Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:14:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243048 times)
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
June 24, 2015, 11:29:20 PM
 #1781

In windows there is a notice of a new version.  Sadly, it hasn't been updated and still says New version available: 2.2 (where 2.3.2 is current).
I just updated it, thanks.

Thanks Thomas!

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
1481026490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026490
Reply with quote  #2

1481026490
Report to moderator
1481026490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026490
Reply with quote  #2

1481026490
Report to moderator
1481026490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026490
Reply with quote  #2

1481026490
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026490
Reply with quote  #2

1481026490
Report to moderator
1481026490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026490
Reply with quote  #2

1481026490
Report to moderator
1481026490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026490
Reply with quote  #2

1481026490
Report to moderator
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
June 24, 2015, 11:31:02 PM
 #1782

Why is the new electrum enforce a minimum fee of 0.00001BTC?

By "new electrum" do you mean 2.3.2?

I am still on 2.0.4 and not an issue for me  Wink

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
simpic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 07:03:28 AM
 #1783

I send a payment and i get this error:

global name 'paymentrequest_pb2' is not defined

The payment has been sent anyway, but what does that error mean?
I'm using Electrum 2.1.1

It appears to be a bug. I opened an issue here: https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/issues/1312

Edit: it's just been fixed, and should make it into the next release (after 2.3.2).

Thank you so much!

peligro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 598


1NoBanksLuJPXf8Sc831fPqjrRpkQPKkEA


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 07:34:02 AM
 #1784

Why is the new electrum enforce a minimum fee of 0.00001BTC?

By "new electrum" do you mean 2.3.2?

I am still on 2.0.4 and not an issue for me  Wink

I believe i switched because the new electrum is WAY faster. When you have a certain numbers of transactions or/and addresses then the older electrum versions tend to block you from working with them alot. It was no fun using them anymore. So im bound to use them. Its not that the fee is so costly that i cant pay it. But still. I prefer to enter my value and not to take care about how many 9 i have to put in order to pay the fee at the end.

I dont know why it was implemented since the server would not accept a transaction with too few fees anyway. So that i could raise it.

So @developer i hope zero fee will come back.

█    █     ██    ███     ███    ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████     ███     ███    ██     █    █
..BREAKOUT COIN ..
  M U L T I C U R R E N C Y   S M A R T   C O N T R A C T S   +   S I D E C H A I N S
★     B I T C O I N T A L K   T H R E A D     |     W E B S I T E     |     T W I T T E R     |     G I T H U B     ★
.
█    █     ██    ███     ███    ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████     ███     ███    ██     █    █
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2015, 01:37:56 PM
 #1785

Something i always found is confusing is that electrum shows outgoing coins as a black line and incoming coins as a grey line. Normally in financials being in the black means being positive and being in the red means negative. Here the black line is negative and the weak grey is positive.

I would prefer switching that and turning grey into red. That would be way more easy to read.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2015, 01:57:14 PM
 #1786

I only now realized that its even more confusing. I found a transaction that came in and was black. Then it went out and was black too.

The only difference i can see with the ongoing transaction is that the actual received amount is smaller as the amount that went from the source address to the change address of the senders wallet.

Thats really confusing.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1395


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 07:15:42 PM
 #1787

Why is the new electrum enforce a minimum fee of 0.00001BTC? Even when setting the fee settings to zero. So why is that? Previous versions allowed to send zero fee transactions and those transaction went through with the same speed practically.

When a fee isnt sufficient then the nodes will say something, resulting in an error message from electrum. So this should be enough. Why the not changeable minimumfee now?

If this is the case, it's also problem for me, because I specifically started using Electrum with my Trezor to be able to make no-fee transactions when the coins are sufficiently old.

Has anyone answered peligro regarding any minimum fee in Electrum 2.3.2?
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


Nemo me impune lacessit


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2015, 08:40:08 PM
 #1788

Electrum OSX 2.3.2 allows you to type the full amount you want to send in the Send tab's BTC Amount box, type 0 in the fee box, and broadcast the TX after the password prompt - if your TX qualifies for zero-fee. I have the "Set transaction fees manually" and "Show transaction before broadcast" settings enabled. The TX I just broadcast was of an almost 2-month old input >0.01 BTC and equal output, and apparently it qualified for zero-fee.

And the TX confirmed 2 blocks later.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ! I sell stuff for BTC here here and here | Skirt & Kilts & Violin For Sale | Voiceover for BTC | Copy editing for BTC | THE Bitcoin Sound is here.
gpg_identity=http://pgp.thebutterzone.com | WoT feedback here & eBay feedback here | Buy BTC in San Diego, CA, or worldwide! | Get paid for taking surveys!
Change my name! "I am __ Satoshi __." | PayPal: Bitcoinese for "FU, I'm getting a chargeback up to 365 days later!" | Bitcoin voice chat
peligro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 598


1NoBanksLuJPXf8Sc831fPqjrRpkQPKkEA


View Profile
June 28, 2015, 09:49:07 PM
 #1789

Electrum OSX 2.3.2 allows you to type the full amount you want to send in the Send tab's BTC Amount box, type 0 in the fee box, and broadcast the TX after the password prompt - if your TX qualifies for zero-fee. I have the "Set transaction fees manually" and "Show transaction before broadcast" settings enabled. The TX I just broadcast was of an almost 2-month old input >0.01 BTC and equal output, and apparently it qualified for zero-fee.

And the TX confirmed 2 blocks later.

Hey, you're right. I always tried to chance the fee before and changed the amount then. Didn't work because the value jumped back to 0.00001BTC then.

So the solution is to enter the full amount, the amount get red, then put the fee value to 0 and you can send without a fee as long as the network will accept it.

Thanks!

█    █     ██    ███     ███    ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████     ███     ███    ██     █    █
..BREAKOUT COIN ..
  M U L T I C U R R E N C Y   S M A R T   C O N T R A C T S   +   S I D E C H A I N S
★     B I T C O I N T A L K   T H R E A D     |     W E B S I T E     |     T W I T T E R     |     G I T H U B     ★
.
█    █     ██    ███     ███    ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████     ███     ███    ██     █    █
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2015, 01:33:44 PM
 #1790

What can i do when i sent a transaction on the 11th and only added the minimum fee? I did not know that these ... persons are spamming the blockchain again, so i didnt care about adding a higher fee. Now the transaction does not get confirmed.

In electrum the transaction vanished, so i tried sending again with a higher fee. Problem is, that transaction shows up in electrum but not in block explorers. So i guess it does not get propagated.

How to solve?

Thanks!

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 13, 2015, 01:36:40 PM
 #1791

What can i do when i sent a transaction on the 11th and only added the minimum fee? I did not know that these ... persons are spamming the blockchain again, so i didnt care about adding a higher fee. Now the transaction does not get confirmed.

In electrum the transaction vanished, so i tried sending again with a higher fee. Problem is, that transaction shows up in electrum but not in block explorers. So i guess it does not get propagated.

How to solve?

Thanks!

switch to a different server.
I recently reboted bitcoind on ecdsa.net, in order to flush its memory pool.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2015, 02:15:26 PM
 #1792

Thanks, it worked. Used 0.00021 Bitcoin as fee.

It might be useful when electrum shows the amount of unconfirmed transactions and warns when they are too many. Then the fee could be adjusted.

Additionally, if possible, electrum might check the last block and see the minimum fee needed to get implemented.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2015, 11:15:43 PM
 #1793

*sigh* The feature that electrum is overwriting the fee all the time is no fun. I wanted to pay someone for an item and entered the fee 0.0002, went back to the value and changed the value a bit and sended... electrum thought it has to change my fee so that i have a transaction stuck now. Its only small but still annoying. I would like when electrum would stop this, it didnt do this in previous versions too.

So how long until i can resend my coins?

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
July 14, 2015, 02:01:22 AM
 #1794

*sigh* The feature that electrum is overwriting the fee all the time is no fun. I wanted to pay someone for an item and entered the fee 0.0002, went back to the value and changed the value a bit and sended... electrum thought it has to change my fee so that i have a transaction stuck now. Its only small but still annoying. I would like when electrum would stop this, it didnt do this in previous versions too.

So how long until i can resend my coins?

This highlights perhaps area where electrum servers could standardise on mempool handling so that electrum clients can determine better fee estimation and TX handling for 'stuck' TX. Electrum client-server model is uniquely positioned to have very slick fee handling with the ability to coordinate policies, that regular SPV and node infrastructure cannot (without sub-optimal 'trusted' node pairing, etc).

E.g. I see some good proposals from jgarzik for dropping from the mempool TX that are older than 288 blocks (2 days), using a mempool janitor. And along same lines floating minrelaytxfee dust treatment based around a highwater/lowwater limits on mempool size.

SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
July 14, 2015, 11:30:01 AM
 #1795

*sigh* The feature that electrum is overwriting the fee all the time is no fun. I wanted to pay someone for an item and entered the fee 0.0002, went back to the value and changed the value a bit and sended... electrum thought it has to change my fee so that i have a transaction stuck now. Its only small but still annoying. I would like when electrum would stop this, it didnt do this in previous versions too.

So how long until i can resend my coins?

This highlights perhaps area where electrum servers could standardise on mempool handling so that electrum clients can determine better fee estimation and TX handling for 'stuck' TX. Electrum client-server model is uniquely positioned to have very slick fee handling with the ability to coordinate policies, that regular SPV and node infrastructure cannot (without sub-optimal 'trusted' node pairing, etc).

E.g. I see some good proposals from jgarzik for dropping from the mempool TX that are older than 288 blocks (2 days), using a mempool janitor. And along same lines floating minrelaytxfee dust treatment based around a highwater/lowwater limits on mempool size.

Maybe i didnt sleep enough but when i read your first paragraph the first time i did not understand anything. Cheesy On second read you try to help electrum clients to guess better on the needed fees.

It seems after around 12 hours i cant yet get the unconfirmed transaction forgotten so that i can resend with a higher fee.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
zebedee
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 666



View Profile
July 15, 2015, 02:25:51 AM
 #1796

*sigh* The feature that electrum is overwriting the fee all the time is no fun.
I fixed this; I think it got into the 2.3 release, but it's certainly fixed in HEAD.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2015, 11:42:44 AM
 #1797

*sigh* The feature that electrum is overwriting the fee all the time is no fun.
I fixed this; I think it got into the 2.3 release, but it's certainly fixed in HEAD.

Do you want to say i should use my head? When you edited the fee and edit the value then, then you dont await that you have to look at the fee again.

When i misunderstood then thanks for fixing. Smiley

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2015, 11:50:11 AM
 #1798

Why is 2FA implemented that way? I will never use this kind of 2FA. Why should i pay this high fee for every transaction? That makes no sense. And my coins would be held on a multisig address and a key is held by a website? Really? When they go down then i lose my coins. What setup is that? Oo They even might wait until they can extort all users. Pay me a ransom or i dont release your coins.

2FA could be implemented the normal way. And i would like when it disables the access to the whole wallet, not only needed for actions in it.

Though that electrum should be encrypted totally, no reason anyone can see all addresses and transactions, is something i asked for a week or so ago already.

I would like to enable 2FA but the current setup is unacceptable. I want to avoid risks, not implementing even higher ones.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2015, 05:56:11 PM
 #1799

Is 2FA implemented?

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2015, 06:05:32 PM
 #1800

Is 2FA implemented?

Yes, as a plugin. But only through a service. And without that service you will never every be able to reach your coins. I think that alone is inacceptable. Plus you have to pay a relatively high fee for each transaction on top, only because the privilege to use 2FA that way.

I cant see why 2FA wasnt implemented properly. Instead its a security loss.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!