Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:58:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 [122] 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2032330 times)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 11:12:07 PM
 #2421

p2pool runs it's own blockchain. that's why the shares are lower difficulty. this blockchain can also fork and orphan blocks, however all shares stale, orphan and "valid" are submitted to the real bitcoin chain and if one is accepted regardless of it's p2pool blockchain validity you get paid from the real bitcoin blockchain.

Get it now?

That helps.  So when my local p2pool is telling me I have x shares, are those from the real blockchain, or the p2pool chain?

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 11:32:04 PM
 #2422


That helps.  So when my local p2pool is telling me I have x shares, are those from the real blockchain, or the p2pool chain?

M

Those are shares in the p2pool chain that could also be pieces of a valid bitcoin block.  The payout value is a guess of your proportional hash power for a block if it solved at that instant weighted by your number of recent shares.

gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 24, 2012, 09:50:15 AM
 #2423

Was just thinking about our bad luck and decided to write it down just in case (might give ideas to others and make my understanding of p2pool more clear).
Could a proportion of miners not submitting stales in some peculiar way explain it ?
Are all stales both counted for the total pool hashrate and used as potential blocks if possible ?
Is it possible that some configuration (miner software + p2pool) could both make a potential-block stale share been thrown away (miner might consider it stale or p2pool) and at the same time broadcast other stales that are used to compute the total hashrate ?

We thought of an attack (were some miners could deliberately withheld blocks) but I don't see other ways that either an overvalued hashrate (?) or blocks being ignored. How is the hashrate computed anyway (I suppose you have to count stale and valid p2pool shares, are stales broadcasted to all nodes ?) ?

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
May 24, 2012, 01:32:17 PM
 #2424

The problem most likely lies in the overhead of p2pool. The shares in the p2pool blockchain have data added, the current miners and shares and payouts that have to be computed in as transactions and hidden in the bitcoin blockchain as an unknown transaction as well as all the current bitcoin blockchain transactions to be considered a valid share. the 10 second longpolls also mean that many created shares are rejected as late/stale and discarded especially for slower miners.
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 24, 2012, 06:04:19 PM
 #2425

The problem most likely lies in the overhead of p2pool. The shares in the p2pool blockchain have data added, the current miners and shares and payouts that have to be computed in as transactions and hidden in the bitcoin blockchain as an unknown transaction as well as all the current bitcoin blockchain transactions to be considered a valid share. the 10 second longpolls also mean that many created shares are rejected as late/stale and discarded especially for slower miners.
As long as the miner can hash without having to work on something that can't become a block, overhead isn't a noticeable problem (it can increase the chances of orphan blocks, but the overhead should reach a level where latencies are around 30 seconds to have a ~5% hit on our luck). Given a 10s share interval target, a 30s latency would be detected by insane levels of dead/orphan p2pool shares.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 01:20:43 PM
 #2426

I'm now running two p2pools locally, on two different machines.  I assume it's okay if both point to the same payout address?  Or is that going to confuse the network?

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
May 26, 2012, 02:42:37 PM
 #2427

I'm now running two p2pools locally, on two different machines.  I assume it's okay if both point to the same payout address?  Or is that going to confuse the network?

Yup, that is fine.  You may want to use different addresses to make it easier to track them, but you don't need to.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 09:16:38 PM
 #2428

I'm now running two p2pools locally, on two different machines.  I assume it's okay if both point to the same payout address?  Or is that going to confuse the network?
Not easier run one p2pool and point both miners to one machine?

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 09:22:16 PM
 #2429

I'm now running two p2pools locally, on two different machines.  I assume it's okay if both point to the same payout address?  Or is that going to confuse the network?
Not easier run one p2pool and point both miners to one machine?

My issue is cgminer likes sending a portion, somewhat small, but still a portion of my hashing to my backup server, which wasn't mine.  So I thought why not run p2pool somewhere else.. since I already have 3 machines running all the time, two of which have up to speed bitcoind running?  Seems to be working well, although I added my original backup server as #3 and cgminer still insists on sending some hash there.  Much smaller than before, but it's still sending it there.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 11:43:45 PM
 #2430

Run cgminer as failover only
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 01:03:22 AM
 #2431

Run cgminer as failover only

It is failover only.  That's the puzzling piece.  cgminer, sitting on the same PC as p2pool, sends anywhere from 5-20% of my traffic to the failover server.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2012, 02:01:19 AM
 #2432

My cgminer doesn't do that, even not set as fail over only.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 02:24:27 AM
 #2433

My cgminer doesn't do that, even not set as fail over only.

I'm using the latest version 2.4.1, on windows 7, and windows vista.  Both setup the same way, with one 7970, and both send work to the failover servers.  It did when there were 4 gpus on it too.  I attributed it to my local p2pool not being able to supply work fast enough.  It seems to be a little better now that I have two servers, and they are forced linked together (-n), and I got port forwarding finally working so I have more than 10 connections now on my main server.  (It dawned on me my dsl modem was probably doing it, and I was right.  Once I changed it to bridged, all the sudden I'm getting incoming connections.)  But both cgminers are still sending work to the backup.  Right now the backup is reporting 222m/h, and the third backup (p2pmining.com) is reporting 62m/h. 

I have about 3g/h thrown at it, which I didn't think was that much.

Only cgminer is doing it.  My other miner is using phoenix 1.7.5 through guiminer.

I'm half tempted to remove the backups in cgminer to force them all to go to the main server.  But that PC isn't as stable as I'd like it to be yet, I want backups.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2012, 02:30:01 AM
 #2434

try to temprarily use my p2pool and see if it still happens. I'm running on windows server 2k8 r2 x64.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 02:56:19 AM
 #2435

(It dawned on me my dsl modem was probably doing it, and I was right.  Once I changed it to bridged, all the sudden I'm getting incoming connections.) 
Do you have a separate router after the modem? If yes, then you are supposed to set the DSL modem to bridged, otherwise you lose lots of packets.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 07:02:32 AM
 #2436

Bridged means you are letting anyone on the internet at anything connected to the modem.
Non-bridged means you have to tell the modem to port forward (or set a DMZ - from a security level, effectively the same as being bridged)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 10:56:24 AM
 #2437

(It dawned on me my dsl modem was probably doing it, and I was right.  Once I changed it to bridged, all the sudden I'm getting incoming connections.) 
Do you have a separate router after the modem? If yes, then you are supposed to set the DSL modem to bridged, otherwise you lose lots of packets.

Didn't lose packets, I just couldn't forward anything from the router, because unsolicited incoming connections never got there to forward. Sad

Quote
Bridged means you are letting anyone on the internet at anything connected to the modem.
Non-bridged means you have to tell the modem to port forward (or set a DMZ - from a security level, effectively the same as being bridged)

When I initially got the modem years ago, I could not figure out how to get it working with bridged.  Not sure why, if it was on Verizon's side, or mine.  Ended up switching to DHCP, and everything worked.  Aside from port forwarding, try as I might, I couldn't get that to work.  Only recently did I realize it was either Verizon outright blocking everything, or my modem.  Fortunately it was the latter. Smiley

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
May 28, 2012, 07:17:04 AM
 #2438

As seemingly inappropriate as this is... I HATE ORPHANS!  Embarrassed
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Just along for the ride...


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 07:20:02 AM
 #2439

As seemingly inappropriate as this is... I HATE ORPHANS!  Embarrassed

shit - laughed so loud i woke the neighbors!

though, yea. agreement.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2012, 07:34:57 AM
 #2440

As seemingly inappropriate as this is... I HATE ORPHANS!  Embarrassed

Fucking Deepbit

Pages: « 1 ... 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 [122] 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!