Bitcoin Forum
August 16, 2022, 06:54:24 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 [192] 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 ... 318 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] AEON: Scalable, private, mobile-friendly cryptocurrency  (Read 622536 times)
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1177



View Profile
May 25, 2017, 04:21:24 AM
 #3821

AEON was listed at Hitbtc today!!!!!!!!!!
Very good news!

So coin should became much more popular and a little bit more expensive ;-)

Not much volume there https://coinmarketcap.com/exchanges/hitbtc/

Compare

https://coinmarketcap.com/exchanges/bittrex/

https://coinmarketcap.com/exchanges/poloniex/

Poloniex seems a possibility. Aeon is the highest class of the cryptonote coins, it never went through a scumbag phase like Monero, or a protracted 'no dev but lets cover that fact with noise' phase like boolberry.

Asia is going berzerk with coins at the moment. Aeon is a solid coin, if it gets some Asian exposure soon it could be a very strong coin. Smooth has always been a gentleman online, aeon supporters have always been civilized. The other major cryptonote coins cannot say that, and factors like that might be important eventually.

Actually what would be great is an exchange in Japan or Korea.

I know everyone is all over poloniex here but if you look at where the trading volumes are exploding, Poloniex may be yesterday's news. They seem to be up to the task of scaling up their operation too.

Thanks for the complement by the way. We are just trying to build a solid coin here, without a lot of noise and drama.
1660676064
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660676064

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660676064
Reply with quote  #2

1660676064
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1660676064
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660676064

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660676064
Reply with quote  #2

1660676064
Report to moderator
jwinterm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1092



View Profile
May 25, 2017, 04:38:21 AM
 #3822

...

Thanks for the complement by the way. We are just trying to build a solid coin here, without a lot of noise and drama.


Speaking of drama, I heard on tweeter that smooth has a MAJOR announcement coming tomorrow...
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1177



View Profile
May 25, 2017, 04:46:12 AM
 #3823

...

Thanks for the complement by the way. We are just trying to build a solid coin here, without a lot of noise and drama.


Speaking of drama, I heard on tweeter that smooth has a MAJOR announcement coming tomorrow...

YUGE!

It will be announced on the AEON pump group teamspeak.

In case anyone doesn't realize, this is a joke
estenity
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1864
Merit: 529


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 07:01:31 AM
 #3824

...

Thanks for the complement by the way. We are just trying to build a solid coin here, without a lot of noise and drama.


Speaking of drama, I heard on tweeter that smooth has a MAJOR announcement coming tomorrow...

YUGE!

It will be announced on the AEON pump group teamspeak.

In case anyone doesn't realize, this is a joke

always read the fine print.
ducnc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 06:21:42 PM
 #3825

Hi there,

I'm a newbie with aeon and mining. Now i'm trying to mine AEON on my free Server (Debian 8, 24 Core E5-2620, 24GB ram).
I'm using aeon-stak-cpu to mine, but there is a problem: my miner only use a single thread and the hash is low
[2017-05-25 11:14:29] : Result accepted by the pool.

HASHRATE REPORT
| ID | 2.5s |  60s |  15m |
|  0 | 155.9 | 155.8 | (na) |
---------------------------
Totals:   155.9 155.8 (na) H/s
Highest:  160.6 H/s


I change "cpu_thread_num" on configuration file aeon-stak-cpu/config.txt to other number, but the tool say: "[2017-05-25 11:19:03] : Invalid config file. Your CPU config array has 1 members, while you want to use 2 threads."

So, what is wrong with me?

Thanks in advance!
infofront
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2562
Merit: 2561


Shitcoin Minimalist


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 07:15:28 PM
 #3826

Hello gentlemen. How closely will this coin track Monero features. For instance, will ring CT be coming to Aeon?
The Cryptophilanthropist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 101



View Profile
May 25, 2017, 07:28:38 PM
 #3827

Regarding the stak-cpu miner; roughly what kind of increase does it get? I haven't used it yet because I didn't want to make all the lock-pages settings if it wasn't really worth the effort, I mine other coins with my rigs and was worried it might effect those miners and I would have to undo it.

Any pre and post comparisons would be appreciated, thanks Smiley

Many thanks to those of you who have replied to this Smiley I still have yet to try it out, ran into some confusion large page support the first time I tried it on Win 10 , local group policy layout is different than the instructions at some point. Going to try it out on my older Win rigs and my Linux rigs.

L8nit3-Miners Multi-Pool BTC PRT-LOG-XGTC BTC #GetMining
GdonateqfnmiJKv7mfnUcyvZHaiqxcTQS1 - XGTC DEV FUND
1G2PTf59cYsWKoZjj3i3Cv1Bb8NuNaeho2 - BTC POOL DEV
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 274


View Profile
May 25, 2017, 08:04:57 PM
 #3828

Hi there,

I'm a newbie with aeon and mining. Now i'm trying to mine AEON on my free Server (Debian 8, 24 Core E5-2620, 24GB ram).
I'm using aeon-stak-cpu to mine, but there is a problem: my miner only use a single thread and the hash is low
[2017-05-25 11:14:29] : Result accepted by the pool.

HASHRATE REPORT
| ID | 2.5s |  60s |  15m |
|  0 | 155.9 | 155.8 | (na) |
---------------------------
Totals:   155.9 155.8 (na) H/s
Highest:  160.6 H/s


I change "cpu_thread_num" on configuration file aeon-stak-cpu/config.txt to other number, but the tool say: "[2017-05-25 11:19:03] : Invalid config file. Your CPU config array has 1 members, while you want to use 2 threads."

So, what is wrong with me?

Thanks in advance!


You need to add the threads that you wish to mine with. It seems to do best if you alternate every other thread, choosing the actual cores, I'll show how I have it set on my Ryzen 1700X, 16 thread CPU. You would just need to extend the part at the bottom to have all 24 cores included. *I don't know if the miner supports that many cores or not...

/*
 * Number of threads. You can configure them below. Cryptonight uses 2MB of memory, so the optimal setting
 * here is the size of your L3 cache divided by 2. Intel mid-to-high end desktop processors have 2MB of L3
 * cache per physical core. Low end cpus can have 1.5 or 1 MB while Xeons can have 2, 2.5 or 3MB per core.
 */
"cpu_thread_num" : 8,

/*
 * Thread configuration for each thread. Make sure it matches the number above.
 * low_power_mode - This mode will double the cache usage, and double the single thread performance. It will
 *                  consume much less power (as less cores are working), but will max out at around 80-85% of
 *                  the maximum performance.
 *
 * no_prefetch -    This mode meant for large pages only. It will generate an error if running on slow memory
 *                  Some sytems can gain up to extra 5% here, but sometimes it will have no difference or make
 *                  things slower.
 *
 * affine_to_cpu -  This can be either false (no affinity), or the CPU core number. Note that on hyperthreading
 *                  systems it is better to assign threads to physical cores. On Windows this usually means selecting
 *                  even or odd numbered cpu numbers. For Linux it will be usually the lower CPU numbers, so for a 4
 *                  physical core CPU you should select cpu numbers 0-3.
 *
 */
"cpu_threads_conf" : [
   { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 0 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 2 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 4 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 6 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 8 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 10 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 12 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 14 },
],
The Cryptophilanthropist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 101



View Profile
May 25, 2017, 08:13:56 PM
 #3829

Hi there,

I'm a newbie with aeon and mining. Now i'm trying to mine AEON on my free Server (Debian 8, 24 Core E5-2620, 24GB ram).
I'm using aeon-stak-cpu to mine, but there is a problem: my miner only use a single thread and the hash is low
[2017-05-25 11:14:29] : Result accepted by the pool.

HASHRATE REPORT
| ID | 2.5s |  60s |  15m |
|  0 | 155.9 | 155.8 | (na) |
---------------------------
Totals:   155.9 155.8 (na) H/s
Highest:  160.6 H/s


I change "cpu_thread_num" on configuration file aeon-stak-cpu/config.txt to other number, but the tool say: "[2017-05-25 11:19:03] : Invalid config file. Your CPU config array has 1 members, while you want to use 2 threads."

So, what is wrong with me?

Thanks in advance!


You need to add the threads that you wish to mine with. It seems to do best if you alternate every other thread, choosing the actual cores, I'll show how I have it set on my Ryzen 1700X, 16 thread CPU. You would just need to extend the part at the bottom to have all 24 cores included. *I don't know if the miner supports that many cores or not...

/*
 * Number of threads. You can configure them below. Cryptonight uses 2MB of memory, so the optimal setting
 * here is the size of your L3 cache divided by 2. Intel mid-to-high end desktop processors have 2MB of L3
 * cache per physical core. Low end cpus can have 1.5 or 1 MB while Xeons can have 2, 2.5 or 3MB per core.
 */
"cpu_thread_num" : 8,

/*
 * Thread configuration for each thread. Make sure it matches the number above.
 * low_power_mode - This mode will double the cache usage, and double the single thread performance. It will
 *                  consume much less power (as less cores are working), but will max out at around 80-85% of
 *                  the maximum performance.
 *
 * no_prefetch -    This mode meant for large pages only. It will generate an error if running on slow memory
 *                  Some sytems can gain up to extra 5% here, but sometimes it will have no difference or make
 *                  things slower.
 *
 * affine_to_cpu -  This can be either false (no affinity), or the CPU core number. Note that on hyperthreading
 *                  systems it is better to assign threads to physical cores. On Windows this usually means selecting
 *                  even or odd numbered cpu numbers. For Linux it will be usually the lower CPU numbers, so for a 4
 *                  physical core CPU you should select cpu numbers 0-3.
 *
 */
"cpu_threads_conf" : [
   { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 0 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 2 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 4 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 6 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 8 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 10 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 12 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 14 },
],

Hey thanks for this ! Btw is the stak miner worth running on NON- AES systems?

L8nit3-Miners Multi-Pool BTC PRT-LOG-XGTC BTC #GetMining
GdonateqfnmiJKv7mfnUcyvZHaiqxcTQS1 - XGTC DEV FUND
1G2PTf59cYsWKoZjj3i3Cv1Bb8NuNaeho2 - BTC POOL DEV
bbc.reporter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1011



View Profile
May 26, 2017, 01:37:29 AM
 #3830

I will buy a new laptop this weekend and I want to ask what is the minimum specifications for Aeon to run? As I understand it I should have at least 8gb of RAM and at least an Intel i5 processor to sync the blockchain correct?

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
... LIVECASINO.io    Play Live Games with up to 20% cashback!...██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1177



View Profile
May 26, 2017, 01:47:22 AM
 #3831

I will buy a new laptop this weekend and I want to ask what is the minimum specifications for Aeon to run? As I understand it I should have at least 8gb of RAM and at least an Intel i5 processor to sync the blockchain correct?

That is a good baseline. You can get away with less but it becomes more painful.
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 274


View Profile
May 26, 2017, 02:36:10 AM
 #3832

I would be very careful mining anything on a laptop. With that said, AEON is one of the easiest on the system CPU minable coins that I am aware of so you may be ok if you keep a close eye on it.
frankfurrt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 26, 2017, 03:49:35 AM
 #3833

I would be very careful mining anything on a laptop. With that said, AEON is one of the easiest on the system CPU minable coins that I am aware of so you may be ok if you keep a close eye on it.

Why is mining on a laptop not a good idea and what needs to be have an eye kept on it?
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1177



View Profile
May 26, 2017, 03:51:18 AM
 #3834

I would be very careful mining anything on a laptop. With that said, AEON is one of the easiest on the system CPU minable coins that I am aware of so you may be ok if you keep a close eye on it.

Why is mining on a laptop not a good idea and what needs to be have an eye kept on it?

It can overheat, if the laptop isn't well designed (or possibly other problems such as vents blocked)

As long as you are sure it won't overhead, mining on a laptop can be extremely efficient.

frankfurrt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 26, 2017, 03:56:57 AM
 #3835

I would be very careful mining anything on a laptop. With that said, AEON is one of the easiest on the system CPU minable coins that I am aware of so you may be ok if you keep a close eye on it.

Why is mining on a laptop not a good idea and what needs to be have an eye kept on it?

It can overheat, if the laptop isn't well designed.

As long as you are sure it won't overhead, mining on a laptop can be extremely efficient.



Ah, ok cool. I have an asus rog that I am learning to mine with,  so far even using the gpu it doesn't get above 85°(except when I used the minergate mining software) but have been able to keep it around 80.  Is there anything else I should watch for?  I'm going to try mining this to try it out.
ducnc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 26, 2017, 06:00:27 PM
 #3836

Hi there,

I'm a newbie with aeon and mining. Now i'm trying to mine AEON on my free Server (Debian 8, 24 Core E5-2620, 24GB ram).
I'm using aeon-stak-cpu to mine, but there is a problem: my miner only use a single thread and the hash is low
[2017-05-25 11:14:29] : Result accepted by the pool.

HASHRATE REPORT
| ID | 2.5s |  60s |  15m |
|  0 | 155.9 | 155.8 | (na) |
---------------------------
Totals:   155.9 155.8 (na) H/s
Highest:  160.6 H/s


I change "cpu_thread_num" on configuration file aeon-stak-cpu/config.txt to other number, but the tool say: "[2017-05-25 11:19:03] : Invalid config file. Your CPU config array has 1 members, while you want to use 2 threads."

So, what is wrong with me?

Thanks in advance!


You need to add the threads that you wish to mine with. It seems to do best if you alternate every other thread, choosing the actual cores, I'll show how I have it set on my Ryzen 1700X, 16 thread CPU. You would just need to extend the part at the bottom to have all 24 cores included. *I don't know if the miner supports that many cores or not...

/*
 * Number of threads. You can configure them below. Cryptonight uses 2MB of memory, so the optimal setting
 * here is the size of your L3 cache divided by 2. Intel mid-to-high end desktop processors have 2MB of L3
 * cache per physical core. Low end cpus can have 1.5 or 1 MB while Xeons can have 2, 2.5 or 3MB per core.
 */
"cpu_thread_num" : 8,

/*
 * Thread configuration for each thread. Make sure it matches the number above.
 * low_power_mode - This mode will double the cache usage, and double the single thread performance. It will
 *                  consume much less power (as less cores are working), but will max out at around 80-85% of
 *                  the maximum performance.
 *
 * no_prefetch -    This mode meant for large pages only. It will generate an error if running on slow memory
 *                  Some sytems can gain up to extra 5% here, but sometimes it will have no difference or make
 *                  things slower.
 *
 * affine_to_cpu -  This can be either false (no affinity), or the CPU core number. Note that on hyperthreading
 *                  systems it is better to assign threads to physical cores. On Windows this usually means selecting
 *                  even or odd numbered cpu numbers. For Linux it will be usually the lower CPU numbers, so for a 4
 *                  physical core CPU you should select cpu numbers 0-3.
 *
 */
"cpu_threads_conf" : [
   { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 0 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 2 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 4 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 6 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 8 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 10 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 12 },
        { "low_power_mode" : true, "no_prefetch" : false, "affine_to_cpu" : 14 },
],

Thank you, It works for me!
The Cryptophilanthropist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 101



View Profile
May 26, 2017, 09:46:17 PM
 #3837

I would be very careful mining anything on a laptop. With that said, AEON is one of the easiest on the system CPU minable coins that I am aware of so you may be ok if you keep a close eye on it.

Why is mining on a laptop not a good idea and what needs to be have an eye kept on it?

It can overheat, if the laptop isn't well designed.

As long as you are sure it won't overhead, mining on a laptop can be extremely efficient.



Ah, ok cool. I have an asus rog that I am learning to mine with,  so far even using the gpu it doesn't get above 85°(except when I used the minergate mining software) but have been able to keep it around 80.  Is there anything else I should watch for?  I'm going to try mining this to try it out.

I agree Aeon is one of the "easier on the cpu" algos, I mine cpu and gpu on an HP Omen but it's up on a stand with a significant fan under it when I do,.... talk about dedicated...or obsessed .... Smiley   Seems to do fine but as a general rule yes laptops, bad idea.

L8nit3-Miners Multi-Pool BTC PRT-LOG-XGTC BTC #GetMining
GdonateqfnmiJKv7mfnUcyvZHaiqxcTQS1 - XGTC DEV FUND
1G2PTf59cYsWKoZjj3i3Cv1Bb8NuNaeho2 - BTC POOL DEV
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1177



View Profile
May 26, 2017, 10:22:06 PM
 #3838

I agree Aeon is one of the "easier on the cpu" algos, I mine cpu and gpu on an HP Omen but it's up on a stand with a significant fan under it when I do,.... talk about dedicated...or obsessed .... Smiley   Seems to do fine but as a general rule yes laptops, bad idea.

I don't agree with the generalization. Cheapo laptops in uncertain condition yes, I would avoid mining altogether (unless they are so cheap you literally don't care). Otherwise it varies between perfectly okay (I've maxed out my old MacBook Pro on CPU for months at a time, now going on 6 years old and still working great) and okay, but throttle load a bit (use one less thread or something). Keep the vents unblocked and a stand (or at least a hard flat surface) is a good idea too.
bbc.reporter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1011



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 01:46:18 AM
 #3839

I will buy a new laptop this weekend and I want to ask what is the minimum specifications for Aeon to run? As I understand it I should have at least 8gb of RAM and at least an Intel i5 processor to sync the blockchain correct?

That is a good baseline. You can get away with less but it becomes more painful.


Ok good. The laptop is shipping this week! I cannot wait to play around with it.

I have another question. Aeon's goal is to become light enough so that it can be installed in mobile phones. What did you mean by this? Run a full node on them? How confident are you that it can be done by the next decade?

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
... LIVECASINO.io    Play Live Games with up to 20% cashback!...██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
eeX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 961
Merit: 500


Soldo.IN [SLD]


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2017, 09:04:01 AM
 #3840

Full node at mobiles?

It takes about 8G RAM just to load bloackchain Sad

Soldo [SLD] @ Soldo.IN
Pages: « 1 ... 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 [192] 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 ... 318 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!