Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2021, 11:23:09 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 [104] 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 ... 314 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] AEON: Scalable, private, mobile-friendly cryptocurrency  (Read 620622 times)
smooth
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1167



View Profile
September 15, 2015, 09:17:07 AM
 #2061

Is there open source software to set up a pool ? I recall having seen something posted here but can't seem to find it now.

Yes, here is the one moneromoo is using for his pool (includes various bug fixes, etc. on the mooo branch):

https://github.com/moneromooo/cryptonote-universal-pool/tree/mooo
1634512989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634512989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634512989
Reply with quote  #2

1634512989
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1634512989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634512989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634512989
Reply with quote  #2

1634512989
Report to moderator
myagui
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1154
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 15, 2015, 09:55:44 AM
 #2062

[...]
If you do any more tests like this please have the daemon in log level 2 (warning this may create some larger than usual log files) and save the wallet log file file. I don't suggest posting it since it might disclose some private information but perhaps you can send it to me privately to review it. Thanks.

Will do, cheers Smooth!

papa_lazzarou
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 649
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 15, 2015, 11:41:38 AM
 #2063

Is there open source software to set up a pool ? I recall having seen something posted here but can't seem to find it now.

Yes, here is the one moneromoo is using for his pool (includes various bug fixes, etc. on the mooo branch):

https://github.com/moneromooo/cryptonote-universal-pool/tree/mooo

exciter0 posted a step by step:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=641696.msg12293931#msg12293931
SRBOOTH
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 15, 2015, 11:29:19 PM
 #2064

Is there any way to run a pool via Win 7 ?
exciter0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 16, 2015, 12:22:52 AM
 #2065

Is there any way to run a pool via Win 7 ?

Sure you can. If you have enough memory, get VMWare player or Virtualbox and install linux as a guest VM. Then install the pool software in guest.

▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄ G O L D M I N T ▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▬▬▬ Blockchain based platform which operates Gold-backed Cryptoassets ▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬ BLOGTelegramSlackANN ThreadTwitterReddit ▬▬▬▬▬▬
smooth
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1167



View Profile
September 16, 2015, 12:24:18 AM
 #2066

get VMWare player or Virtualbox

Both of these are free BTW, for people who aren't familiar.
MbccompanyX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
September 16, 2015, 07:06:05 AM
 #2067

Is normal that if i give the command bc_height (that i suppose shows the last block downloaded) shows 401 and doesn't change even after 1 hour? i have 7 peers and no idea about how is possible...

bc_height is a wallet command. In order to update the wallet view of the blockchain you need to use refresh or exit and reenter the wallet.

An alternative is the diff command in the daemon which shows real-time height and difficulty

I did it but it didn't changed anything... Well i suppose there is a bug somewhere that blocks all...

newb4now
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 16, 2015, 05:01:53 PM
 #2068

Is there any way to run a pool via Win 7 ?

Sure you can. If you have enough memory, get VMWare player or Virtualbox and install linux as a guest VM. Then install the pool software in guest.


I did this before I stopped using Windows and switched to solely using Linux for anything related to crypto
Daveeoff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 613
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 19, 2015, 04:25:51 AM
 #2069

Is there a way to mine this coin with gpu's any more or are we stuck mining with just cpu's .It's not worth mining anymore if i'm suck just using my cpu  I'v mined:9,130.310914581312 so far with my gpu's 4 7990's but im only geting around 3 a day mining with my cpu it's a amd fx 8120
smooth
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1167



View Profile
September 19, 2015, 04:27:36 AM
 #2070

Is there a way to mine this coin with gpu's any more or are we stuck mining with just cpu's

Yes with nvidia (open source tsiv miner is updated). Apparently no with AMD since I don't think claymore has not updated his miner. If you want him to do that you should go over to his thread and ask him. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=638915.0
Daveeoff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 613
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 19, 2015, 04:35:40 AM
Last edit: September 19, 2015, 04:47:07 AM by Daveeoff
 #2071

Thanks for the info. Sounds like it might be time to buy some nvidia cards .Any one have hashrate numbers for  nvidia
GingerAle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1008


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2015, 12:48:45 PM
 #2072

Thanks for the info. Sounds like it might be time to buy some nvidia cards .Any one have hashrate numbers for  nvidia

Its roughly double what Monero gets... so a 750 ti (standard) gets 250 h/s, Aeon gets ~520. You gotta tweak the settings a bit. I did some tweaking and they're on the #irc logs....

< Track your bitcoins! > < Track them again! > <<< [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1qomqt/what_a_landmark_legal_case_from_mid1700s_scotland/] What is fungibility? >>> 46P88uZ4edEgsk7iKQUGu2FUDYcdHm2HtLFiGLp1inG4e4f9PTb4mbHWYWFZGYUeQidJ8hFym2WUmWc p34X8HHmFS2LXJkf <<< Free subdomains at moneroworld.com!! >>> <<< If you don't want to run your own node, point your wallet to node.moneroworld.com, and get connected to a random node! @@@@ FUCK ALL THE PROFITEERS! PROOF OF WORK OR ITS A SCAM !!! @@@@
bitl0ck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 19, 2015, 07:13:15 PM
 #2073

WTS 3x paysafecard 10eur for aeon, thanks.
bitcoinwonders010
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 20, 2015, 09:29:23 PM
 #2074

talk of aeon being listed on poloniex
smooth
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1167



View Profile
September 20, 2015, 09:33:06 PM
 #2075

I updated the OP with a reformat from myagui. Thanks for the help!

To me it looks a lot better, but feedback is welcome. Also I didn't double check the content of the edits so if there are any errors, please let me know and I'll fix them.
Arux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 500
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 21, 2015, 07:41:04 AM
 #2076

I updated the OP with a reformat from myagui. Thanks for the help!

To me it looks a lot better, but feedback is welcome. Also I didn't double check the content of the edits so if there are any errors, please let me know and I'll fix them.


Thanks myagui, clean job, OP nice to read.

h0g0f0g0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 02:24:15 PM
 #2077

Have you noticed that one miner on minergate is owning the network? His hashrate seems to be 250kH/s while total network hash is 396kH/s. Not very secure situation indeed.

Is this some GPU mining farm or "fixed" miner or is someone exploiting the code? I'd really like to see computing power distributed over multiple pools/miners. How can one miner deliver such massive amount of computing power? With current price it's hardly paying off.
smooth
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1167



View Profile
September 21, 2015, 04:41:28 PM
 #2078

Have you noticed that one miner on minergate is owning the network? His hashrate seems to be 250kH/s while total network hash is 396kH/s. Not very secure situation indeed.

Is this some GPU mining farm or "fixed" miner or is someone exploiting the code? I'd really like to see computing power distributed over multiple pools/miners. How can one miner deliver such massive amount of computing power? With current price it's hardly paying off.

It's not that massive. It could be a GPU farm or a few hundred computers, or smaller number (probably <50) of servers (sysadmin, small botnet, etc.). I get right around 1000 h/s on one old i7.

As the network grows, relatively small (on a global scale) resources like this will become less individually significant. Beyond that and what moneromooo did to cap his pool's hashrate at a responsible level I don't see that a whole lot more can be done. The upcoming GUI will have built in mining but how many users of this coin are there, if they even all mined? We have to continue to grow to make a real difference.

I doubt there is an exploit since the modifications to the hashing code from regular cryptonight are quite small and none of the other cryptnight coins (including the more valuable ones; Monero is 100x more mined value) show evidence of such an exploit. Total mining on AEON is only about 50 USD/day! Hard to imagine that's the place you want to use your fancy new cryptonight exploit, but I guess you never know.
exciter0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 06:13:04 PM
 #2079

It could be a sign that claymore has released his miner privately Wink
But seriously, CN-light (or lite?) doesn't offer too much of an advantage to GPU over CPU. As you've stated, it's roughly 50 or so of the high end servers... and more likely 100-200 AWS instances. Not massive at the network level but definitely massive for any one miner.  At the current value, it makes no sense for an investor to mine at this scale than to buy from an exchange.




Have you noticed that one miner on minergate is owning the network? His hashrate seems to be 250kH/s while total network hash is 396kH/s. Not very secure situation indeed.

Is this some GPU mining farm or "fixed" miner or is someone exploiting the code? I'd really like to see computing power distributed over multiple pools/miners. How can one miner deliver such massive amount of computing power? With current price it's hardly paying off.

It's not that massive. It could be a GPU farm or a few hundred computers, or smaller number (probably <50) of servers (sysadmin, small botnet, etc.). I get right around 1000 h/s on one old i7.

As the network grows, relatively small (on a global scale) resources like this will become less individually significant. Beyond that and what moneromooo did to cap his pool's hashrate at a responsible level I don't see that a whole lot more can be done. The upcoming GUI will have built in mining but how many users of this coin are there, if they even all mined? We have to continue to grow to make a real difference.

I doubt there is an exploit since the modifications to the hashing code from regular cryptonight are quite small and none of the other cryptnight coins (including the more valuable ones; Monero is 100x more mined value) show evidence of such an exploit. Total mining on AEON is only about 50 USD/day! Hard to imagine that's the place you want to use your fancy new cryptonight exploit, but I guess you never know.


▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄ G O L D M I N T ▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▬▬▬ Blockchain based platform which operates Gold-backed Cryptoassets ▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬ BLOGTelegramSlackANN ThreadTwitterReddit ▬▬▬▬▬▬
BoscoMurray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 08:08:55 PM
 #2080

At the current value, it makes no sense for an investor to mine at this scale than to buy from an exchange.

I'm not so sure. To buy the number of coins they are mining would push the prices up at the exchange quite a lot (maybe - haven't done the sums), and in turn the hashrate would go up, and then price up more, etc. Maybe it makes sense to take an apparent hit by mining with a low difficulty/price....
Pages: « 1 ... 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 [104] 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 ... 314 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!