Bitcoin Forum
August 22, 2019, 02:14:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 [286] 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256170 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1059



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 10:39:35 AM
 #5701

My vague statement was correct. I don't reveal the full details on purpose.
In about 45 days (October batch) the SP30 will be 5.5 THs
(The limiting factor will remain the PSUs. The RockerBox has much more potential for over clocking)
This will be done without mask fix, just production tuning.

jtoomim more or less got it right.

Guy

My point is that TSMC will not have 'accidentally' botched 3 separate batches of lots (August, September, October). Remember, these are the same 28nm lines that Qualcomm and Broadcomm use. The notion that it is TSMC's 'fault' is simply a convenient excuse to a design mistake. I have no doubt that TSMC is capable of a retarget of your LVT devices to meet your original performance target. However, that 10% increase you were hoping to achieve with a post engineering run retarget has disappeared. Guy, I applaud your ability to perform damage control.

jtoomim, yes my name is intentionally chosen to troll. That doesn't delegitimize my arguments. Source: I run fab sync for a major US semiconductor company. You don't have to believe me, but you can do your own research on the topic.

How do you know that they didnt get all the SP30 chips in one batch? And it just takes this long to build and ship them. Plus I think its just August and September, the October batch is purported to be back up to 5.5TH so is probably separate. Thats the way I read it anyway. Smiley

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1566440095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566440095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566440095
Reply with quote  #2

1566440095
Report to moderator
1566440095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566440095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566440095
Reply with quote  #2

1566440095
Report to moderator
1566440095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566440095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566440095
Reply with quote  #2

1566440095
Report to moderator
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 01:24:57 PM
 #5702

My vague statement was correct. I don't reveal the full details on purpose.
In about 45 days (October batch) the SP30 will be 5.5 THs
(The limiting factor will remain the PSUs. The RockerBox has much more potential for over clocking)
This will be done without mask fix, just production tuning.

jtoomim more or less got it right.

Guy

My point is that TSMC will not have 'accidentally' botched 3 separate batches of lots (August, September, October). Remember, these are the same 28nm lines that Qualcomm and Broadcomm use. The notion that it is TSMC's 'fault' is simply a convenient excuse to a design mistake. I have no doubt that TSMC is capable of a retarget of your LVT devices to meet your original performance target. However, that 10% increase you were hoping to achieve with a post engineering run retarget has disappeared. Guy, I applaud your ability to perform damage control.

jtoomim, yes my name is intentionally chosen to troll. That doesn't delegitimize my arguments. Source: I run fab sync for a major US semiconductor company. You don't have to believe me, but you can do your own research on the topic.

How do you know that they didnt get all the SP30 chips in one batch? And it just takes this long to build and ship them. Plus I think its just August and September, the October batch is purported to be back up to 5.5TH so is probably separate. Thats the way I read it anyway. Smiley

I don't think TSMC makes too many mistakes, they are not worth 106 Billion dollars for nothing.

BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1059



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 02:48:00 PM
 #5703

My vague statement was correct. I don't reveal the full details on purpose.
In about 45 days (October batch) the SP30 will be 5.5 THs
(The limiting factor will remain the PSUs. The RockerBox has much more potential for over clocking)
This will be done without mask fix, just production tuning.

jtoomim more or less got it right.

Guy

My point is that TSMC will not have 'accidentally' botched 3 separate batches of lots (August, September, October). Remember, these are the same 28nm lines that Qualcomm and Broadcomm use. The notion that it is TSMC's 'fault' is simply a convenient excuse to a design mistake. I have no doubt that TSMC is capable of a retarget of your LVT devices to meet your original performance target. However, that 10% increase you were hoping to achieve with a post engineering run retarget has disappeared. Guy, I applaud your ability to perform damage control.

jtoomim, yes my name is intentionally chosen to troll. That doesn't delegitimize my arguments. Source: I run fab sync for a major US semiconductor company. You don't have to believe me, but you can do your own research on the topic.


How do you know that they didnt get all the SP30 chips in one batch? And it just takes this long to build and ship them. Plus I think its just August and September, the October batch is purported to be back up to 5.5TH so is probably separate. Thats the way I read it anyway. Smiley

I don't think TSMC makes too many mistakes, they are not worth 106 Billion dollars for nothing.

I don't know whether the mistake was in manufacturing or in design, all I meant was that it appeared to me that the concept of them making 3 batches with the same error would, as you say, not make sense. Either from SPtech's POV or TSMC. So I was suggesting that the erroneous batch was a single batch for Aug/Sep production, hence why it is being corrected in the October/Nov batch of chips from TSMC.

So say it was a production error, its only one mistake, not 3, not "too many" just one. Of course it might not have been TSMC's fault at all, but again thats not what I was talking about.

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1166


Clueless!


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 04:51:33 PM
 #5704

My vague statement was correct. I don't reveal the full details on purpose.
In about 45 days (October batch) the SP30 will be 5.5 THs
(The limiting factor will remain the PSUs. The RockerBox has much more potential for over clocking)
This will be done without mask fix, just production tuning.

jtoomim more or less got it right.

Guy

My point is that TSMC will not have 'accidentally' botched 3 separate batches of lots (August, September, October). Remember, these are the same 28nm lines that Qualcomm and Broadcomm use. The notion that it is TSMC's 'fault' is simply a convenient excuse to a design mistake. I have no doubt that TSMC is capable of a retarget of your LVT devices to meet your original performance target. However, that 10% increase you were hoping to achieve with a post engineering run retarget has disappeared. Guy, I applaud your ability to perform damage control.

jtoomim, yes my name is intentionally chosen to troll. That doesn't delegitimize my arguments. Source: I run fab sync for a major US semiconductor company. You don't have to believe me, but you can do your own research on the topic.

How do you know that they didnt get all the SP30 chips in one batch? And it just takes this long to build and ship them. Plus I think its just August and September, the October batch is purported to be back up to 5.5TH so is probably separate. Thats the way I read it anyway. Smiley

I don't think TSMC makes too many mistakes, they are not worth 106 Billion dollars for nothing.

thats the catch...it is NOT a mistake by TSMC if they are as spondoolies said 'within spec' just at the low end of that ...I"m sure if they were truely out of spec
spondoolies would have other options....such stuff is likely written by TSMC to benifit them in slippage one direction or the other on performance anyway imho.

Searing

░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░████████████▄▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░▀███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░▄██▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███████████████████████████░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░▀██▄░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░▄███░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░████████████▀▀░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
.BitTrade.
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
⬤ Stock Market
⬤ Bonds
⬤ Currencies
⬤ Gold
⬤ NBA
⬤ NFL
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 05:38:51 PM
 #5705

We're not blaming anyone or any company. The nature of the business doesn't allow shuttles and first productions runs.
As explained, all the wafers lots until and including September suffers from the same, easily fixable, production issue.

Guy

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 06:27:59 PM
 #5706

Sorry for the repeated question SP TECH, but I need to make a decision.   
I have 208V power (three phase 460 transformed to 208V).   Your post about SP30 having a programmed cutoff at 210, is that a hard number?   Will 208V see lower results?   If so, how much lower?   I can re-tap each of the transformer windings to get it up to 220V, but there is a cost to that and I need to figure out if it is worth it.
Zvisha will reply on Sunday.

208 is a bit low, and might have some small performance impact (~2%) - it really depends on exact voltage.
We will investigate next week to see if we can improve that.

My Units are not showing any noticeable impact on 208, Im happy to let you remote in and play with the settings if that will help Smiley

Is 208V the closest you'll get if you have a 3 phase supply? You ever get any problems with other components?

wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:28:22 PM
 #5707

Is 208V the closest you'll get if you have a 3 phase supply? You ever get any problems with other components?

You get 208V on 3 phase Y (wye) setup. The 240V 3 phase is usually a Delta setup.

Chances are your commercial service is a 208v wye service, which is the most common 3 phase transformer configuration. A 240v delta transformer configuration, which is not as common, is in place so it uses only 2 transformers for a three phase system, where a wye setup would need 3 transformers.

Older neighborhoods use 120/240 Delta 3 phase systems. Two phases are 120V to ground. One phase is about 200 volts to ground (wild leg). All phases are 240 between them. Newer neighborhoods (post mid 60s) use 208V.

One way to accommodate a secondary (voltage) Delta connection is to get Three Single Phase transformers and connect them in a Wye/Delta configuration. Adding a transformer is not an easy feat for most of the non-licensed guys .. and they might void insurance / contracts. Definitely not the average DIY gig.


CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
Minor Miner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:49:27 PM
 #5708

Sorry for the repeated question SP TECH, but I need to make a decision.   
I have 208V power (three phase 460 transformed to 208V).   Your post about SP30 having a programmed cutoff at 210, is that a hard number?   Will 208V see lower results?   If so, how much lower?   I can re-tap each of the transformer windings to get it up to 220V, but there is a cost to that and I need to figure out if it is worth it.
Zvisha will reply on Sunday.
208 is a bit low, and might have some small performance impact (~2%) - it really depends on exact voltage.
We will investigate next week to see if we can improve that.
My Units are not showing any noticeable impact on 208, Im happy to let you remote in and play with the settings if that will help Smiley
Is 208V the closest you'll get if you have a 3 phase supply? You ever get any problems with other components?
If you are in the USA and have 460V 3 phase it will most likely be 208V off each leg (120 X 1.73 = 208V).   The transformers are much more common and much cheaper.   You can have an electrician re tap the windings to get it to 220V in each transformer but you have to decide if that is really worth it.


.
                                    ▄███▄
                                    █████▄
            ▄███▄                  ▄████▀██▄▄
            █████▄                ██▀      ▀██▄
            ▀███▀██▄▄            ██▀         ▀██▄████▄                 ▄███▄
                   ▀▀██▄▄       ██▀            ▀██████▄               ▄█████
                       ▀▀██▄▄█████▄             ▀████▀██▄▄          ▄██▀███▀
                           ▀███████               ██   ▀▀███▄    ▄██▀▀
                           ▄███████▄              ██       ▀███▄██▀
▄███▄                    ▄██▀▀███▀▀██▄▄           ██          ▀██▄
██████▄▄              ▄▄██▀          ▀██▄         ██            ▀██▄
▀███▀ ▀▀██▄▄   ▄▄████████              ▀▀██▄      ██              ▀█▄
          ▀▀██▄█████████▌                 ▀██▄▄   ██               ▀██
             ▐██████████                    ▀████████▄               ██▄
              ██████████▄                     ▐███████▄               ████▄
             ▄█████████▀██▄▄ ▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄████████████               █████
            ▄██▀ ▀▀▀▀    ▀▀███████▄████▀▀▀▀▀    ████████▄              ▀▀▀
           ▄██              ██████▀               ▀▀▀▀ ▀██▄
        ▄████               ▀████▀                       ▀████▄
        █████                                              ████
         ▀▀▀                                                ▀▀
.
ShareMeAll
●    A ONE-STOP    ―――――――――――――――   ●  ●  ●  ●
OMarketplace For Sharing EverythingO
.
.
▄▄████████▄▄
▄████████████████▄
▄████████████████████▄
███████████████▀▀  █████
████████████▀▀      ██████
▐████████▀▀   ▄▄     ██████▌
▐████▀▀    ▄█▀▀     ███████▌
▐████████ █▀        ███████▌
████████ █ ▄███▄   ███████
████████████████▄▄██████
▀████████████████████▀
▀████████████████▀
▀▀████████▀▀
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 09:14:44 PM
Last edit: August 15, 2014, 11:42:26 PM by jtoomim
 #5709

Is 208V the closest you'll get if you have a 3 phase supply? You ever get any problems with other components?

I'm on a 3-phase supply, and our machines are getting 254V right now. Yesterday and the day before, they were getting 259V-263V, but I decided that was a little too close to the limit of what the PSUs are rated for, so we turned it down a notch.

It depends on what kind of transformers you buy, and what electricians you employ. Many transformers have taps you can use to adjust voltages. Many electricians will only let you use the taps to produce voltages as close to what's written on the transformer nameplate as possible.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 08:31:56 AM
 #5710

It doesn't matter what voltage you've got - you've got no machine to plug into that voltage.  Spondoolies didn't deliver. 

Thank you Spondoolies Tech for helping me earn more BTC/day today than I did 11 months ago despite the huge difficulty difference!

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 16, 2014, 08:34:39 AM
 #5711

It doesn't matter what voltage you've got - you've got no machine to plug into that voltage.  Spondoolies didn't deliver.  
Do you suggest I built my sp30s myself?

If so, I am really talented and should rightfully earn lots of money.

Congratulations, you just made the 2nd place on my ignore list.
tprogex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 01:31:56 PM
 #5712

when next sp 30 batch will come and will it be same 4.5 ths or something different.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 16, 2014, 01:34:47 PM
 #5713

when next sp 30 batch will come and will it be same 4.5 ths or something different.
October batch should be 5.5th and more energy efficient as per spondoolies announcements.
tprogex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 01:41:19 PM
 #5714

when next sp 30 batch will come and will it be same 4.5 ths or something different.
October batch should be 5.5th and more energy efficient as per spondoolies announcements.
nice in btc mining I think sometimes better to just  wait (but its hard  Wink)
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 16, 2014, 02:37:44 PM
 #5715


nice in btc mining I think sometimes better to just  wait (but its hard  Wink)
Also, every spondoolies miner until October is sold out, as it seems to be a very popular product Smiley

So yes, unfortunately some more waiting is required (and I don´t know whether spondoolies will open the batch soon or wait to confirm specs)
RawDog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1020



View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 03:18:27 PM
 #5716

when next sp 30 batch will come and will it be same 4.5 ths or something different.
October batch should be 5.5th and more energy efficient as per spondoolies announcements.
Last time Spondoolies Tech made a prediction about hash rate, it was off by a mile.  How much will it be short this time?  5.1TH?, 4.9TH?  I wonder.

*Image Removed* *Expletive Removed*  *Obsenity Removed*
What's going on - Slavetards?!!!
Watch my videos: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oE43M1Z8Iew  1FuckYouc6zrtHbnqcHdhrSVhcxgpJgfds
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1166


Clueless!


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 04:53:31 PM
 #5717

when next sp 30 batch will come and will it be same 4.5 ths or something different.
October batch should be 5.5th and more energy efficient as per spondoolies announcements.
nice in btc mining I think sometimes better to just  wait (but its hard  Wink)

at the current btc price of around 500usd..www.coinbase.com is what is singing my 'swan song' now.....
man...miner vs BTC with costs etc....is hurting imho!

will fence sit (at this rate of weirdness for a few months) probably off the miner wagon till next year and
likely baby miners at that (have a Titan coming sigh...the alts are gonna get reamed at this btc price.

as to SP30....even they are gonna have problems with sales vs people just buying btc imho at say 450 to 500 usd spread on btc

on the other hand we MAY see a bigger LAG before another rush of asic equip out the  door at these prices
which means you can (crazy or not) maybe run your sp30 a bit longer if it is already in the pipeline to you this month or so

we will see

Searing

░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░████████████▄▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░▀███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░▄██▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███████████████████████████░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░▀██▄░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░███░░░░░░░░▄███░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░████████████▀▀░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
.BitTrade.
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
⬤ Stock Market
⬤ Bonds
⬤ Currencies
⬤ Gold
⬤ NBA
⬤ NFL
tprogex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 04:59:22 PM
 #5718

when next sp 30 batch will come and will it be same 4.5 ths or something different.
October batch should be 5.5th and more energy efficient as per spondoolies announcements.
nice in btc mining I think sometimes better to just  wait (but its hard  Wink)

at the current btc price of around 500usd..www.coinbase.com is what is singing my 'swan song' now.....
man...miner vs BTC with costs etc....is hurting imho!

will fence sit (at this rate of weirdness for a few months) probably off the miner wagon till next year and
likely baby miners at that (have a Titan coming sigh...the alts are gonna get reamed at this btc price.

as to SP30....even they are gonna have problems with sales vs people just buying btc imho at say 450 to 500 usd spread on btc

on the other hand we MAY see a bigger LAG before another rush of asic equip out the  door at these prices
which means you can (crazy or not) maybe run your sp30 a bit longer if it is already in the pipeline to you this month or so

we will see

Searing

Preparing land for solar plant project from start 200 kw to 1 mega(after few years) based not like to deal with local government and sell them as no any discount for solar or tax credit here so just need to fill that cap with miners and in all cases I must buy miners.  For btc I have my reserves can buy now but its headache also from here.Just buying all that my country miners sell.
Gleb Gamow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1120



View Profile
August 16, 2014, 09:21:26 PM
 #5719

Ready for the latest, all? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=742234.0
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 09:30:39 PM
 #5720

WTH is this

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
Pages: « 1 ... 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 [286] 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!