Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:20:11 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitminter client (Windows/Linux/Mac)  (Read 551240 times)
LordMord
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 09:21:12 AM
 #161

Quote from: DrHaribo
I get this error with beta 11:
Connection failed: Invalid argument: getsockname

Do you have a firewall blocking the program? Are you running on Windows 8?


Running Windows 8. But that was no problem for beta 9.
1481250011
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481250011

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481250011
Reply with quote  #2

1481250011
Report to moderator
1481250011
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481250011

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481250011
Reply with quote  #2

1481250011
Report to moderator
1481250011
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481250011

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481250011
Reply with quote  #2

1481250011
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 09:36:30 AM
 #162

Running Windows 8. But that was no problem for beta 9.

Beta 9 was using synchronous network I/O. Beta 11 has asynchronous I/O. Apparently when doing an asynchronous connect Java will call getsockname() before the connection is established. This works on every operating system except Windows 8.

Are you using the latest, Java 7, update 4?

This could become an annoying issue. There's no workaround either.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
LordMord
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 09:41:37 AM
 #163

Running Windows 8. But that was no problem for beta 9.

Beta 9 was using synchronous network I/O. Beta 11 has asynchronous I/O. Apparently when doing an asynchronous connect Java will call getsockname() before the connection is established. This works on every operating system except Windows 8.

Are you using the latest, Java 7, update 4?

This could become an annoying issue. There's no workaround either.


Yes i have Java 7 update 4.

Guess i have to use the non Beta Miner. If there is no workaround you might want to consider an option to switch back to synchronous networking.

Let's hope the final version of Windows 8 or the next Java update fixes it.
MoneyIsDebt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 12:43:24 PM
 #164

This could become an annoying issue. There's no workaround either.

There's almost certainly a workaround. PM me if you want me to look at the relevant code.

Sig for sale
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 06:09:45 PM
 #165

Beta 12 is out, with 2 changes:

  • Fixed memory leak that would lead to high memory and CPU consumption over time, faster if you had high hash rate
  • Made the network code more likely to go from 1 to 2 parallel connections

Testing this for 3-4 hours shows very low CPU usage with BFL singles and only about 0.05% rejected proofs of work. (CPU use will be a bit higher on Mac OS X than Windows and Linux because I had to implement a dirty workaround to avoid a bug in the serial port library)

If anyone has a chance to try this on the Raspberry Pi or other ARM-based devices, please let me know. In theory it may work, but I have a feeling the miner will be a tight fit for the low amount of memory on these devices.

There's almost certainly a workaround. PM me if you want me to look at the relevant code.

According to Oracle's bug tracker there's no workaround. I guess the workaround for us is having synchronous networking for running on Windows 8 until they fix this issue.

I could offer older versions (suggested by btc196) or offer a synchronous/asynchronous switch in config (suggested by LordMord). Making older versions available is the quickest solution, and something I was planning on doing at some point anyway. But it does mean new releases won't work on Windows 8 until Microsoft or Oracle implement a fix. Anyone planning on running FPGAs on Windows 8 beta?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
LordMord
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 07:27:33 PM
 #166

Anyone planning on running FPGAs on Windows 8 beta?

Nope i got an old Machine with Windows XP for that.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 09:08:34 PM
 #167

Version 1.2.0 is out. Thanks to everyone who helped test it, especially Fefox and Phraust. This took a lot more effort than I had anticipated, but now it's done and we have a much improved miner.

Changes from 1.1.2 to 1.2.0:
  • Support FPGA devices from Butterfly Labs (BFL)
  • Network subsystem rewritten: fast work download over multiple pipelined
      connections to be able to handle higher hash rates. Also yields
      fewer rejected proofs of work.
  • Added minimize/maximize buttons on each device. The compact display
      is handy if you have a long list of devices. Remembered across restarts.
  • The start button of the "total" device now starts only the visible
      devices instead of all devices the first time you click it. The next time
      you use it to start devices it will resume those you stopped with it,
      like it always did. The start button on the status bar works the same.
  • Adjusted expected hash rate (green zone) for Juniper GPU
  • Fixed some minor GUI bugs

Try it out:


Windows 8 note:
Version 1.2.0 will not run on current Windows 8 beta versions with current Java releases because of a problem with asynchronous I/O running Java on Windows 8. Until this is fixed in either Java or Windows, if you want to run the miner on Windows 8 you will have to use the previous release:
http://bitminter.com/client/1.1.2/bitminter.jnlp

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Jabba
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 07:49:14 AM
 #168

Hi,

I downloaded your client to run with two BFL V1.3. More to come...
I'm running Bitminter Client V1.2.0 (also tested the Beta) and I received the following messages in the report box:

2012.06.15 [09:32]  BitFORCE (COM8) ERROR: Extraneous data received: NO-NONCE
2012.06.15 [09:33]  BitFORCE (COM7) ERROR: ZFX command timed out. Retries: 0
2012.06.15 [09:33]  BitFORCE (COM7) ERROR: Extraneous data received: NO-NONCE
2012.06.15 [09:34]  BitFORCE (COM8) ERROR: ZFX command timed out. Retries: 0
2012.06.15 [09:34]  BitFORCE (COM8) ERROR: Extraneous data received: NO-NONCE

When I start the speed rises up to its supposed maximum. Temperature is between 45° and 55° C. After a short while it seems to start throttling and these messages show up.
I'm connected via 100 MBit cable and ping shows < 30ms.
My OS is Win7, latest patches installed. Hardware: e350, 4 GB Ram

Any idea?

Thanks

Jabba

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 08:01:02 AM
 #169

When I start the speed rises up to its supposed maximum. Temperature is between 45° and 55° C. After a short while it seems to start throttling and these messages show up.

Yeah, if it is throttling it's not responding to commands for some seconds. That's why you are getting the timeouts. It will still run although the messages can be annoying. But it may be best to avoid throttling. Perhaps improve cooling, or use a firmware with lower hash rate.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Jabba
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 11:25:25 AM
 #170

Thanks for your reply.

I can't see that these temps are too high, but I'll give it a try by using another firmware.

Thanks

Jabba
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2012, 01:07:57 PM
 #171

For the next miner version I'd like to add support for Icarus and Cairnsmore FPGA devices. If you can give me remote access to a computer with one for testing, please let me know.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2012, 05:47:31 PM
 #172

For the next miner version I'd like to add support for Icarus and Cairnsmore FPGA devices. If you can give me remote access to a computer with one for testing, please let me know.


I have an Icarus you could use. Do you have TeamViewer?

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2012, 06:42:12 PM
 #173

I have an Icarus you could use. Do you have TeamViewer?

Thanks that would be great. Yep, I have TeamViewer. Use PM or operator@bitminter.com for details.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 04, 2012, 07:45:10 PM
 #174

BitMinter client v1.3.0beta1 is out! A big thank you to Turbor for access to his system with Icarus and BFL single for testing.

Here are the news:
  • Support Icarus FPGA devices
  • Fix "class not found" bug on Raspberry Pi
  • Implemented getwork extension: midstate
      (calculate midstate on client instead of server, reducing server load)
  • Implemented getwork extension: rollntime (with "expire" support)
      (get more than 1 work unit in a single request to the server)
  • Dynamic work queue size
  • Expire proof of work if undeliverable for 15 minutes
  • Expire (non-rollntime) work unit if unprocessed for 5 minutes
  • Bugfix: don't count as device miscalculation when a proof of work exceeds
      difficulty 1 but not the (above 1) difficulty given by the server

TL;DR: Support Icarus, Raspberry Pi and very high hash rates.

I made a lot of changes to the serial port handling (BFL and Icarus). I'm interested in hearing about any old features that may be broken, specifically whether mining on Mac with FPGAs still works without high CPU usage, and new stuff: mining on Icarus, mining with Raspberry Pi (with Icarus or BFL), and mining on Cairnsmore with Icarus bitstream. Or anything else you find good or bad. Wink

Please check it out:



▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 02:10:14 AM
 #175


Bitminter Beta and MiniRig!  WORKING GREAT!   Grin


Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 04:40:29 AM
 #176

Very nice Fefox. Both Icarus and BFL are mining here without problems. Doc is the man.

SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 08:32:30 AM
 #177

Will BitMinter have BFL SC support before they are released?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 01:13:36 PM
 #178

Beautiful screenshot, Fefox. I have to wipe a tear from my eye.  Grin

Will BitMinter have BFL SC support before they are released?

I have contacted BFL about that, and it's what I'm aiming for, yes.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 07:47:40 PM
 #179

Is it possible to mine on a Butterfly Labs single FPGA unit from a Mac? I've been unable to do this... it says "No COM ports found" when I try to scan for FPGA devices. Device works on Windows, have yet to test on Linux.

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=603757.0
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 07:55:30 PM
 #180

Is it possible to mine on a Butterfly Labs single FPGA unit from a Mac? I've been unable to do this... it says "No COM ports found" when I try to scan for FPGA devices. Device works on Windows, have yet to test on Linux.

Yep, when you scan for devices and it doesn't find any it will give you some hints in the log. Smiley Try grabbing Mac drivers from http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

Edit: The stable version runs fine on Mac. But if it's not too much bother I'd love to hear how the beta runs (look a few posts back). Hopefully it still runs fine and with low CPU usage.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!