Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 11:16:07 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GUIMiner-scrypt: A GUIMiner fork for mining scrypt chains  (Read 993988 times)
tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 11, 2013, 07:27:24 PM
 #41

No

I'll check after and make sure that the platform is in the flags, I'd thought it was but maybe I'd made a mistake

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
1714130167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714130167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714130167
Reply with quote  #2

1714130167
Report to moderator
1714130167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714130167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714130167
Reply with quote  #2

1714130167
Report to moderator
1714130167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714130167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714130167
Reply with quote  #2

1714130167
Report to moderator
The forum was founded in 2009 by Satoshi and Sirius. It replaced a SourceForge forum.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714130167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714130167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714130167
Reply with quote  #2

1714130167
Report to moderator
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 11, 2013, 07:31:37 PM
 #42

No

I'll check after and make sure that the platform is in the flags, I'd thought it was but maybe I'd made a mistake

it was this thread here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=151636.0

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 11, 2013, 08:33:49 PM
 #43


Okay, I see the problem now.

Code:
        # Command line arguments for cgminer here:
        # -u <username>
        # -p <password>
        # -o <http://server.ip:port>
        # -d <device appear in pyopencl>
        # -l <log message period in second>
        # -T <disable curses interface and output to console (stdout)>
        cmd = "%s --scrypt -u %s -p %s -o %s%s:%s -d %s --thread-concurrency %s -w %s -v %s -I %s -g %s -l 5 -T %s" % (
            path,
            self.txt_username.GetValue(),
            self.txt_pass.GetValue(),
            http_header,
            self.host_without_http_prefix,
            self.txt_port.GetValue(),
            self.device_index,
            self.txt_thrcon.GetValue(),
            self.txt_worksize.GetValue(),
            self.txt_vectors.GetValue(),
            self.txt_intensity.GetValue(),
            self.txt_gputhreads.GetValue(),
            self.txt_flags.GetValue())
        return cmd, os.path.dirname(path)

If you look in the above code, it selects for -d (device) # but not --gpu-platform #.  To fix this, I just need to add the --gpu-platform platform flag, since the GUIminer code already gets this information as self.platform_index.  I will update this in version 0.03 so you don't need to put the flag in any more.  This is apparently a bug carried over from the original GUIminer.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 11, 2013, 08:39:57 PM
 #44

Works really great.

Question, the default setting, is it mining with reaper or cgminer?

Thanks

Think I have this bug figured out too;
Code:
external_path_ref = (data.get('external_path') or _('CGMINER'))
...
self.txt_external.SetValue(external_path_ref)

This sets the configurable external path self.txt_external (hidden in my implementation) but not the actual value that determines which miner it is, the self.external_path variable to CGMINER when no other value is given (eg when starting for the first time).  I need to change self.external_path here too, so that the miner knows what miner it is before you hit the start button.  When you restart the miner, it should show up as cgminer (probably why I never caught this bug, haven't deleted my settings .ini file in a while).

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
meebs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 11, 2013, 09:03:38 PM
 #45

A lot of the time I can get my "tahiti 1-0" to run fine.. but then when creating a second worker for "tahiti 1-1", exact same settings.. it won't start. As in.. clicking "start" literally does nothing. Like the button is broken...

*shrugs*

That said.. this is a GREAT start so far.

I REALLY recommend that you mention the "point miners to localhost:8332" in the stratum proxy worker page. It is NOT obvious at all how it should be correctly set up and it greatly confused me until i reread the first post of the thread.

What miner?  Usually the program does nothing like that if the miner for some reason throws an error.  If you could dump the error from the miner here by dumping what goes out to the console, that'd be super helpful (the console logs all errors usually).  To see the console, select View --> Show console.

The other thing is that if it's a reaper instance, you can check the files that the GUI creates for the miner instance by opening the guiminer folder, and looking for a folder called "reaper-yourminername".  Within that folder should be reaper.exe and a bunch of other files.  A dump of the contents of reaper.conf and litecoin.conf might be possible; if those are the only two files in the folder, something has gone wrong.

Additionally, if you find a reaper folder within any folder other than the guiminer folder (eg /reaper/reaper-yourminername/) something has gone wrong.

Yup, it was reaper. I will download the newest version and try again.



              ▄▄▄█████████████▄▄▄
           ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▄
        ▄██████▀▀             ▀▀██████▄
      ▄█████▀▀                    ▀▀█████▄
     █████▀                          ▀█████
    ████▀          ▄▄███████▄▄         ▀████
   ████▌        ▄██▀▀▀    ▀▀▀██▄        ▐████
  ████▌       ▄██▀            ▀██▄       ▐████
 ▐████       ██▀   ▄▄█▀▀▀█▄▄    ▀██       ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▀  ▄▄   ▀▀             ▐████
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
▐████       ██  ▐█  ▐█                     ████▌
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▄  ▀▀   ▄▄    ██▀      ▐████
 ▐████       ██▄   ▀▀█▄▄▄█▀▀    ██▌       ████▌
  █████       ▀██▄            ▄██▀       █████
   █████        ▀██▄▄▄    ▄▄▄██▀        █████
    █████          ▀▀███████▀▀         █████
     █████▄                          ▄█████
      ▀█████▄▄                    ▄▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄             ▄▄██████▀
           ▀████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████▀
              ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀▀
Global Cryptocurrency
          ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

  DECENTRALISING PRODUCTION, LOGISTICS AND PAYMENT 
                ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   3D SERVICE      32 BAY     GCC WEBWALLET
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 11, 2013, 11:48:54 PM
 #46

Yup, it was reaper. I will download the newest version and try again.

Cool, let me know if it works okay now.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
FreedomCoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675
Merit: 507


Freedom to choose


View Profile
March 12, 2013, 02:47:59 AM
 #47

what would the parameters be for CPU mining? i7 specifically...

tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 12, 2013, 03:54:17 AM
 #48

what would the parameters be for CPU mining? i7 specifically...
Use this miner, as I haven't implemented it for CPUs (yet) https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=62414.0

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
CryptoJunky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 12, 2013, 02:27:02 PM
 #49

Nice work TacoTime. I just put together a tutorial on Litecoin mining for beginners using it. After testing it out I'm pretty surprised at how well it work. The default settings with my 7970 worked out pretty well too. Not quite the 1 mh/s to 1 kh/s ratio but getting closer. It's faster than I've gotten playing around with Reaper and CGminer in the past. Thanks!

http://cryptojunky.com/blog/2013/03/12/absolute-beginners-guide-to-litecoin-mining/

mantel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 12, 2013, 04:13:40 PM
 #50

Thanks for this!

I was wandering around trying to figure out how to set up a mining client and out of all the "edit litecoin.conf" and other stuff this post shone out and just let me start mining while I read up and learn about litecoin.
tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 12, 2013, 05:19:50 PM
 #51

If the GPU I want to use for mining is not used as first device the miner doesn't see it. In my case I want to use the integrated GPU in my I5 for desktop and mine with my Radeon 5770, but it doesn't work. With the guiminer for Bitcoins this problem doesn't occur, so I dunno if it's my fault or there is a little bug.

With cgminer or reaper?  Right now there's a bug with cgminer and you need to add the extra flag,
Code:
--gpu-platform 1

That should fix it.  Reaper seems to be unaffected because it enters the platform number.  This will be fixed in 0.03 alpha, which should come out this weekend (want to see if any other bugs come out first).

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Zedster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 12, 2013, 05:25:29 PM
 #52

Very nice Mr. Tacotime.  I spend some time in the #litecoin channel on IRC and mining is a huge subject atm.  I already point people your AMD card post about 10 times a day now I have another one to pass on.

I personally am interested in the reasoning behind this next statement you make:

Quote
A: In addition to tuning the parameters of the program, you will need to tune the GPU core speed and memory.  For 5xxx/6xxx cards a good ratio is 0.70 - 0.80 core / memory clock speeds.  For 7xxx cards, ratios are best under 0.68, with the 7970 preferring ratios at or under even 0.57 in reaper.
To find your memory speed from the core speed, simply divide by the ratio, e.g. 900 MHz core / 0.68 = 1325 MHz RAM.

I basiclly stumbled onto this just with playing with cgminer.  I read in one post the best thing to do was to adjust mem speeds down to 300.  Well this may keep things cool but hash rates suck.  I have a couple old 5830's one with 2 pipe cooler and one with the 5 pipe cooler.  Keeping the one with the 2 pipe cooler cool is a task.  The ratios you mention here are they just from experimenting or is there definitive math proof for the numbers?


tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 12, 2013, 05:27:50 PM
 #53

I basiclly stumbled onto this just with playing with cgminer.  I read in one post the best thing to do was to adjust mem speeds down to 300.  Well this may keep things cool but hash rates suck.  I have a couple old 5830's one with 2 pipe cooler and one with the 5 pipe cooler.  Keeping the one with the 2 pipe cooler cool is a task.  The ratios you mention here are they just from experimenting or is there definitive math proof for the numbers?

For the 7770, yes
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117221.msg1302319#msg1302319

From what I can tell this holds true for my 7950s too, but I don't have as much quantitative data.

Someone needs to make these same curves for the 5xxx and 6xxx series too, since they use a different architecture.  It'd be nice if someone could, I've wanted to roll out a program to do this automatedly for some time but have been working or coding other things.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Zedster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 12, 2013, 05:37:49 PM
 #54

I basiclly stumbled onto this just with playing with cgminer.  I read in one post the best thing to do was to adjust mem speeds down to 300.  Well this may keep things cool but hash rates suck.  I have a couple old 5830's one with 2 pipe cooler and one with the 5 pipe cooler.  Keeping the one with the 2 pipe cooler cool is a task.  The ratios you mention here are they just from experimenting or is there definitive math proof for the numbers?

For the 7770, yes
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117221.msg1302319#msg1302319

From what I can tell this holds true for my 7950s too, but I don't have as much quantitative data.

Someone needs to make these same curves for the 5xxx and 6xxx series too, since they use a different architecture.  It'd be nice if someone could, I've wanted to roll out a program to do this automatedly for some time but have been working or coding other things.

Very nice thank you sir.  I never had a need to go to page 7 of that thread so I missed that. Smiley 
Turok
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 01:32:34 PM
Last edit: March 13, 2013, 03:12:27 PM by Turok
 #55

first of all, great job man!

However, I am experiencing little issues. I have 2 cards, 7970 and 7870. Any time I increase the Thread concurrency to more than 8192, the GUIminer reports an error in Win7.
I was trying to increase this attribute according to your other topic - 7970 -> 21712 and 7870 -> 15360.

Anyone experiencing the same?

edit: nevermind. found out that cgminer doesn't support such high concurrencies, so I had to use Reaper instead.
tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 13, 2013, 03:30:38 PM
 #56

Yeah, sorry about that.  In the next version I will add tool tips to specify what the general values should be for the different options.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2955
Merit: 1049


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 08:33:33 PM
 #57

is there somewhere a Linux version?
TIA
tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 08:39:26 PM
 #58

No; I'll try to make it portable in the future though.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
bziubek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 16, 2013, 10:25:19 PM
 #59

I'm getting an alert "errors occured" and the program crashes right after starting.

Code:
ERROR:root:Exception:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "guiminer.py", line 2817, in run
  File "guiminer.py", line 2194, in __init__
  File "wx\_core.pyo", line 11206, in Enable
PyAssertionError: C++ assertion "item" failed at ..\..\src\common\menucmn.cpp(841) in wxMenuBase::Enable(): wxMenu::Enable: no such item
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "guiminer.py", line 2826, in <module>
  File "guiminer.py", line 2817, in run
  File "guiminer.py", line 2194, in __init__
  File "wx\_core.pyo", line 11206, in Enable
wx._core.PyAssertionError: C++ assertion "item" failed at ..\..\src\common\menucmn.cpp(841) in wxMenuBase::Enable(): wxMenu::Enable: no such item

On Win Xp x64

Any ideas why?
tacotime (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:16:28 AM
 #60

It was compiled under Win7 and doesn't seem to work on x86 or x64 windows XP because of an incompatible build of wx.  I will try to compile a version later for Windows XP.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!