Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2018, 01:40:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 [83] 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 142091 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
crishouse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 02:19:01 AM
 #1641

My R PI cannot seem to run for more that 24 hours without freezing. It's running the https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer miner. Once it crashes, I obviously cannot ssh into it. I just cycle the power on it and restart the miner program. It's kind of annoying.

I find the thermal sink to be warmer than usual. I have tried a fresh install with a nicer SD card, but it didn't help. I also run BFG miner running moonlanders which has never crashed in the weeks I've been running it. Are there other miner programs I could use to run Gekko 2Pacs? Any other ideas to improve the stability would be much appreciated. I have dealt with USB power issues, but I don't think that would cause the RPI to lock up.
1527082834
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527082834

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527082834
Reply with quote  #2

1527082834
Report to moderator
1527082834
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527082834

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527082834
Reply with quote  #2

1527082834
Report to moderator
1527082834
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527082834

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527082834
Reply with quote  #2

1527082834
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527082834
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527082834

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527082834
Reply with quote  #2

1527082834
Report to moderator
1527082834
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527082834

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527082834
Reply with quote  #2

1527082834
Report to moderator
rem26
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 67
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 02:33:36 AM
 #1642

My R PI cannot seem to run for more that 24 hours without freezing. It's running the https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer miner. Once it crashes, I obviously cannot ssh into it. I just cycle the power on it and restart the miner program. It's kind of annoying.

I find the thermal sink to be warmer than usual. I have tried a fresh install with a nicer SD card, but it didn't help. I also run BFG miner running moonlanders which has never crashed in the weeks I've been running it. Are there other miner programs I could use to run Gekko 2Pacs? Any other ideas to improve the stability would be much appreciated. I have dealt with USB power issues, but I don't think that would cause the RPI to lock up.

Which distribution are you running on your pi, and what kind of power supply are you running the _pi_ with.  I assume you have the 2pacs in a seperate, powered hub (2Pacs NOT plugged into the RPI, but plugged into a hub).
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450
Merit: 250


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 04:25:58 AM
 #1643

could be the rpi is getting old?
I have the same with two old pis, one dies after one day, another dies after about a week, tried installing cgminer on my diskstation, it worked and it sees the sticks but hashing didnt work, im now running it on a linux server
I'll check later (when i get a fresh rpi) if they indeed were getting old
 
simonseys
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 04:42:46 PM
 #1644


hi.

i can't seem to get more than two of these going at the same time in cgminer.  by default it should use all the devices i think.  i've tried specifying the devices using --usb but that didn't work.  i'm using the same cgminer pulled from git in the first message.  when started with the command line below it recognizes all my gekkos:

-o stratum+tcp://us1.bitminter.com:3333 -u username -p x --gekko-2pac-freq 200 --gekko-compac-freq 200 --suggest-diff 3 

Code:
[2018-02-22 11:28:03.278] Started cgminer 4.10.0                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:03.504] GSD 0: 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (xxxxxxxx)                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:03.564] GSD 1: 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (xxxxxxxx)                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:03.623] GSD 2: 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (xxxxxxxx)                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:03.683] GSD 3: 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (xxxxxxxx)                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:04.563] GSD 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:04.865] GSD 2: setting frequency to 100.00MHz                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:04.895] Probing for an alive pool                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:04.914] GSD 1: open cores @ 100.00MHz                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:05.187] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 512                   
 [2018-02-22 11:28:05.219] GSD 2: open cores @ 100.00MHz                   

however notice above it only opens GSD 1 and 2.  when hashing only those two devices do any work:

Code:
[2018-02-22 11:29:38.224] Accepted 03ab34a5 Diff 70/64 GSD 1                     
 [2018-02-22 11:29:42.719] Accepted ac1d5128 Diff 381/64 GSD 1                     
 [2018-02-22 11:29:43.370] Accepted 03179a7d Diff 83/64 GSD 1                     
 [2018-02-22 11:29:53.519] Accepted 01de0d84 Diff 137/64 GSD 2                     
 [2018-02-22 11:29:53.731] Accepted 010d6d06 Diff 243/64 GSD 1                     
 [2018-02-22 11:30:02.036] Accepted d7038cea Diff 305/64 GSD 1                     
 [2018-02-22 11:30:07.863] Accepted 02c01f68 Diff 93/64 GSD 2                     
 [2018-02-22 11:30:29.419] Accepted 014651cc Diff 201/64 GSD 2                     
 [2018-02-22 11:30:41.425] Accepted 02fe1ae6 Diff 86/64 GSD 1                     
 [2018-02-22 11:30:58.658] Accepted 6463036f Diff 653/64 GSD 2                     
 [2018-02-22 11:31:04.354] Accepted 039d6c44 Diff 71/64 GSD 1                     

when i ctrl-c the cgminer process, it also shows two devices were unused:

Code:
[2018-02-22 11:26:35.771] GSD 0 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m
 [2018-02-22 11:26:35.771] GSD 1 (5s):23.74G (avg):21.75Gh/s | A:12416 R:0 HW:1 WU:300.6/m
 [2018-02-22 11:26:35.771] GSD 2 (5s):29.73G (avg):21.88Gh/s | A:11968 R:0 HW:0 WU:302.3/m
 [2018-02-22 11:26:35.771] GSD 3 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m

how to i get cgminer to use my other two gekkos?

thanks for any help.  Smiley
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1092

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 04:51:38 PM
 #1645

I'm gonna guess your hub sucks. Unless it's the same stick not working every time, in which case you might consider turning up the voltage. I'd read the most recent 5-10 pages in this thread because similar issues have come up at least once or twice lately, with discussions about diagnosing the issue.

der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2018, 05:15:36 PM
 #1646

My R PI cannot seem to run for more that 24 hours without freezing. It's running the https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer miner. Once it crashes, I obviously cannot ssh into it. I just cycle the power on it and restart the miner program. It's kind of annoying.

I find the thermal sink to be warmer than usual. I have tried a fresh install with a nicer SD card, but it didn't help. I also run BFG miner running moonlanders which has never crashed in the weeks I've been running it. Are there other miner programs I could use to run Gekko 2Pacs? Any other ideas to improve the stability would be much appreciated. I have dealt with USB power issues, but I don't think that would cause the RPI to lock up.
Try this:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.msg5932931#msg5932931

It helped solving the same issue for me.

simonseys
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 05:31:36 PM
 #1647

I'm gonna guess your hub sucks. Unless it's the same stick not working every time, in which case you might consider turning up the voltage. I'd read the most recent 5-10 pages in this thread because similar issues have come up at least once or twice lately, with discussions about diagnosing the issue.

hey.   i am using an anker 10 Port 60W USB 3.0 hub like this one below:

https://www.amazon.com/Anker-PowerIQ-Charging-Macbook-Surface/dp/B00VDVCQ84/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1519320527&sr=8-1&keywords=Anker+10+Port+60W

i will take your suggestion and do more reading of the thread so i can troubleshoot / diagnose my units.   i did try dropping the clock to 25MHz and had the exact same behavior, it only using GSD 1 and 2 and none of the others..

thanks.
mrw21j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 07:05:45 PM
 #1648

What arguments need to be added (if any) to CGMiner for 2 sticks running from the same powered hub on Windows?
avulsionist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 09:21:47 PM
 #1649

I'm gonna guess your hub sucks. Unless it's the same stick not working every time, in which case you might consider turning up the voltage. I'd read the most recent 5-10 pages in this thread because similar issues have come up at least once or twice lately, with discussions about diagnosing the issue.

hey.   i am using an anker 10 Port 60W USB 3.0 hub like this one below:

https://www.amazon.com/Anker-PowerIQ-Charging-Macbook-Surface/dp/B00VDVCQ84/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1519320527&sr=8-1&keywords=Anker+10+Port+60W

i will take your suggestion and do more reading of the thread so i can troubleshoot / diagnose my units.   i did try dropping the clock to 25MHz and had the exact same behavior, it only using GSD 1 and 2 and none of the others..

thanks.


When you increase the MHz to 200 did you also increase the voltage with the potentiometer? Did you try with only the 2pac and only the compac? Did you have the sticks right next to each other?

Back in the thread there was talk about getting both to work on the same host but I have not found it again.
MrWan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 01:38:36 AM
 #1650

Quick question on expected performance chart.  I've been fine tuning my 2pac sticks and running them at frequency 200 with the knob turned to about 1.6 amps.  The hash rate is currently 21.26 gh/s.  Will the higher than expected performace for hashing cause instability?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1092

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 02:00:00 AM
 #1651

"higher than expected performace for hashing" Please explain.

MrWan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 02:07:56 AM
 #1652

Expected performance rate should be around .11 x 175 = 19.25 gh/s but i'm getting around 20.55 gh/s.

I just realized that i had a typo in my last post.  The frequency was set to 175 and not 200.
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2018, 04:37:16 PM
 #1653

It´s fine. If they do more than expected, great.

avulsionist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 12:45:02 AM
 #1654

I just went through and set up a new PI2 and PI3 for testing and wrote down all the steps. What is the best way to share this to the forum?
Inline? A google doc?
smsscott
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 09:58:03 PM
 #1655

I am using cgminer vthoang with minera on rpi and 7 gekko 2pac to try and solo mine Litecoin Cash.

i had it working with btc solo mining even though i know it wont ever pay so please don't go there.

I have everything set up and working for lcc expect i get error since there is no command for lcc-address and lcc address will not resolve as a valid btc address.
do you think if i hit a block i would get a payout with this error.....?

018-02-25 22:49:23.471] Bitcoin address CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA is NOT valid
 [2018-02-25 22:49:27.048] Solo mining to valid address: CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA
 [2018-02-25 22:49:29.157] Bitcoin address CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA is NOT valid
 [2018-02-25 22:49:32.041] Solo mining to valid address: CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA
 [2018-02-25 22:49:34.841] Bitcoin address CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA is NOT valid
 [2018-02-25 22:49:37.049] Solo mining to valid address: CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA
 [2018-02-25 22:49:40.605] Bitcoin address CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA is NOT valid
 [2018-02-25 22:49:42.044] Solo mining to valid address: CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA
 [2018-02-25 22:49:46.299] Bitcoin address CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA is NOT valid
 [2018-02-25 22:49:47.039] Solo mining to valid address: CXsCQFWUbmH36DyqRqsDB56gS9uTzw9zCA

how can i get command for lcc address into cgminer.....?

or any other ideas....?

i also have antminer s7 minning for lcc through a pool for now and making money probably....
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1092

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 10:15:19 PM
 #1656

So when they forked Litecoin, did they also change the algorithm from SHA256 to Scrypt?

lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 10

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 10:53:21 PM
 #1657

So when they forked Litecoin, did they also change the algorithm from SHA256 to Scrypt?

Litecoin Cash is SHA256. I'm investigating.

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 1, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1211


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 11:56:28 PM
 #1658

So when they forked Litecoin, did they also change the algorithm from SHA256 to Scrypt?

Litecoin Cash is SHA256. I'm investigating.

Yes and they will try to make a weak hashing item like sidehacks sticks and pods mine to a lower

Difficulty.


It is an attempt to bring older gear back to life.

It could add value to the pods and the 2 pacs.

Buysolar got a spondollies sp20 running at a pool.

He said it was earning better then the s9 he pointed at it.

Lcc.multipools.club

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
avulsionist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 07:14:38 AM
 #1659

Hello,

Has anyone had an issue with their 2pac going into an "OFF" state after the latest git pull and rebuild of vthoang cgminer on raspbian?
I was running very stable for the last month with auto recovery via systemctl service and a few edits to the cmdline.txt.

goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 03:44:37 PM
 #1660

Hello,

Has anyone had an issue with their 2pac going into an "OFF" state after the latest git pull and rebuild of vthoang cgminer on raspbian?
I was running very stable for the last month with auto recovery via systemctl service and a few edits to the cmdline.txt.



I am also having this exact same issue on windows, will set up the log file to see if it captures anything.
Pages: « 1 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 [83] 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!