Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:29:13 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitminter client (Windows/Linux/Mac)  (Read 549847 times)
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 28, 2011, 05:38:46 PM
 #101

I'd much rather have a regular site login than the Facebook crap.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
1480854553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854553
Reply with quote  #2

1480854553
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 28, 2011, 06:04:34 PM
 #102

You dont have to use it.
I think its a good idea though, to make the process even simpler for facebook newbies, which is one audience that bitminter should attract to. I also dont see the point of making a bitminter only login; whats wrong with myopenid?

BOARBEAR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 08:14:53 PM
 #103

I would try this miner if it was not written in Java.  Any chance of making one in C?

I might make a command-line version in the future, but it will most likely also run on a Java Virtual Machine. Why do you prefer C?

Does this miner work on other pools, or just your own ? What about backup pool support ?

So far only in my pool. Support for backup pools is planned, but everything takes time.

I don't use any other Java program.  So I don't have Java installed on my system.  And I don't wanna install Java just for one miner.
I prefer anything that's not Java, not just C.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 28, 2011, 10:25:50 PM
 #104

AFAIK, Java JRE is written in C. If you dont like installing Oracle software, bitminter works fine on IcedTea on linux.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2012, 08:06:55 PM
 #105

v1.1.1 beta is out.

Changes:
  • Improved long polling
  • Cache less work, to reduce server load
  • Show reason for rejected proofs of work (X-Reject-Reason getwork extension)
  • Cache DNS lookups max 15 minutes (so you won't have to restart if we switch server again)
  • AMD GCN support: use bitselect() for BFI_INT instead of patching
  • Recognize more CPUs/GPUs. Corrected expected hash rates for some devices.

Can someone with a 7970 see how it runs? I don't have one to test it on myself.


▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 06:14:53 PM
 #106

Runs well on 7970 and no reports of any problems. So v1.1.1 final is now out. Changes are as described in the previous post.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 10:03:31 PM
 #107

Quick update today. Version 1.1.2.

Only one change: Recognize FirePro M5950 (Toucan) and enable BFI_INT patching for it.

This was unfortunately broken by the recent GCN changes. Please let me know if you have other GPUs that are not recognized (or CPUs).

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
ArticMine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792


Monero Core Team


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 03:15:36 PM
 #108

After upgrading from Ubuntu 10.04 to 11.10 Bitminter will not start at all. I have tried it with both Oracle java and icetea. I currently have Oracle Java version: Version 6 Update 30. When launching Bitminter using Firefox it prompts to open the jre with Firefox and then launches a new tab.  i have verified Java on the Oracle site and it says "Your Java version: Version 6 Update 30" Thanks

Concerned that blockchain bloat will lead to centralization? Storing less than 4 GB of data once required the budget of a superpower and a warehouse full of punched cards. https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/87/IBM_card_storage.NARA.jpg https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Punched_card
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 05, 2012, 04:55:17 PM
 #109

Could you try starting it from the command line and see if that works better?

Code:
javaws http://bitminter.com/client/bitminter.jnlp

Also you could try "javaws -viewer" and delete bitminter from the cache. Next time you start it, it will be downloaded anew, which might help.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
ArticMine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792


Monero Core Team


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 10:52:32 PM
 #110

Thanks so much for your reply.

Starting BitMinter from that command line as suggested above works great, so it is a very effective workaround for me;
however it will not start from the browser even after deleting Bitminter from the cache.

Concerned that blockchain bloat will lead to centralization? Storing less than 4 GB of data once required the budget of a superpower and a warehouse full of punched cards. https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/87/IBM_card_storage.NARA.jpg https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Punched_card
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2012, 06:58:50 AM
 #111

When you click the "engine start" button on the website Firefox should open a small window saying "You have chosen to open bitminter.jnlp which is a: JNLP File (2.7 KB)".

Below this, on one of my computers the top option (which is the default) says "Open with Java(TM) Web Start Launcher (default)". On another computer it says "Open with Sun Java 6 Web Start (default)", but the second option "Save File" comes up as the default (pre-selected) option. As long as you get an option to open with web start, choose that and click OK - you're good to go.

Something else may show up as the default "open with" choice. Click the combo box and see if web start is listed. If not, click "Other..." which will list many applications you could use to open the file. If Java web start is on the list, choose that. If you check "do this automatically for files like this from now on" then Firefox will remember your choice for next time.

If Java web start doesn't show up as an option then there's probably something wrong with the file type associations and Firefox doesn't know what to do with a JNLP file. Firefox (unlike some browsers) gets this information from the operating system. Normally there should be a JNLP file type associated with Java web start after you install Java. Not sure what would cause that to fail.

You should have a file under /usr/share/applications/ with javaws in the name.

Ubuntu 11.10 example, /usr/share/applications/icedtea-netx-javaws.desktop
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Name=IcedTea Java 6 Web Start
Name[fi]=IcedTea Java 6 - Web Start
Comment=IcedTea Java 6 Web Start
Comment[fi]=IcedTea Java 6 - Web Start
Exec=/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-openjdk/bin/javaws %u
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Icon=openjdk-6
Categories=Application;Network;
MimeType=application/x-java-jnlp-file;
NoDisplay=true

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
March 06, 2012, 08:44:47 AM
 #112

The easy solution for Ubuntu: open Ubuntu software center, search for "IcedTea Java 6 web start". Install it. Done Smiley.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2012, 09:36:11 PM
 #113

I have gotten a few reports that the miner runs very fast on 7970s.

Has anyone compared directly against DiabloMiner? I don't have a 7970 to test on.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 09:53:16 PM
 #114

v1.2.0 beta1 just released.

New in this release: support for BFL BitFORCE FPGA devices!

A big thanks to Fefox for lending me his BFL singles for testing and his participation in the testing! Smiley

If you have one or more such devices, please help test this beta. It has only been tested on 64 bit Windows. That leaves 32 bit Windows, 32/64 bit Linux, 32/64 bit Mac OS X.

How to use it:
It doesn't probe the serial ports by default. There is a new menu "devices" with two possible actions: checking all serial ports for BitFORCE devices, or a specific one. Also there is a new FPGA tab in the options (Settings -> Options in the menus). Here you can set how to detect FPGAs on startup and whether to scan for added/removed devices at intervals. There are also some settings you can change on each device. Click the wrenches to change these settings.

Please try it out:


If the device reaches max temp it will stop. Click the wrench to change the max temp. Is 75 C a good default max temperature?

Any feedback appreciated.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 11:21:18 PM
 #115

Very cool!  Will definitely be giving this a shot when I receive mine...

How is the hashrate on the BFL's compared to cgminer?
Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161



View Profile
May 02, 2012, 12:11:12 AM
 #116

Very cool!  Will definitely be giving this a shot when I receive mine...

How is the hashrate on the BFL's compared to cgminer?


seems to be the same.  I get about 825 Mh for both miners.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2012, 07:44:36 AM
 #117

In theory it should be faster than cgminer and the other miners, because of faster work dispatch. In practice the difference is negligible (less than 1 Mhps per BFL single). This may prove more useful with the rig boxes.

Instead of checking whether the device is done with 10 ms pauses in between checks, it will first leave the device in peace until it gets close to done (cgminer does the same), then start 10 ms polling, and when it gets very close to done it starts 1 ms polling. This allows quick reaction pushing out new work once the device is idle. Right after it goes "ok, I'm all done, I think I'll just read the newspaper now" you have to detect that situation quickly and put it back to work. You can click the wrench and change the 10 ms and 1 ms values. You could even change the 1 ms to 0 ms. Running with 0 ms might be ok. It won't hog the CPU as much as the AMD drivers do/did. Wink I just thought it might be a bit brutal for a default setting.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Phraust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206


Mostly Harmless...


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2012, 01:07:42 PM
 #118

Trying it out on OSX Lion (10.7.3) Server w/ 3x BitForce singles.  When I try to scan for FPGAs, it just crashes.  After it gets through with trying the Bluetooth modem (which fails), it dies. Mooing to try rebooting and giving it another shot.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2012, 03:00:13 PM
 #119

Trying it out on OSX Lion (10.7.3) Server w/ 3x BitForce singles.  When I try to scan for FPGAs, it just crashes.  After it gets through with trying the Bluetooth modem (which fails), it dies. Mooing to try rebooting and giving it another shot.

The whole app crashes, and possibly Java leaves a crash log on the desktop? Probably the RXTX library (for Java access to serial ports) that's doing it. I'm starting to hate that buggy thing.

Could you try adding them one by one using the menu to probe a specific port?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 02, 2012, 03:40:47 PM
 #120

In theory it should be faster than cgminer and the other miners, because of faster work dispatch. In practice the difference is negligible (less than 1 Mhps per BFL single). This may prove more useful with the rig boxes.

Instead of checking whether the device is done with 10 ms pauses in between checks, it will first leave the device in peace until it gets close to done (cgminer does the same), then start 10 ms polling, and when it gets very close to done it starts 1 ms polling. This allows quick reaction pushing out new work once the device is idle. Right after it goes "ok, I'm all done, I think I'll just read the newspaper now" you have to detect that situation quickly and put it back to work. You can click the wrench and change the 10 ms and 1 ms values. You could even change the 1 ms to 0 ms. Running with 0 ms might be ok. It won't hog the CPU as much as the AMD drivers do/did. Wink I just thought it might be a bit brutal for a default setting.

Cool, looking forward to giving it a try!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!