Bitcoin Forum
June 07, 2020, 07:28:21 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 [270] 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 ... 814 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2587097 times)
Subo1977
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344
Merit: 250


Flixxo - Watch, Share, Earn!


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 04:01:00 PM
 #5381

As discussed in the previous few pages, there are clearly some stratum issues still to resolve, and scalability issues to cope with ASIC sized workloads. BFL are sending (?have sent) forrestv a 5GH unit which should help drive development of both of these.

Excellent. At last, it seems some progress is finally being made.   Grin

Which?  I Hope bugfixes for Stratum  Grin

X       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄██▀▀         ▀▀██▄
  ▄██▀              ▀██▄
 ▄██     ██▄▄          ██▄
▄██      █████▄▄        ██▄
██       ████████▄▄      ██
██       ███████████▄    ██
██       ██████████▀     ██
▀██      ███████▀       ██▀
 ▀██     ████▀         ██▀
  ▀██▄   █▀          ▄██▀
    ▀██▄▄         ▄▄██▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
.flixxo    X▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
████████████▀▀███████
█████▀████░░░░░░▄████
█████░░░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░██████
██████░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░▄████████
████▄▄░░░░▄▄██████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████████▀█▀██████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀████████
██████▄▄░░▄▄▄░░███████
████████░░███░░███████
████████░░░░░░▀███████
████████░░███▄░░██████
██████▀▀░░▀▀▀░░░██████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
█████████▄█▄██████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
X[[]]X
1591514901
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591514901

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591514901
Reply with quote  #2

1591514901
Report to moderator
1591514901
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591514901

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591514901
Reply with quote  #2

1591514901
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2013, 04:38:29 PM
 #5382

As discussed in the previous few pages, there are clearly some stratum issues still to resolve, and scalability issues to cope with ASIC sized workloads. BFL are sending (?have sent) forrestv a 5GH unit which should help drive development of both of these.

Excellent. At last, it seems some progress is finally being made.   Grin

Which?  I Hope bugfixes for Stratum  Grin

Exactly, that's the number one priority eh?  Wink

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
azw409
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:40:09 PM
 #5383

I've been mining on P2Pool for a week and I'm very impressed. I had a lot of problems with Phoenix originally but since switching to CGMiner all the stats are now good and I'm earning more than I ever did with 50BTC.

The only remaining issue is that the bitcoind getblocktemplate latency constantly increases over time in quite large jumps. It starts around 0.5s and creeps up slowly to around 2s then jumps to 10s and stays there.

Restarting everything: Bitcoin-qt, p2pool and CGMiner fixes it again but within 24 hours it'll be back up again.

Anybody have any ideas what could be going on ?

Thanks
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1000


Nogleg


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:47:53 PM
 #5384

I've been mining on P2Pool for a week and I'm very impressed. I had a lot of problems with Phoenix originally but since switching to CGMiner all the stats are now good and I'm earning more than I ever did with 50BTC.

The only remaining issue is that the bitcoind getblocktemplate latency constantly increases over time in quite large jumps. It starts around 0.5s and creeps up slowly to around 2s then jumps to 10s and stays there.

Restarting everything: Bitcoin-qt, p2pool and CGMiner fixes it again but within 24 hours it'll be back up again.

Anybody have any ideas what could be going on ?

Thanks

not sure about large jumps, but if your bitcoind is accepting transactions into memory that no pool will ever include then it'll gradually get slower

try bitcoind getmininginfo and see if it's much higher when it starts getting slow (or bitcoin-qt or whatever)

Searinox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


Do you like fire? I'm full of it.


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:50:47 PM
 #5385

I've been mining on P2Pool for a week and I'm very impressed. I had a lot of problems with Phoenix originally but since switching to CGMiner all the stats are now good and I'm earning more than I ever did with 50BTC.

The only remaining issue is that the bitcoind getblocktemplate latency constantly increases over time in quite large jumps. It starts around 0.5s and creeps up slowly to around 2s then jumps to 10s and stays there.

Restarting everything: Bitcoin-qt, p2pool and CGMiner fixes it again but within 24 hours it'll be back up again.

Anybody have any ideas what could be going on ?

Thanks
Version 11.4 introduced a bug where the latency creeps up over time. The only fix I found was reverting to 11.3 which is located here http://u.forre.st/u/drxlzowj/p2pool_win32_11.3.zip

Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1003


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 07:30:00 PM
 #5386

I'm having an issue with p2pool and my router. It's not a show-stopper but I was wondering if someone might have an idea what's going on or be able to work with me to work out what is going on.

Basically, anytime I turn on QOS, I appear to stop doing any useful work. cgminer trundles along, fans spin, heat generated, Unfortunately, it appears that that's all wasted. the debug output of p2pool says that it's punishing shares for being stale. On the pools graph page, the incoming part of peers and the p2p in on traffic rate drop to zero. For whatever reason, it looks like peers are no longer supplying me with useful information (?)

I've even set things so that p2pool and bitcoind are QOSed to the highest speed category just in case they were getting squashed that way but it still gives the same result.

I can leave QOS off for now but I'd like to get this working properly. I'm using Tomato so the configuration is fairly straightforward and easy. I'll post some pictures in a little bit for illustration. I can perform packet captures and other good stuff but I'm not up on the p2pool networking.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1000


Nogleg


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 09:25:40 PM
 #5387

I'm having an issue with p2pool and my router. It's not a show-stopper but I was wondering if someone might have an idea what's going on or be able to work with me to work out what is going on.

Basically, anytime I turn on QOS, I appear to stop doing any useful work. cgminer trundles along, fans spin, heat generated, Unfortunately, it appears that that's all wasted. the debug output of p2pool says that it's punishing shares for being stale. On the pools graph page, the incoming part of peers and the p2p in on traffic rate drop to zero. For whatever reason, it looks like peers are no longer supplying me with useful information (?)

I've even set things so that p2pool and bitcoind are QOSed to the highest speed category just in case they were getting squashed that way but it still gives the same result.

I can leave QOS off for now but I'd like to get this working properly. I'm using Tomato so the configuration is fairly straightforward and easy. I'll post some pictures in a little bit for illustration. I can perform packet captures and other good stuff but I'm not up on the p2pool networking.

the only thing i've ever used in windows that i've found did a proper job of managing bandwidth was netlimiter

K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1008


/dev/null


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 09:28:29 PM
 #5388

I'm having an issue with p2pool and my router. It's not a show-stopper but I was wondering if someone might have an idea what's going on or be able to work with me to work out what is going on.

Basically, anytime I turn on QOS, I appear to stop doing any useful work. cgminer trundles along, fans spin, heat generated, Unfortunately, it appears that that's all wasted. the debug output of p2pool says that it's punishing shares for being stale. On the pools graph page, the incoming part of peers and the p2p in on traffic rate drop to zero. For whatever reason, it looks like peers are no longer supplying me with useful information (?)

I've even set things so that p2pool and bitcoind are QOSed to the highest speed category just in case they were getting squashed that way but it still gives the same result.

I can leave QOS off for now but I'd like to get this working properly. I'm using Tomato so the configuration is fairly straightforward and easy. I'll post some pictures in a little bit for illustration. I can perform packet captures and other good stuff but I'm not up on the p2pool networking.

the only thing i've ever used in windows that i've found did a proper job of managing bandwidth was netlimiter
the only thing that did almost a proper job is "format c: -y"

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1000


Nogleg


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 10:26:24 PM
 #5389

I'm having an issue with p2pool and my router. It's not a show-stopper but I was wondering if someone might have an idea what's going on or be able to work with me to work out what is going on.

Basically, anytime I turn on QOS, I appear to stop doing any useful work. cgminer trundles along, fans spin, heat generated, Unfortunately, it appears that that's all wasted. the debug output of p2pool says that it's punishing shares for being stale. On the pools graph page, the incoming part of peers and the p2p in on traffic rate drop to zero. For whatever reason, it looks like peers are no longer supplying me with useful information (?)

I've even set things so that p2pool and bitcoind are QOSed to the highest speed category just in case they were getting squashed that way but it still gives the same result.

I can leave QOS off for now but I'd like to get this working properly. I'm using Tomato so the configuration is fairly straightforward and easy. I'll post some pictures in a little bit for illustration. I can perform packet captures and other good stuff but I'm not up on the p2pool networking.

the only thing i've ever used in windows that i've found did a proper job of managing bandwidth was netlimiter
the only thing that did almost a proper job is "format c: -y"

what, netlimiter?

why, because it installs some driver that you can disable on startup?

i don't get the big deal with it

Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1003


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 11:41:44 PM
 #5390

In case anyone isn't familiar with Tomato, it is a specialized Linux distribution that runs on certain hardware routers.

Other connections appear to occur with no issues (unless I goof the configuration) and if I look in the details, I can see connections between external hosts and my own on the bitcoind and p2pool ports. I can't think it would be anything about Python that would be causing the issue. Hard to see what about QOS would be an issue since it's basically just prioritizing packets. But there must be more to it.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1008


/dev/null


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 12:12:26 AM
 #5391

I'm having an issue with p2pool and my router. It's not a show-stopper but I was wondering if someone might have an idea what's going on or be able to work with me to work out what is going on.

Basically, anytime I turn on QOS, I appear to stop doing any useful work. cgminer trundles along, fans spin, heat generated, Unfortunately, it appears that that's all wasted. the debug output of p2pool says that it's punishing shares for being stale. On the pools graph page, the incoming part of peers and the p2p in on traffic rate drop to zero. For whatever reason, it looks like peers are no longer supplying me with useful information (?)

I've even set things so that p2pool and bitcoind are QOSed to the highest speed category just in case they were getting squashed that way but it still gives the same result.

I can leave QOS off for now but I'd like to get this working properly. I'm using Tomato so the configuration is fairly straightforward and easy. I'll post some pictures in a little bit for illustration. I can perform packet captures and other good stuff but I'm not up on the p2pool networking.

the only thing i've ever used in windows that i've found did a proper job of managing bandwidth was netlimiter
the only thing that did almost a proper job is "format c: -y"

what, netlimiter?

why, because it installs some driver that you can disable on startup?

i don't get the big deal with it
i said on win only "format c: -y" does work almost proper Wink

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 12:40:29 AM
 #5392

In case anyone isn't familiar with Tomato, it is a specialized Linux distribution that runs on certain hardware routers.

Other connections appear to occur with no issues (unless I goof the configuration) and if I look in the details, I can see connections between external hosts and my own on the bitcoind and p2pool ports. I can't think it would be anything about Python that would be causing the issue. Hard to see what about QOS would be an issue since it's basically just prioritizing packets. But there must be more to it.

Depends how Tomato handles QoS. You can block some traffic if you give higher priority and allow another to saturate your link. QoS isn't simple at all (you must define many compromises to make it work), if your tools make you think it is simple they probably do it wrong.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1000


Nogleg


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 05:04:59 AM
 #5393

I'm having an issue with p2pool and my router. It's not a show-stopper but I was wondering if someone might have an idea what's going on or be able to work with me to work out what is going on.

Basically, anytime I turn on QOS, I appear to stop doing any useful work. cgminer trundles along, fans spin, heat generated, Unfortunately, it appears that that's all wasted. the debug output of p2pool says that it's punishing shares for being stale. On the pools graph page, the incoming part of peers and the p2p in on traffic rate drop to zero. For whatever reason, it looks like peers are no longer supplying me with useful information (?)

I've even set things so that p2pool and bitcoind are QOSed to the highest speed category just in case they were getting squashed that way but it still gives the same result.

I can leave QOS off for now but I'd like to get this working properly. I'm using Tomato so the configuration is fairly straightforward and easy. I'll post some pictures in a little bit for illustration. I can perform packet captures and other good stuff but I'm not up on the p2pool networking.

the only thing i've ever used in windows that i've found did a proper job of managing bandwidth was netlimiter
the only thing that did almost a proper job is "format c: -y"

what, netlimiter?

why, because it installs some driver that you can disable on startup?

i don't get the big deal with it
i said on win only "format c: -y" does work almost proper Wink

oh, lots of netlimiter haters out there

but this is true

Xenotron
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 07:14:08 AM
 #5394

Is there any way to avoid high CPU load by bitcoin-qt? Also latency skyrocketing to 14s...
Tried 11.4 and it seems there is a memory leak. Now started 11.2 - will see.
azw409
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 08:57:28 AM
 #5395

The latency appears to be in bitcoin-qt because if I restart p2pool, the latency is still high > 10s on restart whereas if I restart both bitcoin-qt and p2pool the latency returns to around 0.5s.

So I'm not sure that using an earlier version of p2pool will have any bearing on this.

azw409
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 09:02:05 AM
 #5396

Maybe the issue with latency is nothing to do with the software but extremely large blocks :-

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=207790.0

Xenotron
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 09:18:30 AM
 #5397

Maybe the issue with latency is nothing to do with the software but extremely large blocks :-

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=207790.0
Nope. I have started to use blockmaxsize=5000 to see what will be changed. And so far there is no big difference.
bitcoin-qt continues to increase RAM consumption even when new block is found.
I can see on Graphs that when Bitcoin-qt releases occupied RAM then latency drops to its usual values.
Prattler
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 192
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 09:50:09 AM
Last edit: May 18, 2013, 11:27:07 AM by Prattler
 #5398

I can confirm the high getblocktemplate latency is bitcoind related.

1. Upgrade bitcoind to the latest possible version (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=201124.0)

2. With p2pool we are real miners and make our own blocks, so edit the important settings in your bitcoin.conf!
Code:
blockmaxsize=250000 # default: 250000

blockprioritysize=27000 # default: 27000

mintxfee=0.0002 # default: 0.0001

minrelaytxfee=0.0002 # default: 0.0001
Setting mintxfee and minrelaytxfee higher than default will increase your getblocktemplate latency. It's a matter of opinion, but I think those defaults are too low for the network, so, by increasing them a bit, you are also benefiting the network. I would personally recommend setting both to 0.0005.

Edit: what happens is that lots of free and low fee transactions accumulate on the mempool, which increases getblocktemplate latency, due to an algorithmic flaw of bitcoind's getblocktemplate. It might not matter for most pools, but p2pool is more dependant on this. Setting mintxfee/minrelaytxfee above default 0.0001 reduces the accumulation of mempool garbage. Restarting bitcoind also clears the mempool and helps for a short time.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 10:13:24 AM
Last edit: May 18, 2013, 10:28:28 AM by mdude77
 #5399

I can confirm the high getblocktemplate latency is bitcoind related.

1. Upgrade bitcoind to the latest possible version (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=201124.0)

2. With p2pool we are real miners and make our own blocks, so edit the important settings in your bitcoin.conf!
Code:
blockmaxsize=250000 # default: 250000

blockprioritysize=27000 # default: 27000

mintxfee=0.0002 # default: 0.0001

minrelaytxfee=0.0002 # default: 0.0001
Setting mintxfee and minrelaytxfee higher than default will increase your getblocktemplate latency. It's a matter of opinion, but I think those defaults are too low for the network, so, by increasing them a bit, you are also benefiting the network. I would personally recommend setting both to 0.0005.

Until bitcoind gets optimized, getblocktemplate just gets too slow with the default minrelaytxfee=0.0001.

Maybe this is hardware or environment related?  I'm still using default settings and latest p2pool.  My stale rate is always 10-15% less than the pool's rate.  Yes, according to p2pool my bitcoind latency is at 10s.  So what?

M

EDIT: I restarted bitcoind, it did significantly reduce getblocktemplate latency.  Don't see a big deal here, have to restart things regularly anyhow.  Just had to restart cgminer because it went funny on me.  Presumably hit the AMD driver time limit.

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
furball
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 11:06:48 AM
 #5400

I can confirm the high getblocktemplate latency is bitcoind related.

1. Upgrade bitcoind to the latest possible version (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=201124.0)

2. With p2pool we are real miners and make our own blocks, so edit the important settings in your bitcoin.conf!
Code:
blockmaxsize=250000 # default: 250000

blockprioritysize=27000 # default: 27000

mintxfee=0.0002 # default: 0.0001

minrelaytxfee=0.0002 # default: 0.0001
Setting mintxfee and minrelaytxfee higher than default will increase your getblocktemplate latency. It's a matter of opinion, but I think those defaults are too low for the network, so, by increasing them a bit, you are also benefiting the network. I would personally recommend setting both to 0.0005.

Until bitcoind gets optimized, getblocktemplate just gets too slow with the default minrelaytxfee=0.0001.

Maybe this is hardware or environment related?  I'm still using default settings and latest p2pool.  My stale rate is always 10-15% less than the pool's rate.  Yes, according to p2pool my bitcoind latency is at 10s.  So what?

M

EDIT: I restarted bitcoind, it did significantly reduce getblocktemplate latency.  Don't see a big deal here, have to restart things regularly anyhow.  Just had to restart cgminer because it went funny on me.  Presumably hit the AMD driver time limit.


I've been running with the blockmaxsize and mintxfee setting per above for the last 12 hours and it didn't seem to help. I just added in the blockprioritysize and minrelaytxfee settings and it looks to have made a huge difference.

Went from 5s latency to sub 1s.

Thanks so much Prattler...awesome post!
Pages: « 1 ... 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 [270] 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 ... 814 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!