Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:04:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 [317] 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2034297 times)
Krellan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:46:52 AM
 #6321

Just upgraded p2pool from 13.1 to 13.2.

It's downloading the sharechain again now, and seemingly having a rough time of it: there's lots of Python exceptions all over the place, about connections lost.  My Internet connection is reasonably good, though, so unsure why it would be doing this (13.1 was fine).

What's the preferred way to upgrade from 13.1 to 13.2?  Is there a way to do it without losing the downloaded sharechain?  I just did a rough upgrade, unpacking a new directory and then running Python in there, as if I had never used p2pool before.

Also, what version is best to use?  The tarball release of 13.2 from github?  The master branch from github, cloned with "git clone"?
 
Thanks!
Josh

1JUZr4TZ5zuB4WdEv4mrhZMaM7yttpJvLG Smiley
1481339056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339056
Reply with quote  #2

1481339056
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481339056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339056
Reply with quote  #2

1481339056
Report to moderator
1481339056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339056
Reply with quote  #2

1481339056
Report to moderator
1481339056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339056
Reply with quote  #2

1481339056
Report to moderator
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:54:02 AM
 #6322

Just upgraded p2pool from 13.1 to 13.2.

It's downloading the sharechain again now, and seemingly having a rough time of it: there's lots of Python exceptions all over the place, about connections lost.  My Internet connection is reasonably good, though, so unsure why it would be doing this (13.1 was fine).

What's the preferred way to upgrade from 13.1 to 13.2?  Is there a way to do it without losing the downloaded sharechain?  I just did a rough upgrade, unpacking a new directory and then running Python in there, as if I had never used p2pool before.

Also, what version is best to use?  The tarball release of 13.2 from github?  The master branch from github, cloned with "git clone"?
 
Thanks!
Josh

When I upgrade, I usually unzip the new version into a new folder, move the data folder from the one to the new one, rename the old folder, then name the new folder the proper name (so my script still works).

As for the connections lost .. p2pool doesn't appear to be multithreaded.  When downloading the sharechain it gets bogged down in processing the shares that other things don't get processor power, so when it's done processing the shares, timeouts/errors pop up all over the place.

I always use the latest .zip from github.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Krellan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:55:32 AM
 #6323

This might be the wrong place to ask, but I'm wondering if anybody else has done this.

I don't want my port 9332 open to the world (p2pool Web stats and RPC interface).

I have a Web server on my machine, so tried to redirect it, so that this would work:

URL typed into browser of https://mysite.example.com/whatever/p2pool/ --> proxy to http://127.0.0.1:9332/ on the inside

Although I wanted to keep port 9332 closed from the outside world, I still want to be able to peek at it remotely, and so have added https and HTTP basic authentication to it (old style username/password) on my Web server's configuration.

This works, but unfortunately it's fooled by the JavaScript and HTML in the page, having lots of links to places like "/static" and "/local_stats" and such.

I know my Apache proxy is working, because I get p2pool's redirections, such as when you go to port 9332 without a location and it redirects you to the "/static" webpage: https://mysite.example.com/static

This doesn't work on my setup, because I need to have p2pool be under a path, not at the toplevel.

So, I tried the "mod_proxy_html" Apache module.  This seems to be failing to parse the HTML generated by p2pool, and rewriting it correctly, because then, after doing that, I no longer get toplevel redirects, but I get p2pool to tell me "No such resource/No such child resource".  This text is an error from p2pool, not my Web server, so I know that at least the proxy is getting through to p2pool and making the internal connection to port 9332 correctly.  However, something's getting garbled in my attempt to rewrite the HTML, so it's not getting forwarded to the correct URL, I think.  Unfortunately my debugging trail goes cold there, I have no visibility into the internal workings of mod_proxy_html unfortunately.

Has anybody else confronted this problem?

I wonder if it would be possible to rewrite the links in p2pool's Web interface to be relative, not absolute, paths?  Would there be a technical problem with this, or would it be a good improvement to have?

Thanks!
Josh

1JUZr4TZ5zuB4WdEv4mrhZMaM7yttpJvLG Smiley
Krellan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:59:09 AM
 #6324

When I upgrade, I usually unzip the new version into a new folder, move the data folder from the one to the new one, rename the old folder, then name the new folder the proper name (so my script still works).

As for the connections lost .. p2pool doesn't appear to be multithreaded.  When downloading the sharechain it gets bogged down in processing the shares that other things don't get processor power, so when it's done processing the shares, timeouts/errors pop up all over the place.

I always use the latest .zip from github.

Nice!

Is the "data" folder the only folder that should be copied from the old to the new, or are there more?  Does the p2pool program write to any files outside the "data" folder?  I should save a before-and-after copy so that I can compare and see what it changes.

Good news, it's settled down now, and starts to work.  It now sees the rest of the pool.  Thanks for letting me know that the timeouts/errors are normal when downloading the initial sharechain.

Josh

1JUZr4TZ5zuB4WdEv4mrhZMaM7yttpJvLG Smiley
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 02:15:25 AM
 #6325

This might be the wrong place to ask, but I'm wondering if anybody else has done this.

I don't want my port 9332 open to the world (p2pool Web stats and RPC interface).

I have a Web server on my machine, so tried to redirect it, so that this would work:

URL typed into browser of https://mysite.example.com/whatever/p2pool/ --> proxy to http://127.0.0.1:9332/ on the inside

Although I wanted to keep port 9332 closed from the outside world, I still want to be able to peek at it remotely, and so have added https and HTTP basic authentication to it (old style username/password) on my Web server's configuration.

This works, but unfortunately it's fooled by the JavaScript and HTML in the page, having lots of links to places like "/static" and "/local_stats" and such.

I know my Apache proxy is working, because I get p2pool's redirections, such as when you go to port 9332 without a location and it redirects you to the "/static" webpage: https://mysite.example.com/static

This doesn't work on my setup, because I need to have p2pool be under a path, not at the toplevel.

So, I tried the "mod_proxy_html" Apache module.  This seems to be failing to parse the HTML generated by p2pool, and rewriting it correctly, because then, after doing that, I no longer get toplevel redirects, but I get p2pool to tell me "No such resource/No such child resource".  This text is an error from p2pool, not my Web server, so I know that at least the proxy is getting through to p2pool and making the internal connection to port 9332 correctly.  However, something's getting garbled in my attempt to rewrite the HTML, so it's not getting forwarded to the correct URL, I think.  Unfortunately my debugging trail goes cold there, I have no visibility into the internal workings of mod_proxy_html unfortunately.

Has anybody else confronted this problem?

I wonder if it would be possible to rewrite the links in p2pool's Web interface to be relative, not absolute, paths?  Would there be a technical problem with this, or would it be a good improvement to have?

Thanks!
Josh

why running apache public instead of p2pool? thats like having a more secure system (p2pool) and replace it with somethin vulnerable (apache2)...

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 03:42:19 AM
 #6326

Just upgraded p2pool from 13.1 to 13.2.

It's downloading the sharechain again now, and seemingly having a rough time of it: there's lots of Python exceptions all over the place, about connections lost.  My Internet connection is reasonably good, though, so unsure why it would be doing this (13.1 was fine).

What's the preferred way to upgrade from 13.1 to 13.2?  Is there a way to do it without losing the downloaded sharechain?  I just did a rough upgrade, unpacking a new directory and then running Python in there, as if I had never used p2pool before.

Also, what version is best to use?  The tarball release of 13.2 from github?  The master branch from github, cloned with "git clone"?
 
Thanks!
Josh

best is github version
AtomSea
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


So sexy, it hurts.


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 05:52:37 AM
 #6327

My friend and I started a p2pool BTC node and every 65 minutes or so we get about 4 minutes of downtime.
See the graph here:
http://108.161.129.247:9332/static/

What could be causing these downspikes?

Thanks for the great idea/community everyone!

Smiley

1AtomSeaGScKNAv3ciFtc1oL1V1zPwdSAF
Blockchain publishing - Apertus.io
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 294



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 06:08:34 AM
 #6328

My friend and I started a p2pool BTC node and every 65 minutes or so we get about 4 minutes of downtime.
See the graph here:
http://108.161.129.247:9332/static/

What could be causing these downspikes?

Thanks for the great idea/community everyone!

Smiley

Check for cron jobs that fire at 15 past every hour, it could be that the server you are running it on is a bit underpowered in some way (most likely disk IO bandwidth) and it can't keep up.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 07:10:59 AM
 #6329

My friend and I started a p2pool BTC node and every 65 minutes or so we get about 4 minutes of downtime.
See the graph here:
http://108.161.129.247:9332/static/

What could be causing these downspikes?

Thanks for the great idea/community everyone!

Smiley

I would check also if your HDD haven't got any bad sectors. Check your system logs and scan your HDD.
embii
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 05:10:27 PM
 #6330

We nailed the problem.   Grin

We are prepping a completely virtual environment that will allow us to spin up multiple loadbalanced p2p nodes depending on load.
The problem was caused by virtual clock drift.  The system time was drifting approximately 5 minutes every hour which caused an automatic re sync of the time.  The time re sync appeared as a total drop in the charts when actually no drops were occurring.  We have corrected the time drift issue and are no longer seeing the drops.

Thanks for all your suggestions.

EMBTCII
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 06:55:23 PM
 #6331

someone decided to DDoS my server, so my 3ghash mining operation was offline for a few minutes, before redirecting to another pool

the network is saved

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
July 31, 2013, 11:12:54 AM
 #6332

Wow, 3.75 TH/s at the moment.  Good job p2pool!

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
July 31, 2013, 02:49:16 PM
 #6333

Wow, 3.75 TH/s at the moment.  Good job p2pool!
yeah, i like that too, thats because of 13.2 which is fully ASIC combatible. I hope everyone is running p2pool with a minimum of --give-author 0.1, Better 0.5! Forrest did a good job with version 13.2!

I run 2 Avalons on my public node very stable. ava.0 is a original batch#2 which is restarting from time to time but without huge hashrate impact and ava.1 is simply connected to a notebook.

If someone want to test p2pool with your ASIC befor making an own node, my public node is in my sig (100mbit)  Cheesy
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
August 01, 2013, 01:06:13 AM
 #6334

Is it ok to run cgminer using the --balance command with P2Pool + one non p2pool?

Trying to even out payouts a little more using this method, but it looks like P2Pool may be large enough to get rid of that serious variance here soon Cheesy

Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
August 01, 2013, 01:22:56 AM
 #6335

Is it ok to run cgminer using the --balance command with P2Pool + one non p2pool?

Trying to even out payouts a little more using this method, but it looks like P2Pool may be large enough to get rid of that serious variance here soon Cheesy
I wouldn't recommend it; p2pool basically uses its own separate block chain for shares. According to the third line in the cgminer readme:
Quote
Do not use on multiple block chains at the same time!

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
zarethernet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2013, 06:41:28 AM
 #6336

You need to run a proxy on STRATUM p2pool LTC, tell me what to do. That's after the launch.
To connect with the striatum is not possible.
Quote
python mining_proxy.py --pow-algo scrypt --host 127.0.0.1 --port 9327 --stratum-port 3333 --getwork-port 9999 --no-midstate --real-target --custom-user pool --custom-password x --verbose
2013-07-31 21:44:08,350 DEBUG stats logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,360 DEBUG protocol logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,360 DEBUG socket_transport logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,415 DEBUG proxy logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,415 DEBUG proxy logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,433 WARNING proxy jobs. # C extension for midstate not available. Using default implementation instead.
2013-07-31 21:44:08,433 DEBUG proxy logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,434 DEBUG proxy logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,435 DEBUG proxy logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,435 DEBUG proxy logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,436 DEBUG proxy logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,436 DEBUG proxy logger.get_logger # Logging initialized
2013-07-31 21:44:08,438 ERROR proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum host/port autodetection failed
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "mining_proxy.py", line 155, in main
new_host = (yield utils.detect_stratum(args.host, args.port))
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute '_parse'
2013-07-31 21:44:08,439 INFO proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum proxy version: 1.3.0
2013-07-31 21:44:08,439 INFO proxy mining_proxy.main # Trying to connect to Stratum pool at 127.0.0.1:9327
2013-07-31 21:44:08,440 INFO proxy mining_proxy.main # Setting PoW algo: scrypt
2013-07-31 21:44:08,441 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-07-31 21:44:08,441 DEBUG protocol protocol.connectionMade # Connected 127.0.0.1
2013-07-31 21:44:08,441 DEBUG protocol protocol.connectionMade # Resuming connection: []
2013-07-31 21:44:08,441 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at 127.0.0.1:9327
2013-07-31 21:44:08,441 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Authorizing custom user pool, password x
2013-07-31 21:44:08,442 DEBUG protocol protocol.writeJsonRequest # < {"params": ["pool", "x"], "id": 1, "method": "mining.authorize"}
2013-07-31 21:44:08,442 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-07-31 21:44:08,442 DEBUG protocol protocol.writeJsonRequest # < {"params": [], "id": 2, "method": "mining.subscribe"}
2013-07-31 21:44:08,461 DEBUG protocol protocol.lineReceived # > {u'result': None, u'jsonrpc': u'2.0', u'id': 1, u'error': None}
2013-07-31 21:44:08,461 DEBUG protocol protocol.lineReceived # > {u'result': [[u'mining.notify', u'ae6812eb4cd7735a302a8a9dd95cf71f'], u'', 2], u'jsonrpc': u'2.0', u'id': 2, u'error': None}
2013-07-31 21:44:08,464 INFO proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-07-31 21:44:08,464 INFO proxy mining_proxy.main # PROXY IS LISTENING ON ALL IPs ON PORT 3333 (stratum) AND 9999 (getwork)
2013-07-31 21:44:08,464 INFO proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-07-31 21:44:08,465 DEBUG protocol protocol.lineReceived # > {u'jsonrpc': u'2.0', u'params': [14.52613027417101], u'method': u'mining.set_difficulty', u'id': 940918514}
2013-07-31 21:44:08,465 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 14.5261302742
2013-07-31 21:44:08,465 DEBUG protocol protocol.writeJsonResponse # < {"error": null, "id": 940918514, "result": null}
/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/stratum-0.2.13-py2.6.egg/stratum/protocol.py:201: DeprecationWarning: Returning a value other than None from stratum.protocol.ClientProtocol.dataReceived is deprecated since Twisted 11.0.0.
return self.lineLengthExceeded(self._buffer)
2013-07-31 21:44:08,489 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at 127.0.0.1:9327
2013-07-31 21:44:08,489 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-07-31 21:44:08,489 DEBUG socket_transport socket_transport.clientConnectionLost # [Failure instance: Traceback (failure with no frames): : Connection to the other side was lost in a non-clean fashion.
]
2013-07-31 21:44:11,332 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-07-31 21:44:11,332 DEBUG protocol protocol.connectionMade # Connected 127.0.0.1
2013-07-31 21:44:11,332 DEBUG protocol protocol.connectionMade # Resuming connection: []
2013-07-31 21:44:11,332 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at 127.0.0.1:9327
2013-07-31 21:44:11,333 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Authorizing custom user pool, password x
2013-07-31 21:44:11,333 DEBUG protocol protocol.writeJsonRequest # < {"params": ["pool", "x"], "id": 1, "method": "mining.authorize"}
2013-07-31 21:44:11,333 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-07-31 21:44:11,333 DEBUG protocol protocol.writeJsonRequest # < {"params": [], "id": 2, "method": "mining.subscribe"}
2013-07-31 21:44:11,337 DEBUG protocol protocol.lineReceived # > {u'result': None, u'jsonrpc': u'2.0', u'id': 1, u'error': None}
2013-07-31 21:44:11,338 DEBUG protocol protocol.lineReceived # > {u'result': [[u'mining.notify', u'ae6812eb4cd7735a302a8a9dd95cf71f'], u'', 2], u'jsonrpc': u'2.0', u'id': 2, u'error': None}
2013-07-31 21:44:11,338 DEBUG protocol protocol.lineReceived # > {u'jsonrpc': u'2.0', u'params': [14.52613027417101], u'method': u'mining.set_difficulty', u'id': 512789334}
2013-07-31 21:44:11,339 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 14.5261302742
2013-07-31 21:44:11,339 DEBUG protocol protocol.writeJsonResponse # < {"error": null, "id": 512789334, "result": null}
2013-07-31 21:44:11,340 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_disconnect # Disconnected from Stratum pool at 127.0.0.1:9327
2013-07-31 21:44:11,340 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 0 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-07-31 21:44:11,340 DEBUG socket_transport socket_transport.clientConnectionLost # [Failure instance: Traceback (failure with no frames): : Connection to the other side was lost in a non-clean fashion.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
August 01, 2013, 07:46:49 AM
 #6337

You need to run a proxy on STRATUM p2pool LTC

No you don't.

To connect with the striatum is not possible.

Yes, it is.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
August 01, 2013, 10:55:26 AM
 #6338


If someone want to test p2pool with your ASIC befor making an own node, my public node is in my sig (100mbit)  Cheesy


Your little node is pretty impressive - those Avalons are certainly quick.  What are you running your node on?

My node is at http://847pool.no-ip.biz:9332/static/ - much less impressive, though it is only running on a Celeron 847 machine, and I only have a few GPUs and 3 Block Erupters mining.  Undecided
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
August 01, 2013, 12:06:06 PM
 #6339


If someone want to test p2pool with your ASIC befor making an own node, my public node is in my sig (100mbit)  Cheesy

Your little node is pretty impressive - those Avalons are certainly quick.  What are you running your node on?

Win7 64, i5, 16GB, p2pool and bitcoind is running from ramdisk. At the moment I try to optimize bitcoind, the getblocktemplate latency is to high and thats why I have many Dead shares. But it looks better and better  Cheesy

HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
August 01, 2013, 01:07:46 PM
 #6340


Win7 64, i5, 16GB, p2pool and bitcoind is running from ramdisk. At the moment I try to optimize bitcoind, the getblocktemplate latency is to high and thats why I have many Dead shares. But it looks better and better  Cheesy


I tried optimising mine, but ended up making it worse.  Now I just have bitcoind affinity to one CPU with "Above Normal" priority, and run_p2pool.exe to the other core with same priority.  Seems to be working OK considering it's a dual core 1.1GHz.  No other tweaks, I removed the custom block size and min/max transmittal settings.  Now it's up and down between 0.1 and 0.3s.

It's running on Windows 7 x64, 4GB RAM, 250GB Samsung 840 SSD.

I'm setting up another machine, which is an i3-2110 with 4GB RAM and 32GB SSD running Ubuntu 13.04, so I can return the Celeron to it's HTPC duties (it's in a fancy HTPC case). Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 [317] 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!