Bitcoin Forum
February 03, 2023, 08:13:51 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 [94] 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 ... 319 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] AEON: Scalable, private, mobile-friendly cryptocurrency  (Read 623268 times)
MoneroMooo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1277
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 07:02:05 AM
 #1861


Back up now. Sorry about that, my ISP hiccuped and the dynamic DNS update did not trigger automatically this time.

1675412031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675412031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675412031
Reply with quote  #2

1675412031
Report to moderator
"I'm sure that in 20 years there will either be very large transaction volume or no volume." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1675412031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675412031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675412031
Reply with quote  #2

1675412031
Report to moderator
1675412031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675412031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675412031
Reply with quote  #2

1675412031
Report to moderator
1675412031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675412031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675412031
Reply with quote  #2

1675412031
Report to moderator
Phantas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 09:12:37 AM
 #1862


Back up now. Sorry about that, my ISP hiccuped and the dynamic DNS update did not trigger automatically this time.



no problem, thank you Wink

Merge Mine 5 other Blake 256 coins - 6x your hash power  https://www.blakecoin.org/
nikos64
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 01:32:51 PM
 #1863

Cheers Smooth! It's an i7-4770, standard clocks and all, running 6 threads, above normal priority.

Why don't you run all threads/cores but in low priority? Windows can manage just fine the other jobs that way, and you can have the max hashrate too.
I even play Left 4 Dead 2 without stop mining. The hashrate drops from 850 h/s to 550 while playing but that's all, I have to do nothing else.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1192



View Profile
August 24, 2015, 03:09:25 PM
 #1864

Pruning update

I'm running two pruned nodes right now, as a bit of a final performance test, after completing several functional tests.

Assuming no problem arise I will be dropping a test release within several hours.
bangomatic
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000

ARK Team likes to ban and delete posts in reddit.


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 03:12:25 PM
 #1865

Pruning update

I'm running two pruned nodes right now, as a bit of a final performance test, after completing several functional tests.

Assuming no problem arise I will be dropping a test release within several hours.


Great update!  Thanx!
myagui
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1154
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 24, 2015, 04:06:22 PM
Last edit: August 24, 2015, 04:24:52 PM by myagui
 #1866

Cheers Smooth! It's an i7-4770, standard clocks and all, running 6 threads, above normal priority.

Why don't you run all threads/cores but in low priority? Windows can manage just fine the other jobs that way, and you can have the max hashrate too.
I even play Left 4 Dead 2 without stop mining. The hashrate drops from 850 h/s to 550 while playing but that's all, I have to do nothing else.

These days, that box is primarily a GPU mining rig, and the current GPU work is actually very sensitive to any moderate CPU usage. Optimal performance (giving priority to current GPU work), was found by setting affinity to have 2 dedicated threads for the GPU miner. I can then do whatever on the other 6 threads, that the GPUs remain at full performance.

nikos64
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 07:35:04 PM
 #1867

Cheers Smooth! It's an i7-4770, standard clocks and all, running 6 threads, above normal priority.

Why don't you run all threads/cores but in low priority? Windows can manage just fine the other jobs that way, and you can have the max hashrate too.
I even play Left 4 Dead 2 without stop mining. The hashrate drops from 850 h/s to 550 while playing but that's all, I have to do nothing else.

These days, that box is primarily a GPU mining rig, and the current GPU work is actually very sensitive to any moderate CPU usage. Optimal performance (giving priority to current GPU work), was found by setting affinity to have 2 dedicated threads for the GPU miner. I can then do whatever on the other 6 threads, that the GPUs remain at full performance.
I see... I do the same thing when I have something to mine with my GPU. Not much GPU mining lately though.
myagui
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1154
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 24, 2015, 08:16:47 PM
 #1868

@smooth,

As I had compiled from git just yesterday, I am also running a pruned node, right? Just wondering.
All is working well here, just found a block solo, yay!  Smiley

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1192



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 12:10:06 AM
 #1869

@smooth,

As I had compiled from git just yesterday, I am also running a pruned node, right? Just wondering.
All is working well here, just found a block solo, yay!  Smiley

No pruning is not in git yet, and the first version with pruning (very soon) will be a designated test version, not a release.

The current official release does have some memory and storage optimizations I came across when working on pruning that are in there.

Quote
just found a block solo

Nice!

Thank you for supporting the network!
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1192



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 12:12:45 PM
Last edit: August 25, 2015, 01:01:04 PM by smooth
 #1870

Pruning update

I'm running two pruned nodes right now, as a bit of a final performance test, after completing several functional tests.

Assuming no problem arise I will be dropping a test release within several hours.

To follow up, I did discover one issue with wallet refreshes in testing. It is easily reproducible so I'm sure I will track down the cause and get it fixed soon.

EDIT: I did find the problem in the wallet and unfortunately some more work is going to be needed so the test release of pruning will be pushed back a day or two.
shitaifan2013
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 879
Merit: 1000

monero


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 12:15:17 PM
 #1871

crazy trading traffic for aeon on bittrex  Shocked that way my otc order will never get filled  Undecided

Schild_
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 09:11:17 PM
 #1872

@smooth,

As I had compiled from git just yesterday, I am also running a pruned node, right? Just wondering.
All is working well here, just found a block solo, yay!  Smiley

No pruning is not in git yet, and the first version with pruning (very soon) will be a designated test version, not a release.

The current official release does have some memory and storage optimizations I came across when working on pruning that are in there.

Quote
just found a block solo

Nice!

Thank you for supporting the network!

Awesome. Thanks for the hard work.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1192



View Profile
August 27, 2015, 10:27:18 AM
 #1873

Pruning update

I'm running two pruned nodes right now, as a bit of a final performance test, after completing several functional tests.

Assuming no problem arise I will be dropping a test release within several hours.

To follow up, I did discover one issue with wallet refreshes in testing. It is easily reproducible so I'm sure I will track down the cause and get it fixed soon.

EDIT: I did find the problem in the wallet and unfortunately some more work is going to be needed so the test release of pruning will be pushed back a day or two.

One last follow up before I drop a release (soon!)

I investigated the wallet problem. There are two ways of fixing it. One is to reduce the degree of pruning and keep more old data, and the other is to disallow syncing an old wallet from a pruned node. After implementing the first I reconsidered and decided to go with the second. Not only does the first approach reduce the amount of pruning now, it will further reduce how much pruning can be improved later.

The new approach will only support "active" wallets off a pruned  node. The pruning window is 10 000 blocks or around 28 days, so you will need to sync (open and then exit) your wallet at least once per 28 days from a pruned node to keep it up to date, otherwise you will need an unpruned node to sync the wallet. If there is no activity at all (received payments) during the offline period, then it will still be okay to sync from a pruned node, even after 28 days.

I feel this limitation is acceptable for most if not all use cases.

myagui
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1154
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 27, 2015, 11:00:23 AM
 #1874

@smooth, fwiw, I concur with your reasoning on how to address this wallet refresh issue and pruning strategy. Good stuff!  Smiley

exciter0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 27, 2015, 04:51:55 PM
 #1875

If there is no activity at all (received payments) during the offline period, then it will still be okay to sync from a pruned node, even after 28 days.

Smooth, in the scenario where eventually the whole network contains only pruned nodes and users have cold wallets, if the wallets were inactive for over 28 days and users decide to buy more coins, what would happen?

I guess I'm not understanding the issue here, sorry. The requirement of having to refresh a wallet every 28 days won't work with cold wallets, I'd say.

 

▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄ G O L D M I N T ▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▬▬▬ Blockchain based platform which operates Gold-backed Cryptoassets ▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬ BLOGTelegramSlackANN ThreadTwitterReddit ▬▬▬▬▬▬
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1192



View Profile
August 27, 2015, 05:33:54 PM
 #1876

If there is no activity at all (received payments) during the offline period, then it will still be okay to sync from a pruned node, even after 28 days.

Smooth, in the scenario where eventually the whole network contains only pruned nodes and users have cold wallets, if the wallets were inactive for over 28 days and users decide to buy more coins, what would happen?

With the current model of pruning there will never be a case that the whole network contains only pruned nodes. There still need to be some unpruned (also known as archive nodes) to provide the old blocks to new users. This is the same model used by Bitcoin currently. My long term plan is provide a mechanism of payment to ensure that people want to provide these archive nodes. Short term the seed nodes at least will run archive nodes and I'm recommending that important services (exchanges, pools, etc.) not run pruned nodes at this time so those will be there too.

Longer term there will be a different model of pruning and wallet syncing that will fully work with pruned nodes for both regular and lightweight wallets. Lightweight wallets will work this way first, probably.
exciter0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 27, 2015, 05:45:47 PM
 #1877


With the current model of pruning there will never be a case that the whole network contains only pruned nodes. There still need to be some unpruned (also known as archive nodes) to provide the old blocks to new users. This is the same model used by Bitcoin currently.

Thanks for the explanation, Smooth. If this is configurable on the daemon, I'll be happy to support an archive node. Merging LMDB support would avoid the lengthy and dreaded 12-hour "saving blockchain" pause.  Grin

▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄ G O L D M I N T ▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▬▬▬ Blockchain based platform which operates Gold-backed Cryptoassets ▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬ BLOGTelegramSlackANN ThreadTwitterReddit ▬▬▬▬▬▬
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1192



View Profile
August 27, 2015, 05:47:26 PM
Last edit: August 27, 2015, 07:35:43 PM by smooth
 #1878


With the current model of pruning there will never be a case that the whole network contains only pruned nodes. There still need to be some unpruned (also known as archive nodes) to provide the old blocks to new users. This is the same model used by Bitcoin currently.

Thanks for the explanation, Smooth. If this is configurable on the daemon, I'll be happy to support an archive node.

Yes, there is a --pruned option. Without the option it runs in the traditional unpruned aka "archive node" manner.

Quote
Merging LMDB support would avoid the lengthy and dreaded 12-hour "saving blockchain" pause.  Grin

That is planned, just waiting for that code to become fully stable with the last remaining issues worked out.

Also, the plan is for pruning to coexist with a database, and that has factored into the design. The benefit in that case is reduced, but perhaps more importantly slow-growing, database size. This will allow small devices to continue to run nodes long term without filling up storage.


MoneroMooo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1277
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 28, 2015, 08:14:49 AM
 #1879

Just a note to say that my pool appears to be comfortably past 50% at the moment, and that while I'm not planning on 51%ing aeon, you wouldn't just trust some guy on the internet not to, right ?
While Arux's pool appears to be down, the daemon can solo mine, which should still be a reasonable option for large hash miners that can handle the RAM usage.
Phantas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 28, 2015, 09:58:09 AM
 #1880

Just a note to say that my pool appears to be comfortably past 50% at the moment, and that while I'm not planning on 51%ing aeon, you wouldn't just trust some guy on the internet not to, right ?
While Arux's pool appears to be down, the daemon can solo mine, which should still be a reasonable option for large hash miners that can handle the RAM usage.

I think, also minergate is alive.

Merge Mine 5 other Blake 256 coins - 6x your hash power  https://www.blakecoin.org/
Pages: « 1 ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 [94] 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 ... 319 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!