Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 01:42:57 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 [74] 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 ... 1315 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000  (Read 2170602 times)
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 08:53:28 AM
 #1461

to the DEV ... i musst ask again...

i have this: (overlapping is only bad for diskspace?)
run_generate.bat <address> 0 500000 4000 4
run_generate.bat <address> 500000 500000 4000 4
run_generate.bat <address> 1000000 500000 2000 4

or should i use this?
run_generate.bat <address> 0 500000 4000 4                (128GB)
run_generate.bat <address> 500001 500000 4000 4        (128GB)
run_generate.bat <address> 1000001 500000 2000 4      (128GB)

and second.
if i have i big gap like this.. do i need ploting the missing file for correct mining or can i move to the next plot?
i mean do i ned a coherent chain ??
1. run_generate.bat <address> 0 500000 4000 4                (128GB)
2. (missing file of 128GB)
3. run_generate.bat <address> 1000001 500000 2000 4      (128GB)
4. (next plot: 1500001 500000 2000 4)
Either is fine. Technically, 500000 plots starting from 0 is 0 - 499999, so the second has a gap of 1 in between the first 2, but that doesn't matter.

Overlapping is bad since it calculates to the same result in multiple places, wasting disk space and doing unnecessary work.
There is no problem with having gaps.
This:
run_generate.bat <address> 0 500000 4000 4
run_generate.bat <address> 500000 500000 4000 4
run_generate.bat <address> 1000000 500000 2000 4
is just as good as this:
run_generate.bat <address> 0 500000 4000 4
run_generate.bat <address> 5000000000 500000 4000 4
run_generate.bat <address> 9898000000 500000 2000 4

So, staggering is best implemented on the same drive. But on multiple drives, you can start from each one at 0 if you wanted to with one large plot for each. If I'm understanding this correctly. I notice that it seems that most people are more successful making smaller multiple plots on hdd's than one larger one.

So, the formula for calculating nonce size is this: x=Nonce size

                                                                  f(x)=hdd size in GB

                                                                  (256x)/10^6=f(x)

                                                                   x=[f(x)*10^6]/256


its not 10^6 but 1024^2

That's an approximate, but so this would be the end result then: x=[f(x)*1024^2]/256

you should write it f(x) = x*1024^2/256 (for correct mathematical expression), where x is disk size in GB and f(x) is nonce count

anyway, more correct and simple equation form is f(x) = x*4096 , where x in GB of disk size

But yeah I should have reverse that. Not wrong either way depending what is selected as the range or domain, that's the beauty of Algebra. So, to even clean it up more, it's simple this: f(x)=4096x . Thanks

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
1714786977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714786977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714786977
Reply with quote  #2

1714786977
Report to moderator
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 505


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:02:31 AM
 #1462

Wait, how is this work globaly verifiable by peers, how do you know my miner isn't modded to just relay random data until something stivks and I get a block ?
I also want to know the answer of this question. I dont have the time to debug the program now, but i think that admin will ensure us that everything is ok.

And also why i have to send my passphrase to the central server/pool. It,s not secure... That way every pool admin will have the accounts of every user, which is mining...I don't want to speak about hackers... Why dont you send the Burst adress

this is from MinerCom.java

Code:
		else if(message instanceof MinerSupr.msgSubmitResult) {
System.out.println("Submitting share");
try {
ContentResponse response = client.POST(addr + "/burst")
.param("requestType", "submitNonce")
[b].param("secretPhrase", ((MinerSupr.msgSubmitResult)message).passPhrase)[/b]
.param("nonce", Convert.toUnsignedLong(((MinerSupr.msgSubmitResult)message).nonce))
.timeout(5, TimeUnit.SECONDS)
.send();
String submitResult = response.getContentAsString();
System.out.println(submitResult);
}
catch(Exception e) {
System.out.println("Error: Failed to submit nonce");
}
}


i think its push result to your wallet, so yes it need ur passpharase, and ur wallet is to be expected to run locally, we dont have pool implementation yet
dulinxu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:04:32 AM
 #1463

here my offer is 1BTC=5M.

TERRA - Bring profits to support community, starting from cross-border payment ❘|❘ ICO ❘|❘ DISCUSSION
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 505


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:06:29 AM
 #1464

Wait, how is this work globaly verifiable by peers, how do you know my miner isn't modded to just relay random data until something stivks and I get a block ?

my simplified answer is, you broadcast ur account number and ur selected nonce to network, these two numbers can be verified into deadline value, so yes you can just broadcast any data (nonce and account number), but i doubt you want to broadcast random account number since you wont receive ur reward, and for nonce yes it is just random value, we select it which one has lowest deadline value

edit : i think nonce is not so random, because they are relevant scoop for each block (depend on previous block hash), i am not sure, we need to read the implementation, its just based on OP post
jzhoulon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:10:10 AM
 #1465

{
    "lastBlock": "16322078320396019945",
    "lastBlockchainFeederHeight": 1222,
    "time": 299736,
    "lastBlockchainFeeder": "54.167.111.103:8123",
    "numberOfBlocks": 1223,
    "isScanning": false,
    "cumulativeDifficulty": "70385126787201",
    "version": "1.0.0"
}

Another ~50% increase within ~16h
Code:
{
    "lastBlock": "1520116135762103722",
    "lastBlockchainFeederHeight": 1457,
    "time": 367546,
    "lastBlockchainFeeder": "109.195.211.62",
    "numberOfBlocks": 1458,
    "isScanning": false,
    "cumulativeDifficulty": "105192234724606",
    "version": "1.0.0"
}

when the pools come out, its difficulty will increase more faster Smiley ,now only just 5 days since the coin came out,when the difficulty increase until you can only less than 1 block/TB/Month, then the coins value will be enhanced Grin

i think its already expensive, since we dont have fractional coin here
so coin cap of 2,158,812,800 coins is similar to 21 coin cap of bitcoin style shitcoin ( because of 8 digits fractional )
so i expect the price will be 100 sat btc to 1 burst ( 1million burst = 1 btc )

xcn, come out for three weeks,  has 1.8billion coin, its total number is similar to burst, two weeks ago ,it was mined with cpu, its highest price is 0.00012btc, now , with gpu miners come out, its diffculty falls very fast, and the value falled very fast, and now steady at 0.00002btc for a long time, which means ,even at the lowest price, it still can reach 2000 sat btc,,total number can not decide a coin's value, it was determined by difficulty and popularity

▀▀▀▀▀▀     SWIPE  │ Monetizing mobile engagement data, on the blockchain    ▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄▄▄▄         Whitepaper       Telegram       Twitter       Medium       Reddit          ▄▄▄▄
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 505


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:14:45 AM
 #1466

{
    "lastBlock": "16322078320396019945",
    "lastBlockchainFeederHeight": 1222,
    "time": 299736,
    "lastBlockchainFeeder": "54.167.111.103:8123",
    "numberOfBlocks": 1223,
    "isScanning": false,
    "cumulativeDifficulty": "70385126787201",
    "version": "1.0.0"
}

Another ~50% increase within ~16h
Code:
{
    "lastBlock": "1520116135762103722",
    "lastBlockchainFeederHeight": 1457,
    "time": 367546,
    "lastBlockchainFeeder": "109.195.211.62",
    "numberOfBlocks": 1458,
    "isScanning": false,
    "cumulativeDifficulty": "105192234724606",
    "version": "1.0.0"
}

when the pools come out, its difficulty will increase more faster Smiley ,now only just 5 days since the coin came out,when the difficulty increase until you can only less than 1 block/TB/Month, then the coins value will be enhanced Grin

i think its already expensive, since we dont have fractional coin here
so coin cap of 2,158,812,800 coins is similar to 21 coin cap of bitcoin style shitcoin ( because of 8 digits fractional )
so i expect the price will be 100 sat btc to 1 burst ( 1million burst = 1 btc )

xcn, come out for three weeks,  has 1.8billion coin, its total number is similar to burst, two weeks ago ,it was mined with cpu, its highest price is 0.00012btc, now , with gpu miners come out, its diffculty falls very fast, and the value falled very fast, and now steady at 0.00002btc for a long time, which means ,even at the lowest price, it still can reach 2000 sat btc,,total number can not decide a coin's value, it was determined by difficulty and popularity

and difficulty is determined by energy or value spent to mine those coins, in PoW GPU we waste electricity, so miner wouldn't want their mined coin priced below electricity cost, on PoC its should depend on how much the price of storage wasted, on PoS its stupid idea, they dont have natural intrinsic value except by popularity, utility functions and developer efforts
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 505


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:26:14 AM
 #1467

what is this address
Code:
BURST-2222-2222-2222-22222

lot of transactions sent to that address, is it burn address ?
WolfOf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:28:23 AM
 #1468

Wait, how is this work globaly verifiable by peers, how do you know my miner isn't modded to just relay random data until something stivks and I get a block ?

my simplified answer is, you broadcast ur account number and ur selected nonce to network, these two numbers can be verified into deadline value, so yes you can just broadcast any data (nonce and account number), but i doubt you want to broadcast random account number since you wont receive ur reward, and for nonce yes it is just random value, we select it which one has lowest deadline value

edit : i think nonce is not so random, because they are relevant scoop for each block (depend on previous block hash), i am not sure, we need to read the implementation, its just based on OP post

it seems that the dev hashing every 256KB and compare it with the announced hash =>(,"generationSignature":"b51990f5dce09d649397d19380483003bf2906d3
cbc1678ad5220e1a0e4ea48a"})

after that send the best value. If you have more 256KB blocks, you will have better chanse to find best value.

The algorithm is not so simple as i describe it.

The question is - Is it possible to run it into mining rig with 10 GPUs and to generate the nounce lifetime?
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 09:32:20 AM
 #1469

I created a thread specially for mining Burst/PoC coins. It has a spreadsheet to share data to the community. Here's the link: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=740158.new#new

Hope the dev can put this on the OP.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 505


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:34:01 AM
 #1470

Wait, how is this work globaly verifiable by peers, how do you know my miner isn't modded to just relay random data until something stivks and I get a block ?

my simplified answer is, you broadcast ur account number and ur selected nonce to network, these two numbers can be verified into deadline value, so yes you can just broadcast any data (nonce and account number), but i doubt you want to broadcast random account number since you wont receive ur reward, and for nonce yes it is just random value, we select it which one has lowest deadline value

edit : i think nonce is not so random, because they are relevant scoop for each block (depend on previous block hash), i am not sure, we need to read the implementation, its just based on OP post

it seems that the dev hashing every 256KB and compare it with the announced hash =>(,"generationSignature":"b51990f5dce09d649397d19380483003bf2906d3
cbc1678ad5220e1a0e4ea48a"})

after that send the best value. If you have more 256KB blocks, you will have better chanse to find best value.

The algorithm is not so simple as i describe it.

The question is - Is it possible to run it into mining rig with 10 GPUs and to generate the nounce lifetime?

lifetime ? do you mean "on the fly" without pre-generated data?
jzhoulon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:34:15 AM
Last edit: August 15, 2014, 10:20:56 AM by jzhoulon
 #1471

{
    "lastBlock": "16322078320396019945",
    "lastBlockchainFeederHeight": 1222,
    "time": 299736,
    "lastBlockchainFeeder": "54.167.111.103:8123",
    "numberOfBlocks": 1223,
    "isScanning": false,
    "cumulativeDifficulty": "70385126787201",
    "version": "1.0.0"
}

Another ~50% increase within ~16h
Code:
{
    "lastBlock": "1520116135762103722",
    "lastBlockchainFeederHeight": 1457,
    "time": 367546,
    "lastBlockchainFeeder": "109.195.211.62",
    "numberOfBlocks": 1458,
    "isScanning": false,
    "cumulativeDifficulty": "105192234724606",
    "version": "1.0.0"
}

when the pools come out, its difficulty will increase more faster Smiley ,now only just 5 days since the coin came out,when the difficulty increase until you can only less than 1 block/TB/Month, then the coins value will be enhanced Grin

i think its already expensive, since we dont have fractional coin here
so coin cap of 2,158,812,800 coins is similar to 21 coin cap of bitcoin style shitcoin ( because of 8 digits fractional )
so i expect the price will be 100 sat btc to 1 burst ( 1million burst = 1 btc )

xcn, come out for three weeks,  has 1.8billion coin, its total number is similar to burst, two weeks ago ,it was mined with cpu, its highest price is 0.00012btc, now , with gpu miners come out, its diffculty falls very fast, and the value falled very fast, and now steady at 0.00002btc for a long time, which means ,even at the lowest price, it still can reach 2000 sat btc,,total number can not decide a coin's value, it was determined by difficulty and popularity

and difficulty is determined by energy or value spent to mine those coins, in PoW GPU we waste electricity, so miner wouldn't want their mined coin priced below electricity cost, on PoC its should depend on how much the price of storage wasted, on PoS its stupid idea, they dont have natural intrinsic value except by popularity, utility functions and developer efforts

you think poc miner won't waste electricity because now the difficulty is not high ,,only five days out with no logo and no pool
!  how big diffculty can be,,when pools come out, those who mine the cpu and gpu based on join this, if you can only mine with 1000 burst /TB/week , would you sell at 100sat? poc needs electricty too, and what's important, it will damage your disk! every disk has the top read and write times, if you can only mine with 1000 a week ,that is ,  4000 a month, 4000 * 100 sat = 0.0004btc, then ,would you willing to sacrifice your disk for just 0.0004btc a month?

if you have  good cpus, you will choose cpu based coin only, like XMR,etc. and you will not use your cpu to mine the X11 ,X13,X15...if you have good gpus, you will choose gpu based only, like darkcoin, X11based, X13 based,,..look at the forum, so many these coins, and you will not choose your gpus to mine the scrypt or sha256 based coin to ,because these have asic machines,, now, what's the point is they all have hdd, little or large, when the burst have a wonderful logo, have several steady pools, until lunch several exchange platforms, every one will kown there is a coin which can be mined with hdd,,  burst is the only  coin which can mined with hdd, at least now,, if you are miners in them,would choose to mined the burst when you still can mine the gpu or cpu based coin? at that time, how can you have confidence of you can still mine this coin several blocks a day?

▀▀▀▀▀▀     SWIPE  │ Monetizing mobile engagement data, on the blockchain    ▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄▄▄▄         Whitepaper       Telegram       Twitter       Medium       Reddit          ▄▄▄▄
WolfOf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:43:35 AM
 #1472

Quote
lifetime ? do you mean "on the fly" without pre-generated data?
exactly
Sagre
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 10:19:45 AM
 #1473

What is the matter with all these transactions to BURST-2222-2222-2222-22222?
Sy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1003


Bounty Detective


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 10:19:56 AM
 #1474

What is the matter with all these transactions to BURST-2222-2222-2222-22222?

Alias registration.

BOUNTY DETECTIVE


















Powered by,
omgbossis21
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 10:27:02 AM
 #1475

Found a block about 26 hours since last found block on 800gb. 
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 505


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 10:42:11 AM
 #1476

Quote
lifetime ? do you mean "on the fly" without pre-generated data?
exactly

it is possible, but considering the size of each nonce 256KB compared to GPU style about 4-16Bytes, the possible combination is too huge.

assuming speed of generating hash on GPU is 1 MH/s, this means we can try 0.24 Giga-Nonce per block time

compare it if we have 4 TB disk, it store 1 Giga-Nonce which we can try all of them per block time, resulting
in storing nonce on disk is faster 4x than hashing it "on the fly" on GPU, ofcourse my assumption of 1 MH/s is wild guess...

before we have exact value how much nonce can be generated on GPU per seconds, we can't come to conclusion which one is more efficient, hash on the fly or pre-generate it on disk
Sy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1003


Bounty Detective


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 11:38:47 AM
 #1477

Pre generated saves alot of power though so it really comes down to gpu speed Smiley

BOUNTY DETECTIVE


















Powered by,
ArnMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 11:45:28 AM
 #1478

So is it better to have one big plot on a hdd, or many plots?
luxe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 255


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 11:46:21 AM
 #1479

1201 - Thu Aug 14 2014 13:35:28 GMT+0200 - 67567251495709
1502 - Fri Aug 15 2014 13:35:04 GMT+0200 - 111403016327443

diff increased 65% in last 24h ... that means network hd capacity rises by the same factor ... correct?!


So is it better to have one big plot on a hdd, or many plots?
should make no difference ... but for every block, some data has to be read by miner from every plot file, so if you have a lot, thats slower than reading from one file ... but 1-10 or some more are no problem.

if you once need more space for 'real' data, its a good thing to have multiple plot files ... so you can simple delete one of them :-)




btw. selling some BURST: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=731923.msg8330476#msg8330476
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 11:51:38 AM
 #1480

If anyone is interested, the conclusion of my test to see if I could speed up plot generation by farming it out using cluster/cloud computing is:
Yes it can be done, but it is probably not worth it.  This is what I did using Amazon EC2...

First I created a single instance (2 core) to act as the server for the plot storage and also act as the wallet server / miner.
This instance had a 1TB Elastic Block Store volume attached to it (1TB is max EBS volume size on AWS). I made this volume available to the network using NFS

I then created a "plot generator" instance with much higher CPU capacity (C3.xlarge 8 core). I mounted the shared volume so it appeared like a local disk and started creating 10GB plots
I then created a few scripts so that upon startup the instance would auto-mount the NFS volume, figure out what the last used nonce range was, and start mining from the next 10GB plot
Finally, I created an image of this instance and spooled up 100 more instances like it (spot rates, nice and cheap).

To begin with it all looked great but I soon hit the bandwidth limit of the instance I was using as the server.  In essence the server didn't have enough network bandwidth to cope with all of the data being copied to it.  This restricted plot creation to a little over 100GB / hour.  Changing the instance type of the server instance to one with a "high" network performance got this up to around 400 GB/hour.  If I had have left it running I would have created all 1 TB of plots in 2.5 hours, at a cost of around $20.  This could have been repeated or even parallelized to create several 1TB volumes full of plots in a relatively short amount of time.

After all the fiddling about getting it working, I spent around $70 testing this stuff out, only to conclude it was too much hassle.  And as OP said earlier, the cost of EBS storage on AWS is too high to make this a viable long term mining option.  That said, had I have done all of this on day one, I would have scaled the process out and had 10TB+ up within the first few hours and dominated the mining.  Good to know I have the process licked for the next PoC coin Smiley

Unfortunately I STILL don't have any BURST as I don't have any spare capacity at home so haven't been able to mine at all Sad  So if anyone would like to donate some coins to offset the cost of testing all of this, my address is BURST-WADY-CBZE-HSJU-2NH5G

Many thanks!
Pages: « 1 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 [74] 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 ... 1315 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!