Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:58:03 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Smartcoin Linux mining administration. [MULTI-MACHINE SUPPORT NOW IN!]  (Read 99650 times)
Fletch
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


I'll have a steak sandwich and a... steak sandwich


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 08:55:08 PM
 #701

I'll experiment  with the /proc load average tonight (just got to decide whether to go with 1 minute or 5 minute average, though I'm leaning towards 1 minute) Additionally,  it would get rid of another dependency.
+1 for going with the 1 minute average.

HashPeak - GPU mining hashrate peak detector
BTC: 1FLETCHvcUKosefrcZCLUQTtvx4WvgnYMC
1481101083
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481101083

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481101083
Reply with quote  #2

1481101083
Report to moderator
1481101083
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481101083

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481101083
Reply with quote  #2

1481101083
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481101083
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481101083

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481101083
Reply with quote  #2

1481101083
Report to moderator
1481101083
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481101083

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481101083
Reply with quote  #2

1481101083
Report to moderator
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 11:24:23 PM
 #702

Update r512e now available:
- CPU load is now determined by /proc/loadavg 1-minute average
- Huge lockup detection optimization..  30%-50% faster status loops and lower CPU load as a result!
- New "<<<FAIL>>> instance status output. This tells you that the miner failed to load for some reason (you can then verify with screen -r miner)

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
EnzoMatrix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 04:50:37 PM
 #703

in r512e there appears to be an issue with the status display of the auto donate function and it keeps flashing an error on refresh about =python command not found the error is reporting line 355 of smartcoin_ops.sh as the culprit

--Enzo

Donate Address := 1Ng89ohn4mjWg7SsQizYUPRdVjtWm4d9p3
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 05:29:49 PM
 #704

Update r513e now available
-Fixed small typo in the generation of the autodonation fieldarray. ThanksEnzomatrix!

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
EnzoMatrix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:31:22 PM
 #705

Have you ever considered an optional ncurses interface that would allow for some fairly nice console displays? I realize that this would cause for another dependency however if it was optional then it would give the end use the option of taking advantage of that or not.

--Enzo

Donate Address := 1Ng89ohn4mjWg7SsQizYUPRdVjtWm4d9p3
Fletch
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


I'll have a steak sandwich and a... steak sandwich


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:59:43 PM
 #706

Not sure if this is doable, but whenever there's a failover or profile change, Smartcoin shuts down all miners and start them up again. Would it be possible for Smartcoin to keep track of which miners are running and when there's a profile update or whatever, it would only stop and/or start the miners affected by the change?

For example, if I'm mining with 3 GPUs at bitcoins.lc and there's a failover to deepbit, Smartcoin will shut down the 3 bitcoins.lc miners and start up 6 new miner instances (3 for bitcoins.lc and 3 for deepbit). The restarting of the bitcoins.lc miners in this case is redundant. If connectivity with bitcoins.lc is restored, Smartcoin will kill all 6 miners and start up 3 new bitcoins.lc miners, when in fact, just killing the deepbit miners would suffice.

HashPeak - GPU mining hashrate peak detector
BTC: 1FLETCHvcUKosefrcZCLUQTtvx4WvgnYMC
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 10:51:50 PM
 #707

Have you ever considered an optional ncurses interface that would allow for some fairly nice console displays? I realize that this would cause for another dependency however if it was optional then it would give the end use the option of taking advantage of that or not.

--Enzo

I think its a good idea... Once all core functionality is in, I may look into this!

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 10:53:55 PM
 #708

Not sure if this is doable, but whenever there's a failover or profile change, Smartcoin shuts down all miners and start them up again. Would it be possible for Smartcoin to keep track of which miners are running and when there's a profile update or whatever, it would only stop and/or start the miners affected by the change?

For example, if I'm mining with 3 GPUs at bitcoins.lc and there's a failover to deepbit, Smartcoin will shut down the 3 bitcoins.lc miners and start up 6 new miner instances (3 for bitcoins.lc and 3 for deepbit). The restarting of the bitcoins.lc miners in this case is redundant. If connectivity with bitcoins.lc is restored, Smartcoin will kill all 6 miners and start up 3 new bitcoins.lc miners, when in fact, just killing the deepbit miners would suffice.

I've already done some experiments, and I will be going this route sometime in the future ("hot reloading") - its something I have been thinking about for a while, just haven't got around to it yet as the current method works just fine, but eventually this would be a great optimization!

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 10:55:26 PM
 #709

Just a note not to do an update for a while (I'm uploading a bunch of VERY experimental multi-machine changes that *could* leave your inoperable for just a little while - I'll post back here in a little bit once they are all in and tested, at which time an experimental update will be relatively safe)

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
EnzoMatrix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 11:58:09 PM
 #710

Hello,

  I am not sure if it is something I am going wrong but I am unable to trigger the failover

I have a profiles setup to mine on 3 different server on the same pool and I have tried simulating an outage using /etc/hosts file but it never fails over is there any specific data that might help in locating this.. ? it is a fresh smartcoin install

Smartcoin r495s

here is the failover order
1 was a deleted profile

2) BTCGuild All
3) BTCGuild US
4) BTCGuild USWest
5) BTCGuild USEast
6) BitClockers


Found the solution apparently I ended up with 2 menu options / database entries for failover threshold that was confusing the system as soon as I deleted one of them failover started working.

--Enzo

Donate Address := 1Ng89ohn4mjWg7SsQizYUPRdVjtWm4d9p3
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 12:29:46 AM
 #711

Update r544e now available:
- Many changes to different areas of the code to support multiple machines.  Though multiple machine support isn't fully included yet, the "backend" functions are now machine-aware This puts multi-machine support probably near 98% complete. Just a couple of key components remain....  These were amongst the biggest changes needed yet for multi-machine support, and aside from some very small odds-and-ends, the only thing left to implement is a "Configure Machines" config screen option Smiley


NOTE: There is currently one side-effect that I haven't fixed yet.  The miner screen session's (screen -r miner) status line is all messed up, though it doesn't affect anything.  I'm going to continue to experiment until i get the status line back, but its really not even needed and only a visual artifact if you are looking at the miner screen session for now.

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 03:20:26 AM
 #712

+1 for option to exclude profiles from fallover (or better yet, just the ones specified).  I have some "experimental" profiles that I would like it to stay away from.

Dan

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:26:39 AM
 #713

Update 546e now available
- Fixes the hardstatus line at the bottom of the miner screen session

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
plantucha
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 01:18:46 PM
 #714

Update 546e now available
- Fixes the hardstatus line at the bottom of the miner screen session

I don't know why - rejection with this version is around  10%
in all tested pools. Before 500e it was 0.2-0.5%


Code:
Smartcoin r546 Wed Jul 27 09:15:11 EDT 2011
---------------------------------------------------------
Host: localhost
G0: Temp °C: 70.00 Load: 99%
G1: Temp °C: 71.00 Load: 99%
G2: Temp °C: 74.00 Load: 99%
G3: Temp °C: 70.00 Load: 99%
CPU Load: 2.38%

Profile: Failover
--------BTCGuild--------
G0:     [207.76 MHash/s] [100 OK] [5 BAD] [5.000% BAD]
G1:     [207.67 MHash/s] [96 OK] [6 BAD] [6.250% BAD]
G2:     [207.77 MHash/s] [82 OK] [8 BAD] [9.756% BAD]
G3:     [207.78 MHash/s] [86 OK] [8 BAD] [9.302% BAD]
CP:     [20.4 MHash/s] [13 OK] [6 BAD] [46.153% BAD]
Total : [851.38 MHash/s] [377 OK] [33 BAD] [8.753% BAD]

Grand Total : [851.38 MHash/s] [377 OK] [33 BAD] [8.753% BAD]

Can you post .tar stable version before multi machine support
and place it to OP ?

I know there is a stable version. But stable will move sometimes to higher numbers.
We can preserve it. I think majority people using one PC anyway.


jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 02:46:09 PM
 #715

Update 546e now available
- Fixes the hardstatus line at the bottom of the miner screen session

I don't know why - rejection with this version is around  10%
in all tested pools. Before 500e it was 0.2-0.5%


Code:
Smartcoin r546 Wed Jul 27 09:15:11 EDT 2011
---------------------------------------------------------
Host: localhost
G0: Temp °C: 70.00 Load: 99%
G1: Temp °C: 71.00 Load: 99%
G2: Temp °C: 74.00 Load: 99%
G3: Temp °C: 70.00 Load: 99%
CPU Load: 2.38%

Profile: Failover
--------BTCGuild--------
G0:     [207.76 MHash/s] [100 OK] [5 BAD] [5.000% BAD]
G1:     [207.67 MHash/s] [96 OK] [6 BAD] [6.250% BAD]
G2:     [207.77 MHash/s] [82 OK] [8 BAD] [9.756% BAD]
G3:     [207.78 MHash/s] [86 OK] [8 BAD] [9.302% BAD]
CP:     [20.4 MHash/s] [13 OK] [6 BAD] [46.153% BAD]
Total : [851.38 MHash/s] [377 OK] [33 BAD] [8.753% BAD]

Grand Total : [851.38 MHash/s] [377 OK] [33 BAD] [8.753% BAD]

Can you post .tar stable version before multi machine support
and place it to OP ?

I know there is a stable version. But stable will move sometimes to higher numbers.
We can preserve it. I think majority people using one PC anyway.



Smartcoin can't do anything to influence or change rejection rates (aside from calculation erros, but that would only change perceived rejection)- it merely starts and stops miners based on a set of rules.  FYI, all the new multi-machine code (which isn't even fully active yet) does is determine if a command needs to run on the local machine or on a remote connection over SSH.  It changes nothing about the miners, it only chooses where to launch them, and then launches them.


RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 04:46:11 PM
 #716

Feature request:  If lm-sensors is installed, it would be nice if the CPU temperature was displayed alongside the GPU temps. 

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 05:27:26 PM
 #717

Feature request:  If lm-sensors is installed, it would be nice if the CPU temperature was displayed alongside the GPU temps. 

+1 for this.
And I can't wait for the multi-machine support for this to be ready! Excellent job so far.

I've had a bit of a problem trying to figure out why my failover settings aren't working.
I had the failover thresholds (apparently there's 3 of them?) set to 1 (not sure what exactly they're measured in. I was expecting it'd be how many minutes of downtime, but i guess not) just to test and I had the failover profile selected.

The pool went down and I waited just under 10 minutes and it still sat there without changing to another profile.
Any ideas why this isn't working? Sad

Other than that though, great job!

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
EnzoMatrix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 05:30:59 PM
 #718

Feature request:  If lm-sensors is installed, it would be nice if the CPU temperature was displayed alongside the GPU temps. 

+1 for this.
And I can't wait for the multi-machine support for this to be ready! Excellent job so far.

I've had a bit of a problem trying to figure out why my failover settings aren't working.
I had the failover thresholds (apparently there's 3 of them?) set to 1 (not sure what exactly they're measured in. I was expecting it'd be how many minutes of downtime, but i guess not) just to test and I had the failover profile selected.

The pool went down and I waited just under 10 minutes and it still sat there without changing to another profile.
Any ideas why this isn't working? Sad

Other than that though, great job!

There was a push that had a issue in it this should be resolved in the latest may want to try and update should clear up the multiple threshholds ( which will prevent failover from working )

--Enzo

Donate Address := 1Ng89ohn4mjWg7SsQizYUPRdVjtWm4d9p3
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 05:39:59 PM
 #719

Thanks for the quick reply.
I'll try that now Smiley

EDIT: I updated to r549e and it still shows 3 failover options in the menu.
Did you mean the stable branch?

This error keeps flicking up also in the status screen.
smartcoin_status.sh: line 151: [[: 8 8 8: syntax error in expression (error token is "8 8")
My threshold(s) are all set to 8 so I guess this is related.

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 05:46:48 PM
 #720

Does the failover profile have to be selected for it to failover?  The automatic?  Or can I select my primary profile and then it *should* failover automatically?

What is the failover setting?  What unit?

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!