Bitcoin Forum
June 17, 2019, 12:03:07 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 ... 182 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Klondike - 16 chip ASIC Open Source Board - Preliminary  (Read 434691 times)
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 04:52:45 AM
 #2361

Think it should be only 1 signed K1 and it should go at auction.

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
1560772987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560772987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560772987
Reply with quote  #2

1560772987
Report to moderator
1560772987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560772987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560772987
Reply with quote  #2

1560772987
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1560772987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560772987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560772987
Reply with quote  #2

1560772987
Report to moderator
Tornate
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 04:53:30 AM
 #2362

2. Buy the PIC from me (later) or buy a PICKit3.
Do I really need the flashing as a user? I mean, will it work, if I just assemble the board and try to connect it via USB?

3. but for users they just need to know how to put 2 boards side by side and slide the connector on.
So for users your i2c will allow us to connect few boards (placed one-by-one and connected by wires) into one USB miner?
Then how many K16 boards can we combine? What wires do we need to connect the boards?
Vycid
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


♫ the AM bear who cares ♫


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 05:05:59 AM
 #2363

Think it should be only 1 signed K1 and it should go at auction.

I'm afraid that would be beyond my means.

I agree it should be a limited run, though. Maybe 10 or 20.

cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 06:04:51 AM
 #2364

Think it should be only 1 signed K1 and it should go at auction.

Yeah... No. I already called it.  Grin

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
ik2013
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2013, 06:40:22 AM
 #2365

2. Buy the PIC from me (later) or buy a PICKit3.
Do I really need the flashing as a user? I mean, will it work, if I just assemble the board and try to connect it via USB?

3. but for users they just need to know how to put 2 boards side by side and slide the connector on.
So for users your i2c will allow us to connect few boards (placed one-by-one and connected by wires) into one USB miner?
Then how many K16 boards can we combine? What wires do we need to connect the boards?

1) Yes. A new chip from Mouser or Digikey (or others) won't have Bkk's code on it, so how will it possibly interface with the ASIC chips? If you don't want to flash it yourself then you should wait for Bkk to announce sales of flashed chips. If you are buying a completed board from a vendor then they should handle the flashing for you and it will "just work".

2) Yes. The boards have the capability of linking together and using only one USB connection. I cannot tell you the max amount but the general idea is that the "slave" boards will communicate their results to the host through the "master" board that the USB cable is plugged into. There won't be any wires involved, there will be connectors on the edges of the boards that will plug into each other. Although if you wanted wires instead of a connector I suppose that would work too.

Single board ATX power supply interface for Raspberry Pi: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=263567.msg2815917#msg2815917    Like my work? Donations accepted here: 1FXYreNr35PzZVimEQkSzR68EdNutqefYh   I sell on Tindie: https://www.tindie.com/stores/KD8SSF/     Reputation thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=264089.0
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 06:41:45 AM
 #2366

Think it should be only 1 signed K1 and it should go at auction.

Yeah... No. I already called it.  Grin

Might want to keep requests like this to a min and maybe we get back to the thread. LoL .... let the hero win the battle first.

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2013, 06:56:28 AM
 #2367

I just pushed up the QFN variant. I renamed the k16 directory to k16s and added k16q.
Also added a new K16Q-3D.png image file in docs.

***
I could do a limited edition signed and numbered run of 3x K1 and 3x K16 and put them on BitMit for auction.
They would be shipped out when the first batch gets to me with free registered air mail, or EMS at added cost (usual minimum EMS is around $20). Or something like that. Maybe run for 7 days?

The first batch of K1 will be special WHITE boards. How many I run like that will be determined by initial pre-orders placed on the web store. There will be single and 4up options. The 4 up you will need to cut.

***
I ran my board for a while at 350 MHz but it was getting too high an error rate so I stopped. It was about 20% errors. I think the new board may help with that as I have wires hanging around and no filtering on data/power.

Now I've been running at 320MHz with very few errors for a few hours. Seems to be very stable at 320.



1) Yes. A new chip from Mouser or Digikey (or others) won't have Bkk's code on it, so how will it possibly interface with the ASIC chips? If you don't want to flash it yourself then you should wait for Bkk to announce sales of flashed chips. If you are buying a completed board from a vendor then they should handle the flashing for you and it will "just work".

2) Yes. The boards have the capability of linking together and using only one USB connection. I cannot tell you the max amount but the general idea is that the "slave" boards will communicate their results to the host through the "master" board that the USB cable is plugged into. There won't be any wires involved, there will be connectors on the edges of the boards that will plug into each other. Although if you wanted wires instead of a connector I suppose that would work too.
Thanks for handling that. It's all correct info.

How many can be chained depends on testing not yet done. In theory the data rate allows for a lot, the addressing allows for ~100, and the signal length/degradation and also how much impact it has on the master mining. If that works out really bad then we can always use a K1 without ASIC as a master. It has the same I2C function (allowing K1s to be chained without USB, or with USB as power only). A K1 as master would be very cheap since it only needs a few parts installed. (PIC, 2 resistors and only 1 reg. with a few caps).


itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1018


^ Will code for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 07:05:25 AM
 #2368

Some data from Burnin's testing of his boards, may be useful for BKK. It seems that HW errors are not linear with frequency:

Quote
ambient: 25°C, water temperature 26°C
Chip Frequency - Chip surface temp, cgminer board-temp, Core voltage, power consumption, comments

Air cooling:
282 - 45.8, 40.5, 1.2, 46W, stable
340 - 50, 43, 1.2, 56W, stable
372 - 51.5, 45, 1.2, 61W, stable
390 - 52.5, 46, 1.2, 2% hw errors
390 - 53.3, 47.5, 1.25, 70W, stable
409 - 55, 48.5, 1.25, 2% errors
409 - 56.5, 51, 1.28, 77W, stable
434 - 57, 52, 1.28, 82W, 10% hw errors

Water cooling by Anfi-Tec:
282 - 40, 30, 1.016V, 33W, stable 170Mhash/watt undervolting
282 - 42, 30, 1.085V, 37W, stable
282 - 45, 30, 1.20V, 46W, stable stock 122Mhash/Watt
340 - 48, 30, 1.20V, 56W, stable
372 - 50, 30, 1.20V, 61W, stable
390 - 53, 30, 1.25V, 70W, stable
409 - 54, 30, 1.28V, 77W, stable
434 - 57, 31, 1.28V, 82W, 4% hw errors
ElitePork
Donator
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 07:06:03 AM
 #2369

Nice. Great work. Is that printscreen with 5 avalon chips? Sorry for being newbie Cheesy

Maybe I can meet up with you once I get my hands on the avalon chips.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2013, 07:23:19 AM
 #2370

Nice. Great work. Is that printscreen with 5 avalon chips? Sorry for being newbie Cheesy

Maybe I can meet up with you once I get my hands on the avalon chips.
4 chips.

Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 11:00:57 AM
 #2371

In terms of a K1 is 350+ possible with the current design with a hub that provides the right power?

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
kearneykid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 11:18:03 AM
 #2372

great news, great work lads!  Grin
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 01:16:46 PM
 #2373

Think it should be only 1 signed K1 and it should go at auction.

Yeah... No. I already called it.  Grin

Might want to keep requests like this to a min and maybe we get back to the thread. LoL .... let the hero win the battle first.

Hey, clearly it was a good idea.  Smiley I doubt I'll be able to win the BitMit auction, but it's all in good fun anyway.

Sorry for the thread clutter  Roll Eyes

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 01:27:40 PM
 #2374

The over-clocking potential is pretty exciting.

Sorry if this has already been covered. Will we be able to set the clock frequency and chip voltage with options supplied to cgminer, or how does that work?

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
steamboat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 648
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 01:38:11 PM
 #2375

The over-clocking potential is pretty exciting.

Sorry if this has already been covered. Will we be able to set the clock frequency and chip voltage with options supplied to cgminer, or how does that work?

Yes. The idea is to be able to flash the unit with a standard USB cable to OC. Initial testing will dictate what our boards are shipped at, but will almost certainly be 300+mh/s.

ASIC miners available for purchase

Those who serve best, profit most.
cad_cdn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 01:46:33 PM
 #2376

+1000

Bkkcoins beats BFL !!!

You rule!!!


BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2013, 02:15:03 PM
 #2377

In terms of a K1 is 350+ possible with the current design with a hub that provides the right power?
I think 350 may be possible but is pushing it. Above that you would definitely need to change parts on the K1 board. Replace AP6502A with AP6503A for 3A output (probably a good idea now but beyond what a std USB port can supply anyway), and replace the inductor with one that can handle more current. I haven't looked that up yet but it would need to fit on the same pads.

The over-clocking potential is pretty exciting.

Sorry if this has already been covered. Will we be able to set the clock frequency and chip voltage with options supplied to cgminer, or how does that work?

Yes. The idea is to be able to flash the unit with a standard USB cable to OC. Initial testing will dictate what our boards are shipped at, but will almost certainly be 300+mh/s.
Clock can be set from cgminer. Voltage is not settable via software with current design. That would need to be a future revision (which I doubt I'll do). You can change one resistor to change voltage.

BitCsByBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 02:38:39 PM
 #2378

So potentially Burnin's boards will be hashing around 35% higher per chip? That is a massive difference and with the difficulty rise even a small difference counts.

Btw, great effort so far!

Tipsy jar: 1HgfLMXiJQj9KZ7abLRh9rWuR7dgeSyub4
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 03:35:58 PM
 #2379

So potentially Burnin's boards will be hashing around 35% higher per chip? That is a massive difference and with the difficulty rise even a small difference counts.

Btw, great effort so far!

That hash rate would require their optional water cooling, I believe. That adds significantly to the cost and complexity.

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 03:40:45 PM
 #2380

So potentially Burnin's boards will be hashing around 35% higher per chip? That is a massive difference and with the difficulty rise even a small difference counts.

Btw, great effort so far!

I think he only mentioned K1's couldn't hash that high. I imagine he will get similar hashrate out of the K16's as burnins.

sorry for newb question since i've only now started paying attention but how many GH per K16?
Pages: « 1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 ... 182 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!