 PM
 #1591


vh, I was wondering if these 2pac checks against difficulty ? Datasheet says 4 bytes from byte position 36 to 39 set as ticket mask for difficulty.
But gekko driver code seems only setting ticket_mask at 39th byte position. What extactly is this ticket_mask?

I tried setting Network difficulty as below and seemed it work but later found its not always returning true nonce for every sample worked example I was using.
I think these chips keep iterating from 0 to max nonce and return every nonce which result in hash with first 4 bytes with 0. Is that true ?

...

Appreciate if you could help me here. Thanks !!!

For a valid ticket mask, think of network mask and CIDR notation.   
When visualizing a CIDR in bit form, a mask with 0's scattered between 1's is not valid.

Starting at 4GHs, every time the hash rate double(s) its worth tacking a bit onto the mask.
If the 2Pac ever push past 1TH(s), then I'll add a todo to check if the other bytes do what they are suppose to.

--

The chip iterates 2^32 nonces instead of 0 to max nonce. 
To experiment with SNO you probably need to pair it with HCN.


Thanks, appreciate for your explanation. for 100mhz, ticket mask is set as 31 (0x1f)
So..

Ticket mask tells number of bits to use for validating all 0's ?

Or

Ticket mask is only 4 bytes whereas hash is 32 byte,
So does that means this device only masking last 4 bytes and will return any nonce that results in last 4 bytes with 0's ?

Or

I'm no expert when it comes to binary operations, but if we ignore the fact of hashrate this device produce and above statement is not true, my understanding below is correct ?
take example of this current target
0000000000000000-0000000000000000-00000000f8e96100-0000000000000000

and its binary conversion of last 16 bytes:
0000000000000000000000000000000011111000111010010110000100000000-0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

If I have to create mask to satisfy current target, it should be like this ?
0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000111111111-1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111

How to represent this in 4 bytes of ticket mask ? or each byte represent each 8 byte chunk if hash ?

vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 12:18:22 AM
 #1592

Ticket mask is only 4 bytes whereas hash is 32 byte,
So does that means this device only masking last 4 bytes and will return any nonce that results in last 4 bytes with 0's ?

That is a really good question.   Sadly I don't have your answer.
The datasheet has little/no info on it that can lead to any concrete answers.   



PfC Santiago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 05:46:57 AM
 #1593

My potentiometer is a little glitchy and jumps straight from 1.26V to 1.64V.....nothing in between.  I did manage to get 1.29 once.  I haven't sprayed air to it to attempt to clean.  What about contact cleaner (no power to it of course).  I'm guessing 1.64V will be harmful to the stick?  The 2 charts I saw both stopped at 1.5V.

I've had this for 2 days and having fun.  Had an issue with a usb extension cable but figured that out.  Running 1 at 200Mhz solid at 1.29V with 3 HW errors in the past 20 minutes.  If I can't get the pot deal worked out I'll back it down a bit.
aldoyh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 01:48:33 PM
 #1594

I got the 2pac running on Mac Pro, usually, when it goes ZOMBIE I replug it and it's fine, but now it's absolutely not detected, any advice?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1325

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 02:05:48 PM
 #1595

Depends on how "absolutely" you mean. That would imply it's not picked up on the USB bus at all, rather than "cgminer sees it but won't mine" which is actually the lowest level of "not detected". So how "not detected" is it? Because "absolutely" isn't very diagnostically useful.

Then you've got questions like "are you using a hub or plugged into the PC directly", followed by "does the hub still work" or "did your hub come unplugged" or "does the USB jack on your computer still work" or "were you overclocking it" and "did you have cooling".

Long story short - I prefer to help people who do their own homework. So my advice is, give us more information.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
aldoyh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 03:01:44 PM
 #1596

Thanks for the reply, it's listed but as inactive, it was running at 150 Mhz with cooling fan on it.. as shown in the screenshot

https://imgur.com/a/8aeO0
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1325

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 03:20:21 PM
 #1597

Okay so we know the USB jack (wherever it is) is at least getting some power. Either the string is locking up (in which case you should turn up the voltage) or one of your chips is damaged (in which case you should consider warranty repair).

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
aldoyh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 03:27:58 PM
 #1598

Turn up the voltage through the screw on the side?

And where do I request a warranty repair?
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 03:34:21 PM
 #1599

Double check the first post for links to troubleshooting including voltage adjustment photos and notes...

A couple of initial things to try:
1) as mentioned above, bump up voltage
2) if you use brew to install, do a "brew reinstall cgminer", to grab the latest code.
instructions are on the first post to install with brew.

More in depth checking, before concluding the chip is dead:
1) check if you can get the miner to run on a different machine.
2) give the miner more power using a powered hub.

aldoyh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 03:48:37 PM
 #1600

After "brew reinstall cgminer" the Stick is showing with "OFF" (as in  OFF = Needs some physical attention.  Previously reported ZOMBIE state.)
What's meant by physical attention? Is it voltage up?

Note that it's directly plugged into Mac Pro which able to give up to 1.1 Amps.
Your help is much appreciated.
Pages: « 1 ... 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 [80] 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!