Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2019, 07:37:46 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 [128] 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Setup & Troubleshoot] Bitmain AntMiner S1 180GH/S miner  (Read 445878 times)
Raptor2213
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 02:09:09 AM
 #2541

What are the acceptable, or rather, max temps for the S1? Mine are 48-49c, which seems to have caused over 6% HW errors, or about 6-7gh/s off of my speed.

Anything under 60c should be 'acceptable'.  Generally somewhere between 40-50c is where you should be seeing your temps, assuming 70-80f ambient.  You probably won't see issues until closer to 70c.  If you're getting that high an error rate, you might need to clock it down a little (if overclocked).  If stock, there might be a problem with your miner and you might consider replacing it from BITMAIN.  Not all units will clock up to 400Mhz with low error rates.

Did something I say help you out?    BTC - 18oTipf66z8dbwTgRCiPjbdPmqEP7zuCFb
1563824266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563824266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563824266
Reply with quote  #2

1563824266
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563824266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563824266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563824266
Reply with quote  #2

1563824266
Report to moderator
1563824266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563824266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563824266
Reply with quote  #2

1563824266
Report to moderator
Hundsstern
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 02, 2014, 02:23:10 AM
 #2542

I can't find specs for your first PSU, but the second one has 3 12v rails that split the 480w available at 12v, so that could be why you're not getting enough power.  Look under the specifications tab on the link you posted. Ideally you should use a PSU with one rail for 12v with enough power.

Are you using two separate pcie wires or one wire with two connectors?  You should use one dedicated wire for each blade.

Right now i'm using one separate pcie 6 pin cable (it's stripped now) for the blade without controller and 3 separate stripped ATA connections (each 1x12v and 1xGND) for the blade with controller.
But this is a very old PSU. Much older than my Enermax.

So you don't think my miner is broken? Without a proper PSU it's totally normal that the fan is working only, if i single-connect the blade without the controller to the PSU.

Thanks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2870
Merit: 1181


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 02:32:01 AM
 #2543

...
I can't find specs for your first PSU, but the second one has 3 12v rails that split the 480w available at 12v, so that could be why you're not getting enough power.  Look under the specifications tab on the link you posted. Ideally you should use a PSU with one rail for 12v with enough power.

Are you using two separate pcie wires or one wire with two connectors?  You should use one dedicated wire for each blade.
Or 3 even (per side) Smiley
Yeah a PCI-e cable has 3 pairs to split the 15A (per side) over - so about 5A per wire.
Even splitting it to 2 wires per side tends to make them get warm.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Hundsstern
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 02, 2014, 02:46:17 AM
 #2544

Just for fun.



I'm will buy a new PSU and try it again. I really hope it is not a broken blade.

And i know what you mean. I don't know how it looks inside the PSU. Just because the cables are separated doesn't mean they are not splitted.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 02:56:14 AM
 #2545

Just for fun.



I'm will buy a new PSU and try it again. I really hope it is not a broken blade.

And i know what you mean. I don't know how it looks inside the PSU. Just because the cables are separated doesn't mean they are not splitted.

thats your problem there. That looks like it came from the 'used' bin at a salvation army. Its pretty important that you use a quality power supply (single rail, brandname, modular if possible, minimum 600W) in order to get good results.

I expect you are either tapping multiple wires off a single rail or the rails are generally poor build quality. Its not at all uncommon in PSUs not rated 80+ bronze or better.

You can try the 2x2 pin ATX MOBO cable.  these usually have thier own rail in a multi-rail supply since the mobo is expected to draw lots of power

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
AngusCanine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000

To weird to live To rare to die


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 03:02:54 AM
 #2546

Hey all I need a Recommendation on a PSU for 2 Antminer S1's that Will handle them being Overclocked with no Problem and i need it to Be at least a Bronze 80+ and in the $180 or Less price area
thanks for helping I would have just been guessing it was broken I sent a little btc your way. I would have been just guessing it was broken...would a 850w thermaltake suit your needs...lol

AngusCanine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000

To weird to live To rare to die


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 03:08:30 AM
 #2547

Brand new S1 for sale makes on awesome window fan... Cry

Hundsstern
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 02, 2014, 03:13:56 AM
 #2548

thats your problem there. That looks like it came from the 'used' bin at a salvation army. Its pretty important that you use a quality power supply (single rail, brandname, modular if possible, minimum 600W) in order to get good results.

I expect you are either tapping multiple wires off a single rail or the rails are generally poor build quality. Its not at all uncommon in PSUs not rated 80+ bronze or better.

You can try the 2x2 pin ATX MOBO cable.  these usually have thier own rail in a multi-rail supply since the mobo is expected to draw lots of power

Thank you. I even tried it with a the available Pentium 4 2x2pin 12V power supply and 1 ata cable. Is was thinking about trying it again with the 2x2pin mobo cable. I guess you mean that one from the 24Pin Main-mobo-plug.

Yeah. I will try this but i don't think it will work. PSU is worthless for this purpose.

If it works i will posts results. If not i will wait for my PSU and will post results then.

Thx again!
AngusCanine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000

To weird to live To rare to die


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 03:16:24 AM
 #2549

Brand new S1 for sale makes on awesome window fan... Cry

looks really cool at night........

thegoldbug
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 03:21:51 AM
 #2550

What sort of HW error rate should I be seeing?  I have two AntMiners I just got up and running today, up time is 5+ hours and here is what each is showing:


#1)   Accepted 7507    Rejected 13   HW  2695  Utility 21   Discarded 852   Ave 179.18 Gh/s   Temp 48
#2)   Accepted 7917    Rejected 22   HW  3010  Utility 22   Discarded 966   Ave 178.59 Gh/s   Temp 46


Both are pointed at Eligius with a backup at BTCGuild and both are running at factory settings (no overclock).

thanks for your help

Raptor2213
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 03:38:55 AM
 #2551

Just for fun.

I'm will buy a new PSU and try it again. I really hope it is not a broken blade.

And i know what you mean. I don't know how it looks inside the PSU. Just because the cables are separated doesn't mean they are not splitted.

thats your problem there. That looks like it came from the 'used' bin at a salvation army. Its pretty important that you use a quality power supply (single rail, brandname, modular if possible, minimum 600W) in order to get good results.

I expect you are either tapping multiple wires off a single rail or the rails are generally poor build quality. Its not at all uncommon in PSUs not rated 80+ bronze or better.

You can try the 2x2 pin ATX MOBO cable.  these usually have thier own rail in a multi-rail supply since the mobo is expected to draw lots of power

Yup, not all 500w PSUs are created equal.  I had a 500w PSU that was barely sufficient to power one of the two blades.  It was never intended to be long-term.  I just had it lying around.  Get a better PSU (80 plus certified), and you should be doing ok.

Did something I say help you out?    BTC - 18oTipf66z8dbwTgRCiPjbdPmqEP7zuCFb
Hundsstern
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 02, 2014, 03:54:47 AM
 #2552

Brand new S1 for sale makes on awesome window fan... Cry

looks really cool at night........


That's all bullshit. You know nothing about me. I'm serious.


Yup, not all 500w PSUs are created equal.  I had a 500w PSU that was barely sufficient to power one of the two blades.  It was never intended to be long-term.  I just had it lying around.  Get a better PSU (80 plus certified), and you should be doing ok.

I will order one today and will have it express. Thx.
Hundsstern
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 02, 2014, 04:44:03 AM
 #2553

I've ordered a Thermaltake Berlin Netzteil 630 Watt 80 Plus. But there was no express available. It will take some days.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2870
Merit: 1181


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 05:47:33 AM
 #2554

What sort of HW error rate should I be seeing?  I have two AntMiners I just got up and running today, up time is 5+ hours and here is what each is showing:


#1)   Accepted 7507    Rejected 13   HW  2695  Utility 21   Discarded 852   Ave 179.18 Gh/s   Temp 48
#2)   Accepted 7917    Rejected 22   HW  3010  Utility 22   Discarded 966   Ave 178.59 Gh/s   Temp 46


Both are pointed at Eligius with a backup at BTCGuild and both are running at factory settings (no overclock).

thanks for your help


You are looking at the wrong numbers.

HW is diff1
Accepted - ignore it
Difficulty Accepted is diff1
Rejected - ignore it
Difficulty Rejected is diff1
Utility - ignore it
Work Utility is diff1
Discarded - almost meaningless

Edit: you are mining at ~100diff, so the numbers you are showing are very approximately 100th of the diff1 values
(looking at the API summary will show that)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 10:17:16 AM
 #2555

What sort of HW error rate should I be seeing?  I have two AntMiners I just got up and running today, up time is 5+ hours and here is what each is showing:


#1)   Accepted 7507    Rejected 13   HW  2695  Utility 21   Discarded 852   Ave 179.18 Gh/s   Temp 48
#2)   Accepted 7917    Rejected 22   HW  3010  Utility 22   Discarded 966   Ave 178.59 Gh/s   Temp 46


Both are pointed at Eligius with a backup at BTCGuild and both are running at factory settings (no overclock).

thanks for your help


You are looking at the wrong numbers.

HW is diff1
Accepted - ignore it
Difficulty Accepted is diff1
Rejected - ignore it
Difficulty Rejected is diff1
Utility - ignore it
Work Utility is diff1
Discarded - almost meaningless

Edit: you are mining at ~100diff, so the numbers you are showing are very approximately 100th of the diff1 values
(looking at the API summary will show that)
So you are saying that the stats there are only confusing us, and I don't have 6% HW errors? I'm mining at btcguild, the diff in my Miner status is 128 under "Diff". Although I am curious what Diff1,DiffA,DiffR,DiffS,LSDiff all mean.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2870
Merit: 1181


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 10:53:43 AM
 #2556

...
So you are saying that the stats there are only confusing us, and I don't have 6% HW errors? I'm mining at btcguild, the diff in my Miner status is 128 under "Diff". Although I am curious what Diff1,DiffA,DiffR,DiffS,LSDiff all mean.
Well the screen is documented clearly in cgminer
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/README#L534

AntMiner's lack of documentation in the web interface is their fault.

Though my post above I thought it was obvious that DiffA means Difficulty Accepted.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
AngusCanine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000

To weird to live To rare to die


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 11:49:31 AM
 #2557

Brand new S1 for sale makes on awesome window fan... Cry

looks really cool at night........


That's all bullshit. You know nothing about me. I'm serious.


Yup, not all 500w PSUs are created equal.  I had a 500w PSU that was barely sufficient to power one of the two blades.  It was never intended to be long-term.  I just had it lying around.  Get a better PSU (80 plus certified), and you should be doing ok.

I will order one today and will have it express. Thx.

say what lol are you joking?

wolf_miner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 02, 2014, 11:52:12 AM
 #2558

@Kano, I saw a project called "cgminer LCD Stats" is possible to read the S1 API data using a similar project, or editing the original python script?

Thanks W_M
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2870
Merit: 1181


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 12:20:07 PM
 #2559

@Kano, I saw a project called "cgminer LCD Stats" is possible to read the S1 API data using a similar project, or editing the original python script?

Thanks W_M

You need to enable the API for remote access
This means you need to edit /etc/config/cgminer
Firstly work out what your local network is - e.g. 192.168.0.*
Then modify this line:
 option api_allow 'W:127.0.0.1'
to something like
 option api_allow 'W:127.0.0.1,192.168.0/24'

Then use this (which is what I use of course) and read the README! ...
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminerLCDStats

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
wolf_miner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 02, 2014, 12:33:44 PM
 #2560

Thanks Kano Grin you have solved the problem for me.
My LCD is on the way, and i will receive it in a few days, i had ordered it about one month ago from china supplier.

W_M
Pages: « 1 ... 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 [128] 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!