Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2019, 06:02:10 PM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 [426] 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256293 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 10:47:42 AM
 #8501

sorry for your loss friend.

looking at the setup though... aside from your wiring setup (which looks far too condensed)... all you needed were spacers between the rigs and I think you'd have been OK...
I have 4 inches air gaps between each of my own rigs, after having 2 together and almost instant shutdown due to overheating.

You don't have big fans blowing air towards units.

I have an aircon unit blowing cold air towards the rigs, not hot humid Thai air.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
WEEKLY BONUS Unlimited Faucet&Fastest Dice PLINKO DICE CRASH ROULETTE PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571767330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571767330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571767330
Reply with quote  #2

1571767330
Report to moderator
1571767330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571767330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571767330
Reply with quote  #2

1571767330
Report to moderator
1571767330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571767330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571767330
Reply with quote  #2

1571767330
Report to moderator
Bowling-balls
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 11:19:32 AM
 #8502

Insurance is not a free ride.

To be insured or for your insurance claim to be valid, your electrical installation must have complied with the applicable regulations, making it extremely unlikely for you to sustain damage in the first place from electrical fault.

The fire should have been caused by an accident if insurance was to cover in any way.

If there is one evidence that cables were overloaded then you can kiss the insurance goodbye.

I can't imagine anyone insuring any facility without automatic fire suppression.

Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1201


CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 12:06:13 PM
 #8503

Insurance is not a free ride.

To be insured or for your insurance claim to be valid, your electrical installation must have complied with the applicable regulations, making it extremely unlikely for you to sustain damage in the first place from electrical fault.

The fire should have been caused by an accident if insurance was to cover in any way.

If there is one evidence that cables were overloaded then you can kiss the insurance goodbye.

I can't imagine anyone insuring any facility without automatic fire suppression.



yeah sorry about their loss as well......seems like up to that point being early adopters they we're having one hell of a good time with bitcoin!

anyway I wonder if being Thailand etc it was simply something as simple as mice or such chewing a wire or some such ..just saying if there was access
to such from outside etc ...I suppose a fire investigation will tell the real cost eventually

anyway my previous post I did not mean for people to think I went 'ah ha!' the pic was some kinda slam...(missed the previous posts) ...just a 'wow' pic of a catastrophe

anyway hopefully some of the damage was just soot etc on some of the equipment ..a pain in the butt ...but fixable..



 

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
Arctic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 12:27:30 PM
 #8504


Really sorry to see that cowboy - what a mess...  Sad


Coindesk has a gallery with a few more pictures:

http://www.coindesk.com/gallery-fire-destroys-thai-bitcoin-mining-facility/


Time spent on reconnaissance is seldom wasted.
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 04:28:53 PM
 #8505

Good Job stan!!

Marv you probly should contact zvi via skype - everything i said came from he and hes got most of not all the answers.

Best Of luck bud & at least its doing something - better than DOA is a small bonus.



Ok looks like I got the issue figured :"

The SP20 does not like that Ad2p adapter to combine two PSU's it seems. 

I ran both PSU's (1000w and 800W) separately and I am getting close to the advertised 1.68 T or so

what I am finding is these rockerbox chips can run at up to 1020HZ vs the cap on the sp30 chips of around 850hz



Im using an add2psu with 2 cougar 700s.

getting 1.55 , but havent tried increasing Hz


I can also verify rats have gnawed through ether cables, telephone/net cables, window frames and mosquito netting - i had never experienced rats before living in asia - theyre fucked!  as are the weird feral cats!!

Hmm do you have any pics of your ADD2psu setup ? not sure why mine is not working.  You did have the short the pins on one of the PSU's right ?

regarding the HZ , what i meant Is I raised the voltages to around .73-75 for the two top cores (since they seem to run cooler)

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1073



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 04:40:43 PM
 #8506

...
Gone from 1.3x to 1.5x 1.665TH and climbing now, back temperatures gone from 37 to 67°C 77°C!
Keep your room cozy and warm in the winter ...

I am going to have to do something about the fan though, this thing is loud! Louder than all my other miners combined.

If I can't do anything about it I'll have to sell it I think Sad


This is the fan used in the SP20.. beast of a thing!



Damn, fan uses a 4pin PWM Graphics card type header. Going to have to get one of these if I want to try other fan types:

PWM Fan Adapter for VGA Cooler Fan

Don't buy this adapter its a different fitting on the SP20

Good news is that it runs without anything plugged into the header so I'm testing another solution


Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
Ski72
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

Kinex - The New Frontier


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 05:20:33 PM
Last edit: November 08, 2014, 04:13:37 AM by Ski72
 #8507

wow so I got my SP 30 and the boards fell on top of each other ! don't know if it was in shipping or whenever I have a bad feeling this thing is DOA

https://www.dropbox.com/s/e02gb3gjxowvaek/WP_20141106_18_23_47_Pro%5B1%5D.jpg?dl=0


https://www.dropbox.com/s/uod47xkjbfqri91/WP_20141106_18_23_56_Pro%5B1%5D.jpg?dl=0


I guess now I have to take it apart and restack the boards I'll post more pics in a few


I had the same problem with one of mine as well and after disassembly, I found a chunk had been taken out of one of the VRMs.

I'll post pic's as well.

edit:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzBetSBebWC5RTZxNzRodkVqOTA/view?usp=sharing

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzBetSBebWC5ekd4eTVjemVkNTQ/view?usp=sharing

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzBetSBebWC5d2xydExJRThVZEE/view?usp=sharing

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzBetSBebWC5LXBBblpEWWo1djg/view?usp=sharing

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzBetSBebWC5Y2kxTHFtYUJBTlE/view?usp=sharing


Please help support our disabled veterans - support the *DAV*
1P8CuGjdAbnxRQxyHqwxrEq8iTyD5UgAyi
As a 100% service connected disabled Navy Veteran, every bit helps! Wink
bobsmoke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 05:30:23 PM
 #8508

Anybody with a SP31 found a 'sweet spot', can't get more than 4.7THs out of mine.

Anyone with SP31 getting more than 4.7Th/s?
grn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358
Merit: 252


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 05:54:43 PM
 #8509

Anybody with a SP31 found a 'sweet spot', can't get more than 4.7THs out of mine.

Anyone with SP31 getting more than 4.7Th/s?

... There is also a chance that the SP31 performs like SP30 should have at ~6.6TH but I'd guess it's more likely it ends up closer to 4.5TH ...
Our commitment and guarantee is for 5.5 TH/s +- 5% with 3KW at the wall.

How is that Lexical analysis working out bickneleski?
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 05:55:53 PM
 #8510

wow so I got my SP 30 and the boards fell on top of each other ! don't know if it was in shipping or whenever I have a bad feeling this thing is DOA

https://www.dropbox.com/s/e02gb3gjxowvaek/WP_20141106_18_23_47_Pro%5B1%5D.jpg?dl=0


https://www.dropbox.com/s/uod47xkjbfqri91/WP_20141106_18_23_56_Pro%5B1%5D.jpg?dl=0


I guess now I have to take it apart and restack the boards I'll post more pics in a few


I had the same problem with one of mine as well and after disassembly, I found a chunk had been taken out of one of the VRMs.

I'll post pic's as well.

ouch !
I was a bit luckier , no actual damage to the boards despite the cracked corner.  The SP20 is a cute and sexy little machine but it definitly not worth
$1300 (with shipping)  Best hash rate I think at 110V (assuming you have great cooling)  

Looks like maybe 1.8 TH max at close to 300 watts per power slot.  

right now at 24c front and 79c and 80c  back it hashes around 1650 TH max while pulling over 1200 watts

(it actually spiked at one point and blew out my power meeter and maybe one of my PSU's , good thing i have spares)

maybe it does a bit more at 240V i have some ic14 to ic13 cables comming early next week and ill try them on a dedicated PDU and see what happens

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 05:57:03 PM
 #8511

Anybody with a SP31 found a 'sweet spot', can't get more than 4.7THs out of mine.

Anyone with SP31 getting more than 4.7Th/s?

are you on 240 V ? what are your temps like.  Even the SP30 looses close to 200TH it seems per 10deg temp rise

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
xandriel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 376
Merit: 250


One Token to Move Anything Anywhere


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 06:31:26 PM
 #8512

Anybody with a SP31 found a 'sweet spot', can't get more than 4.7THs out of mine.

Anyone with SP31 getting more than 4.7Th/s?

are you on 240 V ? what are your temps like.  Even the SP30 looses close to 200TH it seems per 10deg temp rise

I also have a SP31 that won't give more than 4.7Th/s. I am beginning to think this is the maximum, a far cry from the advertised 5.5Th/s.
My unit is running @ 240v and close to 3Kw.

                                                                               
███████████████▄▄▄                     ▄█▄     ▀█████▄                     ▄█████▀
████████████████████▄                ▄█████▄     ▀█████▄                 ▄█████▀
              ▀▀█████▄             ▄█████████▄     ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
                 █████▌          ▄█████▀ ▀█████▄     ▀█████▄         ▄█████▀
                 ▐█████        ▄█████▀     ▀█████▄     ▀█████▄     ▄█████▀
                 █████▌      ▄█████▀         ▀█████▄     ▀█████▄ ▄█████▀
              ▄▄█████▀     ▄█████▀     ▄█▄     ▀█████▄     ▀█████████▀
████████████████████▀    ▄█████▀     ▄█████▄     ▀█████▄     ▀█████▀
███████████████▀▀▀     ▄█████▀     ▄█████████▄     ▀█████▄     ▀█▀
                                    ▀███████▀
                                      ▀███▀
                                        ▀
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 06:40:50 PM
 #8513

I also have a SP31 that won't give more than 4.7Th/s. I am beginning to think this is the maximum, a far cry from the advertised 5.5Th/s.
My unit is running @ 240v and close to 3Kw.

While it was advertised for 5.5Th/s I think you missed Guy's update:

•    The hash rate of the SP31 will be 4.9TH/s +- 5%. Power consumption will remain the same 3kW at the wall as in the previous SP30.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 06:41:48 PM
 #8514

Anyone with SP31 getting more than 4.7Th/s?

We have 13 SP31s here at Toomim Bros Bitcoin Mining Concern right now. With 16C intake temps, we're currently seeing the lowest performer getting 4743 GH/s, highest 4915 GH/s, mean 4835 GH/s.

Do this from the ssh console:

Code:
echo "1' > /etc/mg_ignore_110_fcc

http://www.spondoolies-tech.com/blogs/technical-blog

If you have a lot of machines to configure, you can also scp it over. Example if your machines are 192.168.1.5 through 192.168.1.8:
Code:
echo "1" > mg_ignore_110_fcc
for ip in 5 6 7 8; do scp mg_ignore_110_fcc root@192.168.1.$ip; echo "Finished 192.168.1.$ip"; done

You will then want to change the power limit on the PSUs. In my experience, Murata PSUs can handle between 1330W and 1380W when run off of 235-245V in ambient temps no greater than 22C. Keep in mind that when Muratas hit their power limit, they sometimes lock up and need a power cycle to recover them, so you shouldn't increase the limits unless you're going to be nearby for several hours.

I also recommend using starting voltages of 650 mV or 645 mV with SP31s, not the default 655 mV, since 655 is too close to the settled voltage for some SP31s. You may want to change the fan speeds as well. I'm not sure yet what the optimum is, but I suspect it's the setting that will eliminate thermal throttling on the loop 4 and 9 ASICs, but no higher.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
VeritasSapere
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 06:46:54 PM
 #8515

I have a question. would it be possible to put say 3xSP31 inside of one of these:

http://www.acoustiproducts.com/en/ucoustic_active.asp

I would have the ducting setup aswell so that i can vent the hot air out of the building, i am also in a cold climate. I am sure that there must be many people here intrested in making it easier living with these machines. Grin

Yes, this has been done with 2-3 spondoolies

Thankyou  Smiley
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 06:50:56 PM
 #8516

what are your temps like.  Even the SP30 looses close to 200TH it seems per 10deg temp rise
I've measured it at about 10 GH/s per 1C for SP30s, or around half what you indicate. I've measured this by taking a machine out of our racks (on around 14C air, IIRC) and sticking it into the coldest spot of our hot aisle (about 26C at the time, IIRC), and seeing about 120 GH/s drop in the hashrate. My memory is a little fuzzy on the exact numbers we got from that experiment, but it's accurate to +/- 20%. I've also done other measurements by looking at diurnal variation in performance on SP30s with similar results.

SP10s are much more sensitive to temperature. They also vary in performance by about 10 GH/s per 1C, despite having less than 1/3 the total hashrate.

I've heard that SP20s are more sensitive to temperature than SP30s, but I don't have any here to test.

Preliminary observations with SP31s (as well as predictions based on what I know of semiconductor physics) suggest that they're more temperature sensitive than the SP30s, but I haven't done any systematic measurements yet.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 07:42:32 PM
 #8517

I also have a SP31 that won't give more than 4.7Th/s. I am beginning to think this is the maximum, a far cry from the advertised 5.5Th/s.
My unit is running @ 240v and close to 3Kw.

While it was advertised for 5.5Th/s I think you missed Guy's update:

•    The hash rate of the SP31 will be 4.9TH/s +- 5%. Power consumption will remain the same 3kW at the wall as in the previous SP30.
That update means fuck all after the fact, Guy once again overstated and under delivered. Was it another slow corner batch this time? Such an arrogant bunch ...
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 07:46:34 PM
 #8518

I've measured it at about 10 GH/s per 1C for SP30s, or around half what you indicate. I've measured this by taking a machine out of our racks (on around 14C air, IIRC) and sticking it into the coldest spot of our hot aisle (about 26C at the time, IIRC), and seeing about 120 GH/s drop in the hashrate. My memory is a little fuzzy on the exact numbers we got from that experiment, but it's accurate to +/- 20%. I've also done other measurements by looking at diurnal variation in performance on SP30s with similar results.

Man you spend too much time in your DC  Roll Eyes

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 07:54:44 PM
Last edit: November 08, 2014, 10:35:19 AM by zvisha
 #8519

If you are having weird behavior in SP3x : upgrade to 2.4.9 2.5.9. If all works well - don't.
Good day.


Don't upgrade to 2.5.7 and beyond. Stay on 2.5.6 till the end of weekend at least - it is the last of the 2.5.x series.
Once I will release 2.6.X - upgrade to it only.
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 08:43:50 PM
 #8520

If you are having weird behavior in SP3x : upgrade to 2.4.9. If all works well - don't.
Good day.

I take it you mean 2.5.9.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
Pages: « 1 ... 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 [426] 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!