Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2019, 10:03:08 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 [124] 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 ... 291 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] AEON [2018-11-30: update to 0.12.7.0+ ASAP; 0.12.8.0 on Windows]  (Read 591852 times)
erok
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Avatars are overrated.


View Profile
December 01, 2015, 04:31:21 PM
 #2461

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eon

So an eon is a period of time. Does the "a or an" vowel rule apply to proper nouns?

Somehow I think that a-eon or a_eon could be a pretty cool crypto name and reference some neat science stuff with a minimal branding overhaul ...but all of this is irrelevant. Code is what matters.

In conclusion, banana and Volkswagens.

"the destruction of privacy widens the existing power imbalance between the ruling factions and everyone else" -- Julian Assange
1550872988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550872988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550872988
Reply with quote  #2

1550872988
Report to moderator
1550872988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550872988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550872988
Reply with quote  #2

1550872988
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
adhitthana
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 02, 2015, 07:58:46 AM
 #2462

Didn't the original Developer use AEON as an acronym ?
I think the "E" stood for "electronic"but I can't recall what the others stood for
americanpegasus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 02, 2015, 11:54:25 AM
 #2463

Didn't the original Developer use AEON as an acronym ?
I think the "E" stood for "electronic"but I can't recall what the others stood for

Anonymous Electronic O?Huh Note

Account is back under control of the real AmericanPegasus.
onemorexmr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 02, 2015, 11:59:54 AM
 #2464

Didn't the original Developer use AEON as an acronym ?
I think the "E" stood for "electronic"but I can't recall what the others stood for

Anonymous Electronic O?Huh Note

Omni?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Omni

Omni is a Latin prefix meaning "all" or "every". Omni may also refer to:

XMR || Monero || monerodice.net || xmr.to || mymonero.com || openalias.org || you think bitcoin is fungible? watch this
bangomatic
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000

ARK Founding Team


View Profile
December 02, 2015, 12:52:45 PM
 #2465

the acronym is posted on the OP, right under the logo.
onemorexmr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 02, 2015, 01:00:26 PM
 #2466

the acronym is posted on the OP, right under the logo.

LOL just noticed it ;-)
thank you for the heads up

XMR || Monero || monerodice.net || xmr.to || mymonero.com || openalias.org || you think bitcoin is fungible? watch this
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1077



View Profile
December 02, 2015, 06:27:54 PM
 #2467

Didn't the original Developer use AEON as an acronym ?
I think the "E" stood for "electronic"but I can't recall what the others stood for

The acronym always seemed a bit contrived to me, more likely a backronym, but I don't really know.

adhitthana
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 03, 2015, 07:37:37 PM
 #2468



Although my interests are primarily in the area of blockchain technology and experimental improvements to the cryptonote protocol, I invite others to join the project and work on other items such as a GUI wallet (though we can likely adapt existing GUI wallets from other cyptonote coins), mobile wallets, marketing, etc.

I have created a new donation address for the project. The amount of donations received will have some influence on the pace of work, largely because it allows me to gauge the interest of the community in a credible way, and I'm less interested in working on something that no one cares about.

How is this all going? I did make a donation previously and am happy to donate more if appropriate. Where are we at?

Thanks Smiley
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1077



View Profile
December 03, 2015, 07:43:53 PM
 #2469



Although my interests are primarily in the area of blockchain technology and experimental improvements to the cryptonote protocol, I invite others to join the project and work on other items such as a GUI wallet (though we can likely adapt existing GUI wallets from other cyptonote coins), mobile wallets, marketing, etc.

I have created a new donation address for the project. The amount of donations received will have some influence on the pace of work, largely because it allows me to gauge the interest of the community in a credible way, and I'm less interested in working on something that no one cares about.

How is this all going? I did make a donation previously and am happy to donate more if appropriate. Where are we at?

Thanks Smiley

I've posted updates on the donation balance regularly, including noting specific donations when I noticed them. If I missed yours, I apologize for that. Of course, I can't tell where the donations are coming from, only the timing and amount. In addition we get periodic mined blocks both from the seed node servers which are solo mining and from people using the --donate option to solo mine for the project (which also helps decentralize the network -- which by the way is critically important at the moment).

Current donation balance:

balance: 458368.890250628707, unlocked balance: 458368.890250628707

adhitthana
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 06:40:52 AM
 #2470

All good Smooth. I had a lot of Aeon trapped on Poloniex and you were very helpful assisting me transfer them. And 100% trustworthy, so I donated a small amount. Keep up the good work
saddambitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1612
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 01:17:03 PM
Last edit: December 04, 2015, 04:46:05 PM by saddambitcoin
 #2471

Trying to sync the 0.9.6 aeond for the first time, the daemon keeps getting killed for some reason...any ideas?

Then I start it up again and I have to start syncing the blockchain from 0.

I'm also running bitmonerod on this machine, so maybe its too much for it to handle at the same time?

Code:
2015-Dec-03 23:40:32.289786 [P2P2]CHECKPOINT PASSED FOR HEIGHT 540000 <94e19cf9d5a16ae90f67c321f8376b87da21d6d6c2cb0957b9ab558dca66c1dc>
Killed

edit: After starting over, the daemon gets killed at the same point, just after the checkpoint for 540000.

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1077



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 06:18:38 PM
 #2472

Trying to sync the 0.9.6 aeond for the first time, the daemon keeps getting killed for some reason...any ideas?

Then I start it up again and I have to start syncing the blockchain from 0.

I'm also running bitmonerod on this machine, so maybe its too much for it to handle at the same time?

Code:
2015-Dec-03 23:40:32.289786 [P2P2]CHECKPOINT PASSED FOR HEIGHT 540000 <94e19cf9d5a16ae90f67c321f8376b87da21d6d6c2cb0957b9ab558dca66c1dc>
Killed

edit: After starting over, the daemon gets killed at the same point, just after the checkpoint for 540000.

That seems like out of memory (Linux "OOM killer"). You can try the pruning branch which uses somewhat less. You can also try adding a bit of swap on your system. If the shortfall isn't too large, swap will help without performance being too terrible. Installing the dphys-swapfile package on Ubuntu will manage swap automatically for you, not sure if there is a non-manual swap solution on other distros.

saddambitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1612
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 11:14:10 PM
 #2473

Thanks smooth.

I had 4G of swap already, but I'm trying again now with 6G! Let's go!

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1077



View Profile
December 05, 2015, 12:11:14 AM
 #2474

Thanks smooth.

I had 4G of swap already, but I'm trying again now with 6G! Let's go!

Did you try the pruning branch? If you are that close, the savings from pruning should be more than enough make it work.
saddambitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1612
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 05, 2015, 01:16:26 AM
 #2475

hashrate: 0.1579
hashrate: 0.3158

is that normal?

mining monero on the same machine i'd be getting like 30-40 H/s

Did you try the pruning branch? If you are that close, the savings from pruning should be more than enough make it work.

Is it on your github? I didn't see any links to it on the front page, so I just went with the main source.

nioc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1007

out of the blue and into the black


View Profile
December 05, 2015, 01:28:26 AM
 #2476

hashrate: 0.1579
hashrate: 0.3158

is that normal?

mining monero on the same machine i'd be getting like 30-40 H/s

Did you try the pruning branch? If you are that close, the savings from pruning should be more than enough make it work.

Is it on your github? I didn't see any links to it on the front page, so I just went with the main source.

My HR for Monero is 35 H/s and for Aeon it's 86 H/s for a modern Pentium dual core non AES-NI

(running both cores)

If you don't know where you're going any road will get you there
saddambitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1612
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 05, 2015, 02:06:22 AM
 #2477

Nevermind, my hashrate just exploded! Maybe I wasn't fully synced earlier.

hashrate: 77.1579


smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1077



View Profile
December 05, 2015, 03:25:55 AM
 #2478

Nevermind, my hashrate just exploded! Maybe I wasn't fully synced earlier.

hashrate: 77.1579

Make sure you are fully utilizing your cache. This may require more threads than Monero, depending on your core count and cache size, and whether hyperthreads are supported.

Don't expect great efficiency without AES-NI though. Still, better than nothing.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1077



View Profile
December 05, 2015, 03:36:59 AM
Last edit: December 05, 2015, 06:27:47 AM by smooth
 #2479

Did you try the pruning branch? If you are that close, the savings from pruning should be more than enough make it work.

Is it on your github? I didn't see any links to it on the front page, so I just went with the main source.

Sorry, finding it is slightly obscure since it is officially just a test release. It has gotten quite a bit of testing though, perhaps enough to promote it to a link on the first page. You can skip step 1 if you just want to sync from scratch. The file copy is only needed to convert an existing blockchain file.

Pruning (aka Light Full Node) test release

This release optionally prunes the blockchain by dropping no-longer-needed information once it is processed and verified by your node. This reduces both memory and storage requirements, and perhaps more importantly reduces the rate at which both increase over time. With pruning enabled, the daemon continues to function as a full node on the network in nearly every way. I will be posting a FAQ to answer some other questions about the details of the pruning functionality.

Please test, especially if you have a smaller memory configuration. Very small memory configurations (<2 GB? -- I'm not sure) won't work with this, but if you have something that has been barely able to run the daemon previously, this should improve your performance quite a bit. Certainly some smaller-memory systems (at a minimum 3-4 GB of RAM, if not smaller) should be able to successfully run a node now. I'm not sure if any 32-bit operating systems can handle it, although it is possible.

Since converting an existing blockchain requires enough RAM to at least load it first, resyncing from scratch with the --pruning option may be a better option for smaller-memory systems until pruned bootstraps become available.

Instructions:

1. Copy your blockchain.bin file to blockchain-pruned.bin in the same location. The daemon uses different files to store the pruned and unpruned versions of the blockchain. Once testing is complete if you want to delete the unpruned blockchain to free up disk space that is fine, but I don't recommend it right away EDIT: there have been some issues with compatibility of the .bin files so I recommend backing up all of those files before using a test release.

2.
Quote
git clone https://github.com/iamsmooth/aeon light-node
cd light-node
git checkout light-node
make etc.

3. Start node with the --pruning option. You should get a message at startup about the blockchain being pruned (this is done using the blockchain-pruned.bin file; your original blockchain.bin file is unchanged).

4. Exit node to save the pruned blockchain and reset RAM usage.

5. Start node again with the --pruning option.

6. If any problems occur you can switch back to unpruned (start daemon without --pruning)

Report any issues (or even if no issues)

Limitations: a pruned node can not be used to rescan or restore a wallet that is older than the pruning period (10 000 blocks, or about 28 days). Also, if a pruned node is disconnected from the network for more than the duration of this pruning period, it will potentially not be able to recover on its own, and will need to be resynced from scratch or with a bootstrap. The second restriction is fixable and can be addressed later. Otherwise it should be functionality complete.

Neither this test release nor the pruning feature is recommended for important nodes such as pools, exchanges, etc. Please continue to use the standard version at this time for those purposes.

Thanks for testing!
LucyLovesCrypto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 411
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 06, 2015, 06:42:35 AM
 #2480

I read somewhere that Aeon plans to use the Monero db code once it is finalized and released. Are there any short term development goals for Aeon right now? Or are we essentially waiting on the Monero db to port to Aeon before more development continues?

I have used both 9.6 and the pruning branch and am happy with the results. Keep up the great work!

Pages: « 1 ... 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 [124] 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 ... 291 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!