Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:30:51 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 [278] 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2035565 times)
gnomicide
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
May 26, 2013, 04:33:19 PM
 #5541

I'm working on a mining interface which will interact with P2Pool, and following information on Stratum here: https://www.btcguild.com/new_protocol.php

Any idea why I'm getting the response:

{"error": {"message": "Service not found", "code": -32601, "data": null}, "jsonrpc": "2.0", "id": 1, "result": null}

when I POST to my p2pool instance:

http://x.x.x.x:yyyy

{"id": 1, "method": "mining.subscribe", "params": []}

method: getwork returns what I'm expecting. Do I have to somehow POST to the "stratum+tcp://..." URL instead? Or am I missing certain headers? (only have 'Content-Type' = 'application/json')

I can see the error's coming from jsonrpc.py:

Code:
for service_name in method.split('.')[:-1]:
  provider = getattr(provider, 'svc_' + service_name, None)
  if provider is None:
    raise Error_for_code(-32601)(u'Service not found')

but it should be able to find svc_mining, and then rpc_subscribe right after, and I can't tell why provider is coming back null.

(Unfortunately I don't know Python... just Ruby and C#)

LTC: LgSMcKLwgUD8DfdEbkpevFzZgS3DyzatpC
BTC: 1GhNDLgJnMNinaqU6qD6nSHmrUEzfgZT99
1481437851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437851
Reply with quote  #2

1481437851
Report to moderator
1481437851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437851
Reply with quote  #2

1481437851
Report to moderator
1481437851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437851
Reply with quote  #2

1481437851
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481437851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437851
Reply with quote  #2

1481437851
Report to moderator
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 26, 2013, 05:26:39 PM
 #5542

Preliminary report of my testing of recent bitcoind builds.

As nothing seemed to bother bitcoind since sipa's patch was included, I decided to test really permissive settings.

For the record here are the modifications I used:
Code:
blockmaxsize=1000000
blockminsize=400000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001

Result of "bitcoind getmininginfo":
Code:
{
    "blocks" : 238047,
    "currentblocksize" : 996888,
    "currentblocktx" : 1175,
    "difficulty" : 12153411.70977583,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "pooledtx" : 3059,
    "testnet" : false
}

According to blockchain info, there were 4026 unconfirmed tx (~19MB) when my memory pool had 3059 of them (pooledtx above).
The total of taxes in unconfirmed TX is currently above 25BTC (if a block could include all of them it would be worth twice the usual reward).

Getblocktemplate average latency is 0.3s. My efficiency is 112.5% at the moment after 24h of running a fresh P2Pool instance and bitcoind with these settings which is the average I'm used to (I didn't have a higher efficiency with smaller maxblocksize values with 0.8.1).

I could force higher getblocktemplate latency but I don't see the point: either p2pool code changed and this latency doesn't change efficiency as much as it did or the level where it starts to make efficiency worse is far above what a normal bitcoind configuration should be able to reach currently (0.3s was obtained with 2x the default max block size and 0.1x the default minimum fee limits).

One possible cause of low efficiency: if you don't have a very fast CPU, bitcoind <0.8.1 with the default configuration is eating 100% of one CPU core on each getblocktemplate call, this could slow your p2pool node enough to lower your efficiency.

I'll update the guide.

TL;DR;
My recommendation: upgrade to 0.8.2rc3 or git HEAD and then use the values above in your bitcoin.conf: it should raise the P2Pool payouts to ~26BTC/block (that's 4% more from fees) in the current situation.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
May 26, 2013, 07:08:12 PM
 #5543

I'm working on a mining interface which will interact with P2Pool, and following information on Stratum here: https://www.btcguild.com/new_protocol.php

Any idea why I'm getting the response:

{"error": {"message": "Service not found", "code": -32601, "data": null}, "jsonrpc": "2.0", "id": 1, "result": null}

when I POST to my p2pool instance:

http://x.x.x.x:yyyy

{"id": 1, "method": "mining.subscribe", "params": []}

method: getwork returns what I'm expecting. Do I have to somehow POST to the "stratum+tcp://..." URL instead? Or am I missing certain headers? (only have 'Content-Type' = 'application/json')

I can see the error's coming from jsonrpc.py:

Code:
for service_name in method.split('.')[:-1]:
  provider = getattr(provider, 'svc_' + service_name, None)
  if provider is None:
    raise Error_for_code(-32601)(u'Service not found')

but it should be able to find svc_mining, and then rpc_subscribe right after, and I can't tell why provider is coming back null.

(Unfortunately I don't know Python... just Ruby and C#)

Stratum doesn't use HTTP-based JSON-RPC. Instead, it uses a line-based JSON-RPC where you just send a \n-terminated lines. Connect to the port and then just send:
Code:
{"id": 1, "method": "mining.subscribe", "params": []}
and it'll work.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
gnomicide
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
May 26, 2013, 07:41:08 PM
 #5544

I'm working on a mining interface which will interact with P2Pool, and following information on Stratum here: https://www.btcguild.com/new_protocol.php

Any idea why I'm getting the response:

{"error": {"message": "Service not found", "code": -32601, "data": null}, "jsonrpc": "2.0", "id": 1, "result": null}

when I POST to my p2pool instance:

http://x.x.x.x:yyyy

{"id": 1, "method": "mining.subscribe", "params": []}

method: getwork returns what I'm expecting. Do I have to somehow POST to the "stratum+tcp://..." URL instead? Or am I missing certain headers? (only have 'Content-Type' = 'application/json')

I can see the error's coming from jsonrpc.py:

Code:
for service_name in method.split('.')[:-1]:
  provider = getattr(provider, 'svc_' + service_name, None)
  if provider is None:
    raise Error_for_code(-32601)(u'Service not found')

but it should be able to find svc_mining, and then rpc_subscribe right after, and I can't tell why provider is coming back null.

(Unfortunately I don't know Python... just Ruby and C#)

Stratum doesn't use HTTP-based JSON-RPC. Instead, it uses a line-based JSON-RPC where you just send a \n-terminated lines. Connect to the port and then just send:
Code:
{"id": 1, "method": "mining.subscribe", "params": []}
and it'll work.

Now getting back:

{"params": [13.07823061477393], "jsonrpc": "2.0", "method": "mining.set_difficulty", "id": 81758260}

That's one big hurdle passed, thanks a lot!

LTC: LgSMcKLwgUD8DfdEbkpevFzZgS3DyzatpC
BTC: 1GhNDLgJnMNinaqU6qD6nSHmrUEzfgZT99
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
May 26, 2013, 07:49:30 PM
 #5545

Why stratum mining proxy does not work with p2pool?  Embarrassed
Code:
$ python mining_proxy.py -o localhost -p 9332 -gp 5550 -sp 5551
2013-05-26 20:51:22,381 INFO proxy jobs.<module> # Using C extension for midstate speedup. Good!
2013-05-26 20:51:22,398 ERROR proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum host/port autodetection failed
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "mining_proxy.py", line 178, in main
    new_host = (yield utils.detect_stratum(args.host, args.port))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Twisted-13.0.0-py2.7-linux-x86_64.egg/twisted/internet/defer.py", line 1070, in _inlineCallbacks
    result = g.send(result)
  File "/home/pioruns/stratum-mining-proxy/mining_libs/utils.py", line 69, in detect_stratum
    header = f.response_headers.get('x-stratum', None)[0]
TypeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute '__getitem__'
2013-05-26 20:51:22,401 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum proxy version: 1.5.2
2013-05-26 20:51:22,408 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.test_update # Checking for updates...
2013-05-26 20:51:22,709 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Trying to connect to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:22,711 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:22,712 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:22,712 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-26 20:51:22,771 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-26 20:51:22,771 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # PROXY IS LISTENING ON ALL IPs ON PORT 5551 (stratum) AND 5550 (getwork)
2013-05-26 20:51:22,771 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-26 20:51:22,772 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-26 20:51:22,773 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:22,773 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:25,809 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:25,809 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:25,809 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-26 20:51:25,812 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-26 20:51:25,813 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:25,813 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:28,183 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:28,183 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:28,184 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-26 20:51:28,186 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-26 20:51:28,187 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:28,188 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:30,894 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:30,894 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:30,894 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-26 20:51:30,897 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-26 20:51:30,898 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:30,898 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
Keep disconnecting, mining not possible.
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
May 26, 2013, 08:52:44 PM
 #5546

Why stratum mining proxy does not work with p2pool?  Embarrassed
Code:
$ python mining_proxy.py -o localhost -p 9332 -gp 5550 -sp 5551
2013-05-26 20:51:22,381 INFO proxy jobs.<module> # Using C extension for midstate speedup. Good!
2013-05-26 20:51:22,398 ERROR proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum host/port autodetection failed
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "mining_proxy.py", line 178, in main
    new_host = (yield utils.detect_stratum(args.host, args.port))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Twisted-13.0.0-py2.7-linux-x86_64.egg/twisted/internet/defer.py", line 1070, in _inlineCallbacks
    result = g.send(result)
  File "/home/pioruns/stratum-mining-proxy/mining_libs/utils.py", line 69, in detect_stratum
    header = f.response_headers.get('x-stratum', None)[0]
TypeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute '__getitem__'
2013-05-26 20:51:22,401 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum proxy version: 1.5.2
2013-05-26 20:51:22,408 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.test_update # Checking for updates...
2013-05-26 20:51:22,709 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Trying to connect to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:22,711 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:22,712 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:22,712 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-26 20:51:22,771 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-26 20:51:22,771 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # PROXY IS LISTENING ON ALL IPs ON PORT 5551 (stratum) AND 5550 (getwork)
2013-05-26 20:51:22,771 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-26 20:51:22,772 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-26 20:51:22,773 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:22,773 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:25,809 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:25,809 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:25,809 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-26 20:51:25,812 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-26 20:51:25,813 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:25,813 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:28,183 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:28,183 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:28,184 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-26 20:51:28,186 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-26 20:51:28,187 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:28,188 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:30,894 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-26 20:51:30,894 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:30,894 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-26 20:51:30,897 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-26 20:51:30,898 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-26 20:51:30,898 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
Keep disconnecting, mining not possible.

Lenny, I was looking at stratum-mining-proxy just this morning and found the cause of this. You need to apply this patch to stratum to get it to work:
Code:
diff --git a/stratum/protocol.py b/stratum/protocol.py
index 02d9954..f64fce8 100644
--- a/stratum/protocol.py
+++ b/stratum/protocol.py
@@ -36,6 +36,7 @@ class RequestCounter(object):
                
 class Protocol(LineOnlyReceiver):
     delimiter = '\n'
+    MAX_LENGTH = 16384000
    
     def _get_id(self):
         self.request_id += 1
I'll get this in a pull request later.

EDIT: Pull request is here: https://github.com/slush0/stratum/pull/8

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
May 26, 2013, 09:15:56 PM
 #5547

Thanks.

How to apply it to my p2pool? I have only p2pool from git and stratum-mining-proxy from git.
iongchun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 12:35:41 AM
 #5548

Thanks.

How to apply it to my p2pool? I have only p2pool from git and stratum-mining-proxy from git.

Before forrestv's patch to stratum-mining-proxy is merged by slush,
maybe you can try forrestv's branch temporarily, ex.:
Code:
git clone https://github.com/forrestv/stratum.git stratum-forrestv
cd stratum-forrestv
git checkout maxlengthfix

Bitcoin: 1NFMpJUW7sTKmnVKj12MxhPvCvzAKQ5gUV
Namecoin: N5Tnt3JyMeizsoAFAZDr7CSxjzDtPSisK8
Mining with P2Pool. Graph. Blocks.
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 03:19:12 AM
 #5549

Thanks.

How to apply it to my p2pool? I have only p2pool from git and stratum-mining-proxy from git.
save the text above in a file and use patch(1)
basic linux stuff u should know Wink

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 04:54:11 AM
 #5550

Just to recap, is this now the recommended settings:

Code:
blockmaxsize=1000000
blockminsize=400000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001

And that's for bitcoin.conf right? And solo miners should/nt use this too?

I'm guessing this only works if my node finds the block so I hope if this is good, most people add this because it effects me.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 06:46:26 AM
 #5551

Just to recap, is this now the recommended settings:

Code:
blockmaxsize=1000000
blockminsize=400000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001

And that's for bitcoin.conf right? And solo miners should/nt use this too?

I'm guessing this only works if my node finds the block so I hope if this is good, most people add this because it effects me.
Keep in mind that your available bandwidth plays a big part here. People running p2pool on a crappy DSL connection probably won't be able to get away with 1MB blocks. 500KB might even be pushing it.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 08:03:03 AM
 #5552

Just to recap, is this now the recommended settings:

Code:
blockmaxsize=1000000
blockminsize=400000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001

And that's for bitcoin.conf right? And solo miners should/nt use this too?

I'm guessing this only works if my node finds the block so I hope if this is good, most people add this because it effects me.

blockminsize is 0 by default, i don't see why you'd want to change it unless there's some particular reason you want to reserve 400kb for (any) 0 fee transactions..  if you've been running bitcoind for more than a couple hours, i imagine all of your new blocks will start out at 400kb, as there are plenty of ppl sending free transactions out there trying to do double spends and what not

it does allow 27000 bytes of priority transactions, which are free.

the fees you have here are 1/10th of the default too, i dunno why you'd want to lower that

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 08:08:09 AM
 #5553

I believe in letting people use 0 fee transactions or lower fees. I've been in situations where I used the wrong fee and it took a long time to confirm.

I don't think there are many double spend attacks. Is there a place to see them?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 08:30:13 AM
 #5554

Thanks.

How to apply it to my p2pool? I have only p2pool from git and stratum-mining-proxy from git.
save the text above in a file and use patch(1)
basic linux stuff u should know Wink

I know, but there is nothing to patch here. This patch is for stratum server, which none of us are using.

Before forrestv's patch to stratum-mining-proxy is merged by slush,
maybe you can try forrestv's branch temporarily, ex.:
Code:
git clone https://github.com/forrestv/stratum.git stratum-forrestv
cd stratum-forrestv
git checkout maxlengthfix


Thanks, but this still doesnt' help us. How to merge stratum-forrestv with stratum-mining-proxy?
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 08:31:45 AM
 #5555

Thanks, but this still doesnt' help us. How to merge stratum-forrestv with stratum-mining-proxy?

stratum-mining-proxy uses the stratum package, which is somewhere on your computer if you're running stratum-mining-proxy, and is what the patch needs to be applied to.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 08:36:08 AM
 #5556

Why do you need a stratum proxy any way?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 09:16:09 AM
 #5557

Just to recap, is this now the recommended settings:

Code:
blockmaxsize=1000000
blockminsize=400000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001

And that's for bitcoin.conf right? And solo miners should/nt use this too?

I'm guessing this only works if my node finds the block so I hope if this is good, most people add this because it effects me.

blockminsize is 0 by default, i don't see why you'd want to change it unless there's some particular reason you want to reserve 400kb for (any) 0 fee transactions..  if you've been running bitcoind for more than a couple hours, i imagine all of your new blocks will start out at 400kb, as there are plenty of ppl sending free transactions out there trying to do double spends and what not

it does allow 27000 bytes of priority transactions, which are free.

the fees you have here are 1/10th of the default too, i dunno why you'd want to lower that

I removed the blockminsize vaue from my recommendations: using it is giving a free ride. It's more or less an individual decision: do you want to encourage fee-less transactions or not? This has nearly no impact on your income (as bitcoind will select the best combination of tx to maximize your income by default).

As I explained during my tests if you don't lower the mintxfee and minrelaytxfee in the current situation you can't even fill a 500kB block. If you want to maximize your income you have to lower them to include more transactions

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 09:19:37 AM
 #5558

Just to recap, is this now the recommended settings:

Code:
blockmaxsize=1000000
blockminsize=400000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001

And that's for bitcoin.conf right? And solo miners should/nt use this too?

I'm guessing this only works if my node finds the block so I hope if this is good, most people add this because it effects me.
Keep in mind that your available bandwidth plays a big part here. People running p2pool on a crappy DSL connection probably won't be able to get away with 1MB blocks. 500KB might even be pushing it.

I agree, this is addressed in the guide in my signature.
TL;DR: to minimize your bandwidth usage you can lower maxconnections (125 by default which is insanely high for a miner with typical home upload bandwidths) there are trade-offs described in the guide, but lowering it to be able to increase blocmaxsize is usually a win.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Subo1977
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 09:24:35 AM
 #5559

is three a list of found Block per P2pool-Node?

I think it's one thing of including the maximum TX Fees in a Block , but how great is the chance of finding a Block on my node and earn the Fee's?

in my situation it's make's a differenz of 20 % income with / Without Fees, but i havnt found a Block in the last. So its better for me to not include the Fees's and increase my Efficiency.




I provide a 1000Mbit+ Torrent-Seedbox in FR and a 500Mbit Box in NL for orginal Blockchain Bootstrap.dat download. and also for Armoryclient Torrent

Tips are welcome:  15MuGdPSXU62fEFE9XbBZN3UvJMHBDVBoy
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 09:26:13 AM
 #5560

Just to recap, is this now the recommended settings:

Code:
blockmaxsize=1000000
blockminsize=400000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001

And that's for bitcoin.conf right? And solo miners should/nt use this too?

I'm guessing this only works if my node finds the block so I hope if this is good, most people add this because it effects me.

That's for bitcoin.conf, yes.

blockminsize is a personnal choice (I left it out in the guide).
This works if your node finds a block, the minrelaytxfee might have a direct impact as it helps propagate fees that could be paid to you when someone else finds a block.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Pages: « 1 ... 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 [278] 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!