Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 03:33:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 [95] 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 264127 times)
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2015, 12:28:07 PM
 #1881

The portable version 2.5.2 works fine and doesn't forget the socks settings anymore. Though the worst problem now are the servers. I finally found a good server i can always connect to. That's not so easy. But when iam connected then the server gives me outdated data. I have 4 transactions unconfirmed since days, though in fact they have over couple hundred confirmations already.

sounds like the malleability attack.
can you post the server, and the transaction id?


No, these are not malleated ones since when i copy the transaction id and check it on blockchain.info then the blockchain knows the transaction and it was confirmed already hundred of blocks before.

The server i use momentarely is btc.mustyoshi.com. I can see new transactions coming in and i can send transactions but they show up unverified after showing up as pending even though the blockchain already knows they are out. And there is no notification of the server being behind in blocks. Example 86cc3798c7b849be58475d3045b7d77c090bb27f2e6b184bd529ff2fabb33413 It shows up unconfirmed but has 7 confirmations as of now. I have way older transactions too.

And i saw that you implemented a fee feature that adjust to the network load of the blockchain. That works great. Nice feature!

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
1531711998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531711998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531711998
Reply with quote  #2

1531711998
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531711998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531711998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531711998
Reply with quote  #2

1531711998
Report to moderator
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2015, 12:30:22 PM
 #1882

You can make the error go away by renaming the executable to "electrum.exe"
interesting. does anybody know why? (I am no Windows expert)

Hey, it works... Smiley

I guess in the code it was only referenced as electrum.exe and it doesn't understand that the exe is then something with portable.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1899
Merit: 1007



View Profile WWW
October 31, 2015, 01:32:57 PM
 #1883

It shows up unconfirmed but has 7 confirmations as of now. I have way older transactions too.

where does it show "unconfirmed" ?
In your history, these transaction should be either "pending" or "unveriifed"

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2015, 02:11:26 PM
 #1884

It shows up unconfirmed but has 7 confirmations as of now. I have way older transactions too.

where does it show "unconfirmed" ?
In your history, these transaction should be either "pending" or "unveriifed"


Yes, that's right. The show up as unverified, before they were pending. But they don't change to confirmed since days yet. Some of it.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
November 02, 2015, 09:20:34 PM
 #1885

By the way... the problem became solved somehow now. The transactions show up normally now. I don't know what changed.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2015, 11:46:04 AM
 #1886

Is there a problem with Label Sync? I had one, my biggest, electrum wallet today having a lot of holes in the labels of transactions. I tried force download but nothing changed. Restart didn't help either.

Is there a limit of labels? I have a couple of wallets storing labels on the same account.

I hope i did not lose too many labels, will try to recover some, with force upload, from backed up previous wallet versions.

Normally i had lost labels only when i had no label sync on. But i have it enabled since a long time and it prevented that problem. So this is the first time.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
December 03, 2015, 01:28:42 PM
 #1887

First time I hear of a problem. Server is still running smoothly as far as I can tell. Which Electrum version are you using?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2015, 06:26:23 PM
 #1888

First time I hear of a problem. Server is still running smoothly as far as I can tell. Which Electrum version are you using?

2.5.2 portable. The wallet in question is pretty old, with thousands of addresses and transactions. There is no limit that could be hit?

And since force download did not work, can it somehow happen that empty labels are uploaded so that downloading does have no effect? Otherwise i wonder how the server can't find labels for it anymore.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2015, 09:11:04 PM
 #1889

I now tried to repair the problem. I have 4 older backups of electrum version including their portable directory. I found that all versions have some labels missing. Though newer versions have labels missing that exist in older versions still. So labels are lost still.

Since that did not happen with wallets that don't have so many transactions i think it must have to do with the amount of transactions in that wallet. You sure there is no database limit of some kind?

I can give you the code for the labelsync if that helps. It looks to me like labels are gone missing over time.

The oldest version was 2.1. and because many labels still exist there i tried to force download the newest labels so that i then can force upload the newest together with the old labels that are missing in the newest version. But when i downloaded i got an error window, after it worked on it for some seconds, but the window had no message.

Any idea on that?

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
January 12, 2016, 08:23:52 PM
 #1890

Any idea how to fix the label issue?

Was the server code checked for potential limits that could lead to loss of labels?

To be safe i don't use that old wallet now anymore though it would be good when i would have the labels that are missing back. Maybe only the connection is lost that these labels belong to that wallet?

Can a developer help with that?

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1723
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 22, 2016, 06:59:18 AM
 #1891

Running Electrum from the Python source code requires Python 2.7, correct? It didn't seem to work for me when using 3.4.

If this is the case, it would be very helpful to specify this on the download page, under "Installation from Python sources": https://electrum.org/#download
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1723
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 22, 2016, 07:32:27 AM
 #1892

Also, the order of operations of the usage line of "python electrum help" seems to be wrong.

Code:
usage: electrum [-h] [-v] [-P] [-w WALLET_PATH] [-o] <command> ...

It shows that -P or -w should precede the command, however, -P or -w actually need to appear *after* the command.

For example, the following doesn't list the addresses from the portable directory, it lists them from the default Electrum wallet path on the system:

Code:
electrum -P listaddresses

The following works, listing the addresses from the portable directory's "electrum_data\wallets" folder:
Code:
electrum listaddresses -P
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1723
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 23, 2016, 08:11:51 AM
 #1893

Daemon mode is broken under Windows.  Os.fork() cannot be used as it is not platform independent - it's a Linux-only function AFAIK.

Yeah, this is a major bummer.  I was hoping to call some Electrum functions from Python, but some of them use 'fork'.  Isn't there another way?!?  Huh

I found the above in an older thread, while searching for a workaround.

I noticed that you can get around this issue, at least somewhat functionally, by installing Python within Cygwin using the Cygwin installer, and then running Electrum from Cygwin.

I ran a quick test of this by starting up the daemon and trying to send a transaction, and while it did generate a valid, raw hexadecimal transaction, it didn't seem to broadcast it. I only tested this once, and didn't dig any deeper. I was able to paste the transaction hex into BlockCypher and successfully broadcast it that way, so, at least we know the transaction syntax is generated properly within this emulation.

Just now I tried running the daemon again, and checked its status (see below), and that looks okay, so the issue behind the transaction not being broadcast is something less obviously not working.

Code:
{
    "auto_connect": true,
    "blockchain_height": 394588,
    "connected": true,
    "nodes": [
        "ulrichard.ch:50002:s",
        "electrum3.hachre.de:50002:s",
        "electrum.top-master.com:50002:s",
        "arcadia.bauerj.eu:50002:s",
        "electrum.no-ip.org:50002:s",
        "us.electrum.be:50002:s"
    ],
    "path": "/cygdrive/c/electrum_python/electrum_data",
    "server": "electrum.top-master.com",
    "server_height": 394588
}
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2016, 07:43:26 PM
 #1894

I already mentioned it in the other thread though no solution. Everytime i open my old and big escrow wallet, which has a lot long labels for both addresses and transactions, i have to see that again a number of labels vanished. Simply lost. Force Download does not work at all to regain those labels. And when i restart then i see again more labels missing.

I doubt it is coming from my local label storage since at the time i did not use labelsync i lost all labels when the db was corrupted. Now i lose only some. It seems like they are lost or overwritten with empty labels or something.

Please can someone check the server if these labels are still there? I manage a couple of wallets with the same handle for the server. Though i think only this one wallet has this problem. I didn't start my other big wallet yet in order to prevent this from happening there too. But the labels there are way way shorter so maybe it's some thing of total bytes stored.

I hope these labels are still in the database somewhere.

Thanks!

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
sdp
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 424
Merit: 251



View Profile WWW
March 23, 2016, 05:25:45 PM
 #1895

Hello, I hope someone can help an Electrum newbie:

I am running Electrum on Linux Mint 17.2.

Today I wanted to fire up the wallet from my menu but it simply does nothing.

Starting it in a terminal with "Electrum --help" gives me the output:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 48, in <module>
    imp.load_module('electrum', *imp.find_module('lib'))
ImportError: No module named lib

I'm not aware to have made any changes to my configuration or libraries except the usual suggested security updates.

What am I to do?

Thanks a bunch!


Do you mean nothing happens when you try to open it ? I had this kind of issue on my Windows version sometime ago , all I needed to do is removing the .config  file which should be find on the AppData folder , I assume that Linux Mint have something simillar to that , if yes then try to remove the file like I told you , that should do the job .

Yes, nothing happens. And no, deleting the config didn't help but thank you anyway, I appreciate it Smiley


UPDATE: For the time being I recovered my funds by installing Electron on my Windows partition and recovering the wallet with the seed. I'd rather not use Windows though so the problem remains.


I use Mint 17.0 and although it would work out of the box the version was so old,  it couldn't sign messages so I downloaded electrum from github and then I put it in the path with a symbolic link if I remember correctly.   Now when I cntrl+f2 and type in electru, it opens.

sdp

██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████           ▄█▄        ▄█▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀████████████▀           █████
█████           ████▀    ▀████           █████
█████           ████▄    ▄████           █████
█████           ▄████████████▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀█▀        ▀█▀           █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██             ▄█▀███████████
██              ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
████████████████████████████
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                 ▄███▀  ██
██             ▄▄██▀▀  ▄█ ██
██     ▄    ▄███▀▀  ▄███  ██
██    ██▄▄██▀▀   ▄█████   ██
██   ████▀▀  ▄▄██▀▀ ▀█    ██
██  █▀▀   ▄▄██▀           ██
██    ▄▄███▀              ██
██▄▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██  ████▄  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ██
██     ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██    ██
██      ██         ██     ██
██       ███████████      ██
██        ▄▄     ▄▄       ██
██       ▀██▀   ▀██▀      ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                       ▄██
██                     █████
██         ▄         ███▀ ██
██       ▄███     ▄███▀   ██
██   ▄▄███▀▀███▄████▀     ██
██▄▄███▀     ▀███▀        ██
████▀                     ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄███████████▄  ██████████████
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
██████▀██████  ██████▀███████
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
March 30, 2016, 12:10:33 PM
 #1896

Is it only me or are all electrum servers way behind in blocks? I noticed the past couple of days that I get told someone sent already though when I check then I see nothing in electrum but on the blockchain there are already, maybe, 2 hours of confirmations.

Only as info, is work done on the performance of the electrum servers?

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1008


Pay with SegWit!


View Profile WWW
March 30, 2016, 07:20:21 PM
 #1897

Is it only me or are all electrum servers way behind in blocks? I noticed the past couple of days that I get told someone sent already though when I check then I see nothing in electrum but on the blockchain there are already, maybe, 2 hours of confirmations.

Only as info, is work done on the performance of the electrum servers?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=85475.0;all

NBA Store coupons here!
Saying that you don't trust someone because of their behavior is completely valid.
BitcoinSupremo
Copper Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 512


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile
March 31, 2016, 10:14:33 AM
 #1898

Is it only me or are all electrum servers way behind in blocks? I noticed the past couple of days that I get told someone sent already though when I check then I see nothing in electrum but on the blockchain there are already, maybe, 2 hours of confirmations.

Only as info, is work done on the performance of the electrum servers?

I guess it is only you , as in my Electrum 2.5.4 on Linux (Debian based, old version of operating system) works just like it should, once it appears on blockchain, it also appears on my Electrum wallet too.

SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
April 06, 2016, 06:54:26 PM
 #1899

Thanks for the link, didn't know that thread yet. And I think I found the problem. It seems electrum is not able to handle sleep modi of windows. It seems the wallet runs normally, it connects to different servers and establishes connections but for some reason it is not on the newest level of updates all the time. The only solution I found till now is restarting electrum every time the computer comes form sleep mode.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
May 08, 2016, 05:44:05 PM
 #1900

I have bought a Trezor and want it to connect to my Electrum wallet, but i can only find tutorials with Trezor and creating a new wallet. So i have a few questions:

- Can i use Trezor with excisting Electrum wallet?
- If not, can i create a new wallet with Electrum and Trezor and that it creates 2000 new btc addresses again? If so, how can i do that?

Hopefully someone can point me to the right direction.

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
Pages: « 1 ... 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 [95] 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!