Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 05:33:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 [198] 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3012988 times)
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 02:59:41 AM
 #3941

So, has anyone noticed the dimensions? Looks like 20in x 16in x 8in is now stated on the Jupiter product page - that is a pretty drastic change from the originally stated 6in x 6in x 8in..


There is no way a 1000watt devices would have been 6in x 6in x 8in unless it was a fan heater, even then it's a bit small.
1511544836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544836
Reply with quote  #2

1511544836
Report to moderator
1511544836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544836
Reply with quote  #2

1511544836
Report to moderator
1511544836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544836
Reply with quote  #2

1511544836
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511544836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544836
Reply with quote  #2

1511544836
Report to moderator
1511544836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544836
Reply with quote  #2

1511544836
Report to moderator
1511544836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544836
Reply with quote  #2

1511544836
Report to moderator
jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 03:04:37 AM
 #3942

So, has anyone noticed the dimensions? Looks like 20in x 16in x 8in is now stated on the Jupiter product page - that is a pretty drastic change from the originally stated 6in x 6in x 8in..


There is no way a 1000watt devices would have been 6in x 6in x 8in unless it was a fan heater, even then it's a bit small.


Agreed. That said, it's still a _big_ bump in size, and I'm glad I noticed it as I'll need to reevaluate where I'm going to have room to put it.

BMCHAIN.io ..
  I C O   L I V E       U N T I L   O C T O B E R  10     
D I S C U S S  ◉  MONETIZE YOUR UTILITY  ◉  JOIN ICO
.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 03:12:40 AM
 #3943

*note disclaimer, I own no hardware (other than temporary stock), have no preorders and no affiliation*

Something is wrong here with this simulation. Its a side view of the board at the bottom, with package and chip slightly above, with a 4 heatpipe heatsink. The left, blue side is showing an ambient intake of 25C, exhausting at ~50C.

Now, look at the chip area; its deep oranges at best. Their own simulation is telling us the chip's heatspreader [not even the chip itself] is somewhere between 125-150C. I don't know a consumer grade chip that gets even close to these temps, nor materials creating using conventional techniques that would withstand 24/7 at these temperates.

Its hard to tell without a larger image but it looks like an auto scaled legend, so its reporting a spot temperature somewhere on the chip of 223C. I am not aware of the limitations of the exact simulations they ran, but if mine came back and showed that I would be weeing myself.

tldr: Either that simulation is made up, fake, wrong, set up horrifically - or the chips are running @150C+.

1l1l11ll1l
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
July 20, 2013, 03:19:16 AM
 #3944

Lots bigger than I expected.

That's what she said.

Sorry, I just couldn't let that one go  Grin
*groan*
  Cheesy

Aaaaaaand that's what she said after

           ▄▄█████████▄▄
       ▄████▀▀       ▀▀████▄
     ▄██▀▀               ▀▀██▄
    ██▀                    ████
   ██                     ███▀██
  ██                    ▄██▀   ██
 ██                    ▄██      ██
██▀                  ▄██▀      ▄███
██                  ▄██      ▄██▀██
██                 ██▀    ▄███▀  ██
██               ▄██▀   ▄██▀     ██
██▄             ▄██  ▄███▀      ▄██
 ██           ▄██▀ ▄██▀         ██
  ██         ▄██▄███▀          ██
   ██       █████▀            ██
    ██▄   ▄████▀            ▄██
     ▀██▄███▀            ▄▄██▀
       ▀████▄▄       ▄▄████▀
           ▀▀█████████▀▀
.L I V E T R E E   A D E P T TM.
Own the future of entertainment
The World's 1st Community-Powered,
Film, TV and Content Network  ★
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 04:17:18 AM
 #3945

Just received this update? Talking about March 2014? HUH? I thought these were to ship this year October? What's going on? So there will be three entire months other companies will be shipping miners and KNC will not be? That doesn't make sense. They need to understand they are also in competition with other mining companies. Not just themselves, right? I don't get it. You mean I could be waiting the entire winter months after paying months ago??? Damn, sounds like BFL all over again, no?

You're misreading it. Stop pannicking lol

They will stop shipping December-February. Which means that they will be shipping in September (or October).

"Meaning that once we have taken the difficulty up at the end of November we will not release any more hashing power for 3 months. "

Why would they release new products in March if they haven't shipping the original products? Tongue

Its quite the opposite of BFL. They actually have a roadmap laid out and plan on sticking to it as close as possible. They're not only predicting when they will ship, but when they plan on finishing their shipments and their future offerings. Its pretty reassuring. I'm glad my payment cleared.

Oh, ok. I'm sorry for not reading into correctly. I was thinking I would be sitting here all winter, having paid for my KNC miners a month ago or more and then not get anything until 2014. I guess I'm just being a little "glass is half full" on this because that's pretty much what happens around here with mining companies and how they operate. At least with the dealings I had.

Sorry for jumping the gun.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 04:19:23 AM
 #3946

Just received this update? Talking about March 2014? HUH? I thought these were to ship this year October? What's going on? So there will be three entire months other companies will be shipping miners and KNC will not be? That doesn't make sense. They need to understand they are also in competition with other mining companies. Not just themselves, right? I don't get it. You mean I could be waiting the entire winter months after paying months ago??? Damn, sounds like BFL all over again, no?

No, it means they have a shit load of integrity and give a damn about their customers achieving ROI.

Re-read, and don't panic! Wink

Yes but OTHER miner companies will still be selling and possibly SHIPPING out devices to customers while KNC sits out for a few months. I can see this being good if no one else was ever going to ship anything, but I'm pretty sure other companies will be shipping products out, no?


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 04:21:51 AM
 #3947

https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-24

That's great news for fans of KNC.  Meaning they will release a competitive product in Sept, sell it until the ROI drops and then design and release a new competitive product according to the network hash rate in 2014.   We all know these units will not be worth the current price in 6-8 months so what KNC is saying is really good for the customers.

Just remember to save enough BTC to get the next version and you will continue to thrive.

It also provides some information for non customers who feel it is too late to purchase.  You can save up and purchase a Gen2 device which should be profitable.  Just get in early next time.




It sounds like KNC is thinking they are the only ones making miners and will be the only ones shipping. Having them take a three month break without shipping is nice for them....but other companies will take advantage of that and use that against them, no?


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 04:40:02 AM
 #3948

So the main page says shipping October.  But if you go to purchase a product it says shipping September.  Which is it?
Unless they mean shipping September 31 which is equivalent to October 1  Huh

I was wondering the same thing but a closer look probably explains it:

Main page says:

Orders paid today will ship in October this year.

Details on product page for Jupiter and Saturn say:

Shipping begins in September

So they are confirming that shipping is suppose to start in September and given their current estimates if you ordered and paid today you would get it in October.

Their webpage says if you order today you WILL receive their miner on October. So for me, who paid over a month ago should receive my miner in September then, right? If someone can come along and order 30 days after me and get the same miner I ordered and get it just a few days after me I'll be pretty upset. Smiley


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 04:51:21 AM
 #3949

Ok, I'd love to upgrade my Saturn to a Jupiter but I'm afraid that would back me up and I would receive my unit later then if I didn't upgrade. Anyone know the answer to that? If you buy the upgrade are you in anyway screwing yourself possibly getting your miner later then sooner?


Also, I live in the US and I'm concerned about what kind of power supply to get. I'd really like to be prepared for this and have my power supply purchased already and/or any special electric lines I need to run in my home. Since the Saturn is only 500 watts, I doubt I need to run any high powered electric lines, but will I be able to use a regular US purchased computer power supply?
SEASONIC power supplies are the best and I plan to buy one of them and use my APC UPS also for  a little extra protection.

Any technical info on stuff like that or too early yet?




Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
dhenson
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994



View Profile
July 20, 2013, 04:55:26 AM
 #3950

opentoe, the last 5 posts are from you.  It's possible that you may wound a little too tight for the pre-order ASIC mining game.

just my 2c

Orders placed now will be shipped in October.  If you ordered in the first week or two then you will get yours in September.

Don't buy a Power Supply yet as the final specs aren't yet known.  They have specifically said they will consume LESS than 1000W and have told those planning on purchasing 1200W power supplies not to purchase until the final specs are published.

As for the pause in shipment, this is a VERY good thing for us.  KnC has the highest capacity to produce mining hardware at the moment, the less they produce after we receive our equipment, the faster we will gain ROI and turn a profit.

The only other thing I can say is calm down, buy a puppy or something.
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 05:12:04 AM
 #3951

opentoe, the last 5 posts are from you.  It's possible that you may wound a little too tight for the pre-order ASIC mining game.

just my 2c

Orders placed now will be shipped in October.  If you ordered in the first week or two then you will get yours in September.

Don't buy a Power Supply yet as the final specs aren't yet known.  They have specifically said they will consume LESS than 1000W and have told those planning on purchasing 1200W power supplies not to purchase until the final specs are published.

As for the pause in shipment, this is a VERY good thing for us.  KnC has the highest capacity to produce mining hardware at the moment, the less they produce after we receive our equipment, the faster we will gain ROI and turn a profit.

The only other thing I can say is calm down, buy a puppy or something.

What capacity? How many units did they ship so far?

dhenson
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994



View Profile
July 20, 2013, 05:15:35 AM
 #3952

What capacity? How many units did they ship so far?

So, by your insinuation I take it that you don't believe they will produce at least 1000TH in 2013?  If they continued to produce, that number would at least double.  I honestly don't understand your point.
dwdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


- - -Caveat Aleo- - -


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 05:27:10 AM
 #3953

I think he means until they actually produce and ship an ASIC miner we dont know what or when their "capacity" will be. Will they be like Avalon or BFL, or something else we haven't seen?
robix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 360


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 07:08:17 AM
 #3954

*note disclaimer, I own no hardware (other than temporary stock), have no preorders and no affiliation*

Something is wrong here with this simulation. Its a side view of the board at the bottom, with package and chip slightly above, with a 4 heatpipe heatsink. The left, blue side is showing an ambient intake of 25C, exhausting at ~50C.

Now, look at the chip area; its deep oranges at best. Their own simulation is telling us the chip's heatspreader [not even the chip itself] is somewhere between 125-150C. I don't know a consumer grade chip that gets even close to these temps, nor materials creating using conventional techniques that would withstand 24/7 at these temperates.

Its hard to tell without a larger image but it looks like an auto scaled legend, so its reporting a spot temperature somewhere on the chip of 223C. I am not aware of the limitations of the exact simulations they ran, but if mine came back and showed that I would be weeing myself.

tldr: Either that simulation is made up, fake, wrong, set up horrifically - or the chips are running @150C+.

That's right imho. Any experts here to comment on that?

@kncminer

Could you clarify please?
Anenome5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 20, 2013, 07:24:04 AM
 #3955

Might it be worst-case, maximum-overclock, and possibly ignoring the function of the heat-pipes entirely.

Democracy is the original 51% attack.
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 07:30:41 AM
 #3956

*note disclaimer, I own no hardware (other than temporary stock), have no preorders and no affiliation*

Something is wrong here with this simulation. Its a side view of the board at the bottom, with package and chip slightly above, with a 4 heatpipe heatsink. The left, blue side is showing an ambient intake of 25C, exhausting at ~50C.

Now, look at the chip area; its deep oranges at best. Their own simulation is telling us the chip's heatspreader [not even the chip itself] is somewhere between 125-150C. I don't know a consumer grade chip that gets even close to these temps, nor materials creating using conventional techniques that would withstand 24/7 at these temperates.

Its hard to tell without a larger image but it looks like an auto scaled legend, so its reporting a spot temperature somewhere on the chip of 223C. I am not aware of the limitations of the exact simulations they ran, but if mine came back and showed that I would be weeing myself.

tldr: Either that simulation is made up, fake, wrong, set up horrifically - or the chips are running @150C+.

That's right imho. Any experts here to comment on that?

@kncminer

Could you clarify please?
They could always use a Vapor Chamber heatsink if they need to, they can handle 300watts each, something like: http://www.radianheatsinks.com/VaporChamberTechnology.aspx

200watts for a single chip is high, but manageable if the package us large enough, which it looks like it might be.




mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 08:43:30 AM
 #3957

*note disclaimer, I own no hardware (other than temporary stock), have no preorders and no affiliation*

Something is wrong here with this simulation. Its a side view of the board at the bottom, with package and chip slightly above, with a 4 heatpipe heatsink. The left, blue side is showing an ambient intake of 25C, exhausting at ~50C.

Now, look at the chip area; its deep oranges at best. Their own simulation is telling us the chip's heatspreader [not even the chip itself] is somewhere between 125-150C. I don't know a consumer grade chip that gets even close to these temps, nor materials creating using conventional techniques that would withstand 24/7 at these temperates.

Its hard to tell without a larger image but it looks like an auto scaled legend, so its reporting a spot temperature somewhere on the chip of 223C. I am not aware of the limitations of the exact simulations they ran, but if mine came back and showed that I would be weeing myself.

tldr: Either that simulation is made up, fake, wrong, set up horrifically - or the chips are running @150C+.


Exactly.  Even companies like AMD or Nvidia, with the best thermal engineers and ASIC designers on the planet, barely manage to approach 200-250W consumed by the GPU ASIC chip only (even then, a good 50W+ is consumed by the rest of the card, so the GPU ASIC itself is closer to 200W, not 250W).

KnCMiner is so ridiculously underestimating the complexity of their technical choices... There is absolutely no way they will ship a ~250W 100Gh/s chip (their claims) in October 2013. Mark my words.

It is mind-boggling to see the number of people who accept KnCMiner's claims of feasibility without blinking an eye.

KnCMiner will either spectacularly fail to deliver anything. Or they will have to underclock their chips and increase the number of chips per device to match their performance numbers per device (like BFL did with the Single SC).

titomane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
July 20, 2013, 08:45:11 AM
 #3958

*note disclaimer, I own no hardware (other than temporary stock), have no preorders and no affiliation*

Something is wrong here with this simulation. Its a side view of the board at the bottom, with package and chip slightly above, with a 4 heatpipe heatsink. The left, blue side is showing an ambient intake of 25C, exhausting at ~50C.

Now, look at the chip area; its deep oranges at best. Their own simulation is telling us the chip's heatspreader [not even the chip itself] is somewhere between 125-150C. I don't know a consumer grade chip that gets even close to these temps, nor materials creating using conventional techniques that would withstand 24/7 at these temperates.

Its hard to tell without a larger image but it looks like an auto scaled legend, so its reporting a spot temperature somewhere on the chip of 223C. I am not aware of the limitations of the exact simulations they ran, but if mine came back and showed that I would be weeing myself.

tldr: Either that simulation is made up, fake, wrong, set up horrifically - or the chips are running @150C+.

I think
223 isnt Centigrade are Fahrenheit .  

   223F are 106C.

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 08:49:48 AM
 #3959

F would explain it all though it's not the normal unit

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 08:50:34 AM
 #3960

I think
223 isnt Centigrade are Fahrenheit .  

   223F are 106C.

Nope. It is centigrade. Note the temperature of the input air: 25C, which is average room temperature. Who on earth would run a consumer device simulation with ambient temps of 25F/-4C ?!

If it was fahrenheit, KnCMiner would be telling us their device requires below zero ambient temperature Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 [198] 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!