Bitcoin Forum
August 10, 2022, 04:21:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 [194] 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 ... 318 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] AEON: Scalable, private, mobile-friendly cryptocurrency  (Read 622530 times)
INRI666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 05, 2017, 09:46:27 AM
 #3861

And by the way I'm using the Windows binaries and the PC has 8gb of Ram and has more than enough HD to store the blockchain.

After doing a lot of searching I have seen that getting stuck on block 401 has happened to a few users before. How did they solve it? No one seems to have an answer for the said problem.

1660105310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660105310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660105310
Reply with quote  #2

1660105310
Report to moderator
1660105310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660105310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660105310
Reply with quote  #2

1660105310
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1660105310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660105310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660105310
Reply with quote  #2

1660105310
Report to moderator
1660105310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660105310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660105310
Reply with quote  #2

1660105310
Report to moderator
cmbconcretefire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2017, 07:49:18 PM
 #3862

I hope someone can help the fella above ^^^.  I am new to AEON coin but not crypto. I have Windows 7 x 64 and downloaded this > AEON-0.9.12.0-WIN64. I opened it up and ran this > aeond.exe until I believed the blockchain to be up to date. It took a while but I think it finished. I got a green sentence that basically said it was synchronized. At that point, I ran this > simplewallet.exe.

I named it, created a PW, and it told me my keys and address. I typed in the "help" command because I wanted to start mining. I found the command and entered it but I got this error:
Error: wallet failed to connect to daemon (http://localhost:11181). Daemon eithe
r is not started or passed wrong port. Please, make sure that daemon is running
or restart the wallet with correct daemon address.
[wallet WmtiPE]:

SOoooooooooooooooo.......... I used google. Smiley Anyway, I came across this page: https://aeon-pool.com/ and I downloaded this > CPUMiner (forked by Wolf) Github > cpuminer-wolf-with-cryptonight-light-w64-non-AES-NI-04082015.zip. Inside this zip was an "Example.bat" and I edited it to the following:

minerd -a cryptonight-light -o stratum+tcp://mine.aeon-pool.com:3333 -u (my wallet address) -p x -t 2
pause

I then renamed the "Example.bat" to "Start.bat." and double clicked on it. A window popped up and it appeared to connect, and is currently (seemingly) humming along and mining. < This is crux of my question: It appears to be mining. But when I type in "balance" in my wallet, the result is 0.000000. I guess my question is two fold. Am I mining correctly for an old CPU? (Q6600) and when does this pool pay out? I'm not really concerned about the error message from above. There's always more ways to skin a cat than 1.

Yes, I fully understand with an old Q6600 I'm not going to mine hardly anything, but that's not the point. I like this coin. I think it's going places, and I want to get the basic "gist" of it down before I start throwing more muscle at it for mining purposes. Is there another / better pool I should be using? All input welcome. Thanks.
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 274


View Profile
June 05, 2017, 08:36:56 PM
 #3863

Once your aeond.exe has finished synching it will look like the image below and you may then start simplewallet.exe  Does yours show the same message?

cmbconcretefire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 03:34:42 AM
 #3864

Thank you for the response. To be honest, I don't recall if that is what my screen looked like or not. I'm leaning towards "no." It did not look like that but I am fairly certain I saw synchronization complete.

I'm my roaming folder, inside there is a 'aeon' folder and I have 2 files. blockchain.bin and p2pstate.bin. The blockchain.bin file is a little over 4 gigs. For the purposes of our conversation, I gather the p2pstate.bin is not relevant.

So these are the steps I have taken since your post. I have shut down the miner. I have shut down the simplewallet.exe. I then reopened the 'aeond.exe' and it says it loading the blockchain. (An attempt to arrive at the same screen you provided) However, it slows my computer down something terrible and I haven't had the patience to wait for it to actually do anything. I'll provide a screenshot. But let's cut to the chase. Isn't there a blockchain I can download from somewhere and then simply insert it into the 'aeon' folder inside the roaming folder? I searched for one on Google and found a link but the link does not appear to work anymore. It would be so much simpler to just download a fully backed up blockchain.bin file that was ready to go. What are your thoughts on moving forward? I only have 4GB of Ram.
http://i1243.photobucket.com/albums/gg557/cmbconcretefire/Capture2_zps7ntrzokd.jpg
Aides
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 05:56:01 AM
 #3865

Congratulations to the development team and the Aeon coin community on the third anniversary.
INRI666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 12:23:45 PM
 #3866

So I finally solved the problem by probably one of these things I did.

Disabled firewall.
Disabled all antivirus software.
Connected to the internet via a mobile LTE conmection.

I have since then connected to my normal commection and it has downloaded the blockchain up to block 17,800 where I'm stuck again. I will use my mobile LTE again tomorrow if I have time to fool around my node tomorrow. I want to get this up and running asap.

Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 274


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 07:38:22 PM
 #3867

Thank you for the response. To be honest, I don't recall if that is what my screen looked like or not. I'm leaning towards "no." It did not look like that but I am fairly certain I saw synchronization complete.

I'm my roaming folder, inside there is a 'aeon' folder and I have 2 files. blockchain.bin and p2pstate.bin. The blockchain.bin file is a little over 4 gigs. For the purposes of our conversation, I gather the p2pstate.bin is not relevant.

So these are the steps I have taken since your post. I have shut down the miner. I have shut down the simplewallet.exe. I then reopened the 'aeond.exe' and it says it loading the blockchain. (An attempt to arrive at the same screen you provided) However, it slows my computer down something terrible and I haven't had the patience to wait for it to actually do anything. I'll provide a screenshot. But let's cut to the chase. Isn't there a blockchain I can download from somewhere and then simply insert it into the 'aeon' folder inside the roaming folder? I searched for one on Google and found a link but the link does not appear to work anymore. It would be so much simpler to just download a fully backed up blockchain.bin file that was ready to go. What are your thoughts on moving forward? I only have 4GB of Ram.


Hmm, I'm not sure if there's a way to lower the amount of RAM used. I checked and mine uses well over 6GB when it's synchronizing. I'll try to upload my blockchain.bin somewhere for download. I presume it will work on anyone's computer but Smooth might have to verify that.
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 274


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 09:42:31 PM
 #3868

Here, you can try this --- put it in C/Users/Username/AppData/Roaming/Aeon

http://dropcanvas.com/g66vm

LesPristy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 09:54:38 PM
 #3869

Hmm, I'm not sure if there's a way to lower the amount of RAM used. I checked and mine uses well over 6GB when it's synchronizing. I'll try to upload my blockchain.bin somewhere for download. I presume it will work on anyone's computer but Smooth might have to verify that.
The blockchain.bin files are operating system specific. So for example, one from Windows won't work on Linux (I tried).

They should be portable across different computers using the same CPU architecture and OS.
INRI666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 07, 2017, 07:21:07 AM
 #3870

Here, you can try this --- put it in C/Users/Username/AppData/Roaming/Aeon

http://dropcanvas.com/g66vm



Thanks. Let me offer you a nice little signature to wear for our little voluntary campaign for baby Aeon. Wear it with pride.

Code:
[center][url=http://www.aeon.cash/]AEON[/url] ════════▮ AEON. Be one of us! ▮════════ [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Aeon/]AEON[/url]
[url=https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=641696.0]AEON The Untraceable Blockchain[/url]
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬[url=https://bittrex.com/Market/Index?MarketName=BTC-AEON]Trade Now ══ Trade Now[/url]▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬[/center]


I also want to ask you guys how to make a batch file in windows to start the node automatically at start up and to shut it down properly at shutdown.

I have read instructions on how to start it up but I haven't seen any ways how to shut it down properly when the computer turns off.

I'm going to do something naughty. I will install a node in my older brother's computer in his office. All he does is the word processor and facebook all day. He has a nice powerful rig there with a fast internet connection and doesn't even play games in it.

VanBreuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 460
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 07, 2017, 11:46:34 PM
 #3871

Hello, I've been trying to sync Aeon 0.9.12 in a Debian based vps but I keep running into a stream of errors at early height.

Code:
...
2017-Jun-08 01:25:45.086690 [P2P7][sock 37] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:25:58.270514 [P2P7][sock 26] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:26:12.545911 [P2P0][85.247.157.252:63306 INC]Sync data returned unknown top block: 63611 -> 833054 [769443 blocks behind]
SYNCHRONIZATION started
2017-Jun-08 01:26:23.651815 [P2P4][sock 38] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:26:47.540030 [P2P5][46.236.116.179:57262 INC]Sync data returned unknown top block: 63694 -> 833054 [769360 blocks behind]
SYNCHRONIZATION started
2017-Jun-08 01:26:51.249933 [P2P5][sock 46] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:27:07.272552 [P2P5][sock 34] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:27:10.488642 [P2P6][sock 42] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:27:12.628231 [P2P8][sock 19] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:28:00.079252 [P2P1][sock 47] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:28:02.831671 [P2P0][sock 36] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:28:11.906694 [P2P1][sock 24] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:28:13.159096 [P2P7][sock 35] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
2017-Jun-08 01:28:47.742986 [P2P1][sock 37] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32
Killed

It is a brand new install in a good server provider, and I'm only running besides this a couple other daemons with no problems. Is this a known issue?
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1177



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:39:06 AM
 #3872

The earlier 'errors' don't mean anything but 'Killed' is usually due to running out of memory (you can check Linux console messages to confirm this). Add memory and/or swap and try again.
TronQuix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 306
Merit: 106



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 05:26:34 PM
 #3873

So, is there any major benefit to mining this outside of the daemon?
TronQuix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 306
Merit: 106



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 08:36:23 PM
 #3874

I guess also adding to my second question, is it literally as simple as loading up the wallet and daemon and then start_mine.... it doesnt *SEE* like anything is happening.... butttttttt im a pl3b
VanBreuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 460
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:26:09 PM
 #3875

The earlier 'errors' don't mean anything but 'Killed' is usually due to running out of memory (you can check Linux console messages to confirm this). Add memory and/or swap and try again.

Thank you, adding swap worked.
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 274


View Profile
June 09, 2017, 01:04:50 AM
 #3876

I guess also adding to my second question, is it literally as simple as loading up the wallet and daemon and then start_mine.... it doesnt *SEE* like anything is happening.... butttttttt im a pl3b

I highly recommend pool mining with Aeon Stak CPU miner. You will get coins much more consistently then trying to solo mine. --- https://aeon-pool.com/#getting_started
thehihoguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 497
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2017, 06:07:52 AM
 #3877

So, is there any major benefit to mining this outside of the daemon?

Solomining is good for the AEON decentralisation.

But as previously stated by someone, there is more regular payment if you mine in a pool with your computer (if you own a server with a loooot hash you might prefer solomine coz you still find blocks all the time and so you dont have to share the payment).

Also there might be hardware with not enough RAM/swap file to run a full node, so you could use just a mining software to mine directly to a pool without running a node.

There are many pools, choose what suits you the best.

On any pool getting started page youll find several miner software. Personally i prefer fireice_uk stak miner, because he is activly updating it/active in the community and also provides open communication on changes on the software.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1177



View Profile
June 09, 2017, 08:30:09 AM
 #3878

So, is there any major benefit to mining this outside of the daemon?

Solomining is good for the AEON decentralisation.

Solo mining also has less inherent overhead in terms of tx fees. Not only do the pools have to pay fees to pay out, but you will incur more fees when you spend those coins because it takes many tiny outputs to fund a transaction, making it larger. AEON currently has very low fees but those will need to increase to more sustainable level at some point.
TronQuix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 306
Merit: 106



View Profile
June 09, 2017, 02:32:11 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2017, 03:01:36 PM by TronQuix
 #3879

So, is there any major benefit to mining this outside of the daemon?

Solomining is good for the AEON decentralisation.

Solo mining also has less inherent overhead in terms of tx fees. Not only do the pools have to pay fees to pay out, but you will incur more fees when you spend those coins because it takes many tiny outputs to fund a transaction, making it larger. AEON currently has very low fees but those will need to increase to more sustainable level at some point.


Thats sorta what I thought, so, just to make sure I am clear, when I open my wallet and type start_mine in the wallet i am solo mining? I've been running on 4 threads based on some suggestions on halving my cache? Thoughts on that?
Fraggl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2017, 04:52:14 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2017, 06:35:38 PM by Fraggl
 #3880

can i mine to aeon-pool.com and transfer it directly to bittrex-wallet?
I tried and everthing worked till first payout and since than (~1h) i wait to see the incoming transfer on bittrex

//Edit: ok, i missed, that i need to give wallet-adress+ payment_id - can i append it ?

Old: minerd -a cryptonight-light -o stratum+tcp://mine.aeon-pool.com:3333 -u myadress -p x -t 6
Probably new: Old: minerd -a cryptonight-light -o stratum+tcp://mine.aeon-pool.com:3333 -u myadress my id -p x -t 6
Pages: « 1 ... 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 [194] 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 ... 318 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!