Bitcoin Forum
November 30, 2021, 10:02:05 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69170 times)
Adriano2010
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 516


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2018, 03:14:54 PM
 #1221

How long will take to make ROI at 3.5-4 Mh/s - 1 stick?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638266525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638266525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638266525
Reply with quote  #2

1638266525
Report to moderator
TimBuck2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2018, 05:04:56 PM
 #1222

How long will take to make ROI at 3.5-4 Mh/s - 1 stick?

Off topic and irrelevant.  Roll Eyes

Adriano2010
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 516


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2018, 06:59:59 PM
 #1223

How long will take to make ROI at 3.5-4 Mh/s - 1 stick?

Off topic and irrelevant.  Roll Eyes



Yes maybe is off-topic and irrelevant.

Anyway is there a lifetime of sticks if i run them at default settings and in a cool space ?

Why i ask? Because i want to buy more MLD2.

And will be in future a MLD 3 created with more speed ?
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 02:07:02 AM
 #1224

How long will take to make ROI at 3.5-4 Mh/s - 1 stick?

Off topic and irrelevant.  Roll Eyes



Yes maybe is off-topic and irrelevant.

Anyway is there a lifetime of sticks if i run them at default settings and in a cool space ?

Why i ask? Because i want to buy more MLD2.

And will be in future a MLD 3 created with more speed ?

Lifetime on default settings with proper cooling should be on the order of years.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
unospm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 01:31:45 PM
Last edit: March 04, 2018, 04:26:44 PM by unospm
 #1225

Hello,

I have raspberry pi 3 and moonlander 2. I follow the steps of comment #16 of this post.

I run start_moonlander2.sh, connect well to the pool but the devices not found. Some can help me? I don't know what is the problem Sad

I connect the moonlander directly to the USB of the raspberry pi.

I need to install UART VPC Driver or this is only for Mac and Windows?

Thank you for all.

[FIXED]

When I install raspberry, I remove pi user and create other, the problem is about the correct permissions of this user
djalmasantos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 02:19:29 PM
 #1226

I got a powered hub and put two sticks on it now I get the error Failed to sanity check in lowl-vcom.c windows_usb_get_string():508 but it still seems to work, just not always right away, sometimes I have to start the program several times before it sees both sticks
thestockfadi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 07:06:33 PM
 #1227

Can someone please help me figure out how to send my miners to 1 or more coins at a time? Currently I can only mine 1 coin at a time. I was hoping there was a way I can set 1  or 2 of my sticks mining different coins at the same time? Is this possible?

jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 07:11:35 PM
 #1228

Can someone please help me figure out how to send my miners to 1 or more coins at a time? Currently I can only mine 1 coin at a time. I was hoping there was a way I can set 1  or 2 of my sticks mining different coins at the same time? Is this possible?



This has been covered multiple times here. You need to create two separate bat files specifying which sticks and which pool you want run with each bat file, and run two or more instances of bfgminer at the same time.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
thestockfadi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 08:10:27 PM
 #1229

Can someone please help me figure out how to send my miners to 1 or more coins at a time? Currently I can only mine 1 coin at a time. I was hoping there was a way I can set 1  or 2 of my sticks mining different coins at the same time? Is this possible?



This has been covered multiple times here. You need to create two separate bat files specifying which sticks and which pool you want run with each bat file, and run two or more instances of bfgminer at the same time.


there are 63 pages on this thread .. Most of us are newbs. . at least a link please? or something I can copy & paste?
thestockfadi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 08:21:39 PM
 #1230

When I make a new .bat file

bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://us2.litecoinpool.org:3333 -u Thestockfadi.moonlander -p 0420,d=128  -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=832
pause


and when I change the "MLD:all"  to MLD 0 or 1 or 2 or whatever. . nothing happens when I start the new bat file . .
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 08:22:55 PM
 #1231

Can someone please help me figure out how to send my miners to 1 or more coins at a time? Currently I can only mine 1 coin at a time. I was hoping there was a way I can set 1  or 2 of my sticks mining different coins at the same time? Is this possible?



This has been covered multiple times here. You need to create two separate bat files specifying which sticks and which pool you want run with each bat file, and run two or more instances of bfgminer at the same time.


there are 63 pages on this thread .. Most of us are newbs. . at least a link please? or something I can copy & paste?

Find the COM ports each stick is connected too. Change the "-S ALL" in bat file to "-S MLD:\\.\COMx -S MLD:\\.\COMx" with x being the com port numbers.

If your using linux the format is MLD:/dev/ttyUSBx

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
thestockfadi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 08:33:41 PM
 #1232

Can someone please help me figure out how to send my miners to 1 or more coins at a time? Currently I can only mine 1 coin at a time. I was hoping there was a way I can set 1  or 2 of my sticks mining different coins at the same time? Is this possible?



This has been covered multiple times here. You need to create two separate bat files specifying which sticks and which pool you want run with each bat file, and run two or more instances of bfgminer at the same time.


there are 63 pages on this thread .. Most of us are newbs. . at least a link please? or something I can copy & paste?

Find the COM ports each stick is connected too. Change the "-S ALL" in bat file to "-S MLD:\\.\COMx -S MLD:\\.\COMx" with x being the com port numbers.

If your using linux the format is MLD:/dev/ttyUSBx


I guess I gotta wait for someone to make a video with instructions in english. .
crypto_curious
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 842
Merit: 143


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 08:52:31 PM
 #1233

Can someone please help me figure out how to send my miners to 1 or more coins at a time? Currently I can only mine 1 coin at a time. I was hoping there was a way I can set 1  or 2 of my sticks mining different coins at the same time? Is this possible?



This has been covered multiple times here. You need to create two separate bat files specifying which sticks and which pool you want run with each bat file, and run two or more instances of bfgminer at the same time.


there are 63 pages on this thread .. Most of us are newbs. . at least a link please? or something I can copy & paste?

Find the COM ports each stick is connected too. Change the "-S ALL" in bat file to "-S MLD:\\.\COMx -S MLD:\\.\COMx" with x being the com port numbers.

If your using linux the format is MLD:/dev/ttyUSBx


I guess I gotta wait for someone to make a video with instructions in english. .

Come on. Which part you did not understand? Are you one of youtube generation and can't understand written english? Maybe you should give up mining and do some gardening? Easier.
thestockfadi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 09:02:26 PM
 #1234

Can someone please help me figure out how to send my miners to 1 or more coins at a time? Currently I can only mine 1 coin at a time. I was hoping there was a way I can set 1  or 2 of my sticks mining different coins at the same time? Is this possible?



This has been covered multiple times here. You need to create two separate bat files specifying which sticks and which pool you want run with each bat file, and run two or more instances of bfgminer at the same time.


there are 63 pages on this thread .. Most of us are newbs. . at least a link please? or something I can copy & paste?

Find the COM ports each stick is connected too. Change the "-S ALL" in bat file to "-S MLD:\\.\COMx -S MLD:\\.\COMx" with x being the com port numbers.

If your using linux the format is MLD:/dev/ttyUSBx


I guess I gotta wait for someone to make a video with instructions in english. .

Come on. Which part you did not understand? Are you one of youtube generation and can't understand written english? Maybe you should give up mining and do some gardening? Easier.


All of it . . I am part of the generation which has just gotten into mining. . Who's not affraid to ask questions. . And who's not affraid to get lambasted for asking such newb questions. . Thanks for your "help"
nobody77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 06:50:33 AM
 #1235

I got the moonlander running on a pi but the pool hasrate is showing 30-40H/s, not a typo that is hash per second.
These are p2p pools and I tried with 2 different pools and two different moonlanders.
Locally it is hashing at around 3.3MH/s 0.5% HW errors and the terminal window shows "something" accepted every 10 seconds or so.
If I plug in my old gridseed in the same set up it shows on the pools the correct 350kH/s.
USB voltage if fine.

Another issue is if I try with a MAC (El Capitan) all I get is:

Code:
Last login: Mon Mar  5 17:12:45 on ttys001
/Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/start-moonlander-2 ; exit;
computers-MacBook-Pro-2:~ computer$ /Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/start-moonlander-2 ; exit;
dyld: lazy symbol binding failed: Symbol not found: _clock_gettime
  Referenced from: /Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/bin/./bfgminer
  Expected in: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib

dyld: Symbol not found: _clock_gettime
  Referenced from: /Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/bin/./bfgminer
  Expected in: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib

/Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/start-moonlander-2: line 4:   822 Trace/BPT trap: 5       ./bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://us.litecoinpool.org:3333 -u jstefanop.1 -p 1 -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=600
logout
Saving session...
...copying shared history...
...saving history...truncating history files...
...completed./code]
The MAC was just to test if I had the same low hash issues as with the pi.
I need it to work with the pi.

Also I wish this moonlander had a proper +5V connection(soldering tab) so I could connect a powerful PSU directly to them rather than bottlenecking the power though a hub.
The cost for such hubs that also transfer data is ridiculous.
Does anybody know a hack to separate the logic 5V from the moonlander's power or would it work if I just lift up the 5V tab from the USB socket on the moonlander and solder my 5V directly onto PCB?  Maybe a ceramic capacitor over the tab and the 5V for AC reference.

Xantor1234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 09:13:53 AM
 #1236

If you're soldering anyway, it's probably easier (and safer) to just buy a $5 USB HUB and modify the 5V line there. There's usually already a provision for external power in these.

As easy as indeed cutting the 5V power trace and soldering your own 5V supply to it, and GND. All GNDs are common.
nobody77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 11:40:59 AM
 #1237

If you're soldering anyway, it's probably easier (and safer) to just buy a $5 USB HUB and modify the 5V line there. There's usually already a provision for external power in these.

As easy as indeed cutting the 5V power trace and soldering your own 5V supply to it, and GND. All GNDs are common.


I tried that already but the data transfer is then dead.
Xantor1234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 04:44:18 PM
 #1238

Then you most likely:

- don't have a common ground or
- you cut supply to the USB chip as well or
- Your power supply doesn't supply a stable enough voltage at low startup current.

If you use a 'standard' ATX computer power supply, they don't really work well at very low loads. See here for a description and solution:

https://mysite.du.edu/~etuttle/electron/elect62.htm

jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 05:02:00 PM
 #1239

I got the moonlander running on a pi but the pool hasrate is showing 30-40H/s, not a typo that is hash per second.
These are p2p pools and I tried with 2 different pools and two different moonlanders.
Locally it is hashing at around 3.3MH/s 0.5% HW errors and the terminal window shows "something" accepted every 10 seconds or so.
If I plug in my old gridseed in the same set up it shows on the pools the correct 350kH/s.
USB voltage if fine.

Another issue is if I try with a MAC (El Capitan) all I get is:

Code:
Last login: Mon Mar  5 17:12:45 on ttys001
/Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/start-moonlander-2 ; exit;
computers-MacBook-Pro-2:~ computer$ /Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/start-moonlander-2 ; exit;
dyld: lazy symbol binding failed: Symbol not found: _clock_gettime
  Referenced from: /Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/bin/./bfgminer
  Expected in: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib

dyld: Symbol not found: _clock_gettime
  Referenced from: /Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/bin/./bfgminer
  Expected in: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib

/Users/computer/Desktop/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-mac64/start-moonlander-2: line 4:   822 Trace/BPT trap: 5       ./bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://us.litecoinpool.org:3333 -u jstefanop.1 -p 1 -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=600
logout
Saving session...
...copying shared history...
...saving history...truncating history files...
...completed./code]
The MAC was just to test if I had the same low hash issues as with the pi.
I need it to work with the pi.

Also I wish this moonlander had a proper +5V connection(soldering tab) so I could connect a powerful PSU directly to them rather than bottlenecking the power though a hub.
The cost for such hubs that also transfer data is ridiculous.
Does anybody know a hack to separate the logic 5V from the moonlander's power or would it work if I just lift up the 5V tab from the USB socket on the moonlander and solder my 5V directly onto PCB?  Maybe a ceramic capacitor over the tab and the 5V for AC reference.



Sounds like a pool formatting issue. If its showing 3-4 MH locally and 30-40 H/s on the pool I would assume they got their display number off by some factor. Mac issue is explain in the first post of this thread. Nothing below 10.12 is supported.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
thestockfadi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 08:15:20 PM
Last edit: March 05, 2018, 09:09:32 PM by thestockfadi
 #1240

Can someone please help me figure out how to send my miners to 1 or more coins at a time? Currently I can only mine 1 coin at a time. I was hoping there was a way I can set 1  or 2 of my sticks mining different coins at the same time? Is this possible?



This has been covered multiple times here. You need to create two separate bat files specifying which sticks and which pool you want run with each bat file, and run two or more instances of bfgminer at the same time.


there are 63 pages on this thread .. Most of us are newbs. . at least a link please? or something I can copy & paste?

Find the COM ports each stick is connected too. Change the "-S ALL" in bat file to "-S MLD:\\.\COMx -S MLD:\\.\COMx" with x being the com port numbers.

If your using linux the format is MLD:/dev/ttyUSBx


Mr. Stefano . . thank you . . I had to walk away from the computer for a few hours before it finally "sunk in"  . . I got it to work . .thanks again

now each stick will need a new .bat file?

EDIT: NVM . . I got it
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!