Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2018, 11:56:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 ... 1317 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000  (Read 2139723 times)
Sevith
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 13, 2014, 10:58:50 PM
 #1121

Selling 80k BURST for .8BTC PM ME

BTC: 1aAAS7uPiC36wVfV4m7Cq1VhajGMvkoPv
1534679774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534679774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534679774
Reply with quote  #2

1534679774
Report to moderator
1534679774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534679774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534679774
Reply with quote  #2

1534679774
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534679774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534679774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534679774
Reply with quote  #2

1534679774
Report to moderator
1534679774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534679774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534679774
Reply with quote  #2

1534679774
Report to moderator
omgbossis21
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 13, 2014, 11:00:47 PM
 #1122

we're all selling is anybody buying lol
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 768
Merit: 501



View Profile
August 13, 2014, 11:16:19 PM
 #1123

If I have a second PoCMiner on an external doing run_generate.sh, do I also need a second run_miner for it or in burst/run.sh?
Or will it talk to the API 8125 to aggregate them?

Datacenter Technician and Electrician
CryptoSurfer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 13, 2014, 11:20:33 PM
 #1124

If I have a second PoCMiner on an external doing run_generate.sh, do I also need a second run_miner for it or in burst/run.sh?
Or will it talk to the API 8125 to aggregate them?


I am ming with 3 hdd's. Burst Wallet is started only once (run.bat)
Miners are all started from each disk in the folder "pocminer" (run_mine.bat).
Each disk has it's one plot generated so each instance has it's own address.

Just use your passphrase (from the disk you would like to see the balance) to login to your wallet.
drumingspz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 13, 2014, 11:31:13 PM
 #1125

WTS up to 100K Burst.  PM me with your offer and qty.




░░░░░░░▄▄█████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░▄██████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄██████▄▄░░░░░░
░░▄██████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████▄░░░░
██████████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████████▄░░
▄███████████████████████▄░░░░░░░▄████████████████████
██████████████████████████▄░░░▄███████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
█████████████████████████▀░░░░░▀████████████████████▀
██████████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░▀█████████████████▀░░
░░███████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████▀░░░░
░░░▀███████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀██████▀▀░░░░░░
░░░░░░▀█████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
mira  ▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
Cryptocurrencies have never been so easy
▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter White Paper Google+
▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
 
[/center]
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2014, 11:40:41 PM
 #1126

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
drumingspz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 13, 2014, 11:45:46 PM
 #1127

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

I'm running RAID5 across 4 discs with no problems.




░░░░░░░▄▄█████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░▄██████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄██████▄▄░░░░░░
░░▄██████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████▄░░░░
██████████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████████▄░░
▄███████████████████████▄░░░░░░░▄████████████████████
██████████████████████████▄░░░▄███████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
█████████████████████████▀░░░░░▀████████████████████▀
██████████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░▀█████████████████▀░░
░░███████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████▀░░░░
░░░▀███████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀██████▀▀░░░░░░
░░░░░░▀█████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
mira  ▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
Cryptocurrencies have never been so easy
▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter White Paper Google+
▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
 
[/center]
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2014, 11:50:20 PM
 #1128

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

I'm running RAID5 across 4 discs with no problems.

Cool. What's the storage size of your array? What's your pc build setup? How long did it take for your plot(s) to be created? How many blocks have you found?

I think it's easier to setup a RAID or JBOD to run a single wallet for a huge plot.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
drumingspz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 13, 2014, 11:59:47 PM
 #1129

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

I'm running RAID5 across 4 discs with no problems.

Cool. What's the storage size of your array? What's your pc build setup? How long did it take for your plot(s) to be created? How many blocks have you found?

I think it's easier to setup a RAID or JBOD to run a single wallet for a huge plot.

System 1:
4 x 500 GB sata drives in RAID5 config.  ~200GB for OS (C:\) partition with remainder as 2nd data partition.  Created 3 plots totaling 668 GB.  Found 6 blocks so far.

System 2 is pretty similar setup, just newer CPU/MOBO/RAM by about 4 years.  2 plots totaling 683GB.  Found 7 blocks so far.

Both systems took about 48-60 hours to plot.





░░░░░░░▄▄█████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░▄██████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄██████▄▄░░░░░░
░░▄██████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████▄░░░░
██████████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████████▄░░
▄███████████████████████▄░░░░░░░▄████████████████████
██████████████████████████▄░░░▄███████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
█████████████████████████▀░░░░░▀████████████████████▀
██████████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░▀█████████████████▀░░
░░███████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████▀░░░░
░░░▀███████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀██████▀▀░░░░░░
░░░░░░▀█████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
mira  ▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
Cryptocurrencies have never been so easy
▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter White Paper Google+
▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
 
[/center]
LazerPanther
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 10

NeverForget CannabisCoin 10/20/2014 - The Massacre


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 12:03:41 AM
 #1130

Any update on pools yet?

▇ ▅ █ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ █ ▇ ▅ ▅ ▄ ▅ ▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▇
BTC BTC BTCP R I M E D I C E    Free 0.000005 BTC every minute!BTC BTC BTC
▇ ▅ █ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ █ ▇ ▅ ▅ ▄ ▅ ▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▇
BurstBurst
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 271
Merit: 100

TOWERBEE


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 12:07:03 AM
 #1131

Mined 60 Hours. Only 2 blocks found.

T O W E R B E E      |  PLATFORM FOR EVERYDAY BUSINESS       [ CRYPTOEXCHANGE TowerX ]
▬        ICO  >  on our exchange TowerX        ▬
FACEBOOK           MEDIUM           TWITTER           LINKEDIN           REDDIT           TELEGRAM
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 12:08:23 AM
 #1132

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

I'm running RAID5 across 4 discs with no problems.

Cool. What's the storage size of your array? What's your pc build setup? How long did it take for your plot(s) to be created? How many blocks have you found?

I think it's easier to setup a RAID or JBOD to run a single wallet for a huge plot.

System 1:
4 x 500 GB sata drives in RAID5 config.  ~200GB for OS (C:\) partition with remainder as 2nd data partition.  Created 3 plots totaling 668 GB.  Found 6 blocks so far.

System 2 is pretty similar setup, just newer CPU/MOBO/RAM by about 4 years.  2 plots totaling 683GB.  Found 7 blocks so far.

Both systems took about 48-60 hours to plot.



Right on. What made you decide to run 2 plots as oppose to one large one instead on each system? Are you running on one wallet/account for all of them? I might do a RAID5 instead of RAID0 for the parity and decent enough speed, just need to get another identical drive.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
burstcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 12:09:20 AM
 #1133

Any update on pools yet?
Behind schedule due to a couple bad choices at start, but I'm working on it right now.

BURST-QHCJ-9HB5-PTGC-5Q8J9
BurstBurst
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 271
Merit: 100

TOWERBEE


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 12:14:31 AM
 #1134

No hurry, take your time.

Any update on pools yet?
Behind schedule due to a couple bad choices at start, but I'm working on it right now.

T O W E R B E E      |  PLATFORM FOR EVERYDAY BUSINESS       [ CRYPTOEXCHANGE TowerX ]
▬        ICO  >  on our exchange TowerX        ▬
FACEBOOK           MEDIUM           TWITTER           LINKEDIN           REDDIT           TELEGRAM
drumingspz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 12:15:08 AM
 #1135

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

I'm running RAID5 across 4 discs with no problems.

Cool. What's the storage size of your array? What's your pc build setup? How long did it take for your plot(s) to be created? How many blocks have you found?

I think it's easier to setup a RAID or JBOD to run a single wallet for a huge plot.

System 1:
4 x 500 GB sata drives in RAID5 config.  ~200GB for OS (C:\) partition with remainder as 2nd data partition.  Created 3 plots totaling 668 GB.  Found 6 blocks so far.

System 2 is pretty similar setup, just newer CPU/MOBO/RAM by about 4 years.  2 plots totaling 683GB.  Found 7 blocks so far.

Both systems took about 48-60 hours to plot.



Right on. What made you decide to run 2 plots as oppose to one large one instead on each system? Are you running on one wallet/account for all of them? I might do a RAID5 instead of RAID0 for the parity and decent enough speed, just need to get another identical drive.

I was fumbling with both machines when the miner was released before the wallet launch, so I just picked numbers.  I went from 0 -> 800000 on the first machine and mistyped that on my second and only input 80000 (80K) so it finished plotting faster.  I created the 2nd plot on this machine to bring my total up to 800000 (800K).  After both machines finished, I calculated how much space I could use up on each machine and let them plot out their files in one final big chunk.  Now that I think about, if I had the time to babysit, I would plot in roughly 50 or 100 gig files.  That way if I needed to reclaim space for other uses, I wouldn't delete 1 file and have to re-plot it all.  I could simply delete 50 gig worth and have some more storage.  Mining would continue to hum along.




░░░░░░░▄▄█████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░▄██████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄██████▄▄░░░░░░
░░▄██████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████▄░░░░
██████████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████████▄░░
▄███████████████████████▄░░░░░░░▄████████████████████
██████████████████████████▄░░░▄███████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
█████████████████████████▀░░░░░▀████████████████████▀
██████████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░▀█████████████████▀░░
░░███████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████▀░░░░
░░░▀███████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀██████▀▀░░░░░░
░░░░░░▀█████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
mira  ▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
Cryptocurrencies have never been so easy
▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter White Paper Google+
▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
 
[/center]
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 12:20:53 AM
 #1136

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

I'm running RAID5 across 4 discs with no problems.

Cool. What's the storage size of your array? What's your pc build setup? How long did it take for your plot(s) to be created? How many blocks have you found?

I think it's easier to setup a RAID or JBOD to run a single wallet for a huge plot.

System 1:
4 x 500 GB sata drives in RAID5 config.  ~200GB for OS (C:\) partition with remainder as 2nd data partition.  Created 3 plots totaling 668 GB.  Found 6 blocks so far.

System 2 is pretty similar setup, just newer CPU/MOBO/RAM by about 4 years.  2 plots totaling 683GB.  Found 7 blocks so far.

Both systems took about 48-60 hours to plot.



Right on. What made you decide to run 2 plots as oppose to one large one instead on each system? Are you running on one wallet/account for all of them? I might do a RAID5 instead of RAID0 for the parity and decent enough speed, just need to get another identical drive.

I was fumbling with both machines when the miner was released before the wallet launch, so I just picked numbers.  I went from 0 -> 800000 on the first machine and mistyped that on my second and only input 80000 (80K) so it finished plotting faster.  I created the 2nd plot on this machine to bring my total up to 800000 (800K).  After both machines finished, I calculated how much space I could use up on each machine and let them plot out their files in one final big chunk.  Now that I think about, if I had the time to babysit, I would plot in roughly 50 or 100 gig files.  That way if I needed to reclaim space for other uses, I wouldn't delete 1 file and have to re-plot it all.  I could simply delete 50 gig worth and have some more storage.  Mining would continue to hum along.

Oh ok, understood. You did it because the RAID setup is you system drive. I'm deciding to use my ssd for the OS and use the 4 left over ports for a RAID array for the hdd's. I have to read up on my mobo if it will allow that on an Intel chipset, it's an old LGA1156 board I use for mining.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
drumingspz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 12:24:23 AM
 #1137

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

I'm running RAID5 across 4 discs with no problems.

Cool. What's the storage size of your array? What's your pc build setup? How long did it take for your plot(s) to be created? How many blocks have you found?

I think it's easier to setup a RAID or JBOD to run a single wallet for a huge plot.

System 1:
4 x 500 GB sata drives in RAID5 config.  ~200GB for OS (C:\) partition with remainder as 2nd data partition.  Created 3 plots totaling 668 GB.  Found 6 blocks so far.

System 2 is pretty similar setup, just newer CPU/MOBO/RAM by about 4 years.  2 plots totaling 683GB.  Found 7 blocks so far.

Both systems took about 48-60 hours to plot.



Right on. What made you decide to run 2 plots as oppose to one large one instead on each system? Are you running on one wallet/account for all of them? I might do a RAID5 instead of RAID0 for the parity and decent enough speed, just need to get another identical drive.

I was fumbling with both machines when the miner was released before the wallet launch, so I just picked numbers.  I went from 0 -> 800000 on the first machine and mistyped that on my second and only input 80000 (80K) so it finished plotting faster.  I created the 2nd plot on this machine to bring my total up to 800000 (800K).  After both machines finished, I calculated how much space I could use up on each machine and let them plot out their files in one final big chunk.  Now that I think about, if I had the time to babysit, I would plot in roughly 50 or 100 gig files.  That way if I needed to reclaim space for other uses, I wouldn't delete 1 file and have to re-plot it all.  I could simply delete 50 gig worth and have some more storage.  Mining would continue to hum along.

Oh ok, understood. You did it because the RAID setup is you system drive. I'm deciding to use my ssd for the OS and use the 4 left over ports for a RAID array for the hdd's. I have to read up on my mobo if it will allow that on an Intel chipset, it's an old LGA1156 board I use for mining.

Ya, both machines are my 'work' computers - not dedicated miners.  I just made sure that I could mine with my 'work' computers.  Everybody needs 2 HD7970 video cards in their office computers - right?  Grin




░░░░░░░▄▄█████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░▄██████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄██████▄▄░░░░░░
░░▄██████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████▄░░░░
██████████████████████▄░░░░░░░░░░▄████████████████▄░░
▄███████████████████████▄░░░░░░░▄████████████████████
██████████████████████████▄░░░▄███████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
█████████████████████████▀░░░░░▀████████████████████▀
██████████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░▀█████████████████▀░░
░░███████████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████▀░░░░
░░░▀███████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀██████▀▀░░░░░░
░░░░░░▀█████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
mira  ▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
Cryptocurrencies have never been so easy
▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ● ● ▬
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter White Paper Google+
▀▀
██
 
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
   
██
▄▄
 
[/center]
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 12:34:12 AM
 #1138

Anyone tried out a RAID0 and/or JBOD setup to create a super big plot? Thinking of doing both to test it out. Maybe JBOD would be safer because there is still a chance of recovery compared to RAID0.

I'm running RAID5 across 4 discs with no problems.

Cool. What's the storage size of your array? What's your pc build setup? How long did it take for your plot(s) to be created? How many blocks have you found?

I think it's easier to setup a RAID or JBOD to run a single wallet for a huge plot.

System 1:
4 x 500 GB sata drives in RAID5 config.  ~200GB for OS (C:\) partition with remainder as 2nd data partition.  Created 3 plots totaling 668 GB.  Found 6 blocks so far.

System 2 is pretty similar setup, just newer CPU/MOBO/RAM by about 4 years.  2 plots totaling 683GB.  Found 7 blocks so far.

Both systems took about 48-60 hours to plot.



Right on. What made you decide to run 2 plots as oppose to one large one instead on each system? Are you running on one wallet/account for all of them? I might do a RAID5 instead of RAID0 for the parity and decent enough speed, just need to get another identical drive.

I was fumbling with both machines when the miner was released before the wallet launch, so I just picked numbers.  I went from 0 -> 800000 on the first machine and mistyped that on my second and only input 80000 (80K) so it finished plotting faster.  I created the 2nd plot on this machine to bring my total up to 800000 (800K).  After both machines finished, I calculated how much space I could use up on each machine and let them plot out their files in one final big chunk.  Now that I think about, if I had the time to babysit, I would plot in roughly 50 or 100 gig files.  That way if I needed to reclaim space for other uses, I wouldn't delete 1 file and have to re-plot it all.  I could simply delete 50 gig worth and have some more storage.  Mining would continue to hum along.

Oh ok, understood. You did it because the RAID setup is you system drive. I'm deciding to use my ssd for the OS and use the 4 left over ports for a RAID array for the hdd's. I have to read up on my mobo if it will allow that on an Intel chipset, it's an old LGA1156 board I use for mining.

Ya, both machines are my 'work' computers - not dedicated miners.  I just made sure that I could mine with my 'work' computers.  Everybody needs 2 HD7970 video cards in their office computers - right?  Grin

Only if you work as a beta tester for a gaming outfit...LMFAO!!!

Or do a lot of video editing/content creation....

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
akula999
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 509
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 12:39:50 AM
 #1139

Guys, i'm not a techie. I need help. I'm getting the following error:

D:\pocminer_v1>C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx250m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka
/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate *Secret* 0 800000 500 7
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "*
84"
        at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
        at java.math.BigInteger.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at java.math.BigInteger.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at nxt.util.Convert.parseUnsignedLong(Convert.java:58)
        at pocminer.POCMiner.main(POCMiner.java:42)

D:\pocminer_v1>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

Any help would be greatly appreciated ( i purposely put "secret" as my number).

Bitcoin: 1FzZehkiwfeeUmfmBrym8VvXX7gUj3miHe
XMR: 4AqrzGPfEKeZrVXyPDNXUrNeKZZGNYiXMDoY49PvdffKNTRg6xp2Qz74SZ72gT5F9HH8Vaic99ndRg6 UBGcVijaNStQjwwf
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1717
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 12:41:26 AM
 #1140

Guys, i'm not a techie. I need help. I'm getting the following error:

D:\pocminer_v1>C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx250m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka
/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate *Secret* 0 800000 500 7
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "*
84"
        at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
        at java.math.BigInteger.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at java.math.BigInteger.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at nxt.util.Convert.parseUnsignedLong(Convert.java:58)
        at pocminer.POCMiner.main(POCMiner.java:42)

D:\pocminer_v1>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

Any help would be greatly appreciated ( i purposely put "secret" as my number).


Don't surround your password/secret with * symbols. Java is trying to run something along the lines of:
Long.parseLong(args[1]);
And this only accepts characters 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,and 9. No symbols. Smiley

VeriBlock: Securing The World's Blockchains Using Bitcoin
https://veriblock.org
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 ... 1317 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!