Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:09:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 [251] 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 ... 426 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] BTC Guild - Pays TxFees+NMC, Stratum, VarDiff, Private Servers  (Read 828957 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 03:05:27 PM
 #5001

Is there an advantage of increasing difficulty from 2 Gh/s default to a threshold closer to my worker's hash rate? This would improve which variable? Sorry I'm sure this has been answered in previous thread but thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks Smiley

No advantage.  The pool adjusts your difficulty based on worker speeder.  Higher difficulty == higher variance. 

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481062175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481062175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481062175
Reply with quote  #2

1481062175
Report to moderator
1481062175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481062175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481062175
Reply with quote  #2

1481062175
Report to moderator
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
December 15, 2013, 06:17:34 PM
 #5002

Is there an advantage of increasing difficulty from 2 Gh/s default to a threshold closer to my worker's hash rate? This would improve which variable? Sorry I'm sure this has been answered in previous thread but thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks Smiley

The only advantage in doing so is if you have high end equipment.  Lots of high end ASIC miners tend to have a few problems when running at very low difficulties due to the amount of communication required when running at hundreds of GH/s at a low difficulty.  The pool will automatically adjust your difficulty if it's not high enough, but it takes a minute or two to find the sweet spot.  By setting a minimum difficulty, you can bypass this startup phase which will save you a few rejects early on.  It also cuts down on bandwidth, though that isn't a huge deal for anybody with broadband access due to how little bandwidth it requires in general.

Higher difficulties do have higher variance, but the recommended speeds in the drop-down are set to levels where the variance is minimal as long as you have that much speed or better.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
December 15, 2013, 07:36:43 PM
 #5003

What should be correct diff for 20GHs equipment?

New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
December 15, 2013, 09:34:13 PM
 #5004

What should be correct diff for 20GHs equipment?

16.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 02:22:29 AM
 #5005

Is there an advantage of increasing difficulty from 2 Gh/s default to a threshold closer to my worker's hash rate? This would improve which variable? Sorry I'm sure this has been answered in previous thread but thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks Smiley

No advantage.  The pool adjusts your difficulty based on worker speeder.  Higher difficulty == higher variance. 

M

Thanks again mdude!

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
guytechie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 03:21:16 AM
 #5006

Such bad luck lately... brought our average down to 102%.

Put something in my tip jar if I made your day. Smiley
BTC:
1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 10:47:20 PM
 #5007

My father locked his wallet. The BTC address he is using is tied to an Electrum client wallet. We recently updated his Electrum client and that program removed all the old receive addresses and made up all new ones. The obvious question, how do we work around in getting his payout address changed if it is locked? If the answer is you cannot change it (which is what I think it is), he would have to create a new account or something, correct? Since he would be unable to continue to use his original Electrum address.

I'm still waiting for the Electrum devs to answer on where all the receive addresses went to after the update. All the transaction history is still there, and even in the details of the transactions you can see the original BTC address, just don't know how to get the originals back.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
December 16, 2013, 11:12:25 PM
 #5008

My father locked his wallet. The BTC address he is using is tied to an Electrum client wallet. We recently updated his Electrum client and that program removed all the old receive addresses and made up all new ones. The obvious question, how do we work around in getting his payout address changed if it is locked? If the answer is you cannot change it (which is what I think it is), he would have to create a new account or something, correct? Since he would be unable to continue to use his original Electrum address.

I'm still waiting for the Electrum devs to answer on where all the receive addresses went to after the update. All the transaction history is still there, and even in the details of the transactions you can see the original BTC address, just don't know how to get the originals back.

I don't know Electrum, but I have a hard time believing that they'd throw away the keys to old addresses.  Try doing a manual payout that is small enough that you won't be upset if it vanishes into a black hole.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 11:16:23 PM
 #5009

My father locked his wallet. The BTC address he is using is tied to an Electrum client wallet. We recently updated his Electrum client and that program removed all the old receive addresses and made up all new ones. The obvious question, how do we work around in getting his payout address changed if it is locked? If the answer is you cannot change it (which is what I think it is), he would have to create a new account or something, correct? Since he would be unable to continue to use his original Electrum address.

I'm still waiting for the Electrum devs to answer on where all the receive addresses went to after the update. All the transaction history is still there, and even in the details of the transactions you can see the original BTC address, just don't know how to get the originals back.



If the transaction history is still there and you can still see your wallet balance, I can't imagine the keys to that wallet were lost (otherwise you wouldn't be able to spend anything).

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2013, 11:17:51 PM
 #5010

My father locked his wallet. The BTC address he is using is tied to an Electrum client wallet. We recently updated his Electrum client and that program removed all the old receive addresses and made up all new ones. The obvious question, how do we work around in getting his payout address changed if it is locked? If the answer is you cannot change it (which is what I think it is), he would have to create a new account or something, correct? Since he would be unable to continue to use his original Electrum address.

I'm still waiting for the Electrum devs to answer on where all the receive addresses went to after the update. All the transaction history is still there, and even in the details of the transactions you can see the original BTC address, just don't know how to get the originals back.



If the transaction history is still there and you can still see your wallet balance, I can't imagine the keys to that wallet were lost (otherwise you wouldn't be able to spend anything).



I want to make an update on this....my original receive address was there. I never clicked on the little tick mark that opens up the "used" address list. That is where my old address was hiding on me. I indicated to the Electrum dev that it was a mistake on my part. Thanks for the suggestion, I was just about to do that but found the old address. Yes, I feel stupid but humble enough to admit it to the world.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
jojo69
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 12:16:12 AM
 #5011

My father locked his wallet. The BTC address he is using is tied to an Electrum client wallet. We recently updated his Electrum client and that program removed all the old receive addresses and made up all new ones. The obvious question, how do we work around in getting his payout address changed if it is locked? If the answer is you cannot change it (which is what I think it is), he would have to create a new account or something, correct? Since he would be unable to continue to use his original Electrum address.

I'm still waiting for the Electrum devs to answer on where all the receive addresses went to after the update. All the transaction history is still there, and even in the details of the transactions you can see the original BTC address, just don't know how to get the originals back.



If the transaction history is still there and you can still see your wallet balance, I can't imagine the keys to that wallet were lost (otherwise you wouldn't be able to spend anything).



I want to make an update on this....my original receive address was there. I never clicked on the little tick mark that opens up the "used" address list. That is where my old address was hiding on me. I indicated to the Electrum dev that it was a mistake on my part. Thanks for the suggestion, I was just about to do that but found the old address. Yes, I feel stupid but humble enough to admit it to the world.


sounds like a rather opaque UI, I hate stuff like that

This is not some pseudoeconomic post-modern Libertarian cult, it's an un-led, crowd-sourced mega startup organized around mutual self-interest where problems, whether of the theoretical or purely practical variety, are treated as temporary and, ultimately, solvable.
Censorship of e-gold was easy. Censorship of Bitcoin will be… entertaining.
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 03:23:19 AM
 #5012

Anyone else unable to connect to guild website??  Attack, maintainance, other? Huh

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 03:49:48 AM
 #5013

Anyone else unable to connect to guild website??  Attack, maintainance, other? Huh

My guess:  'Other - Local Problem'.  No reports of an outage in IRC, and haven't had any problem loading it from my phone or PC all day.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 04:03:21 AM
 #5014

Anyone else unable to connect to guild website??  Attack, maintainance, other? Huh

My guess:  'Other - Local Problem'.  No reports of an outage in IRC, and haven't had any problem loading it from my phone or PC all day.

Thank you sir. Back online.

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 05:29:45 AM
 #5015

Does PPS payout NMC or only PPNS? Or must I point miner to merged stratum for PPS NMC mining...which one? Miner currently NOT pointing to merged. thanks

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 06:22:30 AM
 #5016

Does PPS payout NMC or only PPNS? Or must I point miner to merged stratum for PPS NMC mining...which one? Miner currently NOT pointing to merged. thanks

NMC is only awarded to PPLNS.  There is no option to earn NMC when mining under PPS on BTC Guild.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 08:52:57 AM
 #5017

Does PPS payout NMC or only PPNS? Or must I point miner to merged stratum for PPS NMC mining...which one? Miner currently NOT pointing to merged. thanks

NMC is only awarded to PPLNS.  There is no option to earn NMC when mining under PPS on BTC Guild.

Got it, thanks!

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
Bismarckbkk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 09:34:00 AM
 #5018

Is there an advantage of increasing difficulty from 2 Gh/s default to a threshold closer to my worker's hash rate? This would improve which variable? Sorry I'm sure this has been answered in previous thread but thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks Smiley

The only advantage in doing so is if you have high end equipment.  Lots of high end ASIC miners tend to have a few problems when running at very low difficulties due to the amount of communication required when running at hundreds of GH/s at a low difficulty.  The pool will automatically adjust your difficulty if it's not high enough, but it takes a minute or two to find the sweet spot.  By setting a minimum difficulty, you can bypass this startup phase which will save you a few rejects early on.  It also cuts down on bandwidth, though that isn't a huge deal for anybody with broadband access due to how little bandwidth it requires in general.

Higher difficulties do have higher variance, but the recommended speeds in the drop-down are set to levels where the variance is minimal as long as you have that much speed or better.

Thx for that bro,

Im having 100% accepted shares over 3 miners/workers now. About 0.4% improvement. Smiley

1EPhcyv9GPcCwwbtVt3a3nwC1o4pn67bax
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
December 18, 2013, 12:56:28 AM
 #5019

Any chance of introducing other merged mining coins, kinda like ghash.io is doing?

kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 01:00:16 AM
 #5020

Such bad luck lately... brought our average down to 102%.

The luck today has been really good, so things are turning around!
Pages: « 1 ... 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 [251] 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 ... 426 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!