Bitcoin Forum
October 14, 2019, 12:23:47 AM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 [441] 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256292 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2014, 11:02:02 AM
 #8801

... Actually, it's libel Cheesy slander is speech, libel is print. ...
Everyday I'm learning something new.

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
1571012627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571012627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571012627
Reply with quote  #2

1571012627
Report to moderator
1571012627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571012627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571012627
Reply with quote  #2

1571012627
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571012627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571012627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571012627
Reply with quote  #2

1571012627
Report to moderator
1571012627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571012627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571012627
Reply with quote  #2

1571012627
Report to moderator
1571012627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571012627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571012627
Reply with quote  #2

1571012627
Report to moderator
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 17, 2014, 11:06:53 AM
 #8802

... Actually, it's libel Cheesy slander is speech, libel is print. ...
Everyday I'm learning something new.

they abolished the slander law in Scotland years ago.. mostly because every event of slander ends up in a fight, anyway, so the law wins  Cheesy

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
Ski72
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

Kinex - The New Frontier


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 01:15:25 AM
 #8803

Guy,

Thanks for you and your team on taking care of my general issues (from SP31 RMA's to SP30's running in your DC).
SPTech product and service is exemplary and unmatched.  

Sincerely,
Miner454

Agreed, best customer support in the business.  Cool

Shame everything is out of stock tho Sad

Guy,
I have to agree with the above comments, though I have yet to hear from Katya regarding the forms required to RMA my damaged SP20.  
I did contact support at which point Barbara informed me that Katya would get in touch with me regarding the aforementioned.
A week has passed since I sent my initial request to the support team, I also sent a follow up email, though no reply yet.
Thank you,
Ski

Wtf? your post contradict itself. Are you agreeing that their service is the best yet you're at the mercy of SP-T to help you with RMA?

No wonder this forum is a scammer's heaven. Getting bent over while saying "YES THANK YOU! "

Here is a new idea: You're a buyer, not a beggar.

@seriouscoin,
Am I talking to you, is your name Guy?  No.
I'm agreeing to the "best customer support in the business", and the rest is as it is.
If you deal with any company where you have to send the product back due to damage, you are as you say "at the mercy" of that company. 
If you believe this forum is "a scammer's heaven", why associate yourself with it?
As the adage goes: "You catch more flies with honey, than vinegar.", and you're correct - I am a buyer, not someone who lives by asking for handouts.
You're welcome!
Ski

Please help support our disabled veterans - support the *DAV*
1P8CuGjdAbnxRQxyHqwxrEq8iTyD5UgAyi
As a 100% service connected disabled Navy Veteran, every bit helps! Wink
ScaryHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530
Merit: 501


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 03:18:03 AM
 #8804

My SP-31 RMA arrived and it's running at less than half-speed.   Angry
Colo is reporting bad PSU.  Not good.  Do I need an RMA for the RMA?

You need to follow this post first:
http://www.spondoolies-tech.com/blogs/technical-blog/15740048-support-for-malfunctioning-units
(Soon we will enable 2 more support people - you will need to contact spond.support.1 or spond.support.2)


Ok, I tried to add you on Skype....so far no response...is it zvi_shteingart with an underscore or zvi shteingart with a space?

Skype doesn't report anybody by the zvi_shteingart handle...

I'd like to get this problem resolved for an apparently damaged in transit SP20. Asic #4 is not hashing at all, no matter what I do, what voltage I set it at, whether I reboot the unit 4 times or more, etc. Running 2.5.12 latest firmware. I've already reseated the boards, and same symptoms.

Running on a known good power supply right now at 1300 GH/s with 7 out of 8 asics at 250w per module limit.

I have no idea what this is, but I'm posting it anyway.

14/11 16:35:44:---- RUNNING SLOWSTART -----
14/11 16:35:45:Started!
14/11 16:35:46:Asic disable 4: User disabled
15/11 00:27:32:Run time failed crutial 6
15/11 00:27:32:restart_asics_full (disable asic while running)
15/11 00:27:32:Testing LOOPs
15/11 00:27:32:Testing LOOPs done
15/11 00:27:32:Testing DC2DC
15/11 00:27:32:Asic disable 4: User disabled
15/11 00:27:32:Asic disable 4: User disabled
15/11 00:27:33:JOB 6000001 stuck, NOT killing ASIC

15/11 00:27:34:JOB 6000001 stuck, NOT killing ASIC

Watchdog caught problem: soft handle
spond-manager stop
Stopping MG
15/11 00:30:55:Signal
15/11 00:30:55:Pre read garbage 45ffff01 (0)/int 41114
15/11 00:30:55:Pre read garbage 8000006d (1)/int 41114
15/11 00:30:55:Data corruption 1 on read 6fe:32 (32837f00:20) got fffe:45 (45ffff01:45ffff01) - ql=0
15/11 00:30:55:Data corruption 1 on read fffe:41 (41ffff00:20) got 7fe:32 (3283ff00:14442d) - ql=2
15/11 00:30:55:Pre read garbage 41ffff00 (0)/int 41114
15/11 00:30:55:Data corruption 2 on read 7fe:32 (3283ff00:20) got 0:0 (2d:45ffff01) - ql=0
15/11 00:30:55:Data corruption 1 on read fe:32 (32807f00:20) got fffe:45 (45ffff01:8000006d) - ql=4
15/11 00:30:55:Data corruption 2 on read fffe:41 (41ffff00:20) got fffe:45 (45ffff01:8000006d) - ql=4
15/11 00:30:55:Data corruption 3 on read fffe:45 (45ffff00:20) got fe:32 (32807f00:14442d) - ql=0
15/11 00:30:55:Pre read garbage 41ffff00 (0)/int 41114
15/11 00:30:55:Pre read garbage 2d (1)/int 41114



pak13
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 03:29:41 AM
 #8805

A Prisma cost 1.47 BTC or $579, an SP20 cost over $900 with shipping. The SP20 is $258 away from being the same cost of 2x 1.4T Prismas.

My  sp20 cost  197 usd more then my asic miner prisma.  I over paid for the  prisma as I used paypal.

 I like the prisma but I don't think I can run it when I am out of my home.
 I have a sick relative and spend 2 days at a time with him in NY about 80 miles from my NJ house.   
 I tried to downclock the prisma to use low power when it is unattended and I have found that no matter how low I clock it. It uses 1000 watts.
 So at freq 210 it hashs at 1000 gh and uses 1000 watts or 1 watt per gh  not good.
 So I bumped it back up to freq 240 I get 1400gh and 1245 watts. or about .889 watts per gh

  I can tell I do not want to run it if I am not home for 2 days or so.  This is going to be the case for the next 3 months.
  If it would scale down and use 890 or 880 watts when down clocked to freq 210 hashing at 1000gh I would keep it.

The sp20 should be safer to leave unattended.
The sp20 should be able to downclock and not use more power per gh.
If I leave it unattended and it scales down at 1000gh I am looking at 640 watts. vs 1000 for the asic miner

Since my price difference is 197 usd.  I think I can make up the price in the long run.


If you expecting an SP20 to be any quieter then you are going to be seriously disappointed. Try reading what people have said about the noise out of them. Also, if you're worried about your house burning down while you are not there then I have to ask, did you not see all the pictures in this thread of the mining farm that burned down?

was that an AMHash farm?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 03:30:40 AM
 #8806

How long does it normally take to ship SP-20 after order?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1926



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 03:48:06 AM
 #8807

A Prisma cost 1.47 BTC or $579, an SP20 cost over $900 with shipping. The SP20 is $258 away from being the same cost of 2x 1.4T Prismas.

My  sp20 cost  197 usd more then my asic miner prisma.  I over paid for the  prisma as I used paypal.

 I like the prisma but I don't think I can run it when I am out of my home.
 I have a sick relative and spend 2 days at a time with him in NY about 80 miles from my NJ house.   
 I tried to downclock the prisma to use low power when it is unattended and I have found that no matter how low I clock it. It uses 1000 watts.
 So at freq 210 it hashs at 1000 gh and uses 1000 watts or 1 watt per gh  not good.
 So I bumped it back up to freq 240 I get 1400gh and 1245 watts. or about .889 watts per gh

  I can tell I do not want to run it if I am not home for 2 days or so.  This is going to be the case for the next 3 months.
  If it would scale down and use 890 or 880 watts when down clocked to freq 210 hashing at 1000gh I would keep it.

The sp20 should be safer to leave unattended.
The sp20 should be able to downclock and not use more power per gh.
If I leave it unattended and it scales down at 1000gh I am looking at 640 watts. vs 1000 for the asic miner

Since my price difference is 197 usd.  I think I can make up the price in the long run.


If you expecting an SP20 to be any quieter then you are going to be seriously disappointed. Try reading what people have said about the noise out of them. Also, if you're worried about your house burning down while you are not there then I have to ask, did you not see all the pictures in this thread of the mining farm that burned down?

  Yeah I saw  a burnt up sp30 farm overseas  and what does a 5mw farm have to do with a  3-5kw garage setup.

but from these photos you need to use real caution with a prisma


Problem board (107.9C temp):


Working board: (50.5C temp)









I have a location that is good for the sp20 but was not acceptable for the asic miner prisma.
The casing will allow me to address the noise issue


I would have kept both but the inability to downclock the prisma  correctly held me back.
the downclocks would drift up in thermals and watts.

 I could not get it to stay at 1150gh and 900 watts. I could not get it to stay under 1000 watts for any length of time on any down clocked frequency.

 

 I am hoping to finally get a hold of a spondoolies and have a bit of fun with it.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 06:48:24 AM
 #8808

I have just put up a website to review Miners called www.cryptominerreviews.com, with the purpose being to make real world measurements of temp, voltage, overlocking stability testing etc.  I recently bought an SP20 to do my first review on and hope to have it posted shortly.  I plan to follow up with an Antminer S4.  I have uncovered a lot of issues with the unit, some of which I think Spondoolies has at least reported but offered little in the way of resolving the issue.  One such issue is the PSU choice, which can not only cause boards to show up as "dead" but also have an impact on the hash rate of the machine.  I have tested with multiple single and double PSU setups and found that single rail high efficiency PSU's tend to cause more instability than less efficient smaller PSU's (cheaper)....also there are still firmware issues, if your machine is bricked or showing dead boards, reverting to 2.5.10 then letting the machine warm up with voltage set at 288 then updating to 2.5.12 worked best for me.  I considered leaving it at 2.5.10 but the hashrate was all over the place....cheers...keith

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 06:54:22 AM
 #8809

also, the only way I know of to get 2.5.10 is from the Firmware recovery process with an SD card on Spondoolies website...may be helpful to have that as an option on the Manual Firmware Update.

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 07:11:22 AM
 #8810

"All clients getting their SP20s:

- Please set your PSU settings to match your PSU. The default value is low and will not give you beyond 1.3Th - it matches weak PSUs. Set it to 288 if you have strong PSU.

- SP20 are very sensitive to temperature. You should be able to get 1.8+Th in 10c, 1.7+Th in 20c and 1.6+Th in 30c (+- 5%). Do your best to cool the units."

My results are completely the opposite of the above statements from Spondoolies website...
-dual weak (750-700w range)  PSU's appear to be way more stable than anything large and efficient.  So far my best results have come from a pair of bronze rated PSU's over any combination of large platinum rated PSU's. 
-I have yet to reach 1.8 and have run the machine in temps from 0c to 25c, right now its in a 5c climate and cranked up to 288 running 1.6-1.625....

I have emailed Spondoolies but have not recieved a response....cheers...keith

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 08:06:35 AM
 #8811

"All clients getting their SP20s:

- Please set your PSU settings to match your PSU. The default value is low and will not give you beyond 1.3Th - it matches weak PSUs. Set it to 288 if you have strong PSU.

- SP20 are very sensitive to temperature. You should be able to get 1.8+Th in 10c, 1.7+Th in 20c and 1.6+Th in 30c (+- 5%). Do your best to cool the units."

My results are completely the opposite of the above statements from Spondoolies website...
-dual weak (750-700w range)  PSU's appear to be way more stable than anything large and efficient.  So far my best results have come from a pair of bronze rated PSU's over any combination of large platinum rated PSU's. 
-I have yet to reach 1.8 and have run the machine in temps from 0c to 25c, right now its in a 5c climate and cranked up to 288 running 1.6-1.625....

I have emailed Spondoolies but have not recieved a response....cheers...keith


pretty much the same experience I have here , one 800watt psu and one 1000watt psu.  can't get it to hash over 1640 or so.

A single 1200 watt PSU seems to have been fried by the sp20 so sticking to two PSU's going forward.   The sp20 cannot seem to pull enough juice from the rails to get better hash rates.

Then again 1.8 TH at 4x330 watts seems pretty the same as 1.6 TH at 4x290 watts  my math is probably off as usuall.

If the firmware is fixed to allow the units to pull more than 288 watts we could probably get better hash rates I imagine. 

ALso raising the voltages seems to cause major instabilities as well so maybe the fix is there /shrug

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2014, 08:50:09 AM
 #8812

Does anybody have an inexpensive solution to SP-20 noise?
My house does not have a basement, so noise reduction or elimination is a must.
Thanks.

No choice but to host it. I had the same scenario with my SP10. I had the electric, but no matter where I was in the house, no matter what tricks I did, the noise was always going to be there.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1068



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 08:54:09 AM
 #8813

Does anybody have an inexpensive solution to SP-20 noise?
My house does not have a basement, so noise reduction or elimination is a must.
Thanks.

No choice but to host it. I had the same scenario with my SP10. I had the electric, but no matter where I was in the house, no matter what tricks I did, the noise was always going to be there.



Its not as bad as a SP10 or even a SP30 but its too loud for having in a living area.

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2014, 08:56:13 AM
 #8814

Guy,

Thanks for you and your team on taking care of my general issues (from SP31 RMA's to SP30's running in your DC).
SPTech product and service is exemplary and unmatched.  

Sincerely,
Miner454

Agreed, best customer support in the business.  Cool

Shame everything is out of stock tho Sad

Guy,
I have to agree with the above comments, though I have yet to hear from Katya regarding the forms required to RMA my damaged SP20.  
I did contact support at which point Barbara informed me that Katya would get in touch with me regarding the aforementioned.
A week has passed since I sent my initial request to the support team, I also sent a follow up email, though no reply yet.
Thank you,
Ski

Wtf? your post contradict itself. Are you agreeing that their service is the best yet you're at the mercy of SP-T to help you with RMA?

No wonder this forum is a scammer's heaven. Getting bent over while saying "YES THANK YOU! "

Here is a new idea: You're a buyer, not a beggar.


It sucks. Customer's are afraid to complain or speak up for themselves. I always thought the seller has the duty to take care of the customer the best they can. Like the Dr. Oath. Smiley


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1068



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 09:04:31 AM
 #8815

Guy,

Thanks for you and your team on taking care of my general issues (from SP31 RMA's to SP30's running in your DC).
SPTech product and service is exemplary and unmatched.  

Sincerely,
Miner454

Agreed, best customer support in the business.  Cool

Shame everything is out of stock tho Sad

Guy,
I have to agree with the above comments, though I have yet to hear from Katya regarding the forms required to RMA my damaged SP20.  
I did contact support at which point Barbara informed me that Katya would get in touch with me regarding the aforementioned.
A week has passed since I sent my initial request to the support team, I also sent a follow up email, though no reply yet.
Thank you,
Ski

Wtf? your post contradict itself. Are you agreeing that their service is the best yet you're at the mercy of SP-T to help you with RMA?

No wonder this forum is a scammer's heaven. Getting bent over while saying "YES THANK YOU! "

Here is a new idea: You're a buyer, not a beggar.


It sucks. Customer's are afraid to complain or speak up for themselves. I always thought the seller has the duty to take care of the customer the best they can. Like the Dr. Oath. Smiley



Its generally the opposite. Customers rarely praise for good service and often are vociferous regarding poor service.

No company is 100% perfect, especially smaller companies such as this one, but these guys, in my experience, and I've purchased from just about everyone legit, are the best I've experienced not just in this business but in many others as well.

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 09:10:21 AM
 #8816

Does anybody have an inexpensive solution to SP-20 noise?
My house does not have a basement, so noise reduction or elimination is a must.
Thanks.

No choice but to host it. I had the same scenario with my SP10. I had the electric, but no matter where I was in the house, no matter what tricks I did, the noise was always going to be there.



Its not as bad as a SP10 or even a SP30 but its too loud for having in a living area.

I have luck swapping out the fans on an S4 with Scythe Ultra Kaze fans, they are about 130 cfm but in the Antminer S4 the temp stayed the same as a stock one I have running.  I suspect a single Scythe replacing the rear stock fan and adding a fan on the front in a Push/Pull configuration would be a lot quieter and probably a bit cooler....

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 09:13:19 AM
 #8817

"All clients getting their SP20s:

- Please set your PSU settings to match your PSU. The default value is low and will not give you beyond 1.3Th - it matches weak PSUs. Set it to 288 if you have strong PSU.

- SP20 are very sensitive to temperature. You should be able to get 1.8+Th in 10c, 1.7+Th in 20c and 1.6+Th in 30c (+- 5%). Do your best to cool the units."

My results are completely the opposite of the above statements from Spondoolies website...
-dual weak (750-700w range)  PSU's appear to be way more stable than anything large and efficient.  So far my best results have come from a pair of bronze rated PSU's over any combination of large platinum rated PSU's. 
-I have yet to reach 1.8 and have run the machine in temps from 0c to 25c, right now its in a 5c climate and cranked up to 288 running 1.6-1.625....

I have emailed Spondoolies but have not recieved a response....cheers...keith


pretty much the same experience I have here , one 800watt psu and one 1000watt psu.  can't get it to hash over 1640 or so.

I do think there is a definite Firmware update that could fix it.... but the limits of the hardware would be stressed and probably fail.... I will show all the data as soon as I hear back from Spondoolies (it been a few days and I have not heard a peep)....

A single 1200 watt PSU seems to have been fried by the sp20 so sticking to two PSU's going forward.   The sp20 cannot seem to pull enough juice from the rails to get better hash rates.

Then again 1.8 TH at 4x330 watts seems pretty the same as 1.6 TH at 4x290 watts  my math is probably off as usuall.

If the firmware is fixed to allow the units to pull more than 288 watts we could probably get better hash rates I imagine. 

ALso raising the voltages seems to cause major instabilities as well so maybe the fix is there /shrug

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2014, 09:49:32 AM
Last edit: November 18, 2014, 10:12:24 AM by ckolivas
 #8818

Its generally the opposite. Customers rarely praise for good service and often are vociferous regarding poor service.

No company is 100% perfect, especially smaller companies such as this one, but these guys, in my experience, and I've purchased from just about everyone legit, are the best I've experienced not just in this business but in many others as well.


Yes.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 10:20:14 AM
 #8819

"All clients getting their SP20s:

- Please set your PSU settings to match your PSU. The default value is low and will not give you beyond 1.3Th - it matches weak PSUs. Set it to 288 if you have strong PSU.

- SP20 are very sensitive to temperature. You should be able to get 1.8+Th in 10c, 1.7+Th in 20c and 1.6+Th in 30c (+- 5%). Do your best to cool the units."

My results are completely the opposite of the above statements from Spondoolies website...
-dual weak (750-700w range)  PSU's appear to be way more stable than anything large and efficient.  So far my best results have come from a pair of bronze rated PSU's over any combination of large platinum rated PSU's. 
-I have yet to reach 1.8 and have run the machine in temps from 0c to 25c, right now its in a 5c climate and cranked up to 288 running 1.6-1.625....

I have emailed Spondoolies but have not recieved a response....cheers...keith


pretty much the same experience I have here , one 800watt psu and one 1000watt psu.  can't get it to hash over 1640 or so.

I do think there is a definite Firmware update that could fix it.... but the limits of the hardware would be stressed and probably fail.... I will show all the data as soon as I hear back from Spondoolies (it been a few days and I have not heard a peep)....

A single 1200 watt PSU seems to have been fried by the sp20 so sticking to two PSU's going forward.   The sp20 cannot seem to pull enough juice from the rails to get better hash rates.

Then again 1.8 TH at 4x330 watts seems pretty the same as 1.6 TH at 4x290 watts  my math is probably off as usuall.

If the firmware is fixed to allow the units to pull more than 288 watts we could probably get better hash rates I imagine. 

ALso raising the voltages seems to cause major instabilities as well so maybe the fix is there /shrug


Hi guys.
I will release a new FW for SP20 that fixes the stability issue. Please stay tuned.
Regarding the overclocking, there are 2 limitations: 288 watt on connector and the temperature (on both ASICs and DC2DC).
In cold environment I think it can be pushed much higher then current limits, but let's get some experience with it running on the spec before you start pushing it further.
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 10:36:38 AM
 #8820

"All clients getting their SP20s:

- Please set your PSU settings to match your PSU. The default value is low and will not give you beyond 1.3Th - it matches weak PSUs. Set it to 288 if you have strong PSU.

- SP20 are very sensitive to temperature. You should be able to get 1.8+Th in 10c, 1.7+Th in 20c and 1.6+Th in 30c (+- 5%). Do your best to cool the units."

My results are completely the opposite of the above statements from Spondoolies website...
-dual weak (750-700w range)  PSU's appear to be way more stable than anything large and efficient.  So far my best results have come from a pair of bronze rated PSU's over any combination of large platinum rated PSU's.  
-I have yet to reach 1.8 and have run the machine in temps from 0c to 25c, right now its in a 5c climate and cranked up to 288 running 1.6-1.625....

I have emailed Spondoolies but have not recieved a response....cheers...keith


288w is the limit on the PCIx power connectors.
There are ways to override it in FW with flags, but don't do that (at least now).
We remember what happened to other ASIC mining company equipment when they pulled ~400W on those connectors.
Pages: « 1 ... 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 [441] 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!