Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:41:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Smartcoin Linux mining administration. [MULTI-MACHINE SUPPORT NOW IN!]  (Read 99581 times)
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 04:35:42 PM
 #161

Quote
I found a bug

here is a picture GPU 2 is not running thats ok

But I got only 4 GPU's
GPU 0
GPU 1
GPU 2
GPU 3
GPU 4

3 & 4 are the same they are my real Device 3 when I start device=3
GPU3&4 starts to work here Smiley


Second thing GPU 3-4 should do 379MHash/s why doesn't do it anymore ? config is the same!
Ok, you have 4 GPUs, but its showing 5.  Did you manually add it, or did was it added automatically?
If it was erroneously added, you can go to Configure devices, and edit each one individually too see if they are correct (I haven't implemented a "view" function yet...)  Then you can delete which ever one is extra.
If it was automatically added, can you post the output of running smartcoin_devices.py?
I think its important to sort the incorrect number of devices issue before determining other problems...

Regarding hash rate, there could be a few explanations.. Did you go to Configure Miners yet?  I'd make sure the correct miner is set as the default, and also look at the launch string and edit it to be the same as you normally would use.


RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480758096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758096
Reply with quote  #2

1480758096
Report to moderator
1480758096
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758096

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758096
Reply with quote  #2

1480758096
Report to moderator
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 04:37:12 PM
 #162

jaebird:

Will add that feature asap - I've been meaning to get them moved into tmp anyways!

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:12:32 PM
 #163

New fixes are in - run an svn update, and restart
- Fixed small Query bug in Add Pools
- Fixed small Query bug in Add Devices
- Alternative install path option:
     normal install: ./smartcoin_install.sh
     alternate path install: ./smartcoin_install.sh "/home/your_user"
- Temporal files are now stored in /tmp (should be much nicer for USB sticks)

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jaebird
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:38:02 PM
 #164

New fixes are in - run an svn update, and restart
- Fixed small Query bug in Add Pools
- Fixed small Query bug in Add Devices
- Alternative install path option:
     normal install: ./smartcoin_install.sh
     alternate path install: ./smartcoin_install.sh "/home/your_user"
- Temporal files are now stored in /tmp (should be much nicer for USB sticks)


Awesome. Thanks for the quick update.
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:47:52 PM
 #165

Anybody test this on LinuxCoin yet?
I do have one report so far from a LinuxCoin user that they get aticonfig errors if they try to start it remotely in a terminal, but if they start it from a terminal running in X its fine, after which point they can ssh in and control it like they should.

Just looking to see if this is a common thing for LinuxCoin users, I'd like to get this fixed ASAP so any information will be very helpful

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:59:05 PM
 #166

Sharky,

I understand that a lot of people will want a web front end, but again, I created this specifically for those that wanted/needed something easily controllable over ssh.
I understand that its not going to be for everyone, and that's ok.
Another thing to consider here is security.  Do you really want your miners controllable over a web page?  What if I did a web page, a hacker got by security and changed all your pool workers, or peeked at your passwords.  For these reasons (and many others such as encrypted communication), there are some of us that will use only use shh to manage our miners.  Exposing your machine to http/https where there is the possibility that a user has a wallet.dat on that machine (or even the same network) is a bad idea, IMO.  I also don't want to make software that a user might download with the false assumption that I'm a security expert (likewise I can't expect all users to be security experts themselves). By entrusting this security to the ssh client/server, I eliminate problems on both sides of this equation Smiley


Don't worry, a lot of effort will go into making it reasonably easy to control multiple machines from one session, that is one of the main goals of this project. 

I think you misunderstood me. I only want to view status information on the web page, not make changes. Viewing that one page from either here at my home, or remotely, I could see if there is a problem and then ssh in to fix it. Sure if all you have is one computer running then it is really easy to ssh in to get a quick status, but if you have like 10 computers running, then it is a real mess.

I think people with more than one computer would be really interested and thus more likely to donate to you. For example. I think it is useful, so I would probably donate a few coins. If I could monitor by a web page on one of my servers, I would be be donating a lot more because you would have just reduced my workload.

I'm not saying you have to write the actual web page, just give us the ability to pull the data.

And as far as wallet.dat being exposed, I do not have the bitcoin client and or wallet on any computer that I do web browsing on or any mining computers.


Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 09:24:50 PM
 #167

sharky,

thanks for clearing that up.
The ability to pull data through a simple API is planned, so that part will definitely be realized.
I'm also experimenting with netcat for a super simple way to check in on things over a web browser if you want to (though this will be turned off by default for security reasons)

A few other things that may also help neutralize your concerns:
-Email support is coming soon!  You'll be able to have hourly/daily automatic reports emailed, as well as options to automatically send you emails when there are problems with your miners.

-Multi-machine support is also coming. This means, you decide on one of your machines to be the "master" smartcoin node.  You run smartcoin on the master node, and all child nodes will all be controllable from the master node (each machine will have its own tab in the screen session, and options in the control screen such as "Change Profile" will start asking you which machine to change profiles on) - so you will only need to ssh into the master node to be able to control all 10 machines in your example.  Since your miners get started on the child nodes in their own screen sessions, they will keep running even if the master node goes down for some reason.

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
BlueHelix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 10:48:23 PM
 #168

I reinstalled and this is automatic detected:

./smartcoin_devices.py
0   GPU[0]   0   gpu
1   GPU[1]   0   gpu
2   GPU[2]   0   gpu
3   GPU[3]   0   gpu
4   GPU[4]   0   gpu

The launch string I use is the same only difference was UPPER case in arguments.

Is it possible to exclude one Device because I have a stability issue .
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 10:59:47 PM
 #169

I reinstalled and this is automatic detected:

./smartcoin_devices.py
0   GPU[0]   0   gpu
1   GPU[1]   0   gpu
2   GPU[2]   0   gpu
3   GPU[3]   0   gpu
4   GPU[4]   0   gpu

The launch string I use is the same only difference was UPPER case in arguments.

Is it possible to exclude one Device because I have a stability issue .

The extra device is your cpu being detected as openCL device, just manually remove it.

For safety I removed all devices and added the proper devices manually, its better cause on my one machine it seemed to list my cpu under device=3 where most of the times it would automaticly list as the last device.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 11:12:31 PM
 #170

Why not use sqlite? It seems much more appropriate for this project.

I totally agree. MySQL is awesome for certain apps (I'm actually a MySQL DBA for a large video game company) but SQLite would be much better for this.

Additionally, I have the following issue when trying to install rev-100

Code:
./smartcoin_install.sh: line 18: RunSQL: command not found
./smartcoin_install.sh: line 19: Field: command not found
SmartCoin requires root permissions to install dependencies, create SymLinks and set up the database.

I checked the installer bash file and the RunSQL function doesn't exist anywhere. How should I go about installing the app if it can't write to the DB?

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 11:17:49 PM
 #171

A web interface is crucial if you want people using/donating that have more than one Linux box up and running.
Say I have 10 Linux boxes up and running but no ability to monitor them on one screen, it would be a real pain in the A**.
I would like the ability to go to one web page on my web server and see if every thing is going OK.

Agreed - I'm writing a webapp that will connect to configured pools and report on your workers. You can see some basic stuff here, this is only a day of coding though: http://minerwatch.strangl3r.com/

I'm planning on having drill-down graph support so you can look at historical information about all of your workers. I think the best way to manage multi-box workers is to name them according to their hostnames and GPU. ie: strangler.ultra40m1-01 is my Sun Ultra40-M1 workstation running one miner, if there were additional cards in the box they would be strangler.ultra40m1-02, strangler.ultra40m1-03, etc.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to trying out SmartCoin once the RunSQL issue is addressed. Seems a useful app for running on individual boxes to manage multiple GPUs and load balancing/process monitoring. Then you can use my app (or miningmonitor.com or similar) to see your array of rigs all at once.

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 11:40:29 PM
 #172

BlueHex:
Yes, it is possible to exclude devices from the Automatic profile.  Configure Devices -> Edit.  There will be a choice to allow it to be available to the automatic profile, type n for "no" (plus, there is also a disable option, which would work as well). I also think that you should review which devices are present, and delete any not matching what you know you have. (FYI, your devices are as detected by PyOpenCL.  I will look into this problem eventually, hopefully I'll come up with a better way to auto-detect in the near future...)

shotgun:
Smartcoin does use sqlite now, I switched database backends on the same day the suggestion was made Smiley
Also, you mentioned installing r100.  As of right now, the current revision is r200 - things are evolving rapidly so please make sure you have the latest version of the installer!
The RunSQL error is due to smartcoin_ops.sh apparently not being included for some reason.  What linux distro and version are you running?
Currently, smartcoin relies on the $HOME environmental variable for determining paths.  Are you running smartcoin_install.sh as root (you shouldn't, as it will make the $HOME variable point to /root - when the superuser permissions are needed, you will be prompted for a password.
What does it say if you type
Code:
echo $HOME
in the terminal?

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
gnaget
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 12:11:29 AM
 #173

Great work, by far this looks like the best linux based miner out there.  I tried to get it working on one machine in my farm, and I ran into an issue.  I skimmed the thread here, and I don't see anyone else with the problem so maybe I am doing something wrong. 

I am trying to add a solo pool, using my server's ip address as the host.  When I use 192.168.1.2 I get a sql error "invalid syntax near .1".  When I try using my hostname (server.pedanticstoner.com), I get another syntax error.
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 12:24:18 AM
 #174

BlueHex:
Yes, it is possible to exclude devices from the Automatic profile.  Configure Devices -> Edit.  There will be a choice to allow it to be available to the automatic profile, type n for "no" (plus, there is also a disable option, which would work as well). I also think that you should review which devices are present, and delete any not matching what you know you have. (FYI, your devices are as detected by PyOpenCL.  I will look into this problem eventually, hopefully I'll come up with a better way to auto-detect in the near future...)

shotgun:
Smartcoin does use sqlite now, I switched database backends on the same day the suggestion was made Smiley
Also, you mentioned installing r100.  As of right now, the current revision is r200 - things are evolving rapidly so please make sure you have the latest version of the installer!
The RunSQL error is due to smartcoin_ops.sh apparently not being included for some reason.  What linux distro and version are you running?
Currently, smartcoin relies on the $HOME environmental variable for determining paths.  Are you running smartcoin_install.sh as root (you shouldn't, as it will make the $HOME variable point to /root - when the superuser permissions are needed, you will be prompted for a password.
What does it say if you type
Code:
echo $HOME
in the terminal?

I'm running r200 - I guess that was a slip of the keyboard. I tried installing when I was logged in under my usual user account "user", then did a "sudo su", then ran the installer. I guess I'm confused about the SQLite vs MySQL because the instructions on the 4th page say to install mysql server and not sqlite, and there is no README with the checkout or any instructions on the google code wiki. Is there a more recent set of instructions you can point me to, as I was going off of the ones on page 4 from the beta release post.

I'm running LinuxCoin btw.

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 12:27:17 AM
 #175

I added "source smartcoin_ops.sh" to the installer on the first empty line and that fixed the RunSQL error. Then I did apt-get install sqlite3 and it's working now (the installer anyway).

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 12:37:15 AM
 #176

shotgun:
Oh geez, i just noticed what I did..

There was already an include of smartcoin_ops.sh, but I had made a few new functions recently and it got bumped down (to line 38) - bash can be picky about defining functions before using them, so I think thats what caused the error.

Just comitted the change, moving the include back to the top and comitted it to svn Smiley

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 12:39:02 AM
 #177

revision r202 is up!
Fixed the problem where CPU was auto-detected as a GPU on some installs.  New version uses the pyOpenCL device_type to ensure only GPU devices are added!

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 12:57:03 AM
 #178

Ok, made another discovery....

A generous LinuxCoin user gave me SSH access to one of his boxes so I could poke around.
LinuxCoin installs the ATI SDK to /opt (which isn't a problem),

But its $LD_LIBRARY_PATH is never set. This is why LinuxCoin users can't run aticonfig commands remotely.  I'm going to contact the LinuxCoin author and point this out.  

For now, I advise LinuxCoin users to perform this step BEFORE running/installing smartcoin:

Temporary version (must be done after each reboot)

Code:
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
(64 bit)

or
Code:
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx32/lib/x86:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
32 bit



Permanent version: (you won't have to mess with it again!)
Code:
echo 'export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64:${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}' >> ~/.bashrc
source ~/.bashrc
64 bit

Code:
echo 'export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx32/lib/x86:${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}' >> ~/.bashrc
source ~/.bashrc
32 bit


Between the recently committed code, and this...  Many more installs should be working now

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 01:51:29 AM
 #179

I've setup my miner (Diablo) and my workers, and my pools. But it just sits there doing nothing saying that Slush is down. Something is wrong but I can't tell what. The smartcoin.log is basically useless, and doesn't tell me what it's doing other than "We are running in AUTO" all the time. Can you add a debug option or at least have the log file tell me when a miner is running and with what options? I have no way to troubleshoot what is happening. Of course Diablo runs fine when I run manually, and LD is set to the following in my bashrc file: LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 02:08:39 AM
 #180

Shotgun:
For troubleshooting, I recommend disconnecting from smartcoin (either via the control screen, or ctrl+a d), then from the terminal:
Code:
screen -r miner

This will connect you to the screen session where all the miners are running.
You can use ctrl+a p and ctrl+a n  for previous and next, so you can look at each miner and see what the problem is.

I've never used or tried Diablo yet - Do you care to share your launch string?
(or better yet, post the result of the following command here)
Code:
cd ~/smartcoin
sqlite3 smartcoin.db "SELECT * FROM miner"

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!