Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2024, 10:40:47 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 286362 times)
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 03:43:36 AM
 #1601

Got Glasswalker's test bitstream programmed and working.

Took my most stable board (2.63 + 2.63U with twin-test), programmed to SPI and seems to work. After ~25 minutes I get:
Code:
cgminer version 2.5.0 - Started: [2012-07-26 19:20:12]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):1599.3 (avg):1495.8 Mh/s | Q:95  A:209  R:0  HW:0  E:220%  U:7.5/m
 TQ: 4  ST: 4  SS: 0  DW: 17  NB: 5  LW: 778  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://eu.ozco.in:8332 with LP as user zeta-mining.1
 Block: 000008e19c79451adacd7c603a91be7f...  Started: [19:40:07]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 ICA 0:                | 367.8/372.6Mh/s | A:73 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.61/m
 ICA 1:                | 364.1/372.4Mh/s | A:75 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.68/m
 ICA 2:                | 373.9/372.8Mh/s | A:63 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.25/m
 ICA 3:                | 380.0/378.0Mh/s | A: 0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As Glasswalker mentioned, one FPGA is idling (orange LED lit), but 7.5U is way better than 5.3U Smiley

For programming the DIP switches are to be set as Yohan was explaining in the post here, while for mining the mini-howto is almost complete: you need to switch all FPGA DIP switches (2-5) ON.


For those working with Linux, I am using the xc3sprog toolsuite natively, built from SVN with the patch I posted here and the following script (ran as sudo):
Code:
#!/bin/bash

BS=fpgaminer_top.bit

./xc3sprog -c cm1 -p0 -Ixc6lx150.bit $BS && \
./xc3sprog -c cm1 -p1 -Ixc6lx150.bit $BS && \
./xc3sprog -c cm1 -p2 -Ixc6lx150.bit $BS && \
./xc3sprog -c cm1 -p3 -Ixc6lx150.bit $BS && \
    echo "Fertig" | zenity --info || { echo "Fatal error!" && echo "Fehler" | zenity --error; }

You'll need to build cgminer from source with the Baudrate set to 57.6k to mine.


Edit: copy-paste garbage fixed


Love the script btw zefir.

Thanks!

"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- Greg Maxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
unicron
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 04:18:00 AM
 #1602

(10:59:50 PM) Glasswalker [~glasswalk@bas4-kingston08-1177944628.dsl.bell.ca] entered the room.
(10:59:54 PM) Glasswalker: Hey anyone here?
(11:00:29 PM) Glasswalker: I'm on my laptop at my inlaws, and don't have my password db readily available to log into bitcointalk
(11:00:37 PM) Glasswalker: but I have a new bitstream for people to test
(11:01:02 PM) Glasswalker: at http://www.btcsyn.com/bitstreams/cairnsmore_125_test.zip
(11:01:15 PM) Glasswalker: be aware this is untested, it uses new code that may not even work
(11:01:21 PM) Glasswalker: but I hope it's nice and stable in all 4 slots
(11:01:30 PM) Glasswalker: so I'm not wasting time optimizing the 175Mhz version of the same code.
(11:01:48 PM) Glasswalker: It's 25Mhz source clock, 57600 baud same as last bitstream, uses glasswalker controller
(11:02:11 PM) Glasswalker: If someone here could please post this info to the bitcointalk threads I would appreciate it
(11:02:30 PM) Glasswalker: This one is 125Mhz (125Mhash)
(11:02:33 PM) Glasswalker: only for testing functionality
(11:02:45 PM) Glasswalker: But if this works, I should have a 175Mhz version very soon
(11:03:00 PM) Glasswalker: if it fails, at least I know I need to debug it. instead of wasting a ton of compute power on optimizing bugged code
(11:03:27 PM) Glasswalker: Isokivi: *poke*
(11:03:50 PM) Glasswalker: zefir: *poke*
(11:04:01 PM) Glasswalker: makomk: *poke*
(11:04:03 PM) Glasswalker: lol
(11:04:32 PM) Glasswalker: ok well I've got to head to sleep, hopefully someone sees this, Tomorrow I'll get my pwdb going and get on and post it up myself if nobody beats me to it, but it might not be till the end of the day
(11:08:40 PM) Glasswalker: Night all, here's hoping someone has some success with the 125Mhz test.
(11:08:51 PM) Glasswalker: I've also sent it to Yohan at Enterpoint for testing.
(11:13:50 PM) Glasswalker left the room (quit: Ping timeout: 240 seconds).
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 04:23:48 AM
 #1603

(10:59:50 PM) Glasswalker [~glasswalk@bas4-kingston08-1177944628.dsl.bell.ca] entered the room.
(10:59:54 PM) Glasswalker: Hey anyone here?
(11:00:29 PM) Glasswalker: I'm on my laptop at my inlaws, and don't have my password db readily available to log into bitcointalk
(11:00:37 PM) Glasswalker: but I have a new bitstream for people to test
(11:01:02 PM) Glasswalker: at http://www.btcsyn.com/bitstreams/cairnsmore_125_test.zip
(11:01:15 PM) Glasswalker: be aware this is untested, it uses new code that may not even work
(11:01:21 PM) Glasswalker: but I hope it's nice and stable in all 4 slots
(11:01:30 PM) Glasswalker: so I'm not wasting time optimizing the 175Mhz version of the same code.
(11:01:48 PM) Glasswalker: It's 25Mhz source clock, 57600 baud same as last bitstream, uses glasswalker controller
(11:02:11 PM) Glasswalker: If someone here could please post this info to the bitcointalk threads I would appreciate it
(11:02:30 PM) Glasswalker: This one is 125Mhz (125Mhash)
(11:02:33 PM) Glasswalker: only for testing functionality
(11:02:45 PM) Glasswalker: But if this works, I should have a 175Mhz version very soon
(11:03:00 PM) Glasswalker: if it fails, at least I know I need to debug it. instead of wasting a ton of compute power on optimizing bugged code
(11:03:27 PM) Glasswalker: Isokivi: *poke*
(11:03:50 PM) Glasswalker: zefir: *poke*
(11:04:01 PM) Glasswalker: makomk: *poke*
(11:04:03 PM) Glasswalker: lol
(11:04:32 PM) Glasswalker: ok well I've got to head to sleep, hopefully someone sees this, Tomorrow I'll get my pwdb going and get on and post it up myself if nobody beats me to it, but it might not be till the end of the day
(11:08:40 PM) Glasswalker: Night all, here's hoping someone has some success with the 125Mhz test.
(11:08:51 PM) Glasswalker: I've also sent it to Yohan at Enterpoint for testing.
(11:13:50 PM) Glasswalker left the room (quit: Ping timeout: 240 seconds).

Awesome thanks unicron, loading it up right now.
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 10:55:03 AM
 #1604

The board Im currently working on has controller 1.3 in it, I now want to get the glasswalker bitstream controller in there, but spiprog gives me an error and suggests that I have incorrect dip-switch settings, miner are as they are guided in the pdf accompaning the glasswalker controller. SW1 all on SW6 2nd off rest on. Other positions "any setting". What am I doing wrong this time ?

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
Glasswalker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 11:29:27 AM
 #1605

Anyone had any luck with the testing bitstream yet? I'm eager to hear if it was successful at all Smiley

BattleDrome: Blockchain based Gladiator Combat for fun and profit!
http://www.battledrome.io/
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 12:55:02 PM
 #1606

There is no rollback from the glasswalker controller via usb. Not atleast with the current instructions.

On a slightly more positive note, Im currently flashing in the latest bitstream glasswalker pushed out and should have something to report in an hour or so.

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 01:11:32 PM
 #1607

Just a question ... out of curiosity ...
Wouldn't it be that when you flash or change the CM1, the switch settings would depend on what is in there at the moment,
not what you are trying to put in there?
i.e. the switch settings will depend on the current CM1 contents since that can change the meaning of the switch settngs?

I don't have a CM1 (though someone who has bought a few was generous enough to offer me one today - however I have no use for it until the firmware and bitstream are decided and working so I declined until a later date - it would be idle in my hands at the moment, so since they are using it, it's best to stay where it is)

Anyway, I was thinking of 2 obvious additions to --icarus-timing:
1) Specify the baud 112 vs 56 (default will still be 112 of course as current)
2) Specify the FPGA multiplier (1x, 2x, 3x etc ... up to 8x I guess to consider the future? default will be 2x as current)

I think they are the only things that have been different for people so far?

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 28, 2012, 01:32:47 PM
 #1608

Third time I ask this but as my question is buried under pages of people testing new bitstreams and yohan didn't seem to notice it...

Is there any way to flash a controller bitstream from a Linux computer or any plan to allow it ? I don't know if compiling spiprog is possible, if a specific version or patch is needed to make it work (Windows users are advised to download their SPIprog.exe from Enterpoint for example). So I don't even know if hacking my way through a random spiprog source compilation would not make my boards pricey door stops.

@yohan, please advise.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 02:59:39 PM
 #1609

Anyone had any luck with the testing bitstream yet? I'm eager to hear if it was successful at all Smiley

Mine gave me port not open error on all 4 Glasswalker, but something tells me others will have more success, I honestly am starting to think this needs to be done with a jtag cable to be successful. I don't think the usb way works properly.

Id like to see the results Eb gets when he tries it, I bet it works.
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 03:02:21 PM
 #1610

There is no rollback from the glasswalker controller via usb. Not atleast with the current instructions.

On a slightly more positive note, Im currently flashing in the latest bitstream glasswalker pushed out and should have something to report in an hour or so.

You can go from 1.3 to 1.4, and 1.4 to 1.3 you just need to toggle SW1 3, and SW6 6. To go to 1.4 you just toggle sw6 6, and to go back I think I needed both toggled. Either way try a combo of the two toggles and it should work, I was able to go back to 1.3 using the normal usb cable but had to figure out the combination it wanted.

I went and verified real fast, all you need is SW1 3 off, and SW6 all on and it should flash.
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 05:21:50 PM
Last edit: July 28, 2012, 05:50:40 PM by Isokivi
 #1611

There is no rollback from the glasswalker controller via usb. Not atleast with the current instructions.

On a slightly more positive note, Im currently flashing in the latest bitstream glasswalker pushed out and should have something to report in an hour or so.

You can go from 1.3 to 1.4, and 1.4 to 1.3 you just need to toggle SW1 3, and SW6 6. To go to 1.4 you just toggle sw6 6, and to go back I think I needed both toggled. Either way try a combo of the two toggles and it should work, I was able to go back to 1.3 using the normal usb cable but had to figure out the combination it wanted.

I went and verified real fast, all you need is SW1 3 off, and SW6 all on and it should flash.
Everything you mentioned has been tried, there is no way to get out of the glasswalker controller.
The spiprog does not report a problem, but it finishes instantly, so I believe something is still going wrong. Yes, definetley it dosent say Erasing. Or programming nor do the dots .............. appear.
[Edit] Attempt # 50ish and the flash goes trough without errors, I guess I just needed to cycle power ~10 times to luck out. Dipswitch settings: SW1 3 off, everything else on.

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 05:36:02 PM
 #1612

There is no rollback from the glasswalker controller via usb. Not atleast with the current instructions.

On a slightly more positive note, Im currently flashing in the latest bitstream glasswalker pushed out and should have something to report in an hour or so.

You can go from 1.3 to 1.4, and 1.4 to 1.3 you just need to toggle SW1 3, and SW6 6. To go to 1.4 you just toggle sw6 6, and to go back I think I needed both toggled. Either way try a combo of the two toggles and it should work, I was able to go back to 1.3 using the normal usb cable but had to figure out the combination it wanted.

I went and verified real fast, all you need is SW1 3 off, and SW6 all on and it should flash.
Everything you mentioned has been tried, there is no way to get out of the glasswalker controller.
The spiprog does not report a problem, but it finishes instantly, so I believe something is still going wrong. Yes, definetley it dosent say Erasing. Or programming nor do the dots .............. appear.

Make sure when you plug your USB into your windows machine that the Device Loads correctly in device manager.

You should see Under Universal Serial Bus Controllers
Cairnsmore1 JTAG
Cairnsmore1 PortA
Cairnsmore1 PortB
Cairnsmore1 SPI

If any of those are missing or they have a warning Icon over them they wont work. Check your cable, and try differnt USB ports.

Out of 8 ports I have when I log in to windows only 1 port works for the Cairnsmore1 so it took me a bit to find one it liked, no clue why but its a good reason why windows 7 frustrates me.

Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 05:53:59 PM
 #1613

There is no rollback from the glasswalker controller via usb. Not atleast with the current instructions.

On a slightly more positive note, Im currently flashing in the latest bitstream glasswalker pushed out and should have something to report in an hour or so.

You can go from 1.3 to 1.4, and 1.4 to 1.3 you just need to toggle SW1 3, and SW6 6. To go to 1.4 you just toggle sw6 6, and to go back I think I needed both toggled. Either way try a combo of the two toggles and it should work, I was able to go back to 1.3 using the normal usb cable but had to figure out the combination it wanted.

I went and verified real fast, all you need is SW1 3 off, and SW6 all on and it should flash.
Everything you mentioned has been tried, there is no way to get out of the glasswalker controller.
The spiprog does not report a problem, but it finishes instantly, so I believe something is still going wrong. Yes, definetley it dosent say Erasing. Or programming nor do the dots .............. appear.

Make sure when you plug your USB into your windows machine that the Device Loads correctly in device manager.

You should see Under Universal Serial Bus Controllers
Cairnsmore1 JTAG
Cairnsmore1 PortA
Cairnsmore1 PortB
Cairnsmore1 SPI

If any of those are missing or they have a warning Icon over them they wont work. Check your cable, and try differnt USB ports.

Out of 8 ports I have when I log in to windows only 1 port works for the Cairnsmore1 so it took me a bit to find one it liked, no clue why but its a good reason why windows 7 frustrates me.


All of that checked out every time, clueless as to where the issue was but it's resolved for now. Also Im using my most reliable port to test this (usb3  works for me fopr some reason)

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1027


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 07:36:23 PM
 #1614

Third time I ask this but as my question is buried under pages of people testing new bitstreams and yohan didn't seem to notice it...

Is there any way to flash a controller bitstream from a Linux computer or any plan to allow it ? I don't know if compiling spiprog is possible, if a specific version or patch is needed to make it work (Windows users are advised to download their SPIprog.exe from Enterpoint for example). So I don't even know if hacking my way through a random spiprog source compilation would not make my boards pricey door stops.

@yohan, please advise.

I too want to know the answer of this.
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1378
Merit: 1003

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 07:37:21 PM
 #1615

Third time I ask this but as my question is buried under pages of people testing new bitstreams and yohan didn't seem to notice it...

Is there any way to flash a controller bitstream from a Linux computer or any plan to allow it ? I don't know if compiling spiprog is possible, if a specific version or patch is needed to make it work (Windows users are advised to download their SPIprog.exe from Enterpoint for example). So I don't even know if hacking my way through a random spiprog source compilation would not make my boards pricey door stops.

@yohan, please advise.

I too want to know the answer of this.

+1

spiccioli
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 810
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
July 29, 2012, 06:10:53 AM
 #1616

any updates on latest bitstream? how close to "plug & play" 800MHs or better?

zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 919
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 29, 2012, 10:48:36 AM
 #1617

any updates on latest bitstream? how close to "plug & play" 800MHs or better?

Not really close for me at the moment Sad

From 12 boards I tested, I can get around 50% hashing with makomk's 140MH bitstream. The other boards just fail to deliver shares. Since ebereon runs all his 10 boards (board serial numbers 400+) with this bitstream, it might be a problem of my early boards (# 55-128).

Similar results for Glasswalker's 175MH bitstream: worked on some boards, but not on others. I was not able to flash the 125MH one, the programmer always exits with verification errors indicating an SPI page remained unprogrammed. Again, this might be only my early boards, since in #cm1 people reported they had no similar issues.

The worst thing is, I can't isolate the 'bad' from the 'good' boards, since this is dependent on the used bitstream, i.e. some boards do well with makomk's but fail on Glasswalker's or vice-versa Sad

steamboat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 648
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 29, 2012, 06:35:58 PM
 #1618

at what point does U.S. customs charge import fees? I ordered 9 boards and don't know if i'm going to get hit with a surprise tax.

ASIC miners available for purchase

Those who serve best, profit most.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 03:20:41 AM
 #1619

If anyone can solve that one I'd be happy Smiley

The cause may be that there is some setting that sometimes needs to be reset on the serial/usb but I've no idea what it is.
i.e. it may be cgminer that needs to reset it (since I get a similar problem on my Icarus on rare occasions as mentioned below)

I have found that python can sometimes clear it.
Using this script (that I modified) you just type:
./usbtest.py /dev/ttyUSB0 icarus
(with the correct device name for your board)
http://pastebin.com/xAFP4wVY
(you may need to change the serial baud rate on line 39)

However, I've only had this problem when I pull the USB cable from my kids windows box (when testing) and then plug it into linux (and don't power cycle the Icarus)
And python doesn't always clear it, so I then power cycle to clear it.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 03:58:11 AM
 #1620

Unfortunately Ive never run in to that problem and don't have the coding knowledge to help fix that bug, however I did test 2.6.0 and got the makomk 140 bitstream working for the last 5 hours and its very stable.

ICA 0:                | 346.4/346.9Mh/s | A:723 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.00/m
ICA 1:                | 344.3/348.3Mh/s | A:704 R:1 HW:0 U:  3.90/m

Great numbers.

The Glasswalker 175 also works natively with 2.6.0 however its not a stable bitstream. I also was unable to get the Glasswalker 125 bitstream working at all, always fails golden nonce.

I can say I do prefer Cgminer to MPBM, lots more Debugging info that I can understand at any rate, API and fail-over, not sure why we mess with the MPBM but then again I don't make bitstreams so maybe its easier for testing purposes.

Keep up the great work guys.

Doff
Pages: « 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!