Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:02:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Smartcoin Linux mining administration. [MULTI-MACHINE SUPPORT NOW IN!]  (Read 99663 times)
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 04:06:55 PM
 #521

I want to gather suggestions on the preferred cli email program to be used by smartcoin.  I'll go with the most requested.

I finished a new routine which monitors for GPU lockups (the kind common when pushing overclocking a bit too far)
All of my tests so far indicate that a full reboot is needed to recover from locked card conditions.  Currently, the routine will monitor for this  kind of hard lock condition,  and if found it will Log and error, shut down smartcoin and fire off an email.  I'm going to do some tests to see if its possible to revive a locked card, but until then this is about as elegant as I can come up with.

Any further suggestions on this?


RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 04:26:54 PM
 #522

I want to gather suggestions on the preferred cli email program to be used by smartcoin.  I'll go with the most requested.

Any further suggestions on this?

Jon, you know me, always with the suggestions.  I'd look at "sendemail":

http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/lucid/man1/sendemail.1.html

Several examples of usage here:

http://www.debianadmin.com/how-to-sendemail-from-the-command-line-using-a-gmail-account-and-others.html

Seems much more lightweight than requiring EXIM, Postfix, or Sendmail be installed.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Alan Lupton
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 04:58:08 PM
 #523

Hi, I have a little problem on two of my rigs. Auto Donate runs for 4 hours str8 and I can't get it to stop (did a reboot already). Any file I can delete to resolve this issue? r425 stable
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 05:05:30 PM
 #524

Hi, I have a little problem on two of my rigs. Auto Donate runs for 4 hours str8 and I can't get it to stop (did a reboot already). Any file I can delete to resolve this issue? r425 stable

Run an update, r442 is the latest stable release and may fix that.


--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Alan Lupton
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 05:09:39 PM
 #525

Hi, I have a little problem on two of my rigs. Auto Donate runs for 4 hours str8 and I can't get it to stop (did a reboot already). Any file I can delete to resolve this issue? r425 stable
Run an update, r442 is the latest stable release and may fix that.

doesn't
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 05:09:48 PM
 #526

Jon,

SmartCoin is now the main interface I use for Mining.

As such, the 1.0 BTC Donation was just sent to 1AnDpiSvcUKejhENUFuigRCZC97cir4uwn (for my own reasons I don't use auto-donate)

Keep up the good work.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 05:11:17 PM
 #527

also, go to edit settings from the control screen.  make sure the donation minutes per day is set to a reasonable value, perhaps something got entered in error?   you can also adjust the donation start time from the settings page.

please share what you find, as any bug in the donation system are top priority!


RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 05:12:28 PM
 #528

Hi, I have a little problem on two of my rigs. Auto Donate runs for 4 hours str8 and I can't get it to stop (did a reboot already). Any file I can delete to resolve this issue? r425 stable
Run an update, r442 is the latest stable release and may fix that.

doesn't

How do you know?  Auto-donate should only run at a specified time.  I could see auto-donate getting "stuck" and running away, but if you killed SmartCoin following the update and restarted, it shouldn't run.

If it is, then SmartCoin thinks that's the profile you want to be running.  Go to the main screen and choose "Select Profile" (Option 5) and then select the profile you want (not Auto-Donate) and see if that corrects it.  Possibly set up a new Profile and select it.


--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Alan Lupton
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 05:22:49 PM
 #529

Did already these steps before initially posting here even.

When starting smartcoin, I get an error:

Code:
Error: no such column: failovercount

I can't even select a manual profile, smartcoin won't apply the use of another profile.
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 05:31:54 PM
 #530

you somehow missed a schema update.  a reinstall at this point would be easiest

the bug with failed queries from a locked database is to blame, but has been fixed in recent updates

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 08:15:47 PM
 #531

happy SmartCoin donator/new-to-forum, excited to join this thread and watch the development  Grin
plantucha
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 08:57:21 PM
 #532

plantucha -

I'm just testing the cgminer and poclbm support.
So far for me, cgminer has been the slowest of the bunch for me (about 1040 MHash/sec vs about 1150 MHash/sec in phoenix). Here is the launch string that I have been testing with:
Code:
./cgminer -a 4way -t 2 -g 2 -o http://pit.x8s.de:8337 -u <#user#> -p <#pass#> -I 14


Also, I don't get much more than 0.7MHash out of my GPU no matter what I do (though, it is an older P4)

Let me know if you have any suggestions!  I'll update this post once I can confirm that the cgminer support in smartcoin is complete


Maybe because cgminer has implemented
- Dynamic intensity that keeps desktop interactive under load and maximises throughput when deskop idle
so if you fiddling with PC intensity going down

or it can be just Intel/AMD sensitive

but anyway, I'm using CGminer for CPU only, Phoenix for GPUs

 
Code:
smartcoin Management System r442(experimental) Sun Jul 17 16:19:33 EDT 2011
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Host: localhost
GPU[0]: Temp: 69.00 load: 99%
GPU[1]: Temp: 70.00 load: 99%
GPU[2]: Temp: 71.00 load: 99%
GPU[3]: Temp: 72.00 load: 99%
CPU Load : 0.88%

Profile: Failover
--------BTCGuild--------
GPU[0]: [207.52 Mhash/sec] [132 Accepted] [1 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]
GPU[1]: [207.48 Mhash/sec] [113 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]
GPU[2]: [207.58 Mhash/sec] [132 Accepted] [1 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]
GPU[3]: [207.51 Mhash/sec] [132 Accepted] [1 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]
CPU:    [20.3 MHash/sec] [8 Accepted] [0 Rejected]
Total : [850.39 MHash/sec] [517 Accepted] [3 Rejected] [.580% Rejected]

Grand Total: [850.39 MHash/sec] [517 Accepted] [3 Rejected] [.580% Rejected]



Please note: for some reason after CPU mining is each GPU 2Mhash/s faster than without CPU mining.


now just tiny things like CPU load is 0.88% for GPU mining.
most likely 100% for CPU mining.

I'm getting CPU temperature from "lm-sensors", some people don't have lm-sensors installed.



also I personally do not understand, why people pushing sqlite.
This will be big project and i can see people using it in mining farms with 50+ computers.
Mysql is perfect solution and for mailing postfix.
Think BIG.
People don't cry for 50MB on your 1TB HDD.
Safety first and what is better an more often maintained than Mysql or Postfix?
Some shady project without security upgrades?


jondecker76 Thank you for your super fast development speed.

_______________________________________________________________________________ __________

P.S.:
I'm thinking about writing some documentation, soon it will be too complex for people who starting from this point.
But maybe after some front page simplification.
For example:
Pool configuration on front page
 - it is already pre-configured, but users will try to do something just because they see it...like jen
I think first page have to be just this:

1) Reboot Computer
2) Kill smartcoin (exit)
3) Disconnect from smartcoin (leave running)
4) Select Profile
5) Configure   
6) Update Smartcoin


and most important info:
Ctrl + a      =  switch to rigs live streaming
Ctrl + a +d =  disconnect from smartcoin (leave running)


Submenu 5.

Mandatory basic Configure:
1) Configure Workers

Advacend configure:
2) Edit Settings
3) Remote computers: (yes/no) , address conf. etc

Profile configure:
3) Configure Profiles
4) Set Profile Failover Order

Pre-configured for basic use (tune for your own hardware):
5) Configure Miners
6) Configure Devices
7) Configure Pools

Now, I can see I have to more think about it. Because I'm not sure if is it much easier or more clear than before.
hmmm
....But at least now you do have idea what I mean. Smiley


Alan Lupton
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 09:39:02 PM
 #533

I want to gather suggestions on the preferred cli email program to be used by smartcoin.  I'll go with the most requested.

I finished a new routine which monitors for GPU lockups (the kind common when pushing overclocking a bit too far)
All of my tests so far indicate that a full reboot is needed to recover from locked card conditions.  Currently, the routine will monitor for this  kind of hard lock condition,  and if found it will Log and error, shut down smartcoin and fire off an email.  I'm going to do some tests to see if its possible to revive a locked card, but until then this is about as elegant as I can come up with.

Any further suggestions on this?

Why would you kill smartcoin and kill the other working devices? Let's say I go to bed and sleep 7 hours. After 1 hour one GPU locks. Then you kill smartcoin and 6 hours idle time for 3 other GPUs. That doesn't make sense to me. The current state is even better, because when getting up I can easily detect the the lockup by looking at the stats and I wouldn't waste 6 hours x3 GPUs hashing time.

Email, wonderful. Shutdown smartcoin, very bad idea imo.
plantucha
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 10:00:34 PM
 #534

I want to gather suggestions on the preferred cli email program to be used by smartcoin.  I'll go with the most requested.

I finished a new routine which monitors for GPU lockups (the kind common when pushing overclocking a bit too far)
All of my tests so far indicate that a full reboot is needed to recover from locked card conditions.  Currently, the routine will monitor for this  kind of hard lock condition,  and if found it will Log and error, shut down smartcoin and fire off an email.  I'm going to do some tests to see if its possible to revive a locked card, but until then this is about as elegant as I can come up with.

Any further suggestions on this?

Why would you kill smartcoin and kill the other working devices? Let's say I go to bed and sleep 7 hours. After 1 hour one GPU locks. Then you kill smartcoin and 6 hours idle time for 3 other GPUs. That doesn't make sense to me. The current state is even better, because when getting up I can easily detect the the lockup by looking at the stats and I wouldn't waste 6 hours x3 GPUs hashing time.

Email, wonderful. Shutdown smartcoin, very bad idea imo.

most people don't wanna checking rig daily when they wake up.
maybe not shutdown,
restart (email about restart)
with smartcoin autostart after restart. (email about recovery)
then if restart 5x in 1hour (too hot outside or something)  let it hang and send email every x hours about lockup.


also emails about configurable events will be awsome:
like
temperature threshold
failover - profile name
fan threshold
stats every X minutes
Mhash/s threshold
etc.


jl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 10:01:47 PM
 #535

If there are any commands that you want to have run automatically when smartcoin starts, create a file "init.sh" in the smartcoin directory.  Then you can add your commands that you want run on startup.

Admittedly undereducated about exactly what AMDOverdriveCtrl is doing to my overclock settings/performance - but I have to start it for both cards everytime I reboot my rig. How can I script this with a detached screen? I'm trying in an init.sh file w/ SmartCoin:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
screen -dmS ctl0 "AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0"
screen -dmS ctl1 "AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3"
Jen4538
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 10:21:41 PM
 #536

plantucha -



P.S.:
I'm thinking about writing some documentation, soon it will be too complex for people who starting from this point.
But maybe after some front page simplification.
For example:
Pool configuration on front page
 - it is already pre-configured, but users will try to do something just because they see it...like jen
I think first page have to be just this:

1) Reboot Computer
2) Kill smartcoin (exit)
3) Disconnect from smartcoin (leave running)
4) Select Profile
5) Configure   
6) Update Smartcoin


and most important info:
Ctrl + a      =  switch to rigs live streaming
Ctrl + a +d =  disconnect from smartcoin (leave running)


Submenu 5.

Mandatory basic Configure:
1) Configure Workers

Advacend configure:
2) Edit Settings
3) Remote computers: (yes/no) , address conf. etc

Profile configure:
3) Configure Profiles
4) Set Profile Failover Order

Pre-configured for basic use (tune for your own hardware):
5) Configure Miners
6) Configure Devices
7) Configure Pools

Now, I can see I have to more think about it. Because I'm not sure if is it much easier or more clear than before.
hmmm
....But at least now you do have idea what I mean. Smiley



this would be a good idea especially for a person such as myself who is often lost and confused

jondecker76 has tried to help me alot with private messages but always i am getting stuck somewhere or lost somewhere else.    i tried linuxcoin with smartcoin together as was a suggestion by jondecker which i did manage to make it work but with doing things in a different way however i get alot of stale shares useing so i dont know what i did wrong there.  for now i will play with different ideas on a usb stick while my miners below are doing the work the hard way.   i'm always going backwards instead of forward as i see it.

wish everyone good luck as this is a great project and i see alot of good things in it

Jenette   
plantucha
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 10:22:05 PM
 #537

If there are any commands that you want to have run automatically when smartcoin starts, create a file "init.sh" in the smartcoin directory.  Then you can add your commands that you want run on startup.

Admittedly undereducated about exactly what AMDOverdriveCtrl is doing to my overclock settings/performance - but I have to start it for both cards everytime I reboot my rig. How can I script this with a detached screen? I'm trying:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
screen -dmS ctl0 "AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0"
screen -dmS ctl1 "AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3"

why are you using AMDOverdriveCtrl
is there anything what can't be done just by  catalyst 11.6?

like:
aticonfig --od-setclocks=900,1000 --adapter=all
or
export DISPLAY=:0.1; aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0"
export DISPLAY=:0.1; aticonfig --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 100"

unless AMDOverdriveCtrl can finally overvolt
but I bet 11.7 will do it too or atitweak http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=25750.msg371068#msg371068 (overvolt bypass bios in next version)

Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 10:23:46 PM
 #538

I want to gather suggestions on the preferred cli email program to be used by smartcoin.  I'll go with the most requested.

I finished a new routine which monitors for GPU lockups (the kind common when pushing overclocking a bit too far)
All of my tests so far indicate that a full reboot is needed to recover from locked card conditions.  Currently, the routine will monitor for this  kind of hard lock condition,  and if found it will Log and error, shut down smartcoin and fire off an email.  I'm going to do some tests to see if its possible to revive a locked card, but until then this is about as elegant as I can come up with.

Any further suggestions on this?

Why would you kill smartcoin and kill the other working devices? Let's say I go to bed and sleep 7 hours. After 1 hour one GPU locks. Then you kill smartcoin and 6 hours idle time for 3 other GPUs. That doesn't make sense to me. The current state is even better, because when getting up I can easily detect the the lockup by looking at the stats and I wouldn't waste 6 hours x3 GPUs hashing time.

Email, wonderful. Shutdown smartcoin, very bad idea imo.

I have a GPU that locks up if I OC over about 960 MHz (it's a 5830).  When it locks up, the other GPU often stops processing as well.

Actually, Jon, what I'd prefer is that you can specify a script to run when a card locks up.  I can then do whatever I want.  Something like "lockup.sh".  In my script I would:

1)  Capture Temps
2)  Capture GPU Status (overclock rates, etc)
3)  Send the above to me in an email
4)  Reboot the box

By having a script, I could even code whether or not I want to reboot.  Maybe setting a flag each time it reboots and if I see it reboot 4 times unattended, I just leave it down (because I need to look into what's going on).

Thoughts?

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 10:25:21 PM
 #539

If there are any commands that you want to have run automatically when smartcoin starts, create a file "init.sh" in the smartcoin directory.  Then you can add your commands that you want run on startup.

Admittedly undereducated about exactly what AMDOverdriveCtrl is doing to my overclock settings/performance - but I have to start it for both cards everytime I reboot my rig. How can I script this with a detached screen? I'm trying:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
screen -dmS ctl0 "AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0"
screen -dmS ctl1 "AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3"

Put the commands you want in init.sh in the smartcoin directory and they'll run every time you start smartcoin.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
jl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 10:28:12 PM
 #540

if I don't use AMDOverdriveCtrl - I get the following message after passing `aticonfig --od-setclocks=985,285 --adapter=all`:

Code:
ERROR - Set clocks failed for Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series  
        Please check that input values were valid

So AMDOverdriveCtrl must be doing something...And it's not `aticonfig --od-enable --adapter=all` ... that didn't change anything.

It would be good to know how to script Screen anyway - for general Linux education.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!