Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 08:14:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 [182] 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3011260 times)
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 11:34:33 PM
 #3621

if you dont have the money to risk, then dont risk it.

why is this so hard? i make good money and im willing to risk a portion of it....

ok, i 'll not starve to death if it turns in a bad investment but i don't have disposable money to waste either

everybody tries to find out the best trustable seller.
maybe some don't need to think a lot about it, lucky ppl  Smiley

lol no i understand, but this whole bitcoin thing is based on risk so it gets annoying when people bitch and complain all day about this stuff. just go to work then! lol

It's not risk it's greed, there is this mindset, that if you don't get in early you wont make as much profit, that makes people borrow and pay interest for months and months for an order that is not delivered. Crazy logic, as the only think that makes the mining difficulty rise so quickly is greedy people that want to get in first, it's self perpetuating. That's no way to run a long term investment, but I guess people wouldn't be interested in mining bitcoins if they actually knew how to invest Smiley




1511338440
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511338440

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511338440
Reply with quote  #2

1511338440
Report to moderator
1511338440
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511338440

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511338440
Reply with quote  #2

1511338440
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
androz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


Crypto-ideologist


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 12:02:34 AM
 #3622


It's not risk it's greed

erk, u r waiting for more reliable data for place an order to knc or u don't plan to do it at all?

do u know if thay have refound option in case of delayed delivery?

nightengale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 02:07:53 AM
 #3623

Now that is an update:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=192916.msg2722887#msg2722887

Glad I chose to be involved in Steamboat's project in addition to KnC's. I'm hoping as time goes on, they will be this open as well.
Anenome5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 03:10:17 AM
 #3624

What the hell does this question mean?Huh   What???  Fire risk???  Please explain..



I ordered a KnC Jupiter a while back. One thing I've been thinking abut recently: Are these miners likely to be safe to leave unattended? I mean....I do need to leave the house once in a while. I wouldn't want to come back from shopping to find my house has burnt down. Unattendance recommendations?

If they are certified they will be. If not, you takes your chances.


its an electronic, it has a fire risk. whats to explain?

just common sense as with most electrical products..
eg. don't place news paper on top of unit.
     don't block air vents and/or fans
     don't let kids near them.

I think they better include a user manual stating risks and proper use of product
just to be on the safe side.

I hope they will be properly certified "CE". So at least if the house burns down, the insurance covers it.

Just buy a modern power supply. They don't ship with a power supply, you know.

Democracy is the original 51% attack.
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 10:01:18 AM
 #3625

Now that is an update:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=192916.msg2722887#msg2722887

Glad I chose to be involved in Steamboat's project in addition to KnC's. I'm hoping as time goes on, they will be this open as well.

Yup, that's an update.

At least kano is kindly giving us some useful info.

Quote from: kano
They then stated they'd be sending (in July) mock up devices (with an internal RPi) for us to work with on cgminer

We are very close to see if the first deadlines are met.

rizzman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 07:19:12 PM
 #3626

who cares about that...not me, it's about end user performance & efficiency, period.
By that I mean: He with the most efficient machine will be the last man standing.

The why you should care is because low chip yields = fewer chips = slower production = delays in getting to customers.

You can have the most efficient design in the world, but if you cannot reliably produce it or make enough to sell in any significant quantity, it's worthless.
+1

This is the biggest threat to the project - but I think they have to see this coming. Perhaps by the time they release the chip info, we will have an update and that will reflect a last minute change on the chip design. Nothing wrong with changing the design, as long as it is feasible to get it out within the timeline specified.

Good explanation btw.
merv77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 07:34:40 PM
 #3627

if anyone wanting to know when miners are shipped if paid for today...

I don't think it will last long if deciding to buy or not to buy..

crazyearner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 07:38:14 PM
 #3628

SO has their been any updates from the op and maker of knc miner as its gone very quite here.

blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 07:44:11 PM
 #3629

SO has their been any updates from the op and maker of knc miner as its gone very quite here.

kncminer.com , news section..

Its also holidays in sweden.

Psst.. Got Ether?
cet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 07:50:53 PM
 #3630

One of my big concerns with the Jupiter is the power consumption.  1000 watts constant usage is okay if your only running one machine, but if you start running 5 or 6 of them then your going to have to look at putting them on different electrical circuits.  I'm really hoping that the power requirements are significantly lower than what they've quoted so far.

/cet
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 07:54:23 PM
 #3631

One of my big concerns with the Jupiter is the power consumption.  1000 watts constant usage is okay if your only running one machine, but if you start running 5 or 6 of them then your going to have to look at putting them on different electrical circuits.  I'm really hoping that the power requirements are significantly lower than what they've quoted so far.

/cet


It's the lowest out there, one device is not going to overload your household power circuit, but of course adding multiple of anything eventually will, if it's an issue you cant deal with, then don't be so greedy, order what you can manage, or simply find another hobby. There is also the opportunity to pay someone who knows what they are doing to host the miners for you as mentioned on the KNCminer website.


merv77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 08:23:52 PM
 #3632

One of my big concerns with the Jupiter is the power consumption.  1000 watts constant usage is okay if your only running one machine, but if you start running 5 or 6 of them then your going to have to look at putting them on different electrical circuits.  I'm really hoping that the power requirements are significantly lower than what they've quoted so far.

/cet

It's the lowest out there, one device is not going to overload your household power circuit, but of course adding multiple of anything eventually will, if it's an issue you cant deal with, then don't be so greedy, order what you can manage, or simply find another hobby. There is also the opportunity to pay someone who knows what they are doing to host the miners for you as mentioned on the KNCminer website.
the safest option would be call an electrician to install a larger dedicated circuit breaker just for the miners.
just like you would when installing a large air-conditioner.

in Australia we have 240v 16 Amp circuits as standard wall outlet. I wouldn't put more than 3 on one circuit and probably safer to not go over 2 if other appliances use the same circuit, especially heaters/air-cons basically high wattage appliances.

In USA it would be different, but if your outlets are rated at 120v 20 Amp circuits, then 2 Jupiters would be max per circuit and no high wattage appliances on same circuit.
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 08:30:54 PM
 #3633

One of my big concerns with the Jupiter is the power consumption.  1000 watts constant usage is okay if your only running one machine, but if you start running 5 or 6 of them then your going to have to look at putting them on different electrical circuits.  I'm really hoping that the power requirements are significantly lower than what they've quoted so far.

/cet

It's the lowest out there, one device is not going to overload your household power circuit, but of course adding multiple of anything eventually will, if it's an issue you cant deal with, then don't be so greedy, order what you can manage, or simply find another hobby. There is also the opportunity to pay someone who knows what they are doing to host the miners for you as mentioned on the KNCminer website.
the safest option would be call an electrician to install a larger dedicated circuit breaker just for the miners.
just like you would when installing a large air-conditioner.

in Australia we have 240v 16 Amp circuits as standard wall outlet. I wouldn't put more than 3 on one circuit and probably safer to not go over 2 if other appliances use the same circuit, especially heaters/air-cons basically high wattage appliances.

In USA it would be different, but if your outlets are rated at 120v 20 Amp circuits, then 2 Jupiters would be max per circuit and no high wattage appliances on same circuit.


The trouble is that the miners are not certified, as they don't need to be when they are shipped without a power supply, but the second you put a power supply in it, the miner does need to be certified! There goes your insurance claim if something goes wrong.  I don't think people who are uncomfortable with managing electrical safely should be hosting these devices. Without insurance cover, you need to know what you are doing.

cet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 08:45:56 PM
 #3634


the safest option would be call an electrician to install a larger dedicated circuit breaker just for the miners.
just like you would when installing a large air-conditioner.

in Australia we have 240v 16 Amp circuits as standard wall outlet. I wouldn't put more than 3 on one circuit and probably safer to not go over 2 if other appliances use the same circuit, especially heaters/air-cons basically high wattage appliances.

In USA it would be different, but if your outlets are rated at 120v 20 Amp circuits, then 2 Jupiters would be max per circuit and no high wattage appliances on same circuit.


Typical American residential circuit shouldn't do much more that 1880 watts, so one miner per circuit.  That leaves plenty of margin, but your dreams of stacking these up 10-20 deep like asic block eruptors isn't going to happen.  Bummer.

/cet
nightengale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 08:51:57 PM
 #3635

Typical American residential circuit shouldn't do much more that 1880 watts, so one miner per circuit.  That leaves plenty of margin, but your dreams of stacking these up 10-20 deep like asic block eruptors isn't going to happen.  Bummer.

/cet

If you have enough money to be stacking these up like block eruptors, you have enough money to add a few breakers to your electrical box...     Grin
jmaccoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 09:02:42 PM
 #3636

One of my big concerns with the Jupiter is the power consumption.  1000 watts constant usage is okay if your only running one machine, but if you start running 5 or 6 of them then your going to have to look at putting them on different electrical circuits.  I'm really hoping that the power requirements are significantly lower than what they've quoted so far.

/cet


5 or six of them? In North America one per circuit will be the limit. Unless you plan on using your dryer outlet, still, that would be a limit of 4. Of course heat is going to be your bigger problem at this point...
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2013, 09:14:59 PM
 #3637

Can someone show me how to use my dryer outlet? I can't find a psu cable.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Mota
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 800


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 09:16:37 PM
 #3638

Can someone show me how to use my dryer outlet? I can't find a psu cable.
Is that a joke? If you are not an electrician, don't do that yourself. That is a high voltage output, not something for amateurs to work on...

Who wants to be a billionaire? Me!
You could help Wink 1Dvja1RFCqxdnYRgjTntwGvdCeUisU4xp
Silv0r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 09:20:23 PM
 #3639

Can someone show me how to use my dryer outlet? I can't find a psu cable.
Is that a joke? If you are not an electrician, don't do that yourself. That is a high voltage output, not something for amateurs to work on...

Don't do it. It is in fact low voltage (till 1000V AC / 1500V DC) but DON'T DO IT. You'll risk your life if something goes wrong. Or you will do a short, etc..

Mota
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 800


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 09:23:48 PM
 #3640

Can someone show me how to use my dryer outlet? I can't find a psu cable.
Is that a joke? If you are not an electrician, don't do that yourself. That is a high voltage output, not something for amateurs to work on...

Don't do it. It is in fact low voltage (till 1000V AC / 1500V DC) but DON'T DO IT. You'll risk your life if something goes wrong. Or you will do a short, etc..
Okay, it's "Starkstrom", dunno what that is in english Tongue still, call an electrician, it's not that expensive and you live afterwards...

Who wants to be a billionaire? Me!
You could help Wink 1Dvja1RFCqxdnYRgjTntwGvdCeUisU4xp
Pages: « 1 ... 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 [182] 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!