Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:15:53 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 [280] 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2032946 times)
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 08:47:32 AM
 #5581

if you eliminated the DOA's from the ASIC miner that has my pool as a backup, i have 501 shares, 12 orphans, and ~25-30 DOA (ed: more like 460-470 shares, 10-11 orphans, and ~25-30 DOA.  forgot to include the good ones too)

mining on my home connection nets me 0-1% DOA but 10%+ orphans.  i think it's due to 1) not being able to open that many connections (bandwidth), and 2) most of the hashing power being in europe and asia

anyway, for someone out there looking for a pool to mine at, the lowest latency one isnt necessarily the best.   i spent several days on my florida server (75ms latency) and ended up gonig back to germany, because the florida server's orphans >>> DOA on other server, even though it also had 50+ connections open.  like i said, i think that's probably due to all the nodes in europe, russia, china, etc

i imagine the default outgoing limit was set to such a small number w/ ppl like myself in mind (crap upstream from home connection), but with 10Mbit connection you should at least up that to 15 or so.   it looks like my average outgoing is around 200 KB/s with 70 connections, though on occasion it'll go > 500KB/s

i'm not that fond of incoming connections (due to all the messed up nodes that'll connect and disconnect + the nodes with 1000+ms latency), but if nobody accepted any incoming, then, well....   i set mine to 10 as a compromise.. it defaults to 40.   the --p2pool-node you put as additions don't count as outgoing connections towards your limit.    (i have 5 outgoing, 10 incoming, the rest are all from --p2pool-node)

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
1481235353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235353
Reply with quote  #2

1481235353
Report to moderator
1481235353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235353
Reply with quote  #2

1481235353
Report to moderator
1481235353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235353
Reply with quote  #2

1481235353
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481235353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235353
Reply with quote  #2

1481235353
Report to moderator
furball
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 10:39:24 AM
 #5582

Just to recap, is this now the recommended settings:

Code:
blockmaxsize=1000000
blockminsize=400000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001

And that's for bitcoin.conf right? And solo miners should/nt use this too?

I'm guessing this only works if my node finds the block so I hope if this is good, most people add this because it effects me.

That's for bitcoin.conf, yes.

blockminsize is a personnal choice (I left it out in the guide).
This works if your node finds a block, the minrelaytxfee might have a direct impact as it helps propagate fees that could be paid to you when someone else finds a block.

I've been testing some scenarios as well and found that for me, the txfees are very influential on the latency. I wanted to change to a bigger block size to hopefully make more on the pool but I found after that I had to tune the txfees to keep the latency low.

This is what I've settled on; this gives me circa 0.2s latency with an acceptable efficiency; maybe it will work for other people too.

blockprioritysize=27000
blockmaxsize=1000000
mintxfee=0.00007
minrelaytxfee=0.00007
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:29:42 AM
 #5583

I've been testing some scenarios as well and found that for me, the txfees are very influential on the latency. I wanted to change to a bigger block size to hopefully make more on the pool but I found after that I had to tune the txfees to keep the latency low.

This is what I've settled on; this gives me circa 0.2s latency with an acceptable efficiency; maybe it will work for other people too.

blockprioritysize=27000
blockmaxsize=1000000
mintxfee=0.00007
minrelaytxfee=0.00007

You are right: if there are enough tx to fill a block raising the minimum txfees avoids maintaining some that can't fit in the block in the memory pool which lowers your latency.

I raised mined from 0.00001 to 0.00002 and although my latency went from 0.25s to ~0.1s my efficiency wasn't raised noticeably (still ~105%). I believe that more and more P2Pool nodes are being setup correctly which makes everybody's efficiency converge towards 100% (which is fair and good).

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
ok
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 12:24:12 PM
 #5584

Thanks, but this still doesnt' help us. How to merge stratum-forrestv with stratum-mining-proxy?

stratum-mining-proxy uses the stratum package, which is somewhere on your computer if you're running stratum-mining-proxy, and is what the patch needs to be applied to.

Thank you! It works.
Now I successfully installed new stratum package and proxy is working, just look:
Code:
$ python mining_proxy.py -gp 5001 -sp 5002 -o localhost -p 9332
2013-05-27 10:22:17,862 INFO proxy jobs.<module> # Using C extension for midstate speedup. Good!
2013-05-27 10:22:17,871 ERROR proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum host/port autodetection failed
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "mining_proxy.py", line 178, in main
    new_host = (yield utils.detect_stratum(args.host, args.port))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Twisted-13.0.0-py2.7-linux-x86_64.egg/twisted/internet/defer.py", line 1070, in _inlineCallbacks
    result = g.send(result)
  File "/home/pioruns/stratum-mining-proxy/mining_libs/utils.py", line 69, in detect_stratum
    header = f.response_headers.get('x-stratum', None)[0]
TypeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute '__getitem__'
2013-05-27 10:22:17,871 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum proxy version: 1.5.2
2013-05-27 10:22:17,873 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.test_update # Checking for updates...
2013-05-27 10:22:18,265 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Trying to connect to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-27 10:22:18,303 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # PROXY IS LISTENING ON ALL IPs ON PORT 5002 (stratum) AND 5001 (getwork)
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:18,306 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 8850090419252557308580900352527982298 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True
2013-05-27 10:22:29,931 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:29,933 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 82294000856594409674845997521737547736 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True
2013-05-27 10:22:41,372 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:41,374 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 285117993302263092594898950693479724933 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True

Why do you need a stratum proxy any way?
Tomorrow (hopefully today if time permits) I will be testing BE Blade on this proxy Smiley

Hi there lenny, please let me know if you were successful with setting up you BE Blade with the stratum proxy on p2pool. Thx
FlappySocks
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 08:12:16 PM
 #5585

Anyone tried p2pool with shedskin or pypy to lighten the resources it uses?
PrintMule
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 08:27:21 PM
 #5586

Is there a point of me trying out my 600mh/swhile having quite weak upload speeds?



Do not want to go through all the hassle for nothing.
What rates are expected?

stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 10:59:11 PM
 #5587

can i use a remote bitcoind instead of running it in the same machine with the miners?

Or could i have bitcoind and p2pool on remote machine and miners to a local one ?
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:06:02 PM
 #5588

Thanks, but this still doesnt' help us. How to merge stratum-forrestv with stratum-mining-proxy?

stratum-mining-proxy uses the stratum package, which is somewhere on your computer if you're running stratum-mining-proxy, and is what the patch needs to be applied to.

Thank you! It works.
Now I successfully installed new stratum package and proxy is working, just look:
Code:
$ python mining_proxy.py -gp 5001 -sp 5002 -o localhost -p 9332
2013-05-27 10:22:17,862 INFO proxy jobs.<module> # Using C extension for midstate speedup. Good!
2013-05-27 10:22:17,871 ERROR proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum host/port autodetection failed
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "mining_proxy.py", line 178, in main
    new_host = (yield utils.detect_stratum(args.host, args.port))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Twisted-13.0.0-py2.7-linux-x86_64.egg/twisted/internet/defer.py", line 1070, in _inlineCallbacks
    result = g.send(result)
  File "/home/pioruns/stratum-mining-proxy/mining_libs/utils.py", line 69, in detect_stratum
    header = f.response_headers.get('x-stratum', None)[0]
TypeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute '__getitem__'
2013-05-27 10:22:17,871 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum proxy version: 1.5.2
2013-05-27 10:22:17,873 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.test_update # Checking for updates...
2013-05-27 10:22:18,265 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Trying to connect to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-27 10:22:18,303 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # PROXY IS LISTENING ON ALL IPs ON PORT 5002 (stratum) AND 5001 (getwork)
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:18,306 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 8850090419252557308580900352527982298 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True
2013-05-27 10:22:29,931 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:29,933 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 82294000856594409674845997521737547736 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True
2013-05-27 10:22:41,372 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:41,374 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 285117993302263092594898950693479724933 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True

Why do you need a stratum proxy any way?
Tomorrow (hopefully today if time permits) I will be testing BE Blade on this proxy Smiley

Hi there lenny, please let me know if you were successful with setting up you BE Blade with the stratum proxy on p2pool. Thx

Unfortunately, no success...
Blade just do not connect to stratum proxy on p2pool. There is not error message at all.
I would like really to have some developer in it, I can donate my Blade worktime to debug this.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:18:19 PM
 #5589

Unfortunately, no success...
Blade just do not connect to stratum proxy on p2pool. There is not error message at all.
I would like really to have some developer in it, I can donate my Blade worktime to debug this.

You know, I've tried using the stratum proxy on p2pool with normal GPUs.  It just doesn't work.  I don't think this is a blade thing.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:20:24 PM
 #5590

Is there a point of me trying out my 600mh/swhile having quite weak upload speeds?



Do not want to go through all the hassle for nothing.
What rates are expected?

I run my p2pool node hosted in a data centre and slightly under 2GH/s of miners on my ADSL link which has a 600-700kbps upstream speed.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:22:08 PM
 #5591

can i use a remote bitcoind instead of running it in the same machine with the miners?

Or could i have bitcoind and p2pool on remote machine and miners to a local one ?

Yes to both.

If you want to run p2pool on a different machine than bitcoind, then you need to configure bitcoind to listen on an IP address instead of loopback and then configured p2pool with the IP address. I've tried this over a LAN and it works - although I haven't tried it over the general Internet.

For the second question, this is the setup I have - bitcoind/p2pool in a data centre and miners at home.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:30:40 PM
 #5592

thanks daemondazz, i'm interested in the scheme you use. Any caveat i should have in mind? For example it would be wise to use a payout address not from the bitcoind, right?
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 11:36:02 PM
 #5593

right!

gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:41:55 PM
 #5594

Is there a point of me trying out my 600mh/swhile having quite weak upload speeds?



Do not want to go through all the hassle for nothing.
What rates are expected?

You probably can if you don't use your upload bandwidth for much else. Follow instructions in the guide in my signature, default settings would clog your upload pipe and give suboptimal results.

Edit: your ping time isn't bad (especially if it's not a ping with an host at your ISP) which is a good thing.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:44:09 PM
 #5595

thanks daemondazz, i'm interested in the scheme you use. Any caveat i should have in mind? For example it would be wise to use a payout address not from the bitcoind, right?

It's always a good idea. Your wallets shouldn't have a public IP address but P2Pool certainly should.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:50:12 PM
 #5596

can i use a remote bitcoind instead of running it in the same machine with the miners?

Or could i have bitcoind and p2pool on remote machine and miners to a local one ?

Yes to both.

If you want to run p2pool on a different machine than bitcoind, then you need to configure bitcoind to listen on an IP address instead of loopback and then configured p2pool with the IP address. I've tried this over a LAN and it works - although I haven't tried it over the general Internet.

For the second question, this is the setup I have - bitcoind/p2pool in a data centre and miners at home.

Your pool node (http://cryptominer.org) doesn't seem to publish its default pages (couldn't find them). What is the average efficiency you get with such a setup? I stopped using a remote node in the early days while I had large amounts of stales and low efficiency and I wonder if it got better since.

Getblocktemplate latency doesn't seem to matter anymore for example (I'll have to double-check, the network was a little unstable these past 48h and my results are not conclusive).

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 12:07:43 AM
 #5597

gyverlb, the thread in your signature is awsome. I've been diggin around and haven't found it till now. Should be more visible imo. Perhaps adding it at the wiki?
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 12:18:52 AM
 #5598

gyverlb, the thread in your signature is awsome. I've been diggin around and haven't found it till now. Should be more visible imo. Perhaps adding it at the wiki?

Glad you like it.

The Bitcoin wiki is frustrating: I can't easily reach most pages because my preferred language is French in my browser. I'm always redirected to French pages with less content or even no content at all. Damn wiki I can read English just fine, show it to me! I'm not going to edit a wiki that wouldn't even let me see the content I create by default.

That's a shame though a Wiki would indeed be more suited for the content in the tuning guide. I especially miss the ability to use anchors and links to them, the creation of a table of contents and the ability to edit only a chapter instead of the whole post...

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 12:24:58 AM
 #5599

Your pool node (http://cryptominer.org) doesn't seem to publish its default pages (couldn't find them).

Yeah, I moved it to an alternate URL when I first set the node up because I wasn't sure if there was anything which could be considered confidential. I just haven't got around to reverting it yet. It's at http://cryptominer.org:9332/s/

What is the average efficiency you get with such a setup? I stopped using a remote node in the early days while I had large amounts of stales and low efficiency and I wonder if it got better since.

Right now, with 20 hours of uptime, it's 6.5% DOA and 112% efficiency.

I have a couple my miners I keep switching between the BTC node and TRC node, so I'm not sure if that effects things much. At the moment everything is pointed at the BTC node.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 12:33:47 AM
 #5600

Right now, with 20 hours of uptime, it's 6.5% DOA and 112% efficiency.
Hum quite good. May I know how much ping time do you have between your miners and your node? This way I can report it as a workable solution in the tuning guide. I'd like to find out the latency between miner and node where efficiency starts to suffer so your configuration is a good reference.

I have a couple my miners I keep switching between the BTC node and TRC node, so I'm not sure if that effects things much. At the moment everything is pointed at the BTC node.

It probably takes a little more time to get a useful average because you have less hashrate on average but it shouldn't effects things either way.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Pages: « 1 ... 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 [280] 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!