Bitcoin Forum
October 14, 2019, 09:35:07 AM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 [442] 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256292 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 10:45:59 AM
 #8821

Version 2.5.19 is available for SP20 users.
It fixes instability in temperatures above 15C.
Especial Little Mermaid Edition, since today is (apparently) the international little mermaid day.
Hurray!

1571045707
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571045707

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571045707
Reply with quote  #2

1571045707
Report to moderator
1571045707
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571045707

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571045707
Reply with quote  #2

1571045707
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571045707
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571045707

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571045707
Reply with quote  #2

1571045707
Report to moderator
1571045707
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571045707

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571045707
Reply with quote  #2

1571045707
Report to moderator
1571045707
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571045707

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571045707
Reply with quote  #2

1571045707
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1926



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 02:02:43 PM
Last edit: November 18, 2014, 02:25:55 PM by philipma1957
 #8822

Version 2.5.19 is available for SP20 users.
It fixes instability in temperatures above 15C.
Especial Little Mermaid Edition, since today is (apparently) the international little mermaid day.
Hurray!



not a complaint in any way more of an engineering question.   I just spent a week testing and using my asic miner prisma.

it has 8 jacks for power not 4.    so how come these don't have 8 jacks for power?

I have one on order and don't mind a slight under clock rathe then the common overclocking many do on this site.

but if you had 8 jacks vs 4 you would have had a lot of overhead vs  almost no overhead.

This won't be an issue for me as I am more interested in running this undervolted and underclocked using a platinum evga 1600 watt psu.

I am hoping to do 1000 watts  and 1400gh.  = .71 watts
or 1000 watts and 1350gh.  = .74 watts

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
faraway
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 02:32:55 PM
 #8823

It's looking more certain that what we've been seeing in our DC is a poor reaction of SP30s to temperatures below about 6°C. We haven't seen any issues with SP10s yet at these temperatures.
Some machines work fine at low temperatures. I've seen a few operate just dandy at intake temperatures as low as 2°C. However, others will show problems at intake temperatures as high as 8°C.

When a machine has trouble at low temperatures, it's often specific ASICs that show the problem (often #2 and #17). It's not always the ASICs in the front that have issues, though it seems more common to be those. Once an ASIC has trouble at low temperatures, it sometimes has trouble even when warmed up. Sometimes it has to be disabled permanently; other times it can be enabled once the machine is warmer.

Indeed, but a hardware to be reliable, must handle 25°C variation without too much trouble.Here at low temperature some ASICs can't start. It will be a good idea to add a 'delay' option for the troublesome ASICs where they are turn off during the cold start and enabled later. Adding an option to change the Fan speed according to the intake temperature, will be a good too idea too. (I suspect this issue to trigger some machines crashes when minergate restart).

We're investigating.

Have you an update about this issue? Anyway, outside a software fix, if a decoupling capacitor fix (or modification) is helpful; it will ease running the machines, and will be welcome; An idea?
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 03:57:20 PM
 #8824

"All clients getting their SP20s:

- Please set your PSU settings to match your PSU. The default value is low and will not give you beyond 1.3Th - it matches weak PSUs. Set it to 288 if you have strong PSU.

- SP20 are very sensitive to temperature. You should be able to get 1.8+Th in 10c, 1.7+Th in 20c and 1.6+Th in 30c (+- 5%). Do your best to cool the units."

My results are completely the opposite of the above statements from Spondoolies website...
-dual weak (750-700w range)  PSU's appear to be way more stable than anything large and efficient.  So far my best results have come from a pair of bronze rated PSU's over any combination of large platinum rated PSU's. 
-I have yet to reach 1.8 and have run the machine in temps from 0c to 25c, right now its in a 5c climate and cranked up to 288 running 1.6-1.625....

I have emailed Spondoolies but have not recieved a response....cheers...keith


pretty much the same experience I have here , one 800watt psu and one 1000watt psu.  can't get it to hash over 1640 or so.

I do think there is a definite Firmware update that could fix it.... but the limits of the hardware would be stressed and probably fail.... I will show all the data as soon as I hear back from Spondoolies (it been a few days and I have not heard a peep)....

A single 1200 watt PSU seems to have been fried by the sp20 so sticking to two PSU's going forward.   The sp20 cannot seem to pull enough juice from the rails to get better hash rates.

Then again 1.8 TH at 4x330 watts seems pretty the same as 1.6 TH at 4x290 watts  my math is probably off as usuall.

If the firmware is fixed to allow the units to pull more than 288 watts we could probably get better hash rates I imagine. 

ALso raising the voltages seems to cause major instabilities as well so maybe the fix is there /shrug


Hi guys.
I will release a new FW for SP20 that fixes the stability issue. Please stay tuned.
Regarding the overclocking, there are 2 limitations: 288 watt on connector and the temperature (on both ASICs and DC2DC).
In cold environment I think it can be pushed much higher then current limits, but let's get some experience with it running on the spec before you start pushing it further.

I am in a very cold enviroment front temp is 5c and back is maxed at 65 and 59 and i still cant push it past 1650 TH due to voltage/watt limitations on the firmware :stablity does not seem to be an issue in my case so I'm not sure if the new sp20 FW will be of help to me. 

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 03:59:41 PM
 #8825

"All clients getting their SP20s:

- Please set your PSU settings to match your PSU. The default value is low and will not give you beyond 1.3Th - it matches weak PSUs. Set it to 288 if you have strong PSU.

- SP20 are very sensitive to temperature. You should be able to get 1.8+Th in 10c, 1.7+Th in 20c and 1.6+Th in 30c (+- 5%). Do your best to cool the units."

My results are completely the opposite of the above statements from Spondoolies website...
-dual weak (750-700w range)  PSU's appear to be way more stable than anything large and efficient.  So far my best results have come from a pair of bronze rated PSU's over any combination of large platinum rated PSU's.  
-I have yet to reach 1.8 and have run the machine in temps from 0c to 25c, right now its in a 5c climate and cranked up to 288 running 1.6-1.625....

I have emailed Spondoolies but have not recieved a response....cheers...keith


288w is the limit on the PCIx power connectors.
There are ways to override it in FW with flags, but don't do that (at least now).
We remember what happened to other ASIC mining company equipment when they pulled ~400W on those connectors.

got it.. i'm not tryin to burn my garage down even though it is detached.  Well there has to be another to get better performance out of the sp20 at lower temps let me know what you guys find because I have two more on order in the next batch.

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1926



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 04:25:53 PM
 #8826

"All clients getting their SP20s:

- Please set your PSU settings to match your PSU. The default value is low and will not give you beyond 1.3Th - it matches weak PSUs. Set it to 288 if you have strong PSU.

- SP20 are very sensitive to temperature. You should be able to get 1.8+Th in 10c, 1.7+Th in 20c and 1.6+Th in 30c (+- 5%). Do your best to cool the units."

My results are completely the opposite of the above statements from Spondoolies website...
-dual weak (750-700w range)  PSU's appear to be way more stable than anything large and efficient.  So far my best results have come from a pair of bronze rated PSU's over any combination of large platinum rated PSU's.  
-I have yet to reach 1.8 and have run the machine in temps from 0c to 25c, right now its in a 5c climate and cranked up to 288 running 1.6-1.625....

I have emailed Spondoolies but have not recieved a response....cheers...keith


288w is the limit on the PCIx power connectors.
There are ways to override it in FW with flags, but don't do that (at least now).
We remember what happened to other ASIC mining company equipment when they pulled ~400W on those connectors.

got it.. i'm not tryin to burn my garage down even though it is detached.  Well there has to be another to get better performance out of the sp20 at lower temps let me know what you guys find because I have two more on order in the next batch.

no there is not.  four plugs = 288 x 4 or about 1152 watts  which means use the egva 1300 g2  and use the cables with double headed plugs.  just use the  first plug .

I will place a photo.    this is a design flaw in a sense if you are an oc freak.  for me I am fine with it since I don't want to oc the gear.  I will use the 250 setting. with my evga 1600 p2 and let the coins roll in.  

double plug connection on the prisma.   so my prisma was easy to send lots of power with no fear of hot cables. it just had other issues so I sent it to a DC



this is the cable from an evga 1600 p2  note the  first plug (8 pin) has thicker wires then the extended plug it will handle close to 300 watts


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 06:07:02 PM
 #8827

So you are saying four connectors pulling 300watts per for the sp20 is the the issue ? 

I don't see how that could be the issue I think its either an issue with the firmware or the Asics themselves.

If a sp31 does 4.8 - 5 TH using the same chips at 2800 watts. 

A sp20 should be able to do at least 1.8 TH using 1200 watts of power unless something is seriously goofed, since it is the same silicon basically.



If you are right and it is an issue of Maybe it is an issue of the SP20 needing to be able to pull a bit more juice  say 330watts vs 300 thats a different issue I guess.

Either way 1650 TH is not good for 1200 Watts and that is what the majority of folks are seeing.  I'm leaning to maybe canceling my order if this is something set in stone.


⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1926



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 07:27:01 PM
 #8828

So you are saying four connectors pulling 300watts per for the sp20 is the the issue ? 

I don't see how that could be the issue I think its either an issue with the firmware or the Asics themselves.

If a sp31 does 4.8 - 5 TH using the same chips at 2800 watts. 

A sp20 should be able to do at least 1.8 TH using 1200 watts of power unless something is seriously goofed, since it is the same silicon basically.



If you are right and it is an issue of Maybe it is an issue of the SP20 needing to be able to pull a bit more juice  say 330watts vs 300 thats a different issue I guess.

Either way 1650 TH is not good for 1200 Watts and that is what the majority of folks are seeing.  I'm leaning to maybe canceling my order if this is something set in stone.



Yes I think they did a design flaw since most current/watts  sent on 4 connectors = 4 x 288 or 1152 watts.  that is the max rating.  so when you try to send 1200 watts over a 1152 rated connection you waste power.  I

 In my case I do not care about this issue since I plan to use 250 setting not the 288 setting.  but any one wanting to send 288 or more is just wasting money.
I would love to see clear testing from some one that used an evga 1300 or an evga 1600 set at watts of 225 to 250.
I am pretty sure those will be the best watt to gh settings.

I am going to have a lot of fun with this gear in the underclock undervolt world should be fun for me.   but if you are an oc dude/dudette this may be bad gear.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 08:09:35 PM
 #8829

So you are saying four connectors pulling 300watts per for the sp20 is the the issue ? 
I don't see how that could be the issue I think its either an issue with the firmware or the Asics themselves.
If a sp31 does 4.8 - 5 TH using the same chips at 2800 watts. 
A sp20 should be able to do at least 1.8 TH using 1200 watts of power unless something is seriously goofed, since it is the same silicon basically.
If you are right and it is an issue of Maybe it is an issue of the SP20 needing to be able to pull a bit more juice  say 330watts vs 300 thats a different issue I guess.
Either way 1650 TH is not good for 1200 Watts and that is what the majority of folks are seeing.  I'm leaning to maybe canceling my order if this is something set in stone.

The rate, assuming all ASICs are operational, depends on the ASIC batch.
First batch of SP20 gave us ~1.8Th in cold temperature, but a lot of the units I see now are slower and provide something like 1.65Th. The ASICs behave as if they are from slow batch, I need to investigate why. The SP20 we produce now are faster - it looks (from the system tests in Flex) like they will provide 1.8+. We will have exact numbers soon.




vortexz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1001



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 08:14:29 PM
 #8830

question :
Does an SP20 make more noise than a PRISMA ?
I could live with a PRISMA-s noise but anything louder is a pain !
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1926



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 08:17:27 PM
 #8831

question :
Does an SP20 make more noise than a PRISMA ?
I could live with a PRISMA-s noise but anything louder is a pain !

give me a few days for my sp20 to come.

I had the prisma and it was the loudest miner so far.  although the short tube was very close to just as loud.

once I get the sp20 I can compare

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ukzerosniper
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 08:52:25 PM
 #8832

Hi Guys,

We have a heap of SP30 miners, all working pretty great thanks.

Tonight one miner shows an error on the ASIC page

disabled (Asic all engines fail BIST)

I have restarted miner gate, this doesn't make any difference
I have disabled and enabled in the Settings > ASICS Control Panel, this also makes no difference
I have rebooted the miner at the mains, this again makes no difference.

Yesterday I upgraded all miners to version 2.5.12. 

The settings on this miner are as follows
Fan Speed 80
Start Volts Top 0.64
Start Volts Bottom 0.64
Max Volts 0.79
Max PSU Top 1360
Max PSU Bottom 1360

Temp Front / Back T,B 16c / 52,53c
Socket Voltage 222/221 volt

Any assistance would be gratefully received.  Thanks Guys



Ski72
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

Kinex - The New Frontier


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 09:07:13 PM
 #8833

question :
Does an SP20 make more noise than a PRISMA ?
I could live with a PRISMA-s noise but anything louder is a pain !

give me a few days for my sp20 to come.

I had the prisma and it was the loudest miner so far.  although the short tube was very close to just as loud.

once I get the sp20 I can compare

I have both Prisma and SP20.  I don't have a db meter, so I unfortunately can't test that way. Stock, they're both pretty loud, too loud for your living space IMHO.  I have yet to try tuning the sound down on either, though a few posts back someone changed fans on the SP20 ...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.msg9546908#msg9546908

As well, on dogie's guide for the ASICMiner tube, someone replaced the stock fan to make it quieter.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=769570.msg9561108#msg9561108

Hope that helps a bit ...  Wink


Please help support our disabled veterans - support the *DAV*
1P8CuGjdAbnxRQxyHqwxrEq8iTyD5UgAyi
As a 100% service connected disabled Navy Veteran, every bit helps! Wink
mundivalur
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2014, 10:17:55 PM
 #8834

Hi i am not sure you guys know this but it has been helping many of the KNC mining guys, it is a 16awg wire Y psu cable, so two 8pin go in to the psu and go to one 6pin for the miner then the amps will be higher and the power more stable i also have a 6pin splitter that you can use with the original cables
ps. i was here getting info about the sp20 miner thinking about buying one Smiley not in a sales campaign 
Corsair have specially needed the Y cable but now days i am asked for most all psu´s
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/37251938/2014-08-20%2021.59.38.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/37251938/2014-07-06%2016.59.22.jpg
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 10:28:15 PM
 #8835

It does not help at SP20.
Neptune plug connector is air-cooled by 14 cm fan. SP20 design is different.


Hi i am not sure you guys know this but it has been helping many of the KNC mining guys, it is a 16awg wire Y psu cable, so two 8pin go in to the psu and go to one 6pin for the miner then the amps will be higher and the power more stable i also have a 6pin splitter that you can use with the original cables
ps. i was here getting info about the sp20 miner thinking about buying one Smiley not in a sales campaign 
Corsair have specially needed the Y cable but now days i am asked for most all psu´s

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 10:45:18 PM
 #8836

How long does it normally take to ship SP-20 after order?

Any one know normal time after paying to ship?
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1068



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 10:46:09 PM
 #8837

question :
Does an SP20 make more noise than a PRISMA ?
I could live with a PRISMA-s noise but anything louder is a pain !

http://youtu.be/hdkCxfn6W0c

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 11:42:28 PM
 #8838

So you are saying four connectors pulling 300watts per for the sp20 is the the issue ? 

I don't see how that could be the issue I think its either an issue with the firmware or the Asics themselves.

If a sp31 does 4.8 - 5 TH using the same chips at 2800 watts. 

A sp20 should be able to do at least 1.8 TH using 1200 watts of power unless something is seriously goofed, since it is the same silicon basically.



If you are right and it is an issue of Maybe it is an issue of the SP20 needing to be able to pull a bit more juice  say 330watts vs 300 thats a different issue I guess.

Either way 1650 TH is not good for 1200 Watts and that is what the majority of folks are seeing.  I'm leaning to maybe canceling my order if this is something set in stone.



Yes I think they did a design flaw since most current/watts  sent on 4 connectors = 4 x 288 or 1152 watts.  that is the max rating.  so when you try to send 1200 watts over a 1152 rated connection you waste power.  I

 In my case I do not care about this issue since I plan to use 250 setting not the 288 setting.  but any one wanting to send 288 or more is just wasting money.
I would love to see clear testing from some one that used an evga 1300 or an evga 1600 set at watts of 225 to 250.
I am pretty sure those will be the best watt to gh settings.

I am going to have a lot of fun with this gear in the underclock undervolt world should be fun for me.   but if you are an oc dude/dudette this may be bad gear.

I will be posting that info shortly, including evga 1200, 1600 as well as a few others....

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1926



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 12:49:56 AM
 #8839

So you are saying four connectors pulling 300watts per for the sp20 is the the issue ?  

I don't see how that could be the issue I think its either an issue with the firmware or the Asics themselves.

If a sp31 does 4.8 - 5 TH using the same chips at 2800 watts.  

A sp20 should be able to do at least 1.8 TH using 1200 watts of power unless something is seriously goofed, since it is the same silicon basically.



If you are right and it is an issue of Maybe it is an issue of the SP20 needing to be able to pull a bit more juice  say 330watts vs 300 thats a different issue I guess.

Either way 1650 TH is not good for 1200 Watts and that is what the majority of folks are seeing.  I'm leaning to maybe canceling my order if this is something set in stone.



Yes I think they did a design flaw since most current/watts  sent on 4 connectors = 4 x 288 or 1152 watts.  that is the max rating.  so when you try to send 1200 watts over a 1152 rated connection you waste power.  I

 In my case I do not care about this issue since I plan to use 250 setting not the 288 setting.  but any one wanting to send 288 or more is just wasting money.
I would love to see clear testing from some one that used an evga 1300 or an evga 1600 set at watts of 225 to 250.
I am pretty sure those will be the best watt to gh settings.

I am going to have a lot of fun with this gear in the underclock undervolt world should be fun for me.   but if you are an oc dude/dudette this may be bad gear.

I will be posting that info shortly, including evga 1200, 1600 as well as a few others....
 I will also post my evga g2 1300 and my evga p2 1600 when I get the sp20

My opinion is this 250 watts should be your max setting  and underclocking should be what you want to do.

Basically  due to the 4 jack setup since the jacks rate at 288/300 watts and you want a margin of safety so 250 should be ideal.  maybe 225 or 240 but I do not know if 225 or 240 can be set.

This is strictly based on the rating for those jacks and for evga 1300/1600 wires .   I will be happy with 1000 watts and 1400 hash

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
727miner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 12:55:16 AM
 #8840

So are the SP20's shipping today the 18th or the 26th now?
Pages: « 1 ... 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 [442] 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!