Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:13:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 [212] 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 ... 426 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] BTC Guild - Pays TxFees+NMC, Stratum, VarDiff, Private Servers  (Read 829332 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2013, 12:43:42 AM
 #4221

20% is quite high but I'll still look into it and see how it works for a few days.

That is way higher than my experience.  My problem with load balancing was that the split was very uneven.  But now with the new quota method it may be better.
What quota method?

New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263980
Reply with quote  #2

1481263980
Report to moderator
1481263980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263980
Reply with quote  #2

1481263980
Report to moderator
1481263980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263980
Reply with quote  #2

1481263980
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 01:13:30 AM
 #4222

20% is quite high but I'll still look into it and see how it works for a few days.

That is way higher than my experience.  My problem with load balancing was that the split was very uneven.  But now with the new quota method it may be better.
What quota method?

You can set a hash rate quota per pool.  Such as set one pool to 30% another to 20% and another to 50%.  Something like that.  Haven't really looked into it myself yet.  It's the the CGMiner readme I'm sure.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Icon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 581



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 01:17:04 AM
 #4223

20% is quite high but I'll still look into it and see how it works for a few days.

That is way higher than my experience.  My problem with load balancing was that the split was very uneven.  But now with the new quota method it may be better.

Ah not sure of the % i mine at 16 gh/s and lost 2 gh/s doing load-balance, and the fact the usb miner leds come on and off and stay on for a sec then go back mining. Like they where waiting on something...

Also something you can try if you want in bfgminer with no over head is manually set the com ports for each instance of bfgminer to use. Like run 2 instance of bfgminer and set one to mine for btc guild other for eclipse and use the format:  -S erupter:\\.\com42 -S erupter:\\.\com44. basically you tell each com port which pool to mine for.. Works really well and 0 overhead just have to run 2 instance of bfgminer and you can even get back your failover pools Smiley and its hard set the hash rate 50/50 or ever how many com ports you assign to each pool.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 01:21:59 AM
 #4224

20% is quite high but I'll still look into it and see how it works for a few days.

That is way higher than my experience.  My problem with load balancing was that the split was very uneven.  But now with the new quota method it may be better.

Ah not sure of the % i mine at 16 gh/s and lost 2 gh/s doing load-balance, and the fact the usb miner leds come on and off and stay on for a sec then go back mining. Like they where waiting on something...


I haven't load balanced since my GPU days.  It's just too easy to setup multiple instances now with the usb devices now I just have no need to load balance.  But when I did it with my GPU's my stales increased, but no where near 20%.  Maybe 1 or 2%.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
dhenson
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 01:59:31 AM
 #4225

Anyone know what 'other' errors are in the btcguild dashboard? I'm down to 400GH/s and about 1/4th of the total shares are ending up in the OTHER error column.


-Redacted-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 02:15:10 AM
 #4226

One guess would be things like shares submitted at the wrong difficulty.

Now hanging out on Atomic-Trade.com...
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2013, 02:20:23 AM
 #4227

Anyone know what 'other' errors are in the btcguild dashboard? I'm down to 400GH/s and about 1/4th of the total shares are ending up in the OTHER error column.




What miner are you using, it's SEVERELY broken.  You're submitting 500k+ shares that didn't come from BTC Guild.  Your 500k+ "Other" shares are Unknown Work, meaning you're returning results to work that was never given to you, either because your miner is spitting out corrupted data/unpadded results, or submitting work from a different pool.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
dhenson
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 03:22:08 AM
 #4228

Anyone know what 'other' errors are in the btcguild dashboard? I'm down to 400GH/s and about 1/4th of the total shares are ending up in the OTHER error column.




What miner are you using, it's SEVERELY broken.  You're submitting 500k+ shares that didn't come from BTC Guild.  Your 500k+ "Other" shares are Unknown Work, meaning you're returning results to work that was never given to you, either because your miner is spitting out corrupted data/unpadded results, or submitting work from a different pool.

It's a hosted KNC Jupiter.  That doesn't surprise me as it doesn't seem to keep it's settings and randomly switches pools on me.  Thank you for the info.
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 04:28:05 AM
 #4229

Anyone know what 'other' errors are in the btcguild dashboard? I'm down to 400GH/s and about 1/4th of the total shares are ending up in the OTHER error column.




What miner are you using, it's SEVERELY broken.  You're submitting 500k+ shares that didn't come from BTC Guild.  Your 500k+ "Other" shares are Unknown Work, meaning you're returning results to work that was never given to you, either because your miner is spitting out corrupted data/unpadded results, or submitting work from a different pool.

This may actually just be a "feature" of the crappy KNC design.  Here is mine:

Code:
479.51 GH/s 42,480k (99.34%) 59392 / 125k / 223k

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2013, 05:43:22 AM
 #4230


This may actually just be a "feature" of the crappy KNC design.  Here is mine:

Code:
479.51 GH/s 42,480k (99.34%) 59392 / 125k / 223k

Strange, considering I know quite a few KNC units that mine on BTC Guild since day 1, and have only just heard this now.  Are you two running the latest firmware?  Was it doing this *before* the latest firmware?  Multiple pools configured?

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
dhenson
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 06:03:29 AM
 #4231


This may actually just be a "feature" of the crappy KNC design.  Here is mine:

Code:
479.51 GH/s 42,480k (99.34%) 59392 / 125k / 223k

Strange, considering I know quite a few KNC units that mine on BTC Guild since day 1, and have only just heard this now.  Are you two running the latest firmware?  Was it doing this *before* the latest firmware?  Multiple pools configured?

I'm a hosted customer so I don't have access to know exactly what firmware I am running.  However, my hashrate was hovering around 120GH for the first few days and once they announced .95 I started seeing ~ 420GH so I assume that is what I am running.

Unfortunately, at this time, I don't have SSH access to do any troubleshooting, but the general feeling over in the KNC thread is that I have two copies of cgminer running on my box.

Their interface only lets you do one thing, and that is set your pool information and 'save'.  You can add as many pool configs as you want and my initial assumption is that they would act as backup pools.  However, my unit is doing two odd things in regards to the pools.

1) after saving my config, the unit appears to hash at the new pool only to revert back to the previous pool after a few minutes (supporting the two cgminer process theory)
2) it appears that work is being accepted from the previous pool and then being submitted to the new pool causing the 'other' errors.

I've been having these issues since the beginning. (hosted issue only?)
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 03:41:55 PM
 #4232

ok idk where to put this so @eleuthria feel free to delete but in under 30 days we have added 1.25 Quadrillion Hashes per second (Ph/s).
in 30 days we have increased the daily average hash rate by 125% (according to block chain)

it may be b/c I've not had my coffee yet but i cannot seem to believe it

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 03:55:16 PM
 #4233


This may actually just be a "feature" of the crappy KNC design.  Here is mine:

Code:
479.51 GH/s 42,480k (99.34%) 59392 / 125k / 223k

Strange, considering I know quite a few KNC units that mine on BTC Guild since day 1, and have only just heard this now.  Are you two running the latest firmware?  Was it doing this *before* the latest firmware?  Multiple pools configured?

Others may not be looking, I wasn't.  I didn't even realize I had so much other shares until dhenson brought it up.  My hash rate goes between 470 and 530 and my accepted % is good, and I'm getting paid, so is it even an issue?  I have the latest firmware.  Don't know about previous versions.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2013, 04:19:48 PM
 #4234

Others may not be looking, I wasn't.  I didn't even realize I had so much other shares until dhenson brought it up.  My hash rate goes between 470 and 530 and my accepted % is good, and I'm getting paid, so is it even an issue?  I have the latest firmware.  Don't know about previous versions.

I guess that is another factor.  If the units internal reporting and BTC Gulid's dashboard are fairly close after an hour, it may be that these rejects aren't even "wasted" work.  I know my old ztex FPGAs used to have a problem with duplicate shares, anywhere from 8 to 10%.  However, they weren't doing duplicate work, it was just a bug in the firmware not clearing out the "winning nonce" part of memory when it submitted the share, so it would resubmit it each time it finished a full nonce range without a new result [pretty sure that's what it was at least].  The dashboard/payouts were matching the speed reported by the mining software.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 04:26:27 PM
 #4235

@dhenson

What are your pool settings, PPS PPNLS, and var diff or static diff? And what pool address are you using to connect? (don't post the private address if you're using that)

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
dhenson
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 05:31:18 PM
 #4236

@dhenson

What are your pool settings, PPS PPNLS, and var diff or static diff? And what pool address are you using to connect? (don't post the private address if you're using that)

I'm mining to btcguild ppnls var diff, to the public pool address stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 05:36:06 PM
 #4237

@dhenson

What are your pool settings, PPS PPNLS, and var diff or static diff? And what pool address are you using to connect? (don't post the private address if you're using that)

I'm mining to btcguild ppnls var diff, to the public pool address stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333

Yeah change your diff from default to 256.  I know this is a short sample, but here is around 30 mins of var diff vs min:

default diff
Code:
452.95 GH/s   235916 (99.74%)   256 / 768 / 364

min 256
Code:
470.14 GH/s   203008 (100.00%)   0 / 0 / 0

They run the ridiculously slow flushwork not just on new blocks but also on new diff work - when the diff changes I get a lot of rejected shares on cgminer.  I suspect this would be compounded by fast block finds, like on p2pool, and on miner restarts when the work starts at diff 1.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2013, 06:13:24 PM
 #4238

Just FYI:  There is no "static diff" on BTC Guild.  There is a *minimum difficulty* setting, which starts your miner off at your minimum and won't adjust it below that.  Vardiff will always adjust you *higher* if your hardware is pushing out too many shares.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 06:35:37 PM
 #4239

Thanks, I fixed it.  But either way, min or static, make it high enough that it won't change seems to be the solution.  Unless KNC decides to fix it on their end.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 07:21:01 PM
 #4240

None of the charts on the pool website seem to be working for me.  Huh

i'm running Windows Internet Explorer 8 on Windows XP.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
Pages: « 1 ... 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 [212] 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 ... 426 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!