Bitcoin Forum
April 16, 2024, 11:11:13 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 [628] 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 ... 814 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2591608 times)
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:41:25 PM
 #12541

I finally got a node up and running. How do you change the difficulty of your miner? Are there any interfaces i should look into that allow me more control? I saw some people charging for there public nodes. Once you have one set up how would you charge a fee? It would be worth it if the fees helped me pay for extra bradband.
To change the difficulty of your miner, you use the "/" and "+" arguments after your BTC address.  For example, if you're mining with an S3, you might want to change the difficulty to 500.  In the config screen, you set your worker like this:

1DeVLDoGvkbbB5n3dPvbpDbwiKGjYckCy9+500/500

The +500 sets your pseudo-share difficulty.  The /500 sets you up to use the p2pool minimum share difficulty.  There has been plenty of discussion on the usage of "+" and "/" in this thread.  The short of it is that the "+" makes the graphs look nice.  The "/" will tell p2pool what difficulty share to accept from you to add to the share chain.  If you set "/" less than the current p2pool network share difficulty, it automatically uses the network share difficulty.  If you set it higher than the network difficulty, it uses what you set.

You can add a fee to your node by passing the --fee parameter on startup of your node.  For example:

Code:
./run_p2pool.py --give-author 0.5 --fee 0.5
That will donate 0.5% to the author and will collect 0.5% fee for you.

Thanks you.
this is a massive the thread so sorry that i asked the question i was scanning through it and couldnt find an answer. The code you refer to ./run_p2pool.py that would be used in linux? I'm running windows. Where do i input that code through python? I never understood that part wish it was spelled out better in by op. Next pc is def a lunix based. I'm tired of compiling windows programs.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
1713309073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713309073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713309073
Reply with quote  #2

1713309073
Report to moderator
1713309073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713309073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713309073
Reply with quote  #2

1713309073
Report to moderator
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713309073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713309073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713309073
Reply with quote  #2

1713309073
Report to moderator
1713309073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713309073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713309073
Reply with quote  #2

1713309073
Report to moderator
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1023


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 03:44:37 PM
 #12542

I finally got a node up and running. How do you change the difficulty of your miner? Are there any interfaces i should look into that allow me more control? I saw some people charging for there public nodes. Once you have one set up how would you charge a fee? It would be worth it if the fees helped me pay for extra bradband.
To change the difficulty of your miner, you use the "/" and "+" arguments after your BTC address.  For example, if you're mining with an S3, you might want to change the difficulty to 500.  In the config screen, you set your worker like this:

1DeVLDoGvkbbB5n3dPvbpDbwiKGjYckCy9+500/500

The +500 sets your pseudo-share difficulty.  The /500 sets you up to use the p2pool minimum share difficulty.  There has been plenty of discussion on the usage of "+" and "/" in this thread.  The short of it is that the "+" makes the graphs look nice.  The "/" will tell p2pool what difficulty share to accept from you to add to the share chain.  If you set "/" less than the current p2pool network share difficulty, it automatically uses the network share difficulty.  If you set it higher than the network difficulty, it uses what you set.

You can add a fee to your node by passing the --fee parameter on startup of your node.  For example:

Code:
./run_p2pool.py --give-author 0.5 --fee 0.5
That will donate 0.5% to the author and will collect 0.5% fee for you.

Thanks you.
this is a massive the thread so sorry that i asked the question i was scanning through it and couldnt find an answer. The code you refer to ./run_p2pool.py that would be used in linux? I'm running windows. Where do i input that code through python? I never understood that part wish it was spelled out better in by op. Next pc is def a lunix based. I'm tired of compiling windows programs.
I'm not a Windows guy, so I can't offer you much help there.  I would imagine it's somewhat similar... maybe something like: c:\path\to\python.exe run_p2pool.py...

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:47:06 PM
 #12543

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1258
Merit: 1027


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 03:48:27 PM
 #12544

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.

I'd suggest mining to a wallet you control....

If you post or PM the address I'll take a look.

jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1023


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 03:49:52 PM
 #12545

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.
Unlike most other pools, p2pool pays you from the reward generation transaction.  In other words, you get newly minted coins.  Some exchanges don't play nicely with newly minted coins - they expect the coins to come from a known input transaction, not generated.  That's why you don't mine to an exchange.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1500
Merit: 1002


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:53:02 PM
 #12546

just make a .bat file either in .exe or linux version with the cmds you want or need then make a shortcut on desktop

looks something like this for linux version running in windows :

run_p2pool.py --give-author 0 YourBitcoinAddInYourBitcoin.confIfBlankItWillGoToYourWallet FollowedWithOtherCmdsYouWishToAdd

Spaces are important ! don't forget to port forward
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:55:47 PM
 #12547

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.
Unlike most other pools, p2pool pays you from the reward generation transaction.  In other words, you get newly minted coins.  Some exchanges don't play nicely with newly minted coins - they expect the coins to come from a known input transaction, not generated.  That's why you don't mine to an exchange.
I really don't like the idea of mining to a wallet that could crash potentially bad idea. Maybe there should be an added change in code to support exchange deposits would be nice. Thanks dude the fast replies.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 04:03:43 PM
 #12548

just make a .bat file either in .exe or linux version with the cmds you want or need then make a shortcut on desktop

looks something like this for linux version running in windows :

run_p2pool.py --give-author 0 YourBitcoinAddInYourBitcoin.confIfBlankItWillGoToYourWallet FollowedWithOtherCmdsYouWishToAdd

Spaces are important ! don't forget to port forward

ok so i would make the .bat file in my p2p folder? can wait to try this wish i had a more comprehensive tutorial. I will make one Once I figure things out to hopefully get more people into this.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1023


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 04:05:31 PM
 #12549

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.
Unlike most other pools, p2pool pays you from the reward generation transaction.  In other words, you get newly minted coins.  Some exchanges don't play nicely with newly minted coins - they expect the coins to come from a known input transaction, not generated.  That's why you don't mine to an exchange.
I really don't like the idea of mining to a wallet that could crash potentially bad idea. Maybe there should be an added change in code to support exchange deposits would be nice. Thanks dude the fast replies.

That would be up to the exchanges.  They'd have to alter their code to allow for generated coins.

As for wallets crashing, if you're mining on your own p2pool node, sure that's bad because the p2pool code requires a connection to a functional Bitcoin daemon.  Then again, you're taking that chance no matter on which pool you're mining.  Heck, you can mine to a paper wallet if you really want to.  As long as you've got the public/private keys in your control it doesn't matter.

Personally, I run a p2pool node on a VPS.  The Bitcoin daemon is compiled and built with no wallet functionality.  It's job is to feed the p2pool node work.  The addresses I use for mining are completely separate of that box.  I make regular backups of my wallet.dat file and keep those backups stored safely.  If I execute any large transactions, I make a backup immediately afterwards.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
tomsanders
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 04:58:33 PM
 #12550

Hi Guys

I seem to have found the issue,

The VPS used didn't have enough ram to run properly, up'd the ram and it seems to be all good now Smiley .........just got to wait for the blockchain to download and then I can carry on with the installation.

Thanks
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 05:54:52 PM
 #12551

I really don't like the idea of mining to a wallet that could crash potentially bad idea. Maybe there should be an added change in code to support exchange deposits would be nice. Thanks dude the fast replies.

As jonnybravo mentioned, the exchanges are the ones who don't process deposits properly when they are in the coinbase of the block (the newly minted reward coins). Nothing p2pool can do about that.

You could mine to an online wallet at a variety of places if you don't want to run a wallet locally. On my PC I use Electrum. Doesn't require downloading the blockchain, syncs very quickly, and gives you a seed you can print out and store in case you ever need to recreate your wallet from scratch.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 07:11:35 PM
 #12552

just make a .bat file either in .exe or linux version with the cmds you want or need then make a shortcut on desktop

looks something like this for linux version running in windows :

run_p2pool.py --give-author 0 YourBitcoinAddInYourBitcoin.confIfBlankItWillGoToYourWallet FollowedWithOtherCmdsYouWishToAdd

Spaces are important ! don't forget to port forward

Ok I reread your post I would put in my bitcoin.conf nice got that set up any other codes i should put in there to increase payout?
The size of the block etc. Set Broadband cap.... For so reason i can't get over diff over 1k putting out 2.5 k on this node are there intervals that it should be set at.
I apologize for all the questions i just dont have the time to comb through this thread would be nice to organize the info in this thread so it's easier to access what you need.  A screen shot of python run_p2pool.py --help would be nice.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 07:48:48 PM
 #12553

I apologize for all the questions i just dont have the time to comb through this thread would be nice to organize the info in this thread so it's easier to access what you need.

You might find this useful:

A guide for mining efficiently on P2Pool, includes FUD repellent and FAQ

If it is any help to you, the script I use on my linux machine reads:

Code:
screen -d -m -S btcp2pool ~/code/p2pool/run_p2pool.py --irc-announce --outgoing-conns 10 --address yourbitcoinaddressforfeestogoto --fee 0 --give-author .5 --net bitcoin bitcoinuser bitcoinpassword

Obviously, replace the address with your own if you have a fee. Since I have --fee 0 at the moment I might not even need --address. The "bitcoinuser" and "bitcoinpassword" are the rpcuser and rpcpassword set in your bitcoin.conf file.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 08:30:08 PM
 #12554

I apologize for all the questions i just dont have the time to comb through this thread would be nice to organize the info in this thread so it's easier to access what you need.

You might find this useful:

A guide for mining efficiently on P2Pool, includes FUD repellent and FAQ

If it is any help to you, the script I use on my linux machine reads:

Code:
screen -d -m -S btcp2pool ~/code/p2pool/run_p2pool.py --irc-announce --outgoing-conns 10 --address yourbitcoinaddressforfeestogoto --fee 0 --give-author .5 --net bitcoin bitcoinuser bitcoinpassword

Obviously, replace the address with your own if you have a fee. Since I have --fee 0 at the moment I might not even need --address. The "bitcoinuser" and "bitcoinpassword" are the rpcuser and rpcpassword set in your bitcoin.conf file.
I was looking at that thread but i thought it was out dated.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1023


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 09:01:35 PM
 #12555

I apologize for all the questions i just dont have the time to comb through this thread would be nice to organize the info in this thread so it's easier to access what you need.

You might find this useful:

A guide for mining efficiently on P2Pool, includes FUD repellent and FAQ

If it is any help to you, the script I use on my linux machine reads:

Code:
screen -d -m -S btcp2pool ~/code/p2pool/run_p2pool.py --irc-announce --outgoing-conns 10 --address yourbitcoinaddressforfeestogoto --fee 0 --give-author .5 --net bitcoin bitcoinuser bitcoinpassword

Obviously, replace the address with your own if you have a fee. Since I have --fee 0 at the moment I might not even need --address. The "bitcoinuser" and "bitcoinpassword" are the rpcuser and rpcpassword set in your bitcoin.conf file.
I was looking at that thread but i thought it was out dated.
Everything there still applies.  @roy7, you put the address still in case some miners connect to your node without a proper BTC address.  Even if you're not collecting fees, the node will consider any improperly formatted BTC address mining as a donation.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1258
Merit: 1027


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 01:28:23 AM
 #12556

Can someone take a look at this. Anything you see that i should change?
[IMG removed]

The run_p2pool.py line does not go in bitcoin.conf, that is the command to start p2pool (as you are on windows I'm guessing you use the exe), not sure how to pass args in win, but I would try start => cmd, move to p2pool dir and try to run it from there...
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 05:57:30 PM
 #12557

How does P2Pool detect bad peers, which it bans? What constitutes a bad peer?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 06:31:36 PM
 #12558

How do we update P2Pool without loosing all our downloaded sharechain?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 28, 2015, 07:00:12 PM
 #12559

How do we update P2Pool without loosing all our downloaded sharechain?

If you cloned it from github I think all you need to do is "git pull" in the p2pool directory.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 07:55:25 PM
 #12560

How do we update P2Pool without loosing all our downloaded sharechain?

If you cloned it from github I think all you need to do is "git pull" in the p2pool directory.
Oh nice thanks

Also, is there a proper way to reboot P2Pool?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Pages: « 1 ... 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 [628] 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 ... 814 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!