Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:19:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243124 times)
grtthegreat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


Ad Campaign Manager @ bit.ly/grtthegreat


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2014, 09:16:27 AM
 #1661

I just didn't know till today that ThomasV created Electrum client. Anyways I use only Electrum. And I just love it. THANKS ThomasV for creating Electrum.
1481199587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199587
Reply with quote  #2

1481199587
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199587
Reply with quote  #2

1481199587
Report to moderator
MaxDZ8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
May 23, 2014, 02:20:57 PM
 #1662

Dowloading bootstrap.dat... no thanks. Welcome BTC wallet at last!
GODLIKE
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392

LOL what you looking at?


View Profile
July 07, 2014, 01:32:38 AM
 #1663

What does the server see? I mean in case someone looks at the server data can he see all the addresses that are connected to one wallet?

Yes.

Quote
Though i guess the label sync plugin should be able to provide the same data, even for more than one wallet when using the same plugin website login.

I believe that data is encrypted before being sent to the server.

edit: see  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=154144.0

Oh... doesnt sound good... I mean who knows what those data could be useful for if such a electrum server gets hacked or seized. And the server operator could see it all the time. The same goes for the plugin server.

So its possible to identify the complete wallet, addresses, transactions and property of a certain user only by finding one hint. I dont like thinking about this and im a bit angry why i didnt think about this earlier.

I thought it would be better to create a new wallet and a new plugin account with new email sometimes. But now i think using electrum is a risk in itself. You need to trust every server provider (when using auto connect, which is the standard) and you need to hope the server nor the plugin server gets hacked. Sounds a bit risky. The coins cant be stolen but it sounds still too much for me.

You can run your own server if that is bothering you so much.

You mean, an Electrum server?

BITCOIN FOREVER news aggregator: only the most important news on the cryptoworld!
manicminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296



View Profile
July 13, 2014, 03:55:07 AM
 #1664

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.
2586
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
July 13, 2014, 06:30:04 PM
 #1665

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.

Should work in theory. You just have to come up with a mapping from dice results to electrum's word list. Once you've got a set of 12 words, try putting it into the restore wallet dialog and see if it works.

cascadebot: A simple (but effective) lending bot for Bitfinex
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218



View Profile WWW
July 14, 2014, 08:21:34 AM
 #1666

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.

An electrum seed consists of 32 hexadecimal digits. So just follow this guide to generate them:

http://world.std.com/~reinhold/dicewarefaq.html#hexadecimal

Then use the restore wallet function and paste in the hex. After the wallet has been created you can click on the seed icon on the bottom right to see the mnemonic.

dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478


View Profile
July 14, 2014, 11:18:52 AM
 #1667

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.

All you need is a 6 sided die. Then do the below.

Be careful though. Electrum console records every command input to it. So to prevent it writing the command to your hard disk (effectively writing your seed to the hard disk unencrypted)

Find /gui/qt/console.py file in your electrum install folder. Then go to line # 147

Code:
def addToHistory(self, command):
    if command.find("importprivkey") > -1 or True:   # <<<< add " or True" to this line (This is line 147)
        return
    
    if command and (not self.history or self.history[-1] != command):
        self.history.append(command)
    self.history_index = len(self.history)

That will disable Electrum writing to Hard Disk all the commands.

Then here is how you generate your own seed.

Code:
Roll dice 53 times, write down each result (writing "0" for every 6 rolled) as a 53 digit long number
with only the digits 0-5. Then input the following lines of code in the electrum console:

>> from electrum import mnemonic
>> ' '.join(mnemonic.mn_encode(("%032X" % (int('01234501234501234501234501234501234501234501234501234',6)%(2**128)))))

(replace the 012345012345 etc with your actual dice rolls)
(note you need to input "from electrum import mnemonic" first then hit enter. After that do the second line I wrote)

Edit: I borrowed the text of the second part from a reddit post based off of something I said in IRC.

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/2akdl5/howto_use_your_own_dice_rolls_to_generate_an/

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
inaltoasinistra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127


View Profile
September 05, 2014, 12:41:38 PM
 #1668

Hello,

do you think that the feature of import private keys from wallet.dat would be appreciated by users? Export keys from Bitcoin Core  is not noob-proof

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Bit-x.com - Fast & Easy Trade with Low Fees!


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2014, 11:28:44 AM
 #1669

Hello,

do you think that the feature of import private keys from wallet.dat would be appreciated by users? Export keys from Bitcoin Core  is not noob-proof

Is it better to dump private keys and then import it than importing directly from wallet.dat? I don't think it is needed.

  ~~MZ~~

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Bit-x.com - Fast & Easy Trade with Low Fees!


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2014, 11:45:07 AM
 #1670

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 05:05:20 PM
 #1671

Hello,

do you think that the feature of import private keys from wallet.dat would be appreciated by users? Export keys from Bitcoin Core  is not noob-proof

Bitcoin Core wallet.dat has hundreds of hidden addresses in a "pool" of addresses.

Importing the entire wallet would take a long time, and could swamp your Electrum wallet with keys that are not able to be backed up by your seed phrase.

This is why it is better for the user to send their bitcoins to a newly created Electrum wallet.

A "noob" type person would probably think that "oh, ok, now I have imported my wallet.dat, I can just remember this 12 word phrase and delete my wallet, right? *deletes*"

No one wants something like that to happen, so just send.

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
RustyNomad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile WWW
September 24, 2014, 03:43:22 PM
 #1672

Feature request....

I know the new version is on its way so it might be too late to incorporate this but maybe for a future update - Please make it possible to sort the contacts section by clicking on the column headers. Currently all contacts are stored as they are entered and when dealing with a large number of contacts it can become a real pain to find the right one if they are not alphabetical and or sorted by their keys.
slacker
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2014, 06:58:53 PM
 #1673

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.

This script is using random numbers from dice, hashed random strings and computer generated random numbers. All random numbers are mixed using bitwise XOR.

* * *

Here is "Diceware" for Electrum 1.x. The disadvantage is you should "throw away" most of the random numbers (because there are 1625 words but all possible random numbers made with 5 dice rolls are 7776).

If you have 5 dice, you should roll them about 5 times for every random word you need (you roll them until you get valid senary number - the probability of getting the valid senary number is 20%). This is the price you pay for not using computer.

This works only with Electrum 1.x because 2.x is using checksums.

wosch76
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 618


NEM : New Economy Movement


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 11:49:09 AM
 #1674

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

I'm also interested in this.

tempestb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 673



View Profile
October 22, 2014, 03:09:42 PM
 #1675

Small feature request for the Windows client.  It would be nice if I could reduce the window, and have it appear in the tools area and not the taskbar.  QT has that option.  I like keeping it hidden on the work PC in the corner, rather than in plain view on the taskbar.

Thanks!

1D7JwRnoungL1YQy7sJMsqmA8BHkPcKGDJ
We mine as we dream...  Alone
pooya87
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 23, 2014, 07:49:06 AM
 #1676

Small feature request for the Windows client.  It would be nice if I could reduce the window, and have it appear in the tools area and not the taskbar.  QT has that option.  I like keeping it hidden on the work PC in the corner, rather than in plain view on the taskbar.

Thanks!

you currently CAN do this:
1. while Electrum is open right click on its icon in the toolbar (i mean round blue electrum icon near your clock)
2. click show/hide to minimize it to toolbar and remove from taskbar

tempestb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 673



View Profile
October 23, 2014, 01:55:35 PM
 #1677

Small feature request for the Windows client.  It would be nice if I could reduce the window, and have it appear in the tools area and not the taskbar.  QT has that option.  I like keeping it hidden on the work PC in the corner, rather than in plain view on the taskbar.

Thanks!

you currently CAN do this:
1. while Electrum is open right click on its icon in the toolbar (i mean round blue electrum icon near your clock)
2. click show/hide to minimize it to toolbar and remove from taskbar

Ah, very cool.  Thanks for the info!

1D7JwRnoungL1YQy7sJMsqmA8BHkPcKGDJ
We mine as we dream...  Alone
wosch76
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 618


NEM : New Economy Movement


View Profile
November 28, 2014, 01:40:29 PM
 #1678

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

I'm also interested in this.

any ETA for next version  Huh

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Bit-x.com - Fast & Easy Trade with Low Fees!


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2014, 02:08:31 PM
 #1679

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

I'm also interested in this.

any ETA for next version  Huh

Already done. Just install python and then download zip from github. Run electrum

   ~~MZ~~

wosch76
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 618


NEM : New Economy Movement


View Profile
December 01, 2014, 04:25:26 PM
 #1680

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

I'm also interested in this.

any ETA for next version  Huh

Already done. Just install python and then download zip from github. Run electrum

   ~~MZ~~
Ok. maybe I'll try.
but what I meant is:
when will there be the stable release with windows-installer for noobs like me  Wink

Pages: « 1 ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!