Bitcoin Forum
May 28, 2017, 10:34:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 [891] 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 ... 1263 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000  (Read 1881157 times)
bensam123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 425


View Profile
February 04, 2015, 10:55:11 AM
 #17801

So fundamental question time. If I plot with a stagger size of 8192, the plotter will consume 8192 memory to make the plots, but the miner will not use 8192mb of memory to mine? Or do both machines consume 8192MB of memory, both during the mining process and the plotting process?

Before optimizing the plots my miner is using up to 8192MB of memory while reading through the non-optimized plots, is that normal?

I think I missed something somewhere. What determines how much memory Blagos miner uses and the GPU Plotter? I assumed the amount of memory the GPU plotter uses is based on your globalworksize x number of cards and the amount of memory the miner used is your stagger size (when not optimized).


Also it seems as though I'm making less after optimizing then I was before optimizing (by a large margin).
1496010859
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496010859

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496010859
Reply with quote  #2

1496010859
Report to moderator
1496010859
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496010859

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496010859
Reply with quote  #2

1496010859
Report to moderator
1496010859
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496010859

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496010859
Reply with quote  #2

1496010859
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1496010859
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496010859

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496010859
Reply with quote  #2

1496010859
Report to moderator
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058


View Profile
February 04, 2015, 03:43:48 PM
 #17802

So fundamental question time. If I plot with a stagger size of 8192, the plotter will consume 8192 memory to make the plots, but the miner will not use 8192mb of memory to mine? Or do both machines consume 8192MB of memory, both during the mining process and the plotting process?

Before optimizing the plots my miner is using up to 8192MB of memory while reading through the non-optimized plots, is that normal?

I think I missed something somewhere. What determines how much memory Blagos miner uses and the GPU Plotter? I assumed the amount of memory the GPU plotter uses is based on your globalworksize x number of cards and the amount of memory the miner used is your stagger size (when not optimized).


Also it seems as though I'm making less after optimizing then I was before optimizing (by a large margin).

I assume ur mining on windows? Windows caches everything it reads from large files and holds onto it in a 'standby list' of memory. For some reason windows doesnt know how to let go of this properly when reading large files and u have to run something like ranaurufu's memory cleaner which will purge the standby memory list once it hits a certain limit, but it does this for all memory mapped files on the standby list, therefore there is a systemwide decrease in IO performance, which is fine if ur windows box is dedicated solely to HDD mining. So, ur best bet is to set up mining on a linux machine that doesnt do this insanely aggressive caching. But, for ur first question, yes more RAM while plotting is better.
When using runaurufu's memory cleaner, u will want to make sure to set ur plot sizes to 200GB or less, that way, they can be flushed more often and the peak size of memory used is less. Because, it seems that windows wont allow a file to be flushed while its actively still being read, so a 4TB plot, will consume a shit ton of memory till the miner has completed reading it.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
evok3d
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 286



View Profile
February 04, 2015, 03:49:04 PM
 #17803

Will we ever see a IOS or AnDroid wallet?

Yes, PR team talking about it, not sure when tho, sorry Sad Biggest part is finding a willing dev

Also he needs to provide the regular updates.

Many people on poloniex.com have said this is a pump + dump scam coin


Hahahah thats funny, who ever said that is probably part of a group of people attempting to damage what this coin has been doing. I can understand though that it is a serious threat to most existing models. You can go through the thread and see that most people here are concerned with the development and technological evolution of this platform rather than its trading value. I would not even be surprised if the recent pump was an attempt to that exact thing.

I would say this has potentials of being a remarkable coin when compared to other copy clones. Just think about it, you dont need to go buy new hardware if you want to mine it, everything you need is already there! Unless ofcourse you want to buy extra drives for more mining/plotting space.

keep up the amazing work mates! Cheers.

mmmaybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2015, 03:56:12 PM
 #17804

If you got Twitter or other social media stuff, can you spread this, please?

https://twitter.com/real_BURSTCOIN/status/563000791473340417

We want new users  Tongue


ATCkit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 691


View Profile
February 04, 2015, 04:12:27 PM
 #17805

If you got Twitter or other social media stuff, can you spread this, please?

https://twitter.com/real_BURSTCOIN/status/563000791473340417

We want new users  Tongue



New user here. I have a few questions related to mining:

1. What's the best miner to use?

2. which pool is best?

3.  I have a couple AMD 280x GPUs available. Is that a better way to go than cpu mining?
okae
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Northern exposure


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2015, 04:20:39 PM
 #17806

If you got Twitter or other social media stuff, can you spread this, please?

https://twitter.com/real_BURSTCOIN/status/563000791473340417

We want new users  Tongue



done RETWEET! cmon guys lets spread it and help us to grow up!!
mmmaybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2015, 04:23:28 PM
 #17807

If you got Twitter or other social media stuff, can you spread this, please?

https://twitter.com/real_BURSTCOIN/status/563000791473340417

We want new users  Tongue



New user here. I have a few questions related to mining:

1. What's the best miner to use?

2. which pool is best?

3.  I have a couple AMD 280x GPUs available. Is that a better way to go than cpu mining?


1. Depends on your system... Blago's for Windows and dcct's for Linux. Uray's works well in both platforms.

2. I don't know.

3. The GPU's are faster when plotting your HDD, but you wont need them when mining. See the guides linked in the BurstForum.com thread


mmmaybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2015, 04:25:49 PM
 #17808

If you got Twitter or other social media stuff, can you spread this, please?

https://twitter.com/real_BURSTCOIN/status/563000791473340417

We want new users  Tongue



done RETWEET! cmon guys lets spread it and help us to grow up!!

Thanks Smiley Other social media fora are fine too.

Blago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 414



View Profile
February 04, 2015, 04:49:18 PM
 #17809

So fundamental question time. If I plot with a stagger size of 8192, the plotter will consume 8192 memory to make the plots, but the miner will not use 8192mb of memory to mine? Or do both machines consume 8192MB of memory, both during the mining process and the plotting process?

Before optimizing the plots my miner is using up to 8192MB of memory while reading through the non-optimized plots, is that normal?

I think I missed something somewhere. What determines how much memory Blagos miner uses and the GPU Plotter? I assumed the amount of memory the GPU plotter uses is based on your globalworksize x number of cards and the amount of memory the miner used is your stagger size (when not optimized).


Also it seems as though I'm making less after optimizing then I was before optimizing (by a large margin).

I assume ur mining on windows? Windows caches everything it reads from large files and holds onto it in a 'standby list' of memory. For some reason windows doesnt know how to let go of this properly when reading large files and u have to run something like ranaurufu's memory cleaner which will purge the standby memory list once it hits a certain limit, but it does this for all memory mapped files on the standby list, therefore there is a systemwide decrease in IO performance, which is fine if ur windows box is dedicated solely to HDD mining. So, ur best bet is to set up mining on a linux machine that doesnt do this insanely aggressive caching. But, for ur first question, yes more RAM while plotting is better.
When using runaurufu's memory cleaner, u will want to make sure to set ur plot sizes to 200GB or less, that way, they can be flushed more often and the peak size of memory used is less. Because, it seems that windows wont allow a file to be flushed while its actively still being read, so a 4TB plot, will consume a shit ton of memory till the miner has completed reading it.

Very good answer!

I tried to use the program to set a maximum cache - unsuccessfully, no positive changes were seen...
http://www.microimages.com/downloads/SetFileCacheSize.htm   (uses https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa965240(v=vs.85).aspx)

This program clears the cache
http://forum.sysinternals.com/rammap-empty-standby-list_topic27297.html

details can be read here
http://blogs.technet.com/b/askperf/archive/2012/12/19/where-has-all-my-physical-ram-gone.aspx


Relax, I’m russian!...
BURST-B2LU-SGCZ-NYVS-HZEPK
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058


View Profile
February 04, 2015, 04:54:47 PM
 #17810

So fundamental question time. If I plot with a stagger size of 8192, the plotter will consume 8192 memory to make the plots, but the miner will not use 8192mb of memory to mine? Or do both machines consume 8192MB of memory, both during the mining process and the plotting process?

Before optimizing the plots my miner is using up to 8192MB of memory while reading through the non-optimized plots, is that normal?

I think I missed something somewhere. What determines how much memory Blagos miner uses and the GPU Plotter? I assumed the amount of memory the GPU plotter uses is based on your globalworksize x number of cards and the amount of memory the miner used is your stagger size (when not optimized).


Also it seems as though I'm making less after optimizing then I was before optimizing (by a large margin).

I assume ur mining on windows? Windows caches everything it reads from large files and holds onto it in a 'standby list' of memory. For some reason windows doesnt know how to let go of this properly when reading large files and u have to run something like ranaurufu's memory cleaner which will purge the standby memory list once it hits a certain limit, but it does this for all memory mapped files on the standby list, therefore there is a systemwide decrease in IO performance, which is fine if ur windows box is dedicated solely to HDD mining. So, ur best bet is to set up mining on a linux machine that doesnt do this insanely aggressive caching. But, for ur first question, yes more RAM while plotting is better.
When using runaurufu's memory cleaner, u will want to make sure to set ur plot sizes to 200GB or less, that way, they can be flushed more often and the peak size of memory used is less. Because, it seems that windows wont allow a file to be flushed while its actively still being read, so a 4TB plot, will consume a shit ton of memory till the miner has completed reading it.

Very good answer!

I tried to use the program to set a maximum cache - unsuccessfully, no positive changes were seen...
http://www.microimages.com/downloads/SetFileCacheSize.htm   (uses https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa965240(v=vs.85).aspx)

This program clears the cache
http://forum.sysinternals.com/rammap-empty-standby-list_topic27297.html

details can be read here
http://blogs.technet.com/b/askperf/archive/2012/12/19/where-has-all-my-physical-ram-gone.aspx

Yeah, the filecache is different for some reason then the standby list that these enormous plot reads go into, so it has no bearing...
Here is the memory cleaner I use, it pretty much calls the 'flush standby list memory' functions of windows but on a running threshold basis, which is good for mining, since it needs threshold rather than a timed schedule...
http://runaurufu.com/file/download/7

Specify a number after the command & it will set that threshold, it defaults to 100MB. I find 1000MB works well.
On another note, there is a version of Uray's miner that was modified by someone, its the r2 build and it completely disables read caching the plot files alltogether, what would be even more awesome is if someone could do this w/ blago's miner, since thats my miner of choice. I wish I could get someone to do the same build but w/ Uray's latest release. =/

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
ATCkit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 691


View Profile
February 04, 2015, 04:56:45 PM
 #17811

If you got Twitter or other social media stuff, can you spread this, please?

https://twitter.com/real_BURSTCOIN/status/563000791473340417

We want new users  Tongue



New user here. I have a few questions related to mining:

1. What's the best miner to use?

2. which pool is best?

3.  I have a couple AMD 280x GPUs available. Is that a better way to go than cpu mining?

Thx )

1. Depends on your system... Blago's for Windows and dcct's for Linux. Uray's works well in both platforms.

2. I don't know.

3. The GPU's are faster when plotting your HDD, but you wont need them when mining. See the guides linked in the BurstForum.com thread


bensam123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 425


View Profile
February 04, 2015, 05:00:38 PM
 #17812

So fundamental question time. If I plot with a stagger size of 8192, the plotter will consume 8192 memory to make the plots, but the miner will not use 8192mb of memory to mine? Or do both machines consume 8192MB of memory, both during the mining process and the plotting process?

Before optimizing the plots my miner is using up to 8192MB of memory while reading through the non-optimized plots, is that normal?

I think I missed something somewhere. What determines how much memory Blagos miner uses and the GPU Plotter? I assumed the amount of memory the GPU plotter uses is based on your globalworksize x number of cards and the amount of memory the miner used is your stagger size (when not optimized).


Also it seems as though I'm making less after optimizing then I was before optimizing (by a large margin).

I assume ur mining on windows? Windows caches everything it reads from large files and holds onto it in a 'standby list' of memory. For some reason windows doesnt know how to let go of this properly when reading large files and u have to run something like ranaurufu's memory cleaner which will purge the standby memory list once it hits a certain limit, but it does this for all memory mapped files on the standby list, therefore there is a systemwide decrease in IO performance, which is fine if ur windows box is dedicated solely to HDD mining. So, ur best bet is to set up mining on a linux machine that doesnt do this insanely aggressive caching. But, for ur first question, yes more RAM while plotting is better.
When using runaurufu's memory cleaner, u will want to make sure to set ur plot sizes to 200GB or less, that way, they can be flushed more often and the peak size of memory used is less. Because, it seems that windows wont allow a file to be flushed while its actively still being read, so a 4TB plot, will consume a shit ton of memory till the miner has completed reading it.

Very good answer!

I tried to use the program to set a maximum cache - unsuccessfully, no positive changes were seen...
http://www.microimages.com/downloads/SetFileCacheSize.htm   (uses https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa965240(v=vs.85).aspx)

This program clears the cache
http://forum.sysinternals.com/rammap-empty-standby-list_topic27297.html

details can be read here
http://blogs.technet.com/b/askperf/archive/2012/12/19/where-has-all-my-physical-ram-gone.aspx

Yeah, the filecache is different for some reason then the standby list that these enormous plot reads go into, so it has no bearing...
Here is the memory cleaner I use, it pretty much calls the 'flush standby list memory' functions of windows but on a running threshold basis, which is good for mining, since it needs threshold rather than a timed schedule...
http://runaurufu.com/file/download/7

Specify a number after the command & it will set that threshold, it defaults to 100MB. I find 1000MB works well.

Erm, these really don't answer my questions (although I appreciate answers none the less). I was curious if the plotter and the miner memory usage is determined by stagger size. Also if the GPU plotter 'globalworksize' has anything to do with it's system memory consumption while working.

I was also asking if anyone noticed a decrease in income after optimizing.
mmmaybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2015, 05:19:14 PM
 #17813

If you got Twitter or other social media stuff, can you spread this, please?

https://twitter.com/real_BURSTCOIN/status/563000791473340417

We want new users  Tongue


Bumping to new page Wink

Mergesort
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
February 04, 2015, 05:24:44 PM
 #17814

{"errorCode":4,"errorDescription":"Incorrect \"recipient\""} I get this message trying to set a recipient for pool mining :/ How do i solo mine until i get this fixed?

BTC: 18eRmTW4VCB4JrLZtDR6xyGby1hdsaW8iW
go6ooo1212
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Get smart !


View Profile
February 04, 2015, 06:16:48 PM
 #17815

So fundamental question time. If I plot with a stagger size of 8192, the plotter will consume 8192 memory to make the plots, but the miner will not use 8192mb of memory to mine? Or do both machines consume 8192MB of memory, both during the mining process and the plotting process?

Before optimizing the plots my miner is using up to 8192MB of memory while reading through the non-optimized plots, is that normal?

I think I missed something somewhere. What determines how much memory Blagos miner uses and the GPU Plotter? I assumed the amount of memory the GPU plotter uses is based on your globalworksize x number of cards and the amount of memory the miner used is your stagger size (when not optimized).


Also it seems as though I'm making less after optimizing then I was before optimizing (by a large margin).

I assume ur mining on windows? Windows caches everything it reads from large files and holds onto it in a 'standby list' of memory. For some reason windows doesnt know how to let go of this properly when reading large files and u have to run something like ranaurufu's memory cleaner which will purge the standby memory list once it hits a certain limit, but it does this for all memory mapped files on the standby list, therefore there is a systemwide decrease in IO performance, which is fine if ur windows box is dedicated solely to HDD mining. So, ur best bet is to set up mining on a linux machine that doesnt do this insanely aggressive caching. But, for ur first question, yes more RAM while plotting is better.
When using runaurufu's memory cleaner, u will want to make sure to set ur plot sizes to 200GB or less, that way, they can be flushed more often and the peak size of memory used is less. Because, it seems that windows wont allow a file to be flushed while its actively still being read, so a 4TB plot, will consume a shit ton of memory till the miner has completed reading it.

Very good answer!

I tried to use the program to set a maximum cache - unsuccessfully, no positive changes were seen...
http://www.microimages.com/downloads/SetFileCacheSize.htm   (uses https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa965240(v=vs.85).aspx)

This program clears the cache
http://forum.sysinternals.com/rammap-empty-standby-list_topic27297.html

details can be read here
http://blogs.technet.com/b/askperf/archive/2012/12/19/where-has-all-my-physical-ram-gone.aspx

Yeah, the filecache is different for some reason then the standby list that these enormous plot reads go into, so it has no bearing...
Here is the memory cleaner I use, it pretty much calls the 'flush standby list memory' functions of windows but on a running threshold basis, which is good for mining, since it needs threshold rather than a timed schedule...
http://runaurufu.com/file/download/7

Specify a number after the command & it will set that threshold, it defaults to 100MB. I find 1000MB works well.
On another note, there is a version of Uray's miner that was modified by someone, its the r2 build and it completely disables read caching the plot files alltogether, what would be even more awesome is if someone could do this w/ blago's miner, since thats my miner of choice. I wish I could get someone to do the same build but w/ Uray's latest release. =/
How to specify the argument , I didn't find any help-commands Smiley
EDIT: Sorry , I figured it out , thanks. It's very nice tool...
mmmaybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile WWW
February 05, 2015, 12:56:05 AM
 #17816

The giveaway goes as planned  Grin Here is a quick update:

https://burstforum.com/index.php?threads/giveaway-by-burst.620/#post-4790

mafostedu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 05, 2015, 04:45:31 AM
 #17817

I am mining solo with one account & on dev 2 pool with another. For past couple of days, I have noticed that whenever there is a zero transaction block, my wallet doesn't update to that block immediately so I miss the submission of my shares while solo mining for next block in time. However for blocks with transactions it updates normally. Any suggestions ? I wonder if adding peers to the wallet can solve this issue & if yes, how to add peers ?

BTW, @ mmmaybe & other PR team members, we should publish our good articles related to burst on wikipedia.
Just like NXT has it's own article :: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nxt
Sema89
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
February 05, 2015, 05:24:06 AM
 #17818

Can I copy the plot that I'm have been created in first HDD to my second HDD?
Or plots need to be a unique?
FakeAccount
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216


I'm not real


View Profile
February 05, 2015, 05:36:59 AM
 #17819

Can I copy the plot that I'm have been created in first HDD to my second HDD?
Or plots need to be a unique?
unique

This is a fake account
Sema89
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
February 05, 2015, 05:38:40 AM
 #17820

Can I copy the plot that I'm have been created in first HDD to my second HDD?
Or plots need to be a unique?
unique
Thank you for reply.
And can I use my poloniex deposit adress like my wallet, with I can mine?
Pages: « 1 ... 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 [891] 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 ... 1263 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!