Bitcoin Forum
July 12, 2020, 10:39:53 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 [181] 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 ... 306 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] AEON: Cryptonote privacy, efficiency, decentralization, and stability  (Read 616500 times)
wck
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 11, 2017, 12:53:37 AM
 #3601

cross-post from reddit:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Aeon/comments/64mwbt/tinymonerocold_is_now_able_to_create_aeon_cold/
a few months ago, i made an iso to facilitate monero cold wallet creation. and it's now supports Aeon

it's a personal initiative and absolutely not an official part of the project



https://github.com/Arux-BTT/TinyMoneroCold/releases

WOW!  Very cool!

How do you send coins out from an AEON cold wallet?  Is there a way to import the wallet into the AEON simple wallet?
1594550393
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594550393

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594550393
Reply with quote  #2

1594550393
Report to moderator
1594550393
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594550393

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594550393
Reply with quote  #2

1594550393
Report to moderator
1594550393
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594550393

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594550393
Reply with quote  #2

1594550393
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Arux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 500
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 11, 2017, 07:20:12 AM
 #3602

...
How do you send coins out from an AEON cold wallet?  Is there a way to import the wallet into the AEON simple wallet?
AFAIK there's no solution for now to securely send aeon from a cold wallet, it's only recently possible on monero (https://github.com/monero-project/monero/pull/1140/commits/bba6af9064cb95596039f5a8f7ea460d3dedef0d)
cold storage on aeon is useful for secure long term storage.
to import a cold wallet into simplewallet, use
Code:
simplewallet --restore-deterministic-wallet
and follow instructions, you'll need your 24 words seed.
remember that once the wallet is on a connected computer, it becomes a hot wallet.

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1160



View Profile
April 11, 2017, 07:57:17 AM
 #3603

cross-post from reddit:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Aeon/comments/64mwbt/tinymonerocold_is_now_able_to_create_aeon_cold/
a few months ago, i made an iso to facilitate monero cold wallet creation. and it's now supports Aeon

it's a personal initiative and absolutely not an official part of the project

https://github.com/Arux-BTT/TinyMoneroCold/releases

Thank you Arux. Added a link to OP.
daberti
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 11, 2017, 03:18:37 PM
 #3604

@Arux

When you did compile 0.9.11 for win, which versions of CMake, Boost and Git did you use?
Just to crosscheck.

Thanks in advance
estenity
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1624
Merit: 518


View Profile
April 11, 2017, 04:49:59 PM
 #3605

what happened when you did this line:

git clone https://github.com/aeonix/aeon

That should output a bunch of info and create a directory called aeon. From your description it looks like that didn't happen.

yes it did output a lot of info, for a long time, going up to 100 %



BTW this line:

git checkout v0.9.9.0

should always be changed to the current version (unless you have some specific reason to want an older one). Right now that is v0.9.11.0, so:

git checkout v0.9.11.0


ok, i tried with the three versions 9, 10 and 11 and got the same response (not a git repository)


thank you for the quick response
from it, I understand that only the version line has to be changed
anyway i can try again


i tried again today, unsuccessful

it says aeon repertory exist already, but then does not work and cannot be removed, at least with my knowledge

how to suppress the previous failed installation ?
Arux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 500
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 12, 2017, 07:46:37 AM
 #3606

@Arux

When you did compile 0.9.11 for win, which versions of CMake, Boost and Git did you use?
Just to crosscheck.

Thanks in advance
cmake 3.4.3, boost 1.63 static, git 2.11.0.windows.3

other stuff: python 3.5.1, visual studio community 2015 (msbuild 14.0.23107.0), commands are typed through Git Shell

about boost static:
Code:
cd c:\local\boost_1_63_0
bootstrap.bat
b2 --toolset=msvc-14.0 variant=release link=static threading=multi runtime-link=static address-model=64
if you don't distribute your executables, no need to compile boost, you can use binaries https://sourceforge.net/projects/boost/files/boost-binaries/1.63.0/ (shared libs)



daberti
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 12, 2017, 01:37:21 PM
Last edit: April 12, 2017, 02:33:56 PM by daberti
 #3607


cmake 3.4.3, boost 1.63 static, git 2.11.0.windows.3

other stuff: python 3.5.1, visual studio community 2015 (msbuild 14.0.23107.0), commands are typed through Git Shell

about boost static:
Code:
cd c:\local\boost_1_63_0
bootstrap.bat
b2 --toolset=msvc-14.0 variant=release link=static threading=multi runtime-link=static address-model=64
if you don't distribute your executables, no need to compile boost, you can use binaries https://sourceforge.net/projects/boost/files/boost-binaries/1.63.0/ (shared libs)


Here:
CMake 3.7.2, boost same, git 2.10.1.windows.1, Python 3.6.1150.0 .

I'll try with your cmake version.

Thanks

IMPORTANT EDIT:
Visual Studio community 2015 and msbuild 14.0.25420.1 here (VS 2015 Update 3).
This might well be the clue.
LesPristy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2017, 12:17:51 AM
 #3608

I've seen several mentions of the need for public nodes.

Does a public node have any special requirements beyond an IP address and aeond on an open port? How much data transfer per month?
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1160



View Profile
April 13, 2017, 12:59:02 AM
 #3609

I've seen several mentions of the need for public nodes.

Does a public node have any special requirements beyond an IP address and aeond on an open port? How much data transfer per month?

You have to open the RPC port in addition to the regular P2P port. In addition to whatever the bandwidth is required for a regular node (I don't know the current number), additional bandwidth would be demanded by those using it. Finally there are few tweaks needed to restrict some requests. For example, you probably don't want public RPC users to be able to turn mining on and off. Before the --restricted-rpc option was added to Monero those offering public nodes generally patched these things themselves.
Arux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 500
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 13, 2017, 04:22:59 PM
 #3610

...
maybe it is possible to download the blockchan and insert it inside .aeon folder ?  because whole week i'm trying to sinchronize it. Can somebody help me?
there are some links for 0.9.8.0 blockchain, give it a try (with a 0.9.10.0 or 0.9.11.0 daemon)
via google drive:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=641696.msg18080837#msg18080837
or cli (same source)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=641696.msg18091732#msg18091732
and another one through mega:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=641696.msg18325956#msg18325956

LesPristy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2017, 05:21:44 PM
Last edit: April 21, 2017, 04:56:44 AM by LesPristy
 #3611

You have to open the RPC port in addition to the regular P2P port. In addition to whatever the bandwidth is required for a regular node (I don't know the current number), additional bandwidth would be demanded by those using it. Finally there are few tweaks needed to restrict some requests. For example, you probably don't want public RPC users to be able to turn mining on and off. Before the --restricted-rpc option was added to Monero those offering public nodes generally patched these things themselves.
Smooth, thanks for the info. Based on your explanation, I reviewed the Monero code for the restricted rpc options. Then I commented out the corresponding commands in the aeon core_rpc_server.h, then recompiled. This was quick and dirty (I'm sure there is a more elegant solution).

I can successfully connect, refresh, and TX from a remote simplewallet. The commands save_bc and start/stop_mining now don't work (as expected), they throw an error in simplewallet. The only problem was bc_height didn't work from the remote simplewallet, but it does work correctly locally. I'm not sure why that is.

Anyone is welcome to test this server. If you break it, I won't cry.
34.201.20.65
RPC port 11181

For example:
./simplewallet --daemon-address 34.201.20.65 --daemon-port 11181 #incorrect
./simplewallet --daemon-host 34.201.20.65 --daemon-port 11181
or
./simplewallet --daemon-address 34.201.20.65:11181

I'd appreciate any input from the other members of the community, especially if there is something I've overlooked. My eventual goal is to create a GUI wallet for Windows which doesn't require a local node. Thanks.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1160



View Profile
April 13, 2017, 07:38:39 PM
 #3612

...
maybe it is possible to download the blockchan and insert it inside .aeon folder ?  because whole week i'm trying to sinchronize it. Can somebody help me?
there are some links for 0.9.8.0 blockchain, give it a try (with a 0.9.10.0 or 0.9.11.0 daemon)
via google drive:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=641696.msg18080837#msg18080837
or cli (same source)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=641696.msg18091732#msg18091732
and another one through mega:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=641696.msg18325956#msg18325956
2017-Apr-13 20:59:09.366906 ERROR /home/aciddom/aeon11/src/p2p/net_node.inl:113 Exception at [node_server::init_config], what=invalid signature
update 10 and 11

Not an error. It just means some connection was made to your p2p port that did not correctly identify as an AEON node.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1160



View Profile
April 13, 2017, 09:26:09 PM
 #3613

...
Not an error. It just means some connection was made to your p2p port that did not correctly identify as an AEON node.
but aeond doesn't starts

Oh sorry misread. That is a corrupt p2pstate file. Delete p2pstate.bin and try again
neguinho
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 561
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2017, 03:54:16 PM
 #3614

piscina mining? Huh Huh

neguinho
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 561
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2017, 04:30:58 PM
 #3615

piscina mining? Huh Huh
windows 7?

The Cryptophilanthropist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 101



View Profile
April 15, 2017, 01:06:10 AM
 #3616


I think he means "mining pool" the translation I believe is "swimming pool"?

L8nit3-Miners Multi-Pool BTC PRT-LOG-XGTC BTC #GetMining
GdonateqfnmiJKv7mfnUcyvZHaiqxcTQS1 - XGTC DEV FUND
1G2PTf59cYsWKoZjj3i3Cv1Bb8NuNaeho2 - BTC POOL DEV
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 270


View Profile
April 15, 2017, 01:32:49 AM
 #3617

Hello folks, I'm looking into doing some exploratory CPU Mining and I find AEON to be quite interesting. I have not been able to find a profitability calculator for it and I was wondering if anyone knew of one? Thanks!
jwinterm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338
Merit: 1070



View Profile
April 15, 2017, 04:46:14 AM
 #3618

Hello folks, I'm looking into doing some exploratory CPU Mining and I find AEON to be quite interesting. I have not been able to find a profitability calculator for it and I was wondering if anyone knew of one? Thanks!

There's really no such thing as a profitability calculator for CPU mining, afaik. I think your only real options are Aeon, Monero or other Cryptonight algo coin, or a Yescrypt algo coin (Myriadcoin or BSTY I think). So, maybe mine for a day on each and see what seems best.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1160



View Profile
April 15, 2017, 10:55:52 AM
 #3619

You have to open the RPC port in addition to the regular P2P port. In addition to whatever the bandwidth is required for a regular node (I don't know the current number), additional bandwidth would be demanded by those using it. Finally there are few tweaks needed to restrict some requests. For example, you probably don't want public RPC users to be able to turn mining on and off. Before the --restricted-rpc option was added to Monero those offering public nodes generally patched these things themselves.
Smooth, thanks for the info. Based on your explanation, I reviewed the Monero code for the restricted rpc options. Then I commented out the corresponding commands in the aeon core_rpc_server.h, then recompiled. This was quick and dirty (I'm sure there is a more elegant solution).

I can successfully connect, refresh, and TX from a remote simplewallet. The commands save_bc and start/stop_mining now don't work (as expected), they throw an error in simplewallet. The only problem was bc_height didn't work from the remote simplewallet, but it does work correctly locally. I'm not sure why that is.

Anyone is welcome to test this server. If you break it, I won't cry.
34.201.20.65
RPC port 11181

For example:
./simplewallet --daemon-address 34.201.20.65 --daemon-port 11181

I'd appreciate any input from the other members of the community, especially if there is something I've overlooked. My eventual goal is to create a GUI wallet for Windows which doesn't require a local node. Thanks.

Please let me know if your public node turns to be stable and if so I will add it as a resource in the OP
daberti
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 15, 2017, 02:23:51 PM
 #3620

Just for trying I'm CPU mining on Minergate with minerd
minerd -a cryptonight-lite -o stratum+tcp://aeon.pool.minergate.com:45690 -u mylogin_email -p x -t 2

Yet according to my own dashboard I'm not mining.

Any idea?

Thanks in advance
Pages: « 1 ... 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 [181] 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 ... 306 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!