Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2019, 08:23:41 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 [439] 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256306 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1972



View Profile
November 14, 2014, 03:55:49 PM
 #8761

2t for 500w? that's like ~2016
the stupid trend now is make big and bigger miners! stupid!
just make 2types of miners case, format... home and server! keep the standard  constant and improve the hardware inside!
no +roi atm, not at this price!

this is exactly what SP-Tech have done, and in this game, it very rare to find this but what you get (mostly) is a stable miner that doesn't need a babysitter.

I just setup the asicminer prisma in house it is loud and hot I can deal with that, but a few other people have burnt them up.  I may return mine out of an abundance of caution.

 The sp20 looks like a good replacement for it.  Decisions.

I've always been dubious about miners what have no outer casing... there was a time when I would strip them bare and make every attempt at o/c'ing that i could, but that was in the bad old days. I have every confidence that everything Spondoolies release is safe, stable and can be left to get on with the job. they are also the only miner that gives ZERO rejects on every pool they mine on... even with p2pool, on a local node, i'm seeing under 2% stale shares.  Quality makes a difference.

I sent a pm.  I will use your link to buy it just need to do return to the asic miner seller.

that's very much appreciated. I use my BTC to pay my lawyer, so that I can see my little girl so everything I can earn goes to a good cause. if you want to read more about my troubles it's at www.thescribe.eu (sorry for going off topic)

life is... colourful!


I purchased one just now used your link.

https://blockchain.info/tx/87c3aeb5ac201ebc9ff8c7011c4cf3d9cf03280e4112a4ab0adcf5b0d1b39841

note to spondoolies-tech.     I tipped you on the invoice about .009 btc   please pack it well for its trip to New Jersey.


 Smiley
thank you.
  No problem.  I am going to return the  asic miner prisma .  Won't cost me a lot once I get my refund.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1574065421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574065421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574065421
Reply with quote  #2

1574065421
Report to moderator
1574065421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574065421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574065421
Reply with quote  #2

1574065421
Report to moderator
1574065421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574065421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574065421
Reply with quote  #2

1574065421
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1574065421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574065421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574065421
Reply with quote  #2

1574065421
Report to moderator
1574065421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574065421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574065421
Reply with quote  #2

1574065421
Report to moderator
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 04:28:51 PM
 #8762

its an End of August sp30 machine not sure if it is still under warranty what is the procedure for replacing it ?  Is it via email or via
the website.

thanks
Contact support@ to approve RMA

Done and thanks, hope this gets resloved soon, the SP30 is part of my heating solution in the home and i'm in the progress of purchasing a few more sp20s for garage heating as well.  The Sp20s do not seem to generate enough heat though for my purposes even with the fan throttled to 60%

So i turned off that entire loop of asics that #17 ( the problem one is on) and the miner seems stable now hashing at 4.2 TH or so (240V) front temp 20c

I still need to set up a support call with Zavisha to see if he can reslove the problem with that loop but as long as it stays stable I will hang on to the unit.

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 07:56:58 PM
 #8763

A Prisma cost 1.47 BTC or $579, an SP20 cost over $900 with shipping. The SP20 is $258 away from being the same cost of 2x 1.4T Prismas.

BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 14, 2014, 08:07:15 PM
 #8764

The Sp20s do not seem to generate enough heat though for my purposes even with the fan throttled to 60%

The heat generation IS NOT proportional with the fan setting. The unit cooling IS though.
The heat generation IS proportional with the energy used, as long as you consider the PSU and chip performance being constant. 

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 09:14:50 PM
 #8765

The Sp20s do not seem to generate enough heat though for my purposes even with the fan throttled to 60%

The heat generation IS NOT proportional with the fan setting. The unit cooling IS though.
The heat generation IS proportional with the energy used, as long as you consider the PSU and chip performance being constant. 

Yes i get that but I am unable to get the sp20 to to use more power seems to cap at 290 or so per power slot.   even though i have two 800Watt gold PSU's.

when i max out the voltage to .79 the unit hashes even lower than the .75 volts i have been able to have it run stabley at .

keep in mind i am running it in a cold shed around 7-8 c front so cooling is not the issue

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 10:56:51 PM
 #8766

Time to buy more hardware....

How are you sp30,1,20 buyers doing for ROI? meeting expectations? Machine performance?  How is the cold weather performance? I know sp machines are loud so I would add to my shed farm (literally) ambient is -5 celcius right now and my ants are peforming better than ever in the cold +10% performance. Is anyone else getting similar results with Sp miners?

Thanks for your comments, looking to expand and your input will be helpful Smiley
I'm finally getting the expected 1.4 hash rate on my SP10 at -10 ambient fans 70%. Much better than the 1.2-1.3 I've had since purchasing it.

was that after installing the update released by Zvi yesterday?
Hell no, I'm not goint to be an early adopter and risk getting burned.
DevonMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 11:05:38 PM
 #8767

Quote
Hell no, I'm not goint to be an early adopter and risk getting burned.

Been looking for that answer  ... anybody applied it ... any feedback?

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1323



View Profile
November 14, 2014, 11:09:27 PM
 #8768

Does anybody have an inexpensive solution to SP-20 noise?
My house does not have a basement, so noise reduction or elimination is a must.
Thanks.
mavericklm
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 11:39:44 PM
 #8769

make a fanduct, shroud for 2 or 4 12cm fans in place of the original fan?
desasamble it, spill its bowels and cool them separately with few silent fans?
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1080



View Profile
November 14, 2014, 11:42:27 PM
 #8770

Does anybody have an inexpensive solution to SP-20 noise?
My house does not have a basement, so noise reduction or elimination is a must.
Thanks.

The only thing you can do is change the fan. There are some caveats

1. At the same ambient conditions there will be an increase in heat at the cost of hash power.
2. Unless you are handy with a soldering iron the fan won't go on the header on the controler board, so you need to power it from the PSU.
3. Noise is directly proportional to CFM, however the tone or type of noise can change even with a fan that has similar performance. That being said most of the 200CFM fans available have similar db output of between 59-65 db.

e.g. Scythe Ultra Kaze 3000rpm 133CFM Fan intake from window, outside temp 6 °C




Mining Rate: 1506.37Ghs
Temp Front / Back T,B
21 °C / 77,74 °C

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 15, 2014, 12:43:56 AM
 #8771

Hosting it...


Does anybody have an inexpensive solution to SP-20 noise?
My house does not have a basement, so noise reduction or elimination is a must.
Thanks.

BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 15, 2014, 12:46:52 AM
 #8772


Imo, the sp20 is a tempting offer in comparison, but the noise and low buying power of. A bitcoin right now are holding me back. Anyone managed to sub in quieter fans to make this acceptable for living in the same floor of a house with?



...
Gone from 1.3x to 1.5x 1.665TH and climbing now, back temperatures gone from 37 to 67°C 77°C!
Keep your room cozy and warm in the winter ...

I am going to have to do something about the fan though, this thing is loud! Louder than all my other miners combined.

If I can't do anything about it I'll have to sell it I think Sad


This is the fan used in the SP20.. beast of a thing!



Damn, fan uses a 4pin PWM Graphics card type header. Going to have to get one of these if I want to try other fan types:

PWM Fan Adapter for VGA Cooler Fan

Don't buy this adapter its a different fitting on the SP20

Good news is that it runs without anything plugged into the header so I'm testing another solution



Latest update (from other thread)

I've currently got two Coolermaster Jetflo 90+CFM fans powered from the PSU, one replacing the internal fan and one on the outside pushing air in at the back.

Not-so good news is thats not enough airflow to keep the unit performing at spec, sweet spot seems to be just under 1.4TH

Temp Front / Back T,B
33 °C / 86,87 °C

But its now normal miner sound levels Smiley

I've got two other fans to try out at between 120-150CF<, still haven't got the connector sourced, its some sort of wire to board molex micro or pico connector, I guess you could solder the custom connector onto the fan wires if you wanted a stock look.

At the moment the wire comes out the side of the lid and to a 4 pin molex from the PSU, not pretty but I'd rather quiet than pretty.

Hopefully will get a chance to test the new fans today, so can update with pics.

is it possible to run the unit with a fan ? I have a really cold environment or would it not boot up ?

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1080



View Profile
November 15, 2014, 12:59:17 AM
 #8773


is it possible to run the unit with a fan ? I have a really cold environment or would it not boot up ?

You mean without a fan? It would run but it would probably be very slow and would restart alot and be unreliable.

You need to move air over the heatsinks to remove the heat. If you have very cold air (sub 10°C you could use a slower quiet fan around 90CFM) You could probably even use the fan on the outside of the miner. I'd want to test it thats for sure. But I doubt you would get anywhere near 1.7TH

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 15, 2014, 02:11:34 AM
 #8774


is it possible to run the unit with a fan ? I have a really cold environment or would it not boot up ?

You mean without a fan? It would run but it would probably be very slow and would restart alot and be unreliable.

You need to move air over the heatsinks to remove the heat. If you have very cold air (sub 10°C you could use a slower quiet fan around 90CFM) You could probably even use the fan on the outside of the miner. I'd want to test it thats for sure. But I doubt you would get anywhere near 1.7TH

thanks

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
ScaryHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529
Merit: 501


View Profile
November 15, 2014, 05:03:22 AM
 #8775

Well, I still have an ASIC #4 down, and I guess Zvi is try to catch some sleep this Friday night.
 
But, at least it's mining. I reseated the boards, but it didn't really do anything.

I'll try to catch you on Skype next week, and I'll send Barbara another e-mail or something.

Tried rebooting, changing voltage values, turning ASICs on and off, but ASIC #4 just doesn't want to activate.


miner454
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2014, 06:45:00 AM
 #8776

My SP-31 RMA arrived and it's running at less than half-speed.   Angry
Colo is reporting bad PSU.  Not good.  Do I need an RMA for the RMA?
miner454
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2014, 07:03:00 AM
 #8777

My SP-31 RMA arrived and it's running at less than half-speed.   Angry
Colo is reporting bad PSU.  Not good.  Do I need an RMA for the RMA?

Now running at 1.57 Th/s (Expected hash rate of the SP31 is 4.9TH/s +- 5%)
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1080



View Profile
November 15, 2014, 01:09:34 PM
 #8778

My SP-31 RMA arrived and it's running at less than half-speed.   Angry
Colo is reporting bad PSU.  Not good.  Do I need an RMA for the RMA?

Now running at 1.57 Th/s (Expected hash rate of the SP31 is 4.9TH/s +- 5%)

If there is any chance to test with a known working PSU from another unit then let support know they will ship you a new PSU, thats what they did with my SP10 that had a faulty PSU. Only took two days to arrive.

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1972



View Profile
November 15, 2014, 02:09:00 PM
 #8779

A Prisma cost 1.47 BTC or $579, an SP20 cost over $900 with shipping. The SP20 is $258 away from being the same cost of 2x 1.4T Prismas.

My  sp20 cost  197 usd more then my asic miner prisma.  I over paid for the  prisma as I used paypal.

 I like the prisma but I don't think I can run it when I am out of my home.
 I have a sick relative and spend 2 days at a time with him in NY about 80 miles from my NJ house.   
 I tried to downclock the prisma to use low power when it is unattended and I have found that no matter how low I clock it. It uses 1000 watts.
 So at freq 210 it hashs at 1000 gh and uses 1000 watts or 1 watt per gh  not good.
 So I bumped it back up to freq 240 I get 1400gh and 1245 watts. or about .889 watts per gh

  I can tell I do not want to run it if I am not home for 2 days or so.  This is going to be the case for the next 3 months.
  If it would scale down and use 890 or 880 watts when down clocked to freq 210 hashing at 1000gh I would keep it.

The sp20 should be safer to leave unattended.
The sp20 should be able to downclock and not use more power per gh.
If I leave it unattended and it scales down at 1000gh I am looking at 640 watts. vs 1000 for the asic miner

Since my price difference is 197 usd.  I think I can make up the price in the long run.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 15, 2014, 03:31:09 PM
 #8780

Looks like the canadian winter has got the best of my SP10 already. What do the recent updates do, does the SP10 suffer from the same bug when ambient goes below 0c?
Pages: « 1 ... 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 [439] 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!