Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:41:29 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Smartcoin Linux mining administration. [MULTI-MACHINE SUPPORT NOW IN!]  (Read 99653 times)
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 12:00:54 AM
 #361

Thanks for posting the output.

It looks like the schema update was only partially successful for you (only 2 out of 3 database alterations occurred). This is definitely related to the database locking I just talked about a few posts back.  To fix it without a reinstall:
Code:
sqlite3 ~/.smartcoin/smartcoin.db "ALTER TABLE profile ADD failover_count int NOT NULL DFAULT(0);"
(Failover won't work completely reliably without this being done. A restart shouldn't be required)


This is the downside of using sqlite3 instead of MySQL.  Though I'm sure these spurrious bugs will disappear after the locking mechanism is complete.  This also explains why for most users, everything works like it should, then for some unknown reason every now and then I get a bug report that makes me scratch my head.  Yep, this explains it all!

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107289
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107289

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107289
Reply with quote  #2

1481107289
Report to moderator
1481107289
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107289

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107289
Reply with quote  #2

1481107289
Report to moderator
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:36:26 AM
 #362

mmm trying new version (since the first beta) and during installer it gets to detecting miners (doesnt detect any) then I cant progress further since it asks to select detected miner(nothing detected) and cant move pass this?

Any work around?

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:00:05 AM
 #363

I found the problem and will be committing a fix soon.

For now, run
Code:
sudo updatedb

before running the installer. That should let the locate command find the phoenix.py file

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:29:10 AM
 #364

Update r358 now available
- The database is now locked while in use, this should put an end to random spurious problems caused by multiple scripts trying to access the database at the same time.  This was probably the cause of many bug reports! NOTE: The procmail package must be installed on your machine or you will get a bunch of lockfile errors.   Please make sure to install procmail! [edit] - this should now be patched in with the update

- The installer was cleaned up a bit, and an option to automatically run 'ubdatedb' added.  Options were also added to run autodetection for devices, miners and the AMD/ATI SDK path.  This makes it easier to skip certain sections of the installer if you need to.


RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:44:39 AM
 #365

mmm errors from hell Wink

before this it kept spewing, lockfile : command not found

Code:

./smartcoin_install.sh: line 162: syntax error near unexpected token `('
./smartcoin_install.sh: line 162: `     Q="INSERT INTO device (fk_machine,name,device,auto_allow,type,disabled) VALUES (1,'$devName',$id,1,'$devType',$devDisable);"'


...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 06:00:58 AM
 #366

What distro are you running?  Sounds like yours doesn't come with the lockfile command preinstalled (its part of the procmail package for some goofy reason)

I just did an update that adds the dependency and should install procmail package automatically (if your distro uses apt-get anyways), and fixes a quoting issue that caused the other error.

Let me know how it turns out


RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 06:09:05 AM
 #367

Ok it worked, but I had to manually apt-get procmail for the lockfile issue.

New svn installer didnt install procmail, other than that it all went smooth Smiley

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 06:36:47 AM
 #368

install instructions updated on pages 1 and 4. Includes new procmail dependency, as well as listing Failover support as implemented.

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
mono
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 08:11:52 AM
 #369

Just for a great praise and your info:
Update from r350 to r362 one minute ago without any problems.

say thanks to 1KqrLfc8dksh5WTpAnf5cczLt6P8HEW25o
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 08:45:23 AM
 #370

mono:
thanks for the report!  Must be my lucky day Smiley

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
BenD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 11:11:06 AM
 #371

Ok I went from 323 to 362 using the internal update function.
It definitely gave me an "ERROR" in capital letters, but it was so fast that I could not read the rest.
Afterwards, it asked if I want to take smartcoin.db and I answered tf, for getting your db.

Although I thought that it won't work anymore, it just works like a charm. And since the update I have a rejected of 0.00 %. This is weird. Normally, after starting smartcoin, I got ~12 % rejected, falling slowly to 3.25%.
Fletch
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


I'll have a steak sandwich and a... steak sandwich


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 11:47:53 AM
 #372

install instructions updated on pages 1 and 4. Includes new procmail dependency, as well as listing Failover support as implemented.
Suggestion: Merge all instructions into one post/place.

HashPeak - GPU mining hashrate peak detector
BTC: 1FLETCHvcUKosefrcZCLUQTtvx4WvgnYMC
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:01:40 PM
 #373

Quote
Ok I went from 323 to 362 using the internal update function.
It definitely gave me an "ERROR" in capital letters, but it was so fast that I could not read the rest.
Afterwards, it asked if I want to take smartcoin.db and I answered tf, for getting your db.

Although I thought that it won't work anymore, it just works like a charm. And since the update I have a rejected of 0.00 %. This is weird. Normally, after starting smartcoin, I got ~12 % rejected, falling slowly to 3.25%.
The issue with having to accept "mine" or "theirs" on files should be remedied in future updates.  I know it isn't exactly intuitive

It is possible to have no rejections at startup, though its rare.  If you're lucky enough that your work is not yet out of date when you start mining, then you can see this happen.  You should see this come back up to normal though with some time.

Quote
Suggestion: Merge all instructions into one post/place.
The instructions on page 1 and 4 are exactly the same. I normally update post 1, then copy/paste it into the post on page 4. I do it this way so that the information is available on the very first post of this thread, and the post where the beta release was announced.  Perhaps I'll just make a note in the post on page 4 that current instructions are to be found on the first post.

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
mono
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:04:40 PM
 #374

Perhaps I'll just make a note in the post on page 4 that current instructions are to be found on the first post.

That should be the best solution!

say thanks to 1KqrLfc8dksh5WTpAnf5cczLt6P8HEW25o
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:44:58 PM
 #375

Update to r367 available

- The Update/Patching system just got a pretty major update.  There are now "update breakpoints".  This means, that in some cases you will have to run a partial update, restart smartcoin, then run subsequent updates.  This allows me to be sure that smartcoin is restarted at key points between doing updates (in fact, r365 will be a partial update, after which you will need to restart smartcoin then update to r367)  A message will be displayed letting you know this, and in the future I will likely make a routine that restarts smartcoin for you, then goes back to continuing the update automatically.

- The stable/experimental update system goes live. By default, everyone is put into the stable updates. If you want to do experimental updates, go to 4) Edit Settings and change the "Development branch to follow" setting to 'experimental' after you've reached r367.
How future updates will work, is they will be available to the experimental people first. Once I can get a few reports back from them, then I will set a flag that will let the stable people grab the updates.


RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:02:44 PM
 #376

Dishwara:
It is possible that you saw donation mining because the current time happened to be somewhere between the randomly generated start time and starttime+donation_minutes.  You can verify this by going to 4)Edit Settings, and check the settings for "Hashpower donation minutes per day", and "Time to start hashpower donation each day".  These can also be changed to your liking, but the start time is randomly generated at install time and my best guess was just by pure chance, the donation cycle just happened to be during the time you were first running it. (This would be normal)

In fact, I would appreciate it if you could post both of those settings here, just so I can double-check that there is no issue.
[edit]
I think its likely that your donation minutes per day is set to 3030 instead of 30...  On install, its already defaultly filled out to 30, so if you typed '30' again without backspacing over the 30 that was already there, then it probably got stored as '3030', which would pretty much cause it to be in autoDonate all the time.  Can you confirm this in your settings entries?


Also, ragarding miners that hang. I used to have the problem, but started overclocking just a few mhz less and my miner hasn't hiccupped in over a month.  I would try to make sure that you're not being too aggressive on the overclocking, as it is a very likely cause of the hangs
I use default 30 minutes not 3030, also now i manually change timing to 535.
can you tell how the time is set?
I mean, is 535 means 5:35 AM & 1455 means 2:55 PM? or some other way.

I am using v350 so far, seems you have added many features. Have to try.

EDIT:
Find out about timing setting in 1st post.
BenD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 11:01:23 PM
 #377

I try to update from 362 to 370.
However I am stuck at the update breakpoint to 365. It says it will update to 365 now, succeeds, tells me to kill smartcoin and start it again. I will do, but printouts say it is still 362. When I start the update, it will again update from 362 to 365.

Edit: Just removed the whole directory and got it fresh from svn. I do not have to delete $HOME/.smartcoin/smartcoin.db?
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 12:00:29 AM
 #378

Are you sure you completely exited (shut down) smartcoin, and not just detached?


You shouldn't have to remove ~/.smartcoin in your case, there were no schema changes in between those versions, so you should be fine

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
BenD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 01:17:07 AM
 #379

Are you sure you completely exited (shut down) smartcoin, and not just detached?
Left it everytime with strg + a, "0" + "2" Enter.
No problem. Everything works fine with the freshly grabbed version (+ the "old" database from ~/.smartcoin) Smiley
mono
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 07:40:42 AM
 #380

Hi Jon.

Like BenD i have the same problem to update from r362 to r370

Code:
smartcoin Management System r362 Sa 9. Jul 09:31:22 CEST 2011
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your current version is r362.
Are you sure that you wish to perform an update?
y
Bring update script up to current...
U    /home/mono/smartcoin/smartcoin_update.sh
Aktualisiert zu Revision 370.

Preparing to do an Update...
Getting current revision...
Getting the current repo...
Getting the repo current revision number...
Checking stable update flag...
Update breakpoints have been detected! This means that you will have to run a partial update, restart smartcoin, then run an update again. You may have to repeat this several time to get fully up to date!
There are new experimental updates, but they aren't proven safe yet. Not updating.

Applying post update patches...
Applying r365 patch...
Update task complete.

Update is now complete!  You should now restart smartcoin. Please hit any key to continue.

Exited via 2)

Starting smartcoin again ... still r362

Code:
smartcoin Management System r362 Sa 9. Jul 09:32:35 CEST 2011
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) Reboot Computer
2) Kill smartcoin (exit)
3) Disconnect from smartcoin (leave running)
4) Edit Settings
5) Select Profile
6) Configure Miners
7) Configure Workers
8) Configure Profiles
9) Configure Devices
10) Configure Pools
11) Update Smartcoin
12) Set Failover Order

Next try to Update

Code:
smartcoin Management System r362 Sa 9. Jul 09:33:40 CEST 2011
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your current version is r362.
Are you sure that you wish to perform an update?
y
Bring update script up to current...
Revision 370.

Preparing to do an Update...
Getting current revision...
Getting the current repo...
Getting the repo current revision number...
Checking stable update flag...
Update breakpoints have been detected! This means that you will have to run a partial update, restart smartcoin, then run an update again. You may have to repeat this several time to get fully up to date!
There are new experimental updates, but they aren't proven safe yet. Not updating.

Applying post update patches...
Applying r365 patch...
Update task complete.

Update is now complete!  You should now restart smartcoin. Please hit any key to continue.

Logfile output:

Code:
mono@miner1:~$ cat .smartcoin/smartcoin.log
07/09/11 09:32:34 ******************* NEW SMARTCOIN SESSION STARTED *******************

07/09/11 09:32:34 Starting main smartcoin screen session...

07/09/11 09:32:34 Creating tab for each machine...

07/09/11 09:32:34 localhost

07/09/11 09:32:34 Starting status monitor for machine 1

07/09/11 09:32:34 NEW PROFILE DETECTED!

07/09/11 09:32:34 Switching from profile:  to profile: -3

07/09/11 09:32:34 Killing Miners....

07/09/11 09:32:37 Starting miner Miner.1!

07/09/11 09:32:37 Launching miner with launch string: python /home/mono/phoenix/phoenix.py -v -u http://USER:PASS@de.btcguild.com:8332/ device=1 worksize=128 vectors aggression=11 bfi_int fastloop=false -k phatk

07/09/11 09:32:39 Starting miner Miner.2!

07/09/11 09:32:39 Starting miner Miner.3!

07/09/11 09:32:39 Starting miner Miner.4!

07/09/11 09:32:39 Launching miner with launch string: python /home/mono/phoenix/phoenix.py -v -u http://USER:PASS@de.btcguild.com:8332/ device=4 worksize=128 vectors aggression=11 bfi_int fastloop=false -k phatk

07/09/11 09:32:40 Launching miner with launch string: python /home/mono/phoenix/phoenix.py -v -u http://USER:PASS@de.btcguild.com:8332/ device=2 worksize=128 vectors aggression=11 bfi_int fastloop=false -k phatk

07/09/11 09:32:41 Launching miner with launch string: python /home/mono/phoenix/phoenix.py -v -u http://USER:PASS@de.btcguild.com:8332/ device=3 worksize=128 vectors aggression=11 bfi_int fastloop=false -k phatk

07/09/11 09:33:40 Update option selected

07/09/11 09:33:44 Preparing to do an Update...

07/09/11 09:33:51 There are new experimental updates, but they aren't proven safe yet. Not updating.

07/09/11 09:33:51 Applying post update patches...

07/09/11 09:33:51 No patches to apply to r363

07/09/11 09:33:51 No patches to apply to r364

07/09/11 09:33:51 Applying r365 patch...

07/09/11 09:33:51 Update task complete.

07/09/11 09:34:10 Exit option selected

07/09/11 09:34:10 Killing Miners....

Still r362  Huh

Or do i have to change to the experimental branch?

say thanks to 1KqrLfc8dksh5WTpAnf5cczLt6P8HEW25o
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!