Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:45:26 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 [267] 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2028761 times)
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 02:23:11 AM
 #5321

Hi, all:
I'm using p2pool with cgminer. local hashrate is 1Gh/s show in p2pool windows, but p2pool.info only show 600Mh/s for my address!? Is this a network delay?
Thank you.

it means you either haven't mined for a whole day, you've been unlucky, your efficiency is low

or some combo of those three

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
1480740326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740326
Reply with quote  #2

1480740326
Report to moderator
1480740326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740326
Reply with quote  #2

1480740326
Report to moderator
1480740326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740326
Reply with quote  #2

1480740326
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480740326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740326
Reply with quote  #2

1480740326
Report to moderator
1480740326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740326
Reply with quote  #2

1480740326
Report to moderator
1480740326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740326
Reply with quote  #2

1480740326
Report to moderator
supwang
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 03:05:48 AM
 #5322

it means you either haven't mined for a whole day, you've been unlucky, your efficiency is low

or some combo of those three

I mining for 7*24. Everything is fine before 2 days. I don't know what causes the hash rate reduce, does anyone have the same experience?
Thank you.
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 03:46:16 AM
 #5323

it means you either haven't mined for a whole day, you've been unlucky, your efficiency is low

or some combo of those three

I mining for 7*24. Everything is fine before 2 days. I don't know what causes the hash rate reduce, does anyone have the same experience?
Thank you.

p2pool.info isn't measuring your hash rate, it is estimating it from a random process.  Variations in that process lead to variations in the estimated hashrate.  p2pool.info has to rely on actual shares, so the variance there will be much higher than your local estimates, which are estimated from pseudoshares.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
supwang
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 05:30:03 AM
 #5324

p2pool.info isn't measuring your hash rate, it is estimating it from a random process.  Variations in that process lead to variations in the estimated hashrate.  p2pool.info has to rely on actual shares, so the variance there will be much higher than your local estimates, which are estimated from pseudoshares.

Thank you.
Does it mean if the accept rate do not reduce, the profit will not be changed?
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 477



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 01:33:18 PM
 #5325

Can someone explain to me why the jalapeño or ASIC in general wont work on p2pool.
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 01:50:33 PM
 #5326

Can someone explain to me why the jalapeño or ASIC in general wont work on p2pool.
What makes you think they won't?
At least Avalon as been reported to work with their latest firmware (I'm not sure about the efficiency or the exact configuration though).

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 02:06:17 PM
 #5327

What makes you think they won't?
At least Avalon as been reported to work with their latest firmware (I'm not sure about the efficiency or the exact configuration though).

Sorry, I've made several tests with an Avalon (latest firmware), it barely works for a few minutes, then either p2pool (latest git code) or the Avalon break.

I see a couple of users of p2pool with hash rates that appear to be an Avalon, but I don't know how they're able to make it work, if they're using an Avalon.

spiccioli
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 02:20:17 PM
 #5328

What makes you think they won't?
At least Avalon as been reported to work with their latest firmware (I'm not sure about the efficiency or the exact configuration though).

Sorry, I've made several tests with an Avalon (latest firmware), it barely works for a few minutes, then either p2pool (latest git code) or the Avalon break.

I see a couple of users of p2pool with hash rates that appear to be an Avalon, but I don't know how they're able to make it work, if they're using an Avalon.

spiccioli


I'm in the dark too: there has been progress but no final report. Even if there isn't a 100% efficient configuration, I'd welcome reports on settings and codebases (cgminer and p2pool) used to reach a stable level whatever the efficiency (just for the sake of documenting it in my guide for an easy reference).

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 04:27:11 PM
 #5329

Can someone explain to me why the jalapeño or ASIC in general wont work on p2pool.

If you scroll back through the thread you'll see that aseras also tried his avalon out to no avail, he describes the problems he had quite well....

It's a p2pool/stratum issue & needs to be addressed urgently......like, for the last 6 months or so....... Roll Eyes

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Searinox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100

Do you like fire? I'm full of it.


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 05:32:11 PM
 #5330

My p2pool mining has been having latency issues the past few days despite the wireless and WAN showing excellent latencies. I then went and did something someone said earlier and set blockmaxsize to 5000 in Qt and my latency's dropped to the lowest I've ever had. What are the risks in the long run for doing this?
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 05:37:19 PM
 #5331

What makes you think they won't?
At least Avalon as been reported to work with their latest firmware (I'm not sure about the efficiency or the exact configuration though).

Sorry, I've made several tests with an Avalon (latest firmware), it barely works for a few minutes, then either p2pool (latest git code) or the Avalon break.

I see a couple of users of p2pool with hash rates that appear to be an Avalon, but I don't know how they're able to make it work, if they're using an Avalon.

spiccioli


You have to use the "avalon" branch of P2Pool for Stratum to work.


My p2pool mining has been having latency issues the past few days despite the wireless and WAN showing excellent latencies. I then went and did something someone said earlier and set blockmaxsize to 5000 in Qt and my latency's dropped to the lowest I've ever had. What are the risks in the long run for doing this?

What kind of "latency issues" were you having? High "Bitcoin Getwork Latency" or low efficiency? The former doesn't matter too much.

The risk of doing that is that it isn't sustainable. Eventually, transaction fees will dominate the block reward, and you won't be taking them.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 05:59:49 PM
 #5332

What makes you think they won't?
At least Avalon as been reported to work with their latest firmware (I'm not sure about the efficiency or the exact configuration though).

Sorry, I've made several tests with an Avalon (latest firmware), it barely works for a few minutes, then either p2pool (latest git code) or the Avalon break.

I see a couple of users of p2pool with hash rates that appear to be an Avalon, but I don't know how they're able to make it work, if they're using an Avalon.

spiccioli


You have to use the "avalon" branch of P2Pool for Stratum to work.


Hi forrestv,

I did use the avalon branch but it made no difference.

And I have to use --fix-protocol on cgminer (so I'm not using stratum) otherwise the Avalon does not submit shares and hangs up after half a minute/a couple of minutes of "work"

ckolivas believes that there is some issue on the stratum implementation of p2pool and/or there are problems due to the low memory available on the Avalons.

Aseras was able to mine on p2pool but it was not using latest Avalon firmware which I'm using.

spiccioli
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 06:11:25 PM
 #5333

My p2pool mining has been having latency issues the past few days despite the wireless and WAN showing excellent latencies. I then went and did something someone said earlier and set blockmaxsize to 5000 in Qt and my latency's dropped to the lowest I've ever had. What are the risks in the long run for doing this?

I started getting latency issues after updating to 11.4 - I downgraded back to 11.3 and all was fine & dandy again. What version are you using?

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Searinox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100

Do you like fire? I'm full of it.


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:12:31 PM
 #5334

My p2pool mining has been having latency issues the past few days despite the wireless and WAN showing excellent latencies. I then went and did something someone said earlier and set blockmaxsize to 5000 in Qt and my latency's dropped to the lowest I've ever had. What are the risks in the long run for doing this?

I started getting latency issues after updating to 11.4 - I downgraded back to 11.3 and all was fine & dandy again. What version are you using?
I'm using 11.3 and I recommended that people use it just a few days ago in this thread. Nonetheless, I continued to have issues with latency even after that. I'm just concerned of it affecting my payout in other ways.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 06:14:10 PM
 #5335

What makes you think they won't?
At least Avalon as been reported to work with their latest firmware (I'm not sure about the efficiency or the exact configuration though).

Sorry, I've made several tests with an Avalon (latest firmware), it barely works for a few minutes, then either p2pool (latest git code) or the Avalon break.

I see a couple of users of p2pool with hash rates that appear to be an Avalon, but I don't know how they're able to make it work, if they're using an Avalon.

spiccioli


You have to use the "avalon" branch of P2Pool for Stratum to work.


Hi forrestv,

I did use the avalon branch but it made no difference.

And I have to use --fix-protocol on cgminer (so I'm not using stratum) otherwise the Avalon does not submit shares and hangs up after half a minute/a couple of minutes of "work"

ckolivas believes that there is some issue on the stratum implementation of p2pool and/or there are problems due to the low memory available on the Avalons.

Aseras was able to mine on p2pool but it was not using latest Avalon firmware which I'm using.

spiccioli


I believe ckolivas is correct. He pretty much knows his stuff.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
crunchy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:38:20 PM
 #5336

care to explain why skipping from block punishes anywhere from 1 to 20 times per skipped block ? wheres the logic in that.

It's not punishing you, it's punishing some other person who made a share when there was already a new Bitcoin block. The message being repeated doesn't really mean anything.


and how does this relate to the "current payout : x.xxxx LTC" going up (thats my share of TX fees i'm guessing) and when the punishes start => , all that my share had rissen just dissappears to the minimum possible. and the time to share follows likewise, starts to drop and then goes back up to were it was. just not letting me get ahead never, at 1 share or max 2 a day its not worth it

then it is my share that gets punished in effect no ? yes !

its what i am seeing in the console, things go well, the moment my share starts rising problems start , skipping from block, punishing and all that was gained is gone again. The way it looks is plain crap.
variable difficulty just means the pool is never running optimally, except for those at the handles. adjust settings to get more efficiency and the program WILL change things to make it less optimal.

thats what it looks like when running, not much logic to be found.


greetings


Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 08:07:38 PM
 #5337

it's strange , transactions do not arrive any more, but in the stats ip adress it say, 4 shares and a reward of 0.02 if a block is found now, but nothing on my wallet...

ok transactions arrived

hexed
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 09:52:11 PM
 #5338

Sorry if this has been explained before but many people in the past couple of pages have been saying they are getting 200..400..600MHash/s.  Is that correct?  I thought mining with a single video card would be producing KHash/s and not MHash/s like bitcoin.

Currently I have:

AMD 7970: ~600KHash/s
AMD 7870: ~350KHash/s
AMD 5870: ~350KHash/s.

Technically I am running ~1.3MHash/s now.. so I doubt someone with a AMD 7770 is getting 200MHash/s but maybe I am totally missing out.  Moved from bitcoin mining to Litecoin yesterday.  Started with notroll pool but realized they have major issues paying out but in less than a day I got 2 LTC which seems about right.

..and of course after checking the litecoin calculator I come up with ~470 LTC a day if you ran 200MHash/s.. so I'm 99.9999% sure everyone else is misspeaking. 
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 10:56:07 PM
 #5339

Sorry if this has been explained before but many people in the past couple of pages have been saying they are getting 200..400..600MHash/s.  Is that correct?  I thought mining with a single video card would be producing KHash/s and not MHash/s like bitcoin.

Where did you see Litecoin in the title of the thread? The subject is p2pool not bitcoin, litecoin, terracoin, ... mining with p2pool especialy.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
caish5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 324



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 12:51:18 AM
 #5340

This has probably been asked before but I can't find it anywhere.

If i set a -f 5 when i run p2pool, where does the 5% go and how often.
I've been mining with an address as user name and have been getting paid normally, but i'm lost as to where my fees might be.

Bitvolcano YAC, BBQ and WDC P2Pools at http://bitvolcano.com
Pages: « 1 ... 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 [267] 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!