Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2018, 05:21:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 [66] 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 435378 times)
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:01:27 PM
 #1301

The overclocking blew out my power supply.  My "silver" unit had an Antec Green 650W power supply.  I ran to the store and they had a Corsair 800W and I got it working again.

was it easy enough to upgrade the PSU? I have 3 corsair 860w platinum arriving later this week
1524633686
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524633686

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524633686
Reply with quote  #2

1524633686
Report to moderator
1524633686
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524633686

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524633686
Reply with quote  #2

1524633686
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524633686
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524633686

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524633686
Reply with quote  #2

1524633686
Report to moderator
1524633686
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524633686

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524633686
Reply with quote  #2

1524633686
Report to moderator
1524633686
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524633686

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524633686
Reply with quote  #2

1524633686
Report to moderator
thorvald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 250


Join The Blockchain Revolution In Logistics


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:07:56 PM
 #1302

the Antec Green 650W is ok until ~700w
if you go over 325 you will take it over the limit
it has over protection it should have shut down
I think it is still working.
with just 2 modules at 360 it takes it at about 70% of full load  

http://www.kitguru.net/components/power-supplies/zardon/antec-earthwatts-ea-650w-review-green-2011/4/

                ▄██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
           ▄████▄▄▄▄▄██████████████▄
         ▄████████████████▄▄▄███████
       ▄█████████████████████████████
     ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███████████████▄
   ▄████████▀█▀███▀        ███████████
 ▄████████▀███             ███████████
▄███████▀████                ██████████▄
███████████▀                  ██████████
 ██████▄████                   ██████▄███
  ██████▄████                 ▄█████████
   ██████▄████              ▄██████████
    ██████▄█████▄▄▄▄▄     ▄████████▀
     ██████▄████████████▄████████▀█▀██▀
      ██████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████▀█▀██▀
       ██████████████████████▀█▀█▀
         ▀▀▀▀▀▀███████████▀▀▀▀
                      ▀██▀▀
─────────────────
Revolutionized.  ──


█████████████████████████
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ██
██ █████████████▀█████ ██
██ ███ ▀█████▀      ▀█ ██
██ ███     ▀▀      ▐██ ██
██ ███▌            ███ ██
██ ████▌          ▄███ ██
██ ██████       ▄█████ ██
██ ████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████ ██
██ ███████████████████ ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀





█████████████████████████
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ██
██ ████████████▀▀▀████ ██
██ ████████▀▀     ████ ██
██ █████▀    ▄▀  ▐████ ██
██ ██▀     ▄▀    ▐████ ██
██ ████▄▄ █▀     █████ ██
██ ██████ ▄▄█   ▐█████ ██
██ ████████████ ██████ ██
██ ███████████████████ ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
WHITEPAPER
ANN Thread
Reddit

█████
██
██ █
██ █
██ █
   █

  ─────────────  Join
SMARC token ICO

█████
   ██
 █ ██
 █ ██
 █ ██
 █
Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1043



View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:09:36 PM
 #1303

The overclocking blew out my power supply.  My "silver" unit had an Antec Green 650W power supply.  I ran to the store and they had a Corsair 800W and I got it working again.

was it easy enough to upgrade the PSU? I have 3 corsair 860w platinum arriving later this week

It is easy Smiley Just remember to slide cut out cardboard to hold the screws in place. You can see photos of me using this on my power supply swap out that I had posted.

Here is a before and after upgrade to a Corsair AX860i from the original Batch 1 Avalon power supply.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=156323.msg1910169#msg1910169

Side by Side Comparison
Typical Batch 1 Avalon  before  upgrade, and an upgraded Batch 1 Avalon


Before                                             After
AvenG
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130
Merit: 100


Res Et Non Verbum


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:16:00 PM
 #1304

I decided to remove the PSU from inside the case. The airflow improved resulting in lower temperature.  Wink

letting hot air out with decreased air presure may turn out to be better.
Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1043



View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:18:22 PM
 #1305

I decided to remove the PSU from inside the case. The airflow improved resulting in lower temperature.  Wink

letting hot air out with decreased air presure may turn out to be better.

I am considering on getting the Corsair AX1200i in an attempt to push the system into the 400s.

Because of its size I will have to keep it outside the case.
melmo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:22:24 PM
 #1306


In the current heat wave where I am, my Avalon is pulling about 780 watts from the wall.  I'd go with something bigger than 750 watts.
thorvald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 250


Join The Blockchain Revolution In Logistics


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:23:29 PM
 #1307

you have to take care
you don`t know if the 20a converter is up for the job
max cip current is 2A

                ▄██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
           ▄████▄▄▄▄▄██████████████▄
         ▄████████████████▄▄▄███████
       ▄█████████████████████████████
     ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███████████████▄
   ▄████████▀█▀███▀        ███████████
 ▄████████▀███             ███████████
▄███████▀████                ██████████▄
███████████▀                  ██████████
 ██████▄████                   ██████▄███
  ██████▄████                 ▄█████████
   ██████▄████              ▄██████████
    ██████▄█████▄▄▄▄▄     ▄████████▀
     ██████▄████████████▄████████▀█▀██▀
      ██████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████▀█▀██▀
       ██████████████████████▀█▀█▀
         ▀▀▀▀▀▀███████████▀▀▀▀
                      ▀██▀▀
─────────────────
Revolutionized.  ──


█████████████████████████
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ██
██ █████████████▀█████ ██
██ ███ ▀█████▀      ▀█ ██
██ ███     ▀▀      ▐██ ██
██ ███▌            ███ ██
██ ████▌          ▄███ ██
██ ██████       ▄█████ ██
██ ████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████ ██
██ ███████████████████ ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀





█████████████████████████
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ██
██ ████████████▀▀▀████ ██
██ ████████▀▀     ████ ██
██ █████▀    ▄▀  ▐████ ██
██ ██▀     ▄▀    ▐████ ██
██ ████▄▄ █▀     █████ ██
██ ██████ ▄▄█   ▐█████ ██
██ ████████████ ██████ ██
██ ███████████████████ ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
WHITEPAPER
ANN Thread
Reddit

█████
██
██ █
██ █
██ █
   █

  ─────────────  Join
SMARC token ICO

█████
   ██
 █ ██
 █ ██
 █ ██
 █
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:32:44 PM
 #1308


yeah i ordered some 860 platinum
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2013, 08:52:15 PM
 #1309

  [timeout] => 33
   [frequency] => 354

I think the timeout is to low. With 365 i had to change timeout to 36 to avoid restarts.
36 will be generating dupes. Check your rejects

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2013, 09:00:07 PM
 #1310

My 2 avalons sitting at 355/352. Temps 35/41 and 35/39
--avalon-temp 40

With strombom firmware they run @365 86.9 GH after 20h


With strombom they run your fans at 100%. You can achieve the same fanspeed with my firmware by using --avalon-temp 0

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 485
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 25, 2013, 09:08:16 PM
 #1311

My 2 avalons sitting at 355/352. Temps 35/41 and 35/39
--avalon-temp 40

With strombom firmware they run @365 86.9 GH after 20h


With strombom they run your fans at 100%. You can achieve the same fanspeed with my firmware by using --avalon-temp 0

yes I did that and they sitting at 354 since 5 hours. Can you make a binary only to test with up to 5% HW rate? I don't get it cross compiled...

...can not find curses.h or ...../mips-openwrt-linux-uclibc/bin/ld: cannot find -lcurl


                 ▄▄▄██████████████████▄▄▄
            ▄▄██▀▀▀▀▀███████████████████████▄▄
        ▄▄███▀   ▄▄▄   ▀████████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████  ▄███████▄  ▀██████████████████▀▀▀█████▄
   ▄███████    ███▀▀ ██    ███████████  ███▀  ▄███████▄
  █████████▄  ▄█▀  ▄███    ██████████  ▄██  ▄███████████
 ██████████████▀  ████▀   ▄██▀▀▀████  ▄████▀  ███████████
██████████████▀  ▄███▀   ▄█▀  ▄▄ ██▀ ▄█  ██  █████████████
██████████████   ▀     ▄██▀  ▄█  █▀  █   █▀▄  ▀███████████
█████████████▀  ▄███▄  ▀██   ██ ▄▄▄  █▀ ▄▄▀█▄  ▀▄█████████
█████████████   █████   ▀██▄ ▀▄████▄  ▄███▄▀  ▄███████████
 █████   ▀██▀  ▄█████    █▀▀█████████████████▀███████████
  ████   ▄█▀   █████    ██ ▀▄█▀▄▄▀█ ▀▄▀█▀▄▀ █▀█ ▀▄██████
   ▀███▄▄   ▄█▄ ▀▀     ███ █ █ ▄▄▄█  █ █ █  █ █ ██████▀
     ▀██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████▄█▄██▄▄██ █▄███▄█▄█▄█▄████▀
        ▀▀██████████████████████████████████████▀▀
            ▀▀██████████████████████████████▀▀
                 ▀▀▀██████████████████▀▀▀
      ..Supported by..
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
|
|
|
|

   ▀██▄       ▀████▄
▄    ▀██          ▀██▄
██▄ ▄███         ▄█████▄▄
 ▀███████▄     ▄██▀ ▀▀████
      ▀████▄ ▄██▀     ▀█▀
        ▀████▄
        ▄█▀████▄
      ▄███▄▀▀████▄
    ▄████▀    ▀████▄
  ▄████▀        ▀██▀█▄
  ▀██▀            ▀██▀
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2013, 09:10:57 PM
 #1312

My 2 avalons sitting at 355/352. Temps 35/41 and 35/39
--avalon-temp 40

With strombom firmware they run @365 86.9 GH after 20h


With strombom they run your fans at 100%. You can achieve the same fanspeed with my firmware by using --avalon-temp 0

yes I did that and they sitting at 354 since 5 hours. Can you make a binary only to test with up to 5% HW rate? I don't get it cross compiled...

...can not find curses.h or ...../mips-openwrt-linux-uclibc/bin/ld: cannot find -lcurl
Not any time soon, sorry, but you are missing packages to build it yourself.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 485
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 25, 2013, 09:30:45 PM
 #1313

yes I did that and they sitting at 354 since 5 hours. Can you make a binary only to test with up to 5% HW rate? I don't get it cross compiled...

...can not find curses.h or ...../mips-openwrt-linux-uclibc/bin/ld: cannot find -lcurl
Not any time soon, sorry, but you are missing packages to build it yourself.
well, I think my ./configure is wrong or I missing some flags to set correctly
Code:
export STAGING_DIR=/home/mike/openwrt/trunk/staging_dir
export TOOLCHAIN_DIR=$STAGING_DIR/toolchain-mips_r2_gcc-4.6-linaro_uClibc-0.9.33.2
export PATH=$TOOLCHAIN_DIR/bin:$PATH

export LDCFLAGS=$TOOLCHAIN_DIR/usr/lib/
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$TOOLCHAIN_DIR/usr/lib/

./configure --build=mips-openwrt-linux-uclibc --disable-opencl --disable-adl --enable-avalon

make CC=mips-openwrt-linux-uclibc-gcc LD=mips-openwrt-linux-uclibc-ld


                 ▄▄▄██████████████████▄▄▄
            ▄▄██▀▀▀▀▀███████████████████████▄▄
        ▄▄███▀   ▄▄▄   ▀████████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████  ▄███████▄  ▀██████████████████▀▀▀█████▄
   ▄███████    ███▀▀ ██    ███████████  ███▀  ▄███████▄
  █████████▄  ▄█▀  ▄███    ██████████  ▄██  ▄███████████
 ██████████████▀  ████▀   ▄██▀▀▀████  ▄████▀  ███████████
██████████████▀  ▄███▀   ▄█▀  ▄▄ ██▀ ▄█  ██  █████████████
██████████████   ▀     ▄██▀  ▄█  █▀  █   █▀▄  ▀███████████
█████████████▀  ▄███▄  ▀██   ██ ▄▄▄  █▀ ▄▄▀█▄  ▀▄█████████
█████████████   █████   ▀██▄ ▀▄████▄  ▄███▄▀  ▄███████████
 █████   ▀██▀  ▄█████    █▀▀█████████████████▀███████████
  ████   ▄█▀   █████    ██ ▀▄█▀▄▄▀█ ▀▄▀█▀▄▀ █▀█ ▀▄██████
   ▀███▄▄   ▄█▄ ▀▀     ███ █ █ ▄▄▄█  █ █ █  █ █ ██████▀
     ▀██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████▄█▄██▄▄██ █▄███▄█▄█▄█▄████▀
        ▀▀██████████████████████████████████████▀▀
            ▀▀██████████████████████████████▀▀
                 ▀▀▀██████████████████▀▀▀
      ..Supported by..
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
|
|
|
|

   ▀██▄       ▀████▄
▄    ▀██          ▀██▄
██▄ ▄███         ▄█████▄▄
 ▀███████▄     ▄██▀ ▀▀████
      ▀████▄ ▄██▀     ▀█▀
        ▀████▄
        ▄█▀████▄
      ▄███▄▀▀████▄
    ▄████▀    ▀████▄
  ▄████▀        ▀██▀█▄
  ▀██▀            ▀██▀
applejack7
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


Applejack is here to stay...


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 09:44:17 PM
 #1314

And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?


+1. Iam going to upgrade 3avalons with a 4th module from my 4th unit..... eill this need more than 850w psu?  what psu Is highly recommended

How are you getting a 4th module?

Tips go to supporting miner development efforts: 1Pkadn6yEYntc13cMjQZSadZjfaHDcmQ2V
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 250


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 10:00:18 PM
 #1315

And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?


+1. Iam going to upgrade 3avalons with a 4th module from my 4th unit..... eill this need more than 850w psu?  what psu Is highly recommended

How are you getting a 4th module?
applejack7
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


Applejack is here to stay...


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 10:00:41 PM
 #1316

Hi.

I've uploaded a new firmware with the about-to-be-released cgminer 3.3.1 with 2 new features which I hope you'll like:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130626/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

--avalon-auto       Adjust avalon overclock frequency dynamically for best hashrate
--avalon-cutoff <arg> Set avalon overheat cut off temperature (default: 60)

this is in addition to the existing options:

--avalon-options <arg> Set avalon options baud:miners:asic:timeout:freq
--avalon-temp <arg> Set avalon target temperature (default: 50)



I flashed my Batch 2 with this and now I cant connect. What's the IP ?

Tips go to supporting miner development efforts: 1Pkadn6yEYntc13cMjQZSadZjfaHDcmQ2V
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 250


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 10:03:32 PM
 #1317

Hi.

I've uploaded a new firmware with the about-to-be-released cgminer 3.3.1 with 2 new features which I hope you'll like:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130626/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

--avalon-auto       Adjust avalon overclock frequency dynamically for best hashrate
--avalon-cutoff <arg> Set avalon overheat cut off temperature (default: 60)

this is in addition to the existing options:

--avalon-options <arg> Set avalon options baud:miners:asic:timeout:freq
--avalon-temp <arg> Set avalon target temperature (default: 50)



I flashed my Batch 2 with this and now I cant connect. What's the IP ?

would be the same as before, can you see it at the router? something went wrong during flashing?
applejack7
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


Applejack is here to stay...


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 10:08:19 PM
 #1318

Hi.

I've uploaded a new firmware with the about-to-be-released cgminer 3.3.1 with 2 new features which I hope you'll like:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130626/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

--avalon-auto       Adjust avalon overclock frequency dynamically for best hashrate
--avalon-cutoff <arg> Set avalon overheat cut off temperature (default: 60)

this is in addition to the existing options:

--avalon-options <arg> Set avalon options baud:miners:asic:timeout:freq
--avalon-temp <arg> Set avalon target temperature (default: 50)



I flashed my Batch 2 with this and now I cant connect. What's the IP ?

would be the same as before, can you see it at the router? something went wrong during flashing?

I got in. Thanks !

Tips go to supporting miner development efforts: 1Pkadn6yEYntc13cMjQZSadZjfaHDcmQ2V
applejack7
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


Applejack is here to stay...


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 10:54:53 PM
 #1319

BTW, CGMiner team is awesome!

Tips go to supporting miner development efforts: 1Pkadn6yEYntc13cMjQZSadZjfaHDcmQ2V
Elokane
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 866
Merit: 1000


Truth is a consensus among neurons www.synereo.com


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2013, 11:31:46 PM
 #1320

It seems that only one of my Avalons benefits from the new automatic clock adjustment option. The other two decrease such that setting them at a set, higher point yields obviously better results - at least based on the "MHSav" reading.

Synereo: liberating the Internet from abusive business models.

Beware of he who would deny you access to information, for in his heart, he dreams himself your master.
<br>
Pages: « 1 ... 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 [66] 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!